Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

There is no VPS that Red Hat certifies as the best host for OpenShift, and the documentation does not support naming a generic VPS as a supported OpenShift platform. What you can do is check whether a specific plan meets the published minimums, whether its virtualization and boot path fit your installation method, and whether your target OpenShift release lists that kind of platform as supported. This guide covers the minimum requirements, the single-node option, the questions to ask any provider, and a go/no-go framework for a lab or a production-style cluster.

Why no VPS can be named the best choice for OpenShift

A “best VPS” ranking assumes a provider has been checked against the platform. For OpenShift, that check has not been published for generic VPS plans. Red Hat’s OpenShift Container Platform (OCP) 4.21 support matrix lists specific platforms and installer methods, and generic VPS providers are not among them. Red Hat’s 4.22 user-provisioned guidance describes machine counts and hardware, not a list of approved hosting companies. A plan that matches the table of minimum resources is not thereby certified or supported.

The useful question is therefore not “which VPS is best?” but “does this specific plan meet the requirements for the release and installation method I intend to use, and is that combination supported?” The rest of this article is built around answering that question.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What Red Hat requires

Red Hat’s requirements depend on the topology you choose. The two documented shapes are a regular user-provisioned cluster and Single Node OpenShift (SNO).

#1 Best Overall
ZOERAX 100-Pack M6 x 16mm Rack Mount Cage Nuts, Screws and Washers
  • Wide Compatibility & Versatile Use: ZOERAX M6 rack mount screw kit is ideal for installing server racks, network cabinets, rack shelves, patch panels, A/V equipment, and more. Designed for standard square-hole racks and cabinets, these M6 cage nuts and screws ensure a secure fit for most 19-inch rack systems used in data centers, offices, and home labs
  • Heavy-Duty Carbon Steel Construction: Made from premium carbon steel, these M6 cage nuts and screws deliver high strength and long-lasting durability. The material provides excellent resistance to rust, corrosion, and oxidation, performing reliably in demanding environments such as high humidity, temperature fluctuations, and long-term rack installations
  • Precision Metric Standard M6: Manufactured to strict metric standards, each M6 screw and cage nut features precise dimensions with minimal tolerance. Clean, sharp threads without burrs allow smooth installation without stripping or slipping. The deep Phillips head design ensures better torque control and faster, more efficient mounting
  • Safe, Reliable & Eco-Conscious Materials: ZOERAX uses non-toxic, environmentally friendly carbon steel materials to ensure safe handling and use. Heat-treated for optimal hardness, ductility, and impact resistance, these rack screws and cage nuts offer dependable performance while meeting safety and quality expectations for professional installations
  • Complete Mounting Kit with Washers: This essential M6 rack hardware kit includes screws, cage nuts, and heavy-duty washers. The included washers help distribute pressure evenly and reduce scratches or marks on rack rails and equipment, providing a cleaner, more secure installation right out of the box

Regular user-provisioned cluster (OCP 4.22)

A regular user-provisioned cluster needs a temporary bootstrap machine, three control-plane machines, and at least two compute machines. Red Hat states that separate physical hosts help maintain high availability. The bootstrap machine is used during installation and is removed afterwards, so it does not count toward the steady-state footprint.

Red Hat’s 4.22 minimum resource table lists the following values for each machine:

Machine role Count vCPU RAM Storage IOPS
Bootstrap (temporary) 1 4 16 GB 100 GB 300
Control plane 3 4 16 GB 100 GB 300
Compute at least 2 2 8 GB 100 GB 300

These are per-machine minima, not totals for the cluster. Adding them up gives a rough planning figure: the three control-plane machines and two compute machines together need at least 16 vCPU, 64 GB RAM and 500 GB of disk, before the temporary bootstrap machine (4 vCPU, 16 GB RAM, 100 GB) is added during installation. That sum is arithmetic from Red Hat’s per-machine values, not a figure Red Hat publishes. Red Hat also highlights disk sensitivity and recommends faster storage, particularly for etcd on control-plane nodes, so the 300 IOPS value should be read as a floor that a slow shared disk may not meet.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Single Node OpenShift (SNO)

SNO runs the control plane and workloads on one machine. Red Hat’s SNO guidance in the OpenShift Container Platform 4.16 documentation lists at least 8 vCPUs, 16 GB RAM and 120 GB of storage. The page’s publication date is not established in the source material, and these figures belong to 4.16, not to the current release. Check the SNO requirements in the documentation for the release you plan to install before you buy anything.

