Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Choose Baldur’s Gate 3 if you want a Forgotten Realms adventure framed by Dungeons & Dragons rules, cinematic character scenes, and online co-op for up to four players. Choose Divinity: Original Sin 2 – Definitive Edition if you want to explore Larian’s earlier fantasy world of Rivellon and have a Story Mode option that eases combat pressure. Neither is the universal winner; the better fit depends on the setting, play style, and company you want.
How do the settings and stories differ?
Baldur’s Gate 3: the Forgotten Realms
Baldur’s Gate 3 takes place in the Forgotten Realms, the world of Dungeons & Dragons. Its story begins with a mind flayer parasite and develops through party relationships and choices that shape the narrative. Larian describes the game as a cinematic narrative and identifies seven Origin characters. Its official description says, “Every choice you make drives your story forward, each decision leaving your mark on the world.” That is Larian’s promotional framing, not an independent assessment. Larian Studios’ official Baldur’s Gate 3 page
Divinity: Original Sin 2: Rivellon
Divinity: Original Sin 2 is the earlier Larian RPG in this comparison, set in its fantasy world of Rivellon. Larian describes the Definitive Edition as an updated version, with a reworked Act 4 and balance changes. Pick it if that world and an earlier entry in Larian’s RPG work appeal to you; its Story Mode is also a relevant option if you would rather focus more on the story than combat challenge. Larian’s Definitive Edition FAQ
What should you expect from combat and character options?
BG3 uses a D&D rules framework
Larian says Baldur’s Gate 3’s evolved turn-based combat is based on the D&D 5e ruleset. Its feature description highlights team-based initiative, advantage and disadvantage, roll modifiers, environmental interactions, and three difficulty settings. If you like combat built around those D&D concepts, BG3 makes that connection explicit.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Compare the published counts cautiously
In a June 29, 2023 update, Larian published the following figures while Baldur’s Gate 3 was approaching release. They show the scale of several systems as Larian presented them, but the categories are not all direct equivalents, and larger counts do not establish that one game is better.
| Category | Baldur’s Gate 3 | Divinity: Original Sin 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Races | 11 races and 31 subraces | 5 races |
| Classes or spell groupings | 12 classes and 46 subclasses | 10 “schools of spells” |
| Spells and actions | Over 600 | 225 player spells and actions |
| Passive features or talents | 308 passive features | 45 talents, described by Larian as comparable to BG3’s passive features |
| Cinematics | 174 hours | Not stated in Larian’s June 29, 2023 comparison |
Larian’s June 29, 2023 comparison figures are developer-published counts, not an independent measure of depth, quality, or how much variety a particular player will experience. The available official material does not provide an equally detailed DOS2 combat overview, so it would be misleading to conclude from these figures that DOS2 is less tactical.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Which game suits your co-op plans?
Larian’s official Baldur’s Gate 3 feature page says its online multiplayer supports up to four players. If you want to play with friends, that is a clear documented option. Specific local co-op and cross-platform arrangements depend on platform and edition: in April 2025, Patch 8 announced cross-play and split-screen on Xbox Series S. Check the current platform listing for the configuration you plan to use rather than assuming every version supports the same setup. BG3 features · Patch 8 announcement
Which difficulty and edition should you choose?
Choose BG3 for its stated difficulty settings
Larian’s BG3 feature description lists three difficulty settings. The cited material does not specify their full rules or name them, so choose a setting from the options shown in your copy of the game rather than relying on an assumed label or a particular effect.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsRank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Choose DOS2 Definitive Edition for Story Mode
Larian says the Definitive Edition includes Story Mode, along with a reworked Act 4 and balance changes. That makes it the clearer recommendation if you want the option Larian specifically identifies for focusing more on Rivellon’s story. Larian says the edition was free for existing PC owners and is the console release; current purchase terms depend on your ownership and store. Larian’s Definitive Edition FAQ
Where can you play them?
Platform availability has changed over time, so verify the current store listing for your region, device, and edition before buying. Larian’s DOS2 FAQ lists PC/Mac, PS4, Xbox One, Switch, and iPad, and notes a cross-save option for players who own both Switch and Steam copies. Larian later announced that DOS2 became available on Switch 2, PS5, and Xbox Series X|S on December 15, 2025. For BG3, Patch 8 rolled out to PC, Mac, PS5, and Xbox on April 15, 2025; Larian’s official news also reported a native Steam Deck build in September 2025. These dated announcements document availability at those points, not every current regional listing or configuration. DOS2 Definitive Edition FAQ · Larian news · BG3 Patch 8 announcement
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Which one should you play first?
- Pick Baldur’s Gate 3 for the Forgotten Realms, a story shaped by party relationships and choices, combat Larian describes as based on D&D 5e, or online multiplayer for up to four players.
- Pick Divinity: Original Sin 2 – Definitive Edition for Rivellon, Larian’s earlier RPG, or Story Mode as a way to focus more on the story.
- Check platform fit before purchase if you need a particular console generation, handheld, cross-save, local co-op, or cross-play arrangement; the cited platform details are dated announcements and FAQ listings.
Current prices, campaign-length comparisons, and independent comparative statistics are not established by the cited official material, so they should not decide the recommendation without checking up-to-date listings or other evidence.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

