Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Yes—an E Ink screen can power a low-power information display styled like a MagicMirror dashboard. But the documented DIY example is a framed display, not a conventional mirror: its screen shows calendar, weather, news, and messages rather than reflecting your image. The phrase “Magic Mirror” also has a separate technical use in E Ink Holdings’ display-development report, where it describes reflective technology, not a consumer dashboard product.

What “Magic Mirror” means in this context

E Ink’s familiar microcapsule technology uses positively charged white particles and negatively charged black particles suspended in clear fluid. An electric field moves particles toward the visible surface, changing how each area of the display looks. E Ink calls “Magic Mirror” a reflective technology in its flexible-display development; the company’s report does not describe a household mirror that overlays a dashboard. E Ink’s explanation of electronic ink and its 2014 annual report, published in 2015, refer to display technology.

A separate use of “E Ink magic mirror” comes from hobby projects that borrow the MagicMirror2 dashboard concept. The relevant example is better understood as an information frame: E Ink provides the display, while software presents useful information in black and white. It does not create the optical effect of a two-way mirror.

A documented E Ink dashboard build

In a 2019 report, Liliputing described Ben Roe’s project: a low-power E Ink information frame running MagicMirror2 software adapted for a black-and-white screen. It could display calendar appointments, weather forecasts, news, and incoming messages. The parts named in the report were:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
  • A Raspberry Pi Zero W
  • A 7.5-inch Waveshare E Ink display
  • A microSD card
  • A micro-USB power adapter
  • A frame, with 3D printing mentioned as one possible way to make it

The report’s cost figures are historical estimates only: under $100 for the project’s parts overall, about $50 for the 7.5-inch display, and $10 for the Raspberry Pi Zero W. They were reported in 2019 and do not establish current prices or availability. Liliputing’s 2019 project report is useful as a parts-list example, not as a current shopping quote.

What to check before building one

The old parts list does not guarantee that a newly purchased screen will work with a particular Raspberry Pi or software setup. Display kits can differ in controller, connector, and dimensions, so check the current display documentation against the board and software you plan to use before buying. Also plan the frame around the actual screen and controller dimensions.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  • Decide what you mean by mirror. If you want readable information in a frame, E Ink can suit that goal. If you want to see your reflection through a mirror surface while text appears over it, the documented project does not demonstrate that construction.
  • Check viewing conditions. A MagicMirror forum commenter cautioned that a non-emissive E Ink panel may not be visible effectively behind mirror material. Treat this as a design concern, not a verified test result. The forum discussion does not establish how a particular panel and mirror layer will perform.
  • Consider refresh behavior. The same commenter raised concern that screen refresh flashing could be distracting. The source is anecdotal and offers no controlled comparison; how noticeable it is in a build is not established there.
  • Match the screen to the update pattern. A display that mostly presents changing-at-a-glance information is a different design choice from one expected to update constantly. The cited sources do not provide measured refresh performance or a side-by-side test against conventional smart mirrors.
  • Account for light and usable area. Check whether the panel’s viewing area, lighting needs, and front-light provision suit its intended location. The project report does not specify a front light or establish how its screen performs in every room.

How it differs from a conventional smart mirror

Question E Ink information frame Conventional mirror-style dashboard
What you see Information on an E Ink panel; the documented example is described as a smart picture frame, not really a mirror. (Liliputing, 2019) A reflection with information intended to appear on or behind the mirror surface; the cited sources do not specify a particular product or construction.
Documented hardware Raspberry Pi Zero W, 7.5-inch Waveshare E Ink display, microSD card, USB power, and a frame. (Liliputing, 2019) Not stated in the cited project report.
Refresh concern A forum commenter raises flashing as a possible distraction; no controlled result is reported. (MagicMirror Forum) Not compared in a controlled test by the cited sources.
Cost evidence Historical 2019 estimates only; current pricing is not stated. (Liliputing, 2019) Not stated in the cited sources.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What patents and company terminology do—and don’t—show

E Ink Holdings’ report uses “Magic Mirror” for reflective technology in flexible-display development and discusses plastic-backed displays and touch modules designed without reducing display reflectance. That is a description of display development, not evidence of a ready-to-buy household mirror dashboard.

A patent record titled “Graphic mirror” describes a display architecture with reflective and transmissive modes. A patent describes an invention; it does not establish that a matching commercial product is currently available. JP6588659B2, “Graphic mirror”.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.