Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There is no defensible overall winner from the published terms available: the options use different billing units and deployment models, and their performance has not been compared on a common workload. Adobe and pdfRest publish useful limits and pricing details; PDF.co documents a compression endpoint, but comparable commercial and throughput terms are not established here. For production, shortlist by deployment and data requirements, then test the same representative PDFs and workload against each candidate.

What counts as a PDF compression API?

The label covers at least two different products. A hosted API accepts documents through a vendor-operated service, while a deployable toolkit runs in infrastructure you or your cloud provider operate. That distinction affects where files are processed, how capacity is managed, and whether the bill is based on calls or infrastructure.

Compression itself is only one part of a production workflow. Your application may also upload a PDF, submit a job, poll for completion, retrieve the result, and store it. Confirm which of those actions count toward billing and how each is handled before comparing monthly costs.

What do the providers’ published details establish?

Adobe PDF Services API

Adobe offers PDF compression as part of its cloud PDF Services API. Its overview describes multiple compression levels intended to retain image and graphic quality, and its compression guide demonstrates a REST request using a compressionLevel parameter. These are product capabilities, not a guarantee of a particular reduction in file size or visual fidelity for your documents. See the Adobe PDF Services API overview and compression how-to.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Adobe’s published standard limits, checked in 2026, list 500 Document Transactions per month in the free tier, a 100 MB file-size limit, and maximum request rates of 25 RPM for the free tier and 100 RPM for Enterprise. Adobe defines document-producing operations such as compression as one transaction for up to 50 pages under “all other Operations.” Paid credentials may have higher quotas under a separate written agreement. Confirm the limits and quota on your account before sizing production capacity; the published RPM caps are not a throughput commitment. Details are in Adobe’s licensing and usage limits.

PDF.co

PDF.co’s API reference documents POST /v2/pdf/compress. The request requires a source url and supports optional config and page selection. The reference calls it a “new and improved” API with more granular control and enhanced results; that is PDF.co’s description, not an independent quality or speed comparison. The cited PDF Compress reference does not establish comparable high-volume pricing, rate limits, retention terms, or a throughput commitment.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

pdfRest hosted cloud plans

The following are the monthly allowances and prices listed on pdfRest’s cloud pricing page when checked in 2026. A call is not automatically equivalent to an Adobe Document Transaction, so compare estimated workflow charges rather than just the headline counts.

Plan Calls included per month Listed monthly price Published overage per call Hard maximum upload Retention listed
Starter 100 Not stated in the cited plan details Not stated 100 MB 5 minutes
Premium 600 $9.99 $0.115 250 MB 30 minutes
Pro 5,000 $99.99 $0.06 500 MB 30 minutes
Enterprise 15,000 $349.99 $0.035 1 GB Custom

These are published plan terms, not a benchmark or sustained-throughput guarantee. pdfRest distinguishes a soft included upload size from the hard maximum; the values above are the hard maximums, and the applicable soft thresholds should be checked on the live pricing page. Pricing and terms can change.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

pdfRest deployable options

Deployment option Published usage and cost basis Operational details stated
Container toolkit 2,000 calls/month for $124.99; 6,000 for $299.99; 16,000 for $599.99. Figures are from pdfRest’s container plans checked in 2026. Described as deployable across a range of cloud and container environments. See pdfRest Container.
AWS Marketplace toolkit Unlimited API calls; charges are based on EC2 instance type and uptime rather than a per-call allowance. pdfRest describes CloudFormation setup with load balancing and an Auto Scaling Group. See pdfRest on AWS.

Those deployment options have a different cost and operations model from pdfRest’s hosted cloud plans. “Unlimited API calls” does not mean unlimited processing capacity: you still need to select, operate, and pay for appropriate infrastructure.

How much does PDF API compression cost at high volume?

