Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesiTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
No. Under the terms Coinbase announced on October 7, 2026, US retail customers cannot use its new spot margin feature, which lets eligible customers borrow against collateral to trade spot markets with up to 10x leverage on selected major assets. The only US exception Coinbase names is for Eligible Contract Participants. The feature is also not live yet: Coinbase said it would roll out “in the coming weeks,” so the rollout is still in progress.
What Coinbase announced
Coinbase’s October 7, 2026 announcement describes spot margin as a borrowing feature, not a new kind of contract. The main terms are:
- Leverage ceilings: up to 10x on selected major assets and up to 5x on other supported assets. Coinbase presents these as maximums. They are not a guarantee that every account or every asset will receive that leverage.
- Collateral: customers can post more than 15 supported assets, and Coinbase says collateral stays on Coinbase. The announcement does not name those assets.
- Portfolio view: spot margin will sit in the same margin portfolio as Coinbase’s derivatives. Users will be able to see loan balances, collateral levels and margin health in real time.
The announcement does not say which assets qualify for the 10x tier, so a reader cannot yet tell whether a given coin falls into the higher or lower ceiling.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Who can and cannot use it
The eligibility language is the most important part of the announcement. Coinbase states: “Spot margin is available to eligible customers in selected jurisdictions and is not available in the US except to Eligible Contract Participants.”
#1 Best Overall
- Effortlessly build your crypto portfolio via the all in one Ledger Wallet app: buy, sell, send, receive, swap, stake and more across popular blockchains. 15,000+ coins & tokens in a single dashboard. Keep a close eye on the market. Compare service providers. Track performance. Get timely alerts. Build your portfolio with confidence.
- Effortlessly build your crypto portfolio via the all in one Ledger Wallet app: buy, sell, send, receive, swap, stake and more across popular blockchains. 15,000+ coins & tokens in a single dashboard. Keep a close eye on the market. Compare service providers. Track performance. Get timely alerts. Build your portfolio with confidence.
- Enjoy Bluetooth connectivity, iOS access, and hours of battery use with this mobile-first, secure backup signer. Freedom you can depend on.
- Genuine Check: confirm your signer is authentic during setup with the Ledger Wallet app.
- Protect your signer: keep it in mint condition at all times with a bespoke Pod or Case to avoid scratches and everyday wear and tear.
Eligible Contract Participants is a status defined under US commodities law, and it is narrower than “a US customer with a Coinbase account.” The announcement does not explain how an account would qualify for it. For a typical US retail account, the practical reading is that spot margin is not offered.
Outside the US, Coinbase says availability depends on jurisdiction, customer eligibility and which Coinbase entity serves the customer. The announcement does not list the selected jurisdictions, so readers outside the US should check their own eligibility rather than assume access.
Rank #2
- Proven security at scale: Over 9 years and millions of cards issued with no known remote hacks, while military‑grade EAL6+ security keeps your private keys locked inside the chip. Your cryptocurrencies stay strongly protected from online attackers.
- Tap once to manage your entire crypto wallet across 90 blockchains - no USB cables or Bluetooth, no batteries, no setup. Access 14,100+ coins & tokens, DeFi, NFTs, and staking instantly from your phone
- Smart backup: Use your second Tangem Wallet as your Backup keys with end‑to‑end encryption; no more papers, pictures. If one card is lost, the remaining can still restore full access, with an optional seed phrase available for advanced users.
- Engineered to last up to 25 years: Waterproof (IP69K), shockproof and tested for extreme temperatures from −25°C to 50°C. A durable cold wallet with long‑term protection and independently audited security.
- Trusted by 6 million users worldwide (4.9 App Store, 4.8 Google Play) - buy, sell, swap, stake, and spend cryptocurrency directly. The secure offline storage wallet designed for how people actually use crypto wallets
When it is expected to arrive
Coinbase’s official timing is broad. The company said spot margin and other products would roll out “in the coming weeks.” That phrase is the only timing in the announcement itself.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchA more specific timeline came from a secondary source. A Bitcoin.com News report dated October 8, 2026 described the non-US rollout as scheduled to start in late October, with US retail access planned for later in 2026 and subject to eligibility. Those dates are the outlet’s reporting, not a commitment in Coinbase’s own post. Treat them as expectations until Coinbase confirms them in product notices.
Rank #3
- Proven security at scale: Over 9 years and millions of cards issued with no known remote hacks, while military‑grade EAL6+ security keeps your private keys locked inside the chip. Your cryptocurrencies stay strongly protected from online attackers.
- Tap once to manage your entire crypto wallet across 90 blockchains - no USB cables or Bluetooth, no batteries, no setup. Access 14,100+ coins & tokens, DeFi, NFTs, and staking instantly from your phone
- Smart backup: Use your second Tangem Wallet as your Backup keys with end‑to‑end encryption; no more papers, pictures. If one card is lost, the remaining can still restore full access, with an optional seed phrase available for advanced users.
- Engineered to last up to 25 years: Waterproof (IP69K), shockproof and tested for extreme temperatures from −25°C to 50°C. A durable cold wallet with long‑term protection and independently audited security.
