Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The OPPO Reno16 5G (model CPH2865) is the stronger spec sheet on paper in India. It moves the ultra-wide camera from 8MP to 50MP, lists a larger battery and uses a Snapdragon 7 Gen 4 in place of the Reno14’s MediaTek Dimensity 8350. The Reno14 5G (CPH2737) keeps the larger screen. On price, OPPO’s own India pages put the 12GB + 256GB Reno16 at ₹72,999 against ₹39,999 for the same storage at Reno14 launch, a ₹33,000 gap. That gap compares two prices set more than a year apart, so it is a reference point rather than a current difference.

Which models this comparison covers

This article compares the India versions: the OPPO Reno14 5G (CPH2737) and the OPPO Reno16 5G (CPH2865). OPPO sells the Reno16 under different specifications and prices in different markets, and the name alone does not identify a configuration. Before you compare retailer listings, check the country, the model number and the storage size. The India specification pages are at OPPO India’s Reno14 5G specifications page and OPPO India’s Reno16 5G details page.

Specifications side by side

Feature OPPO Reno14 5G (CPH2737) OPPO Reno16 5G (CPH2865)
Chipset MediaTek Dimensity 8350 Qualcomm Snapdragon 7 Gen 4
Display 6.59-inch class AMOLED, 1256 × 2760, up to 120Hz 16.05cm (about 6.32-inch) AMOLED, 2640 × 1216, up to 120Hz
Rear cameras 50MP main, 8MP ultra-wide, 50MP telephoto 50MP main, 50MP ultra-wide, 50MP telephoto
Telephoto zoom 50MP, up to 3.5x optical 50MP, 3.5x optical
Front camera 50MP 50MP
Battery (typical / rated) 6000mAh typical / 5840mAh rated 6700mAh typical / 6490mAh rated
Wired charging 80W SUPERVOOC 80W SUPERVOOC
India configurations cited 8GB + 256GB, 12GB + 256GB, 12GB + 512GB (the launch announcement also lists 8GB + 128GB) 8GB + 256GB, 12GB + 256GB
Software on the listed specification page ColorOS 15.0 ColorOS 16.0

These figures are OPPO’s published India specifications. Both pages are from OPPO, so the values reflect what the manufacturer documents, not independent lab measurements. The OPPO India Reno14 series launch announcement is the source for the Reno14 launch configurations.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What the differences mean in practice

Cameras

The most visible hardware change is the ultra-wide lens. The Reno16 raises it from 8MP to 50MP, so both phones now share the same 50MP main, 50MP telephoto and 50MP front sensors. Megapixel count does not decide image quality on its own. Lens design, sensor size, processing and software all affect results, and OPPO’s pages do not include side-by-side photo tests, so the listed hardware is the only verified difference.

#1 Best Overall
OPPO Reno16 FS Dual-SIM 512GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Pop White) - International Version
  • 6.57 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1080 x 2372 pixels
  • 512GB Storage, 8GB RAM, microSDXC
  • Android 16, ColorOS 16, Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Energy (4 nm), Octa-core (4x2.5 GHz Cortex-A78 & 4x2.0 GHz Cortex-A55)
  • Rear: 50 MP, f/1.8, 26mm (wide), 1/2.0", 0.8µm, PDAF, OIS, 50 MP, f/2.8, 92mm (telephoto), 1/3.13", 0.56µm, PDAF, OIS, 3.5x optical zoom, 8 MP, f/2.2, 15mm, 116˚ (ultrawide), 1/4.0", 1.12µm, AF, Front: 50 MP, f/2.0, 18mm, 100˚ (ultrawide), 1/2.88", 0.61µm, AF
  • 158.2 x 74.9 x 8.4 mm or 8.6 mm, 194 g or 196 g (6.84 oz)

Battery

The Reno16 lists 6700mAh typical and 6490mAh rated, against 6000mAh typical and 5840mAh rated for the Reno14. Capacity is not the same as runtime. Screen brightness, refresh rate, network signal, apps and software all change how long a charge lasts. Both models use 80W SUPERVOOC wired charging, so the difference lies in battery size, not charging speed.

Display

The Reno14 has the larger panel at 6.59 inches, while the Reno16’s India page lists about 6.32 inches. The Reno16 has the higher pixel count at 2640 × 1216 compared with the Reno14’s 1256 × 2760, but these are different aspect ratios, so the resolution numbers should be compared with the size in mind. Both are AMOLED panels that go up to 120Hz. Choose by size first: a larger screen suits video and multitasking, while a smaller phone is easier to use one-handed.

