Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Short answer: Screenshotlayer publishes much larger paid monthly quotas, while Thumbalizr’s feature page shows lower displayed entry prices but far fewer included captures—and its listed prices may be stale. As of October 2026, compare your expected monthly volume, annual commitment, overage exposure and required capture features before choosing; do not treat Thumbalizr’s displayed figures as confirmed checkout prices.

Published plans and prices

The figures below are what each provider’s pricing page displays, not an independent price check. Thumbalizr’s page footer says © 2007–2022, so confirm that its tiers and billing terms are still available before budgeting. Screenshotlayer lists monthly and annual billing for its paid plans.

Provider and plan Included monthly captures Displayed price Annual billing shown
Thumbalizr Free 100 screenshots Free Not stated on the feature page
Thumbalizr Silver 2,000 screenshots €8 / $9 Not stated on the feature page
Thumbalizr Gold 3,000 screenshots €12 / $13 Not stated on the feature page
Thumbalizr Platinum 5,000 screenshots €18 / $20 Not stated on the feature page
Thumbalizr Platinum 10,000 screenshots €34 / $37 Not stated on the feature page
Thumbalizr Platinum 25,000 screenshots €80 / $86 Not stated on the feature page
Screenshotlayer Free 100 snapshots $0 Not applicable
Screenshotlayer Basic 10,000 snapshots $19.99/month $215.99/year
Screenshotlayer Professional 30,000 snapshots $59.99/month $629.99/year
Screenshotlayer Enterprise 75,000 snapshots $149.99/month $1,529.99/year

Thumbalizr says premium plans may be monthly subscriptions or one-time payments; the page does not establish which terms currently apply at checkout. Screenshotlayer advertises annual discounts of 10%, 12.5% and 15% for Basic, Professional and Enterprise respectively. Sources: Thumbalizr Features & Pricing and Screenshotlayer pricing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to compare the plans for your workload

Start with captures per month

Estimate your ordinary month and your peak month, including retries or repeated captures if your workflow needs them. Screenshotlayer’s paid tiers begin at 10,000 snapshots per month; Thumbalizr’s listed paid tiers begin at 2,000. The 100-capture free tiers are comparable in quota, but not necessarily in feature fit.

Calculate the real billing commitment

For Screenshotlayer, multiply the monthly rate by 12 before comparing with the listed annual total. Annual billing is cheaper on the pricing page, but requires an annual commitment. For Thumbalizr, do not assume the displayed dollar or euro figure is the current charge: verify currency, subscription period and whether a one-time payment is offered for the tier you need.

Check overages before selecting a quota

Screenshotlayer says usage beyond the plan allowance may incur per-call charges and that it notifies users at 75%, 90% and 100% of quota. Its exact overage terms should be checked for the selected plan before estimating a worst-case bill. The Thumbalizr feature page does not establish an overage policy, so ask the provider rather than assuming requests stop at the quota.

Rank #2
Free Fling File Transfer Software for Windows [PC Download]
  • Intuitive interface of a conventional FTP client
  • Easy and Reliable FTP Site Maintenance.
  • FTP Automation and Synchronization

Match features and concurrency, not just price per capture

Screenshotlayer lists PNG by default plus JPEG and GIF, adjustable viewport and thumbnail dimensions, custom CSS, capture delay, caching and refresh settings, and FTP or S3 export. Paid plans list Retina/2x and WebP. Its plan worker count corresponds to simultaneous captures; the FAQ defines a dedicated worker as a separate processing entity handling one screenshot. Confirm that the worker count on your intended tier can handle your peak parallel jobs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Thumbalizr lists support for HTML5, CSS 3, Flash, SVG and video, full-page capture, thumbnail and browser dimensions, refresh options and tier-specific capacity. Its current documentation describes the Embed API and labels the old API as not recommended. Check that your integration uses the documented current approach. Sources: Screenshotlayer pricing, Screenshotlayer FAQ, Screenshotlayer product home, Thumbalizr Features & Pricing and Thumbalizr API documentation.

Which should you choose?

  • Consider Thumbalizr if its listed feature set fits your capture workflow and your volume is within its smaller listed tiers—but first confirm that the displayed prices, tier availability and billing terms remain current.
  • Consider Screenshotlayer if you need a published paid quota of 10,000 or more, want its listed output/export options, or need to size simultaneous captures against its worker counts. Include annual commitment and overage terms in the decision.
  • Do not choose on a claimed reliability or image-quality advantage. The cited provider pages do not establish an independent comparison of uptime, rendering quality or speed.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Alternative to try first: ScreenshotNeo

ScreenshotNeo is a website screenshot API and MCP server. It is worth trying first if clean captures and predictable billing matter: it accepts consent banners and removes more than 60 known consent platforms, newsletter popups and chat widgets before capture, and bot checks, blank pages, timeouts, failed loads and cache hits are not billed. Each response includes page-verdict and billing headers. AI agents can use its MCP server tools, including take_screenshot, get_page_info and capture_pdf.

It includes 1,000 screenshots per month free with no card; paid plans start at $5 for 3,000. The provider lists every feature on every plan. See the ScreenshotNeo documentation for API details.

curl -G "https://api.screenshotneo.com/v1/shot" -d access_key=YOUR_API_KEY --data-urlencode url=https://stripe.com -o shot.webp

Sign up for ScreenshotNeo’s free plan: 1,000 screenshots a month, no card required.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.