There is not enough equivalent information here to calculate a fair total-cost winner. Adobe’s published unit is a Document Transaction, pdfRest’s hosted plans count calls, and pdfRest’s AWS option bills around infrastructure use. PDF.co’s cited compression reference does not provide comparable high-volume terms.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Estimate costs against a defined workload, not a generic “PDF” count. For each vendor, price the number of files and pages per month, expected file sizes, workflow steps, overages, and any infrastructure or egress costs. Check whether status polling, retries, result retrieval, or related conversion and OCR operations consume billable units. Include the engineering and operations effort required to deploy, monitor, scale, and support the service.

Ask vendors to confirm in writing how monthly allowances reset, what happens at quota, whether burst traffic is allowed, whether concurrency is capped, and which support or service-level terms apply. Published monthly call allowances and request-per-minute limits alone do not establish how much work a system can sustain under your workload.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What limits and performance should you validate?

Limits answer different questions: a maximum upload size does not tell you the maximum page count, and an RPM cap does not tell you the number of large PDFs that can finish per minute. Confirm the constraints that match your workload rather than treating one published number as a capacity estimate.

  • Input eligibility: maximum file size and page count, supported PDF conditions, and handling of exceptionally image-heavy files.
  • Request behavior: rate limits, concurrency, burst rules, timeouts, job polling, retries, idempotency, and quota behavior.
  • Output requirements: required reduction in bytes, acceptable image and text legibility, searchable text, embedded fonts, forms, metadata, and signature or archival constraints.
  • Data controls: processing geography, retention and deletion, access controls, and whether a suitable cloud endpoint or customer-controlled deployment is available. Validate contractual protections for regulated data with the vendor.
  • Operations: REST or SDK support, observability, failure reporting, support escalation, and who owns scaling and maintenance.

Do not infer compliance or data residency from a deployment label or product marketing statement. Get the specific controls and contractual terms your organization requires.

How to run a fair compression evaluation

Use the same corpus and workload profile for every candidate. A convenient collection of small text PDFs can make an API look very different from one processing scanned, image-heavy documents at production concurrency.

  1. Build a representative corpus. Include real document types, page counts, file sizes, scans, image-heavy files, forms, searchable PDFs, and any signed or archival documents that matter to downstream systems. Retain originals.
  2. Define acceptance criteria first. Set target monthly volume, peak concurrency, latency objectives, maximum acceptable errors, minimum useful size reduction, and quality checks with the teams that consume the PDFs.
  3. Run equivalent jobs. Apply each provider’s documented compression controls and record configuration, input characteristics, output bytes, and completion time. Keep separate results for materially different document classes.
  4. Measure the full service behavior. Track latency distributions, completed files per unit time at target concurrency, failure and retry behavior, quota responses, and any upload, polling, or retrieval overhead.
  5. Verify outputs in downstream workflows. Check image and text legibility, searchability, fonts, forms, metadata, and signature or archival requirements. Compression that shrinks a file but breaks a required workflow is not a successful result.
  6. Model production cost and operations. Apply the measured workflow to each vendor’s confirmed billing units and include overages, compute, egress, and operational labor. Test whether the deployment can scale and recover as required.

Record results by document class and workload level. That makes trade-offs visible: one configuration may suit scanned documents while another is preferable for text-heavy files. Do not rank providers from a single average file or from vendor labels such as “enhanced.”

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which option should you shortlist?

  • Start with Adobe if its cloud API and compression-level control fit your workflow; verify the published limits and your account-specific quota against expected traffic.
  • Evaluate pdfRest hosted plans when published monthly call tiers, hard upload ceilings, and retention terms are relevant to your workload, while confirming soft thresholds and how every workflow step is billed.
  • Evaluate pdfRest Container or AWS if operating the toolkit in your own cloud or container environment is a requirement and your team can assess infrastructure and operational costs.
  • Include PDF.co in a shortlist only after obtaining comparable terms for volume pricing, limits, retention, and service expectations; the API reference establishes the compression endpoint, not those procurement details.

Available published information does not establish enough comparable terms to rank PDF.co or iLovePDF alongside the options above, and it does not support a speed, quality, or overall price winner. Treat those as procurement questions to resolve directly with vendors, then decide using the same test corpus and acceptance criteria.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.