Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a free website chat tool with no stated limits on agents, chat volume, or sites, tawk.to is the clearest fit in this comparison. HubSpot Live Chat stands out when website conversations need to sit alongside CRM records and a shared inbox. Crisp and Chatwoot are also worth comparing, but their current free-plan allowances are not established here. The right choice depends on more than the word “free”: agent seats, visitor or conversation caps, automation, branding, integrations, and hosting can change what a no-cost plan is useful for.

Free website chat software compared

The table separates vendor-stated capabilities from details that are not established. “Free” does not mean the same thing across these products: one vendor describes uncapped self-managed software, another emphasizes CRM-connected chat, and others offer cloud or self-hosted plan choices.

Product What the free option is best suited to Limits or terms established here Important trade-off
tawk.to Businesses seeking hosted website chat with no stated agent, chat-volume, or site limits Vendor says agents, chat volume, websites, and concurrent chats are unrestricted Hosted service only; branding removal is optional
HubSpot Live Chat Teams that want chat connected to HubSpot CRM and its conversations inbox Vendor presents live chat and chatbot tools as free to start with no credit card required Some premium features are available in paid Marketing Hub editions
Crisp Teams comparing another customer-chat platform Current free-plan agent, conversation, and feature allowances are not stated here Specific free-tier capabilities cannot be compared on the available plan details
Chatwoot Teams considering either cloud service or self-hosting Current cloud free-plan caps are not stated here Self-hosting means the business takes on infrastructure and maintenance work

These are vendor-described capabilities, not the result of a standardized independent performance test. Plan terms can change; the comparison is about what each option is established to offer, not a guarantee of availability in every region or account.

1. tawk.to: best for uncapped hosted website chat

tawk.to’s FAQ describes its self-managed chat software as having no limit on the number of agents, chat volume, websites with widgets, or concurrent chats. Those are the vendor’s claims, not independent audits. It also describes free desktop and mobile apps, plus support by chat and email.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

What stands out

  • The stated lack of agent, site, and chat-volume limits makes it a practical starting point for a small business expecting traffic or staffing needs to grow.
  • The service is hosted, so a business does not need to run its own chat server.
  • The vendor says it earns revenue through optional hired-agent services for businesses that do not want to answer chats themselves.
  • Branding removal is optional; businesses that need a fully unbranded widget should account for that separately.

Limits and fit

tawk.to says it has no on-premise option, so it is not the choice for a business that requires its own hosting environment. Its headline limits are unusually generous as stated by the vendor, but prospective users should still decide whether hosted software and visible vendor branding suit their requirements. It is a strong candidate for solo operators and small teams that want to add a website chat widget without planning around stated seat or volume ceilings.

2. HubSpot Live Chat: best for CRM-connected conversations

HubSpot presents Live Chat as part of its Smart CRM. Its described tools include a live-chat widget, chatbot builder, visitor routing, a universal conversations inbox that stores chat conversations, mobile responses, Slack notifications, office hours, and email capture for missed chats. The vendor says businesses can start without a credit card.

What stands out

  • Chat conversations can be associated with CRM context, which is useful when the same team also manages customer records and follow-up.
  • The no-code chatbot builder and routing features can direct or collect information from visitors before a human replies.
  • Mobile response, office hours, Slack alerts, and email capture support workflows that continue outside an agent’s immediate availability.

Limits and fit

HubSpot notes that premium features are available in paid Marketing Hub editions, so the free starting offer should not be read as a promise that every advanced capability is included at no cost. Choose it when CRM history and a unified inbox matter more than a standalone chat widget. A business that does not use HubSpot’s CRM may find less value in its main distinction.

3. Crisp: another platform to compare for website chat

Crisp is a candidate for businesses comparing customer-chat services, but its current official pricing details available for this comparison do not establish the free tier’s agent cap, conversation allowance, or included feature set.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What to know

  • The official pricing page is the appropriate place to review Crisp’s current plans and terms.
  • Because free-plan limits are not established here, there is no reliable basis for claiming it is uncapped, assigning it a seat allowance, or comparing its free automation features with the other entries.

Crisp belongs on a shortlist when a business wants to evaluate another chat platform, but the facts established here do not support a specific recommendation based on its free-plan limits.

4. Chatwoot: consider it if self-hosting is important

Chatwoot’s official pricing page lists both cloud and self-hosted plan choices. The current cloud free-plan caps are not established here, so it cannot be ranked against the other options by free agent or conversation allowance.