Rank #2
OPPO Reno16 FS Dual-SIM 512GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Purple Black) - International Version
  • 6.57 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1080 x 2372 pixels
  • 512GB Storage, 8GB RAM, microSDXC
  • Android 16, ColorOS 16, Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Energy (4 nm), Octa-core (4x2.5 GHz Cortex-A78 & 4x2.0 GHz Cortex-A55)
  • Rear: 50 MP, f/1.8, 26mm (wide), 1/2.0", 0.8µm, PDAF, OIS, 50 MP, f/2.8, 92mm (telephoto), 1/3.13", 0.56µm, PDAF, OIS, 3.5x optical zoom, 8 MP, f/2.2, 15mm, 116˚ (ultrawide), 1/4.0", 1.12µm, AF, Front: 50 MP, f/2.0, 18mm, 100˚ (ultrawide), 1/2.88", 0.61µm, AF
  • 158.2 x 74.9 x 8.4 mm or 8.6 mm, 194 g or 196 g (6.84 oz)

Performance and software

The Reno14 uses the Dimensity 8350 and the Reno16 uses the Snapdragon 7 Gen 4. These are the documented chipsets, but OPPO’s pages do not provide a controlled benchmark comparison, so this article does not claim a speed or gaming advantage for either. The software versions differ: ColorOS 15.0 on the Reno14 specification page and ColorOS 16.0 on the Reno16’s.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Price difference explained

OPPO’s India prices for the two phones were set on different dates, and they cover different storage sizes. The table below compares only the prices that OPPO states for each configuration.

Rank #3
OPPO Reno16 F Dual-SIM 256GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Pop White) - International Version
  • 6.57 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1080 x 2372 pixels
  • 256GB Storage, 8GB RAM, microSDXC
  • Android 16, ColorOS 16, Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Energy (4 nm), Octa-core (4x2.5 GHz Cortex-A78 & 4x2.0 GHz Cortex-A55)
  • Rear: 50 MP, f/1.8, 26mm (wide), 1/2.0", 0.8µm, PDAF, OIS, 50 MP, f/2.8, 92mm (telephoto), 1/3.13", 0.56µm, PDAF, OIS, 3.5x optical zoom, 8 MP, f/2.2, 15mm, 116˚ (ultrawide), 1/4.0", 1.12µm, AF, Front: 50 MP, f/2.0, 18mm, 100˚ (ultrawide), 1/2.88", 0.61µm, AF
  • 158.2 x 74.5 x 8.4 mm or 8.6 mm, 194 g or 196 g (6.84 oz)
Storage configuration OPPO Reno14 5G price (launch, India) OPPO Reno16 5G price (India, as at 31 August 2026) Stated difference
8GB + 128GB ₹37,999 Not stated in the OPPO India sources cited Not calculable
8GB + 256GB Not stated in the OPPO India sources cited ₹66,999 Not calculable
12GB + 256GB ₹39,999 ₹72,999 ₹33,000 (cross-date reference)
12GB + 512GB ₹42,999 Not stated in the OPPO India sources cited Not calculable

The Reno14 prices are OPPO India’s launch prices from the Reno14 series launch announcement. The Reno16 prices come from OPPO India’s Reno16 details page, which states that the prices were correct as at 31 August 2026 and are tax-inclusive. Neither page should be read as the price on any given day.

Why the ₹33,000 figure is a cross-date reference

The ₹33,000 gap is the subtraction of the Reno14’s launch price from the Reno16’s August 2026 price for the same 12GB + 256GB configuration. Because the two prices come from different dates, the figure shows how the list prices changed across the two generations, not what you would pay for each phone today. The 8GB + 256GB Reno16 price (₹66,999) cannot be matched to a Reno14 price in the same sources, so it should not be compared directly with the Reno14’s 8GB + 128GB launch price of ₹37,999.

Rank #4
OPPO Reno16 Pro Dual-SIM 512GB ROM + 12GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Starlight Black) - International Version
  • 6.32 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1216 x 2640 pixels
  • 512GB Storage, 12GB RAM
  • Android 16, ColorOS 16, Mediatek Dimensity 8550 Super (4 nm), Octa-core (1x3.4 GHz Cortex-A725 & 3x3.2 GHz Cortex-A725 & 4x2.2 GHz Cortex-A725)
  • Rear: 200 MP, f/1.8, 24mm (wide), 1/1.56", 0.5µm, PDAF, OIS, 50 MP, f/2.8, 80mm (telephoto), 1/2.75", 0.64µm, PDAF, OIS, 3.5x optical zoom, 50 MP, f/2.0, 16mm, 116˚ (ultrawide), 1/2.88", 0.61µm, AF. Front: 50 MP, f/2.0, 18mm, 100˚ (ultrawide), 1/2.75", 0.64µm, AF

