PDFgear is the clearest place to start if you want a free editor, while PDF-XChange Editor is worth considering for a Windows desktop workflow, Foxit PDF Editor for OCR and broader document tools, and Sejda PDF Desktop for occasional work on non-scanned files. If you need redaction or scan-to-editable-PDF features, compare paid tools such as Foxit and Adobe Acrobat Pro. The right replacement depends on whether you need to change existing text, work with scans, or simply annotate and rearrange pages.
Choose by the job you need to do
“PDF editor” can mean adding comments or rearranging pages, or changing text and images already inside a PDF. Those are different tasks. Before switching, confirm that the alternative supports the exact operation you use in SwifDoo PDF Pro; vendor feature lists do not establish tested feature parity.
- Free basic editing and conversion: Start with PDFgear, whose vendor says the product is free with no watermarks or page limits.
- Windows desktop control: Consider PDF-XChange Editor for direct text editing, document-content editing, page tools, and scan enhancement.
- OCR and wider document workflows: Compare Foxit PDF Editor and Adobe Acrobat Pro. Both vendors describe OCR-related capabilities; Adobe lists turning scans into editable PDFs as a Pro feature.
- Occasional work on ordinary PDFs: Sejda PDF Desktop offers free use subject to daily limits, but its desktop product does not support editing or converting scanned documents.
- Use across devices: Check platform coverage before choosing. PDFgear lists Windows, Mac, iOS, and Android; Foxit lists Windows, macOS, mobile, and cloud availability.
If documents are sensitive, check each vendor’s current information about local processing, cloud uploads, retention, and your organization’s policy. The available product information does not provide a comparable independent privacy audit of these options.
How the alternatives compare
| Product | Platforms stated by vendor | Editing, conversion, or scan capabilities described | Price or free-use terms stated in the reviewed vendor material | Key qualification |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PDFgear | Windows, Mac, iOS, Android | Editing, conversion, merging, splitting, and signing | Vendor describes it as free, with no watermarks or page limits | Claims are from the vendor; the available material does not establish independent reliability, security, or enterprise testing. PDFgear |
| PDF-XChange Editor | Windows desktop workflow | Direct text and document-content editing, page manipulation, scan enhancement and deskew, and cloud-service integrations | Single-user price: not stated in the reviewed official material. Vendor product page | Consider it when desktop tools matter; confirm current licensing and compatibility for your needs. |
| Foxit PDF Editor | Windows, macOS, mobile, cloud | Editing, conversion, OCR, forms, comparisons, and security capabilities | US product page showed subscriptions starting at $10.99/month when accessed in 2026; Foxit also describes a perpetual-license option. | Foxit’s US comparison dated July 2026 listed PDF Editor+ at $159.99 per user/year and Acrobat Pro for Teams at $287.88 per user/year. This is Foxit-published pricing, not an independent apples-to-apples price study. Foxit product and pricing |
| Sejda PDF Desktop | Desktop application | Editing and conversion for supported documents | Free desktop use has daily limits; page accessed in 2026 displayed a $7.95 one-time seven-day Desktop Week Pass and a $63 per-user annual Desktop+Web plan | Desktop editing and conversion of scanned documents are not supported, according to Sejda. Sejda Desktop |
| Adobe Acrobat | Not stated in the cited US pricing-page details | Pro includes redaction and turning scans into editable PDFs, according to Adobe | US pricing page accessed in 2026 showed Standard at $14.99/month, Pro at $19.99/month, and Studio at $24.99/month | Adobe says a fee may apply if an annual commitment is cancelled after 14 days; the displayed monthly amount does not necessarily mean a no-commitment monthly plan. Adobe Acrobat pricing |
These are vendor-described features and offers, not results from hands-on testing. Pricing, plan conditions, and availability can change; check the linked vendor page and checkout terms for your region before paying.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches#1 Best Overall
- EDIT text, images & designs in PDF documents. ORGANIZE PDFs. Convert PDFs to Word, Excel & ePub.
- READ and Comment PDFs – Intuitive reading modes & document commenting and mark up.
- CREATE, COMBINE, SCAN and COMPRESS PDFs
- FILL forms & Digitally Sign PDFs. PROTECT and Encrypt PDFs
- LIFETIME License for 1 Windows PC or Laptop. 5GB MobiDrive Cloud Storage Included.
Which alternative fits each workflow?
PDFgear: best starting point when cost matters most
PDFgear’s official site presents editing, conversion, merge and split tools, and signing as part of a free product without watermarks or page limits. That makes it the most straightforward price-first choice in this comparison. Treat “free” as a price claim, not proof of privacy, quality, or suitability for regulated or enterprise documents. Confirm that the specific editing operation you need is available on your device.
PDF-XChange Editor: for a Windows desktop workflow
PDF-XChange’s product material describes direct text editing and editing document content, alongside page manipulation and tools for scan enhancement and deskew. Its single-user price was not established in the reviewed official material, so check the vendor’s current licensing details rather than relying on an old third-party quote. It is a candidate for Windows users who want desktop-oriented editing tools, not a confirmed match for every SwifDoo feature.