The trade-off is explicit in Red Hat’s SNO material: a single node provides no high availability. If that node’s host fails, the cluster is down. SNO is therefore a reasonable fit for a learning environment, a demo or an edge-style deployment where downtime is acceptable, and a poor fit for anything that must survive a host failure.

How to check a candidate VPS plan

Work through these steps for each plan you are considering, then confirm the result against the installation documentation for your chosen release.

  1. Confirm the platform and method in the support matrix. Open Red Hat’s support matrix for your exact OpenShift release and look for your platform and installer method. If a generic VPS is not listed, you are running an unsupported, experimental installation.
  2. Choose the topology. Decide between SNO for a single-node experiment and a multi-machine user-provisioned cluster. Do not plan a high-availability design on one plan.
  3. Check virtualization with the provider. Ask whether the exact plan exposes the CPU virtualization features your installation needs, and whether you can boot the intended Red Hat CoreOS (RHCOS) image. Generic custom ISO support alone does not prove the boot path works.
  4. Verify CPU allocation. Find out whether the vCPUs are shared or dedicated and how the provider defines a vCPU. Labels are not comparable across vendors without checking their definitions.
  5. Check memory and storage against the table above. Confirm the per-machine RAM and disk size, and ask for measured or documented IOPS and latency for the plan. Do not assume the advertised figure meets Red Hat’s threshold.
  6. Confirm networking. You need persistent addresses, working DNS, inbound access for the API and applications, east-west traffic between machines, and console or recovery access if a node fails to boot.
  7. Confirm physical separation if you want high availability. Ask whether the virtual machines are placed on separate physical hosts. Two VMs on the same host do not meet Red Hat’s stated high-availability guidance, even if they are on separate plans.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the Hetzner and Vultr documentation establishes

Hetzner Cloud and Vultr are often shortlisted for cloud infrastructure, so it helps to see exactly what their public documentation says. The table below records only what the cited pages state. “Not stated” means the pages reviewed do not say either way, not that the feature is absent.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Capability Hetzner Cloud Vultr
Hypervisor KVM, per the Hetzner Cloud FAQ Not stated
Dedicated CPU resources Dedicated-resource cloud servers are described in the server overview; the FAQ defines one dedicated vCPU as one physical CPU thread Not stated
Local NVMe storage Described in the FAQ Not stated
ECC RAM Described in the FAQ Not stated
Custom ISO upload Not stated Documented for Cloud Compute instances
Attached block storage Not stated Described in the product catalogue
Nested virtualization on the plan Not stated Not stated
OpenShift or RHCOS support Not stated Not stated

Each feature in this table is a selection criterion, not a compatibility test. A dedicated CPU or a custom ISO upload may help an experiment, but neither shows that RHCOS installs, that nested virtualization works, or that storage meets the table above. Neither vendor’s documentation, as reviewed, establishes OpenShift support on a particular plan, so neither should be presented as the best VPS for OpenShift on that evidence alone.

Go or no-go for a candidate plan

  • Go for an SNO lab if the plan meets Red Hat’s SNO minimums for your release, the provider confirms virtualization and the RHCOS boot path, you have working DNS and console access, and you accept that the platform is unsupported unless the matrix lists it.
  • Go for a multi-machine lab if the plan meets the per-machine minima for every role, you can place machines on separate physical hosts, and the storage performance is documented or measured for that plan.
  • No-go for high availability if the provider cannot confirm physical separation, or if all machines sit on one host or one shared disk.
  • No-go for production if the platform is not in the support matrix for your release. An experiment can still be useful, but it is not a supportable deployment.
  • No-go on any plan where the provider cannot describe the CPU virtualization features, the boot options, or the storage performance in writing.

Where this guidance stops

The published material establishes Red Hat’s minimum requirements, the platform matrix, the SNO trade-offs and a few documented VPS features. It does not establish a best-value provider, current plan prices, nested virtualization on the cited VPS products, plan-level OpenShift support, or the results of installing OpenShift on any particular plan. Those points depend on the exact plan, region, CPU architecture and release, so verify them directly before committing to a server.

Red Hat’s SNO figures come from the 4.16 documentation, and its user-provisioned figures come from 4.22. If you are installing a different release, use the documentation for that release.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.