The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →For an on-premises SharePoint Server farm, install the Microsoft security update that matches the farm’s edition, include the required language-pack updates for SharePoint 2016 or 2019, then rotate the ASP.NET machine keys and restart IIS on every SharePoint server. Verify those steps on each server. Separately investigate whether the farm was compromised before patching: an installed update does not remove an existing web shell or other attacker persistence. Microsoft says SharePoint Online in Microsoft 365 is not affected by CVE-2025-53770 or CVE-2025-53771.
Which SharePoint servers are affected?
ToolShell refers to attacks involving CVE-2025-53770, a remote-code-execution vulnerability, and CVE-2025-53771, a security-bypass/path-traversal vulnerability, according to Microsoft’s threat-intelligence description. Microsoft also relates them to the earlier CVE-2025-49704 and CVE-2025-49706. The guidance and updates below concern on-premises SharePoint Server; they do not apply to SharePoint Online in Microsoft 365, which Microsoft says is not impacted.
Microsoft documented active attacks when its guidance was published in July 2025. That historical report does not establish the exploitation situation on October 4, 2026, so do not use it alone to assess current threat activity. Administrators should still treat an unpatched or potentially exposed farm as a security incident risk and check current Microsoft guidance for applicable updates.
Which KB applies to each SharePoint edition?
These are the July 2025 update references and builds documented by Microsoft. Check Microsoft’s live guidance against the farm’s exact edition, installed language packs and servicing state before deployment: the cited KB pages document those packages, but do not establish whether a later update supersedes them.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| Installed edition | Microsoft update reference | Language-pack update | Build documented by Microsoft |
|---|---|---|---|
| SharePoint Server Subscription Edition | KB5002768 | Not stated in Microsoft’s cited guidance for this package. | 16.0.18526.20508 |
| SharePoint Server 2019 | KB5002754 | KB5002753; Microsoft says to install both updates. | 16.0.10417.20037 for KB5002754; the build for KB5002753 is not stated here. |
| SharePoint Server 2016 | KB5002760 | KB5002759; Microsoft says to install both updates. | 16.0.5513.1001 for KB5002760; the build for KB5002759 is not stated here. |
Microsoft’s KB articles describe the updates as addressing SharePoint Server remote-code-execution and spoofing vulnerabilities and point to CVE-2025-53770 and CVE-2025-53771. A KB number or build from a different edition is not a substitute for the package intended for the farm’s installed edition.
Patch the farm and complete Microsoft’s follow-up steps
- Inventory every SharePoint server. Record each server’s edition, installed build, language packs and current servicing state. Include all servers in the farm rather than checking only the server used for administration. Compare the inventory with Microsoft’s current package guidance.
- Install the applicable security update. Apply the update for the installed edition across the farm. Microsoft describes the security updates as cumulative. For SharePoint 2016 and 2019, install both the edition’s listed security update and its language-pack update. Follow the applicable Microsoft package instructions for the farm’s servicing state.
- Check AMSI configuration. Ensure Antimalware Scan Interface (AMSI) is enabled and correctly configured. Where HTTP Request Body scanning is available, Microsoft recommends Full Mode and Defender Antivirus on all SharePoint servers. AMSI integration was enabled by default in the September 2023 security update for SharePoint 2016 and 2019, and in the SharePoint Subscription Edition 23H2 feature update; that default is not proof that it is enabled or correctly configured on a particular farm. Verify the actual configuration. If AMSI cannot be enabled, Microsoft recommends disconnecting the server from the internet until it is updated, or restricting unauthenticated access through an authenticated VPN, proxy or gateway if it cannot be disconnected.
- Rotate the ASP.NET machine keys. In SharePoint PowerShell, Microsoft’s guidance names
Set-SPMachineKey -WebApplication <SPWebApplicationPipeBind>to generate a key andUpdate-SPMachineKey -WebApplication <SPWebApplicationPipeBind>to deploy it. Use the appropriate web-application binding for each application and follow Microsoft’s instructions for the farm. - Restart IIS on every SharePoint server. After key rotation, run
iisreset.exeon each SharePoint server as Microsoft specifies. Record which servers completed the restart and when; a restart on one server does not document completion across the farm. - Maintain post-exploitation detection. Deploy Defender for Endpoint or an equivalent solution to detect and block post-exploitation activity. This is an additional detection and protection layer, not a replacement for installing the SharePoint update.
Verify that the farm is patched
Patch verification is a per-server configuration check, not a conclusion about whether an attacker accessed the environment. Keep evidence of the checks and distinguish update state from compromise state.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
- Edition and package: Compare every server’s installed edition and update inventory with the applicable Microsoft package documentation. For SharePoint 2016 and 2019, confirm both the security update and language-pack update are accounted for.
- Build: Compare each server’s build with the applicable Microsoft documentation and with any later servicing guidance that applies to the farm. The July 2025 build references above are not proof that no later update is applicable.
- Post-update actions: Confirm and record completion of machine-key rotation and the subsequent IIS restart on every SharePoint server.
- AMSI and antivirus: Verify the actual AMSI configuration, HTTP Request Body Full Mode where available, and antivirus coverage across the farm.
- Exposure and exploitation signals: If available in the organization’s Microsoft Defender Vulnerability Management environment, review exposure/remediation status and Evidence of Exploitation tags. What can be inspected depends on Defender capabilities and the telemetry window retained.
Check separately for evidence of compromise
A farm can have the relevant update installed and still contain an implant or other persistence from an earlier intrusion. Investigate patch state and compromise state as separate questions, preserving relevant evidence while assessing the full farm and connected environment.
Review security alerts
Review Defender Antivirus detections and Defender for Endpoint alerts identified in Microsoft’s guidance, including alerts for possible web-shell installation, possible exploitation of SharePoint vulnerabilities, suspicious IIS worker behavior and suspicious .NET assembly loading. Microsoft cautions that alerts can also arise from unrelated activity, so investigate the surrounding evidence rather than treating an alert name as proof by itself.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsRank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Hunt across logs and files
Review IIS, SharePoint ULS, Windows event, PowerShell and available Sysmon logs. Microsoft’s Advanced Hunting guidance includes sample queries and describes up to 30 days of events; choose a historical window appropriate to the incident and the telemetry available in your environment.
The Cyber Security Agency of Singapore’s July 24, 2025 guide highlights indicators to investigate, including:
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
- POST requests to
/_layouts/15/ToolPane.aspx?DisplayMode=Editwith aRefererof/_layouts/SignOut.aspx. - Subsequent requests to web shells such as
spinstall0.aspx. - Suspicious files in SharePoint
TEMPLATELAYOUTSdirectories.
These are investigative indicators, not standalone proof of compromise. Correlate them with alerts, timestamps, file changes and other activity across the environment.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.If the farm may have been compromised
Do not treat patch installation as incident recovery. If evidence suggests compromise, use an incident-response process to identify affected systems, contain the intrusion, remove attacker persistence and recover the environment. The Cyber Security Agency of Singapore says patching alone is insufficient for an already-compromised environment and describes rebuilding or restoring from a verified clean backup as recovery options. Preserve relevant evidence and assess connected systems as part of the response; seek qualified incident-response or SharePoint recovery support if the organization cannot confidently scope and remediate the intrusion.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