Foxit PDF Editor: for OCR and broader document tasks
Foxit documents OCR, conversion, forms, document comparison, editing, and security capabilities, and lists Windows, macOS, mobile, and cloud availability. The US page showed subscriptions starting at $10.99 per month when accessed in 2026 and also describes a perpetual-license option. Foxit’s July 2026 US comparison listed Foxit PDF Editor+ at $159.99 per user/year against Acrobat Pro for Teams at $287.88 per user/year; treat that as Foxit’s own comparison, not a neutral price assessment. Check whether the exact Foxit plan includes the tools and platforms your workflow requires.
Rank #2
- Edit PDFs with Ease. Modify text, images, and layouts directly within your PDF documents.
- Convert & Organize. Export PDFs to Word, Excel, or ePub, and organize files with ease.
- Read & Annotate. Enjoy intuitive reading modes and powerful tools to comment, highlight, and mark up PDFs.
- Create & Manage PDFs. Create new PDFs, combine multiple files, scan documents, and compress for easy sharing.
- Fill & Sign Forms. Complete forms and digitally sign documents with secure e-signature tools.
Sejda PDF Desktop: for limited, occasional jobs
Sejda says its desktop application can be used free with daily limits. Its page accessed in 2026 displayed a one-time $7.95 seven-day Desktop Week Pass and a $63 per-user annual Desktop+Web plan. The important boundary is scans: Sejda says editing and converting scanned documents is not supported in the desktop product. If your PDFs are image-only scans, choose a tool with documented OCR instead.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Adobe Acrobat: a paid benchmark when redaction or scan conversion matters
Adobe’s US pricing page accessed in 2026 showed Standard at $14.99 per month, Pro at $19.99 per month, and Studio at $24.99 per month. Adobe lists redaction and turning scans into editable PDFs among Pro features. Its page warns that an annual-commitment cancellation fee may apply after 14 days, so review the term and cancellation conditions as well as the monthly figure.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Check these requirements before replacing SwifDoo
Confirm what “edit” means for your files
If you need to alter existing text or images, do not assume an annotation tool will do it. Look for explicit vendor documentation of direct text or document-content editing, then verify the operation on a copy of a representative file before moving your routine to a new application.
Rank #3
- EVERY PDF TOOL UNLOCKED - 30+ tools in one app: edit text and images, convert, merge, split, compress, sign, OCR, redact, watermark, batch process, and more. No feature gates, no upsells, nothing held back.
- PAY ONCE, OWN FOREVER — A one-time purchase, not a subscription. Other apps runs $240/year — Scrivar is yours for life, with free updates included.
- UNLIMITED eSIGN, BUILT IN — Send contracts and forms for signature and track every step. Recipients sign in their browser with no account or app needed. Replace DocuSign and save hundreds a year.
- PC, MAC, AND WEB — Install on any Win 10/11 PC or macOS 11+ Mac (Intel or Apple Silicon), or work in your browser at scrivar.com. Same tools, same account, everywhere you work.
- OCR + FULL OFFICE CONVERSION — Turn scanned documents into searchable, selectable text, and convert PDFs to and from Word, Excel, and PowerPoint with formatting kept intact.
Identify whether your PDFs are scans
A scanned PDF may be a set of page images rather than searchable text. SwifDoo’s Windows product page and Foxit’s product material describe OCR; Adobe lists scan-to-editable-PDF capability for Pro. Sejda explicitly excludes editing and converting scanned documents in its desktop product. These are vendor statements, not independent tests of OCR accuracy.
Match the platform and license to your routine
The cited SwifDoo page is for its Windows product, which lists Windows 11, 10, 8, and 7 and identifies version V2.0.7.7. By contrast, PDFgear lists Windows, Mac, iOS, and Android, while Foxit lists Windows, macOS, mobile, and cloud. Check the exact current app, operating-system support, and plan rather than assuming a feature or license transfers across platforms.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Compare total commitment as well as the initial rate: Sejda’s displayed week pass is a one-time seven-day offer, its Desktop+Web price is annual, Foxit describes both subscription and perpetual licensing, and Adobe warns of a possible cancellation fee for annual commitments. SwifDoo’s Windows page displayed $96.75 beside $129 when accessed in 2026, but the excerpted page did not specify all offer conditions; confirm checkout pricing and license terms directly at SwifDoo’s product page.
Quick Recap
A practical way to make the switch
- List the operations you actually use. Separate text or image changes from annotations, page reordering, conversion, signatures, forms, redaction, and OCR.
- Mark the scan-dependent tasks. If any file is image-only or must become editable/searchable, exclude Sejda Desktop for that task and compare products whose vendors document OCR.
- Match each candidate to your device. Use the vendor’s current platform and version details; do not assume a Windows feature set is identical on mobile or web.
- Test a copy before committing. Try a representative document and check formatting, conversion output, OCR text, and any security operation you need. Do not use a sensitive file until you have verified processing and upload behavior against your policy.
- Read the plan terms at checkout. Check renewal, cancellation, license duration, user count, and whether the quoted offer applies in your country.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