Current store prices

A later OPPO India store page for the Reno14 series, captured at an undated point, showed the Reno14 5G from ₹37,999, with a struck-through ₹42,999 and promotional offers. That capture shows a promotion at the time it was taken, not a permanent price. Check the OPPO India store listing for the Reno14 series and an authorised retailer before buying, and compare the price of the same storage size. Exchange bonuses and financing offers should be compared separately from list price.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Regional differences

OPPO says that pricing, regional availability and release timing vary by market, and that battery capacity and charging specifications can differ by market and version. The OPPO Global Reno16 series press release, dated 25 June 2026, makes this point. The Japan configuration is different from India’s. OPPO Japan’s Reno16 5G release announcement describes a Snapdragon 7 Gen 4 with 12GB RAM and 256GB storage, a 6.3-inch display, a 6700mAh battery and up to 80W charging. Those Japan figures should not be applied to the India model, or to phones sold elsewhere.

Best Value
OPPO Reno16 F Dual-SIM 256GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Purple Black) - International Version
  • 6.57 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1080 x 2372 pixels
  • 256GB Storage, 8GB RAM, microSDXC
  • Android 16, ColorOS 16, Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Energy (4 nm), Octa-core (4x2.5 GHz Cortex-A78 & 4x2.0 GHz Cortex-A55)
  • Rear: 50 MP, f/1.8, 26mm (wide), 1/2.0", 0.8µm, PDAF, OIS, 50 MP, f/2.8, 92mm (telephoto), 1/3.13", 0.56µm, PDAF, OIS, 3.5x optical zoom, 8 MP, f/2.2, 15mm, 116˚ (ultrawide), 1/4.0", 1.12µm, AF, Front: 50 MP, f/2.0, 18mm, 100˚ (ultrawide), 1/2.88", 0.61µm, AF
  • 158.2 x 74.5 x 8.4 mm or 8.6 mm, 194 g or 196 g (6.84 oz)

Which phone to choose

  • Choose the Reno16 5G if the ultra-wide camera matters to you, you want the larger listed battery, and you can afford the current price for your storage size.
  • Choose the Reno14 5G if you prefer the 6.59-inch screen, you can buy it at a discounted or leftover price, or you need the 8GB + 128GB storage option that OPPO listed at launch.
  • Check the market first if you are buying outside India. Confirm the model number, the storage size and the warranty terms with the local seller before comparing prices.
  • Compare equal storage whenever you can. A difference across different storage tiers, or across different dates, tells you little about the value of either phone.

The Reno16 offers the more capable specification sheet in India, but the Reno14’s larger screen and lower list price at launch still make it a practical choice for buyers who weigh size and cost above the newer camera and battery specifications.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
OPPO Reno16 FS Dual-SIM 512GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Pop White) - International Version
OPPO Reno16 FS Dual-SIM 512GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Pop White) - International Version
6.57 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1080 x 2372 pixels; 512GB Storage, 8GB RAM, microSDXC; 158.2 x 74.9 x 8.4 mm or 8.6 mm, 194 g or 196 g (6.84 oz)
$965.00
Bestseller No. 2
OPPO Reno16 FS Dual-SIM 512GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Purple Black) - International Version
OPPO Reno16 FS Dual-SIM 512GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Purple Black) - International Version
6.57 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1080 x 2372 pixels; 512GB Storage, 8GB RAM, microSDXC; 158.2 x 74.9 x 8.4 mm or 8.6 mm, 194 g or 196 g (6.84 oz)
$915.00
Bestseller No. 3
OPPO Reno16 F Dual-SIM 256GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Pop White) - International Version
OPPO Reno16 F Dual-SIM 256GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Pop White) - International Version
6.57 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1080 x 2372 pixels; 256GB Storage, 8GB RAM, microSDXC; 158.2 x 74.5 x 8.4 mm or 8.6 mm, 194 g or 196 g (6.84 oz)
$649.00
Bestseller No. 4
Bestseller No. 5
OPPO Reno16 F Dual-SIM 256GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Purple Black) - International Version
OPPO Reno16 F Dual-SIM 256GB ROM + 8GB RAM (GSM Only | No CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Purple Black) - International Version
6.57 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1080 x 2372 pixels; 256GB Storage, 8GB RAM, microSDXC; 158.2 x 74.5 x 8.4 mm or 8.6 mm, 194 g or 196 g (6.84 oz)
$649.00

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.