Cloud or self-hosted

  • Cloud: The vendor provides the hosted service. Current free-tier limits are not stated here.
  • Self-hosted: The business operates the software in its own environment and takes responsibility for infrastructure and maintenance. That operational work is a real cost even when the software plan itself is no-cost.

Chatwoot is most relevant to teams that specifically want to evaluate a cloud-versus-self-hosted choice. A self-hosting preference should be weighed against the technical time and ongoing care needed to keep the service available and maintained.

How to choose a free website chat tool

Start with the constraints most likely to cause an unexpected upgrade or operational burden. A useful evaluation is to record expected agents, monthly visitor or conversation volume, required channels, and whether a hosted service is acceptable.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

1. Match the plan limits to the way you work

Distinguish among agent seats, unique visitors, chat volume, and billable conversations: they measure different things. A service without a stated seat cap may still have limits on automation or other features, while a visitor cap can matter even if only one person handles chats. Ask which unit the vendor counts and how it defines a conversation before comparing plans.

2. Decide whether chat needs to connect to a CRM

If agents need customer history and a shared record of follow-up, HubSpot’s CRM-connected inbox is a material advantage. If the immediate need is simply a website widget, that integration may matter less than deployment, branding, or volume terms.

3. Check what automation actually does

Separate rule-based flows, routing, and data capture from AI-generated answers. For any automated response feature, consider which questions it handles, how a visitor reaches a person, and whether the free allowance covers expected use. A chatbot builder is not evidence of a particular resolution rate or customer outcome.

4. Account for branding and hosting

Confirm whether the free widget displays vendor branding and whether removing it requires payment. Then choose between vendor-hosted service and self-hosting: hosted software shifts server operation to the vendor, while self-hosting places infrastructure and maintenance responsibilities on the business.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

5. Confirm the channels and integrations you need

A website chat widget is not automatically an email help desk or a social messaging inbox. Check the current plan for each channel your customers use and for any CRM or ecommerce integration your workflow depends on. Do not infer support for WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger, Shopify, WooCommerce, Wix, or WordPress from the presence of website chat alone.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What “free” means for website chat

A no-cost plan can be free because the provider limits usage, reserves advanced capabilities for paid editions, sells optional services, or offers software that the customer operates. Those models have different practical costs. The total cost can include upgrades, removing branding, staff time, hosting, and maintenance—not just the listed subscription price.

For the options above, tawk.to describes an uncapped hosted software offer and optional paid services; HubSpot describes free-to-start chat with some premium capabilities in paid editions; Crisp and Chatwoot have pricing pages, but their exact free limits are not established here. No single model is automatically best: the useful question is whether the no-cost tier covers the expected work without adding a larger hidden burden.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does free website chat guarantee more sales?

No. A chat widget creates a way for visitors to contact a business, but it does not by itself establish a conversion lift or sales outcome. Results depend on factors such as whether someone responds, response quality, and the visitor’s needs.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Is a chatbot the same as live chat?

No. Live chat connects visitors with a human agent. A chatbot can collect details, route a request, or answer selected questions automatically; some tools combine both, with a handoff to a person when needed.

Is self-hosted chat automatically cheaper?

Not necessarily. A self-hosted service may avoid a hosted subscription for some uses, but the business must provide and maintain the infrastructure. Staff time and operational responsibility are part of the cost.

Can a website chat tool replace support email or social messaging?

Not by default. Channel support varies by product and plan. Confirm that a service explicitly includes the email or social channels your team needs before treating it as a replacement for a separate inbox.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does free website chat guarantee more sales?

No. A chat widget creates a way for visitors to contact a business, but it does not by itself establish a conversion lift or sales outcome. Results depend on factors such as whether someone responds, response quality, and the visitor’s needs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is a chatbot the same as live chat?

No. Live chat connects visitors with a human agent. A chatbot can collect details, route a request, or answer selected questions automatically; some tools combine both, with a handoff to a person when needed.

Is self-hosted chat automatically cheaper?

Not necessarily. A self-hosted service may avoid a hosted subscription for some uses, but the business must provide and maintain the infrastructure. Staff time and operational responsibility are part of the cost.

Can a website chat tool replace support email or social messaging?

Not by default. Channel support varies by product and plan. Confirm that a service explicitly includes the email or social channels your team needs before treating it as a replacement for a separate inbox.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.