- Trusted by 6 million users worldwide - buy, sell, swap, stake, and spend cryptocurrency directly. The secure offline storage wallet designed for how people actually use crypto wallets
Spot margin is not a derivatives product
Spot margin and Coinbase’s derivatives products are easy to confuse because both involve leverage and both appear in the same margin portfolio. They are separate products with separate rules, as the table shows.
| Product | What it involves | Leverage terms stated | Where Coinbase says it applies |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spot margin (announced October 7, 2026) | Borrowing against collateral to increase buying power on spot markets | Up to 10x on selected major assets; up to 5x on other supported assets | Selected jurisdictions for eligible customers; not available in the US except to Eligible Contract Participants |
| Global derivatives (futures, perpetuals and crypto options) | Derivative contracts, per Coinbase’s global derivatives help page | Leverage defined as position size divided by the equity used as collateral; per-product maximums not stated in the sources reviewed | Eligible customers in supported regions outside the US, per the global derivatives leverage help page |
| US derivatives | Derivatives offered to US customers, per the US derivatives leverage and margin help page | Not stated in the announcement or in the derivatives terms summarised here | United States; derivatives balances are held with Coinbase Financial Markets, while spot balances are managed by Coinbase Inc. |
The derivatives help pages explain Coinbase’s leverage vocabulary. They do not describe spot margin. Coinbase’s global derivatives page also distinguishes cross-margin positions, which share account margin, from isolated positions, which use separate margin. Whether spot margin uses either structure is not stated in the announcement. The existence of US-regulated derivatives does not show that US customers can access the spot margin feature, because the October 7 announcement excludes the US except for Eligible Contract Participants.
Rank #4
- EAL5+ CERTIFIED SECURE ELEMENT + FINGERPRINT PROTECTION — Your private keys stay encrypted offline on a certified EAL5+ chip, the same security tier used in EMV bank cards. Built by DCENT, securing crypto since 2018. Fingerprint authentication adds a second layer no PIN-only wallet can match.
- 10,000+ ASSETS NATIVE ON 100+ BLOCKCHAINS — Hold Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP, Solana, Cardano, popular stablecoins (USDT, USDC), and NFTs in one wallet. No third-party apps, no fragmented setup — every supported asset works straight out of the box.
- TAP-TO-SIGN MOBILE EXPERIENCE — Pair your wallet with the DCENT mobile app over Bluetooth. Manage tokens, review transactions, and access in-app swap features directly from your phone — no cables, no desktop required.
- WEB3 & dAPP ACCESS VIA METAMASK — Connect to MetaMask and other browser extension wallets to manage NFTs, claim airdrops, and access dApps. A large screen and intuitive 4-button interface keep every transaction clearly visible before you sign.
- SEAMLESS FIRMWARE UPDATES & 30-DAY MONEY-BACK GUARANTEE — Apply security updates without resetting your wallet or migrating funds. Backed by Amazon's 30-day money-back guarantee — your purchase is risk-free.
Figures in the announcement
The announcement also cites two figures about Coinbase’s derivatives business, Deribit. Coinbase reports more than $30 billion in Bitcoin options open interest as of September 30, 2026, and more than $1 trillion in trading volume last year. These are company-reported figures about Deribit, included as background to the platform expansion. They do not measure spot margin activity or Coinbase spot volumes.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →What is still unknown
The announcement leaves out several details that matter before anyone borrows against a position. Coinbase does not state:
Best Value
- Dual-chip architecture for maximum protection: The next-gen, fully auditable TROPIC01 chip works alongside a certified EAL6+ Secure Element—completely NDA-free—to deliver radically transparent, industry-leading defense against physical attacks.
- Quantum-ready security: Get protection against future threats with the first-ever hardware wallet designed with quantum-ready architecture.
- See every detail with confidence: Our largest high-resolution color touchscreen makes it easy to navigate your assets, review transactions and manage your coins with clarity.
- Wireless freedom with encrypted Bluetooth control: Manage, buy, swap and stake securely using Trezor Suite on desktop or mobile. Qi2-compatible wireless charging keeps your Trezor powered up. No cables required—security meets convenience.
- Works seamlessly with Android, iOS and desktop: Connect wirelessly or via USB-C to your phone or computer. Manage your crypto anywhere with our companion Trezor Suite app.
- the interest rate charged on borrowed funds or any fees attached to the feature;
- maintenance margin requirements or the level at which a position is liquidated;
- how margin calls work, or how much notice a customer receives;
- the names of the selected major assets eligible for 10x, or the names of the other supported assets eligible for 5x;
- the full list of more than 15 collateral assets;
- a firm general-availability date for any region.
Until those terms are published in Coinbase’s spot margin documentation, any estimate of cost or liquidation risk would be guesswork.
What leverage means for a borrower
Leverage increases both gains and losses on the position it funds. With spot margin, the borrowed amount must be repaid, and the collateral backing the loan can be lost if the position moves against the account. Because the margin health display updates in real time, a falling position can change quickly, and users should watch it rather than rely on the leverage ceiling as a guide to safe exposure.
Practical checklist before trying the feature
- Confirm your jurisdiction and whether you are a US customer. If you are a US retail customer, the announcement does not offer spot margin to you.
- Watch for an in-product notice or a Coinbase update naming your region. Do not treat the late-October date from secondary reporting as confirmed for your account.
- Read the spot margin terms in full before posting collateral, paying particular attention to interest, maintenance margin and liquidation rules, which the announcement does not provide.
- Check which assets are eligible as collateral and which fall under the 10x or 5x tiers, since those lists are not in the announcement.
- Do not use the derivatives help pages as a substitute for spot margin terms. They describe different products.
For the official wording on eligibility and timing, the primary source remains Coinbase’s October 7, 2026 announcement.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

