Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Infineon SEMPER and GigaDevice GD25/55 are the clearest automotive NOR flash families with vendor-stated ISO 26262 ASIL D certification. Infineon’s 8 May 2025 announcement says SGS-TÜV certified SEMPER to ASIL D under ISO 26262:2018; GigaDevice describes its GD25/55 automotive SPI NOR family as ISO 26262:2018 ASIL D certified. Neither family-level statement alone establishes that a particular ordering code satisfies an ECU’s safety case. Confirm the exact device, certificate scope and supporting safety documentation before selection.

Which automotive NOR flash families have an ASIL D certification claim?

Infineon and GigaDevice both make relevant claims, but their public wording is not identical. Infineon’s product page describes SEMPER as AEC-Q100 automotive qualified, ASIL-B compliant and ASIL-D ready. In a separate announcement dated 8 May 2025, Infineon said SGS-TÜV certified the SEMPER NOR Flash family to ASIL D under ISO 26262:2018. The product-page phrase “ASIL-D ready” and the later certification announcement should be read as distinct statements, not interchangeable labels.

GigaDevice’s automotive product page describes its GD25/55 automotive SPI NOR family as AEC-Q100 Grade 1 qualified and certified to ISO 26262:2018 ASIL D functional-safety standards. Treat this as a vendor portfolio claim until the supplier confirms the certificate and safety evidence applicable to the exact device you intend to use.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

ASIL is assigned in the context of a safety-related item and its hazard analysis; it is not a general quality grade that makes any application safe by itself. A family certification or readiness claim is useful for shortlisting, but device selection still depends on the certified scope, integration assumptions, safety mechanisms and evidence available for the chosen part.

#1 Best Overall
MusRock 10pcs W25Q128 128Mbit NOR Flash Memory Module SPI Interface IC Chip
  • 【High-Speed SPI Interface】 133MHz SPI bus support; 256-byte page write capacity; Suitable for embedded systems requiring fast data access and code execution (XIP) in smart home and industrial control applications
  • 【Robust Industrial Performance】 -40°C to +85°C operating range; 100,000 erase cycles per sector; 20-year data retention at 25°C; suitable for long-term use in reliable embedded Settings
  • 【Low-Power Design for Extended Operation】 Standby current less than 1µA; 2.7V to 3.6V wide voltage compatibility; energy-efficient solution for battery-powered devices and portable electronics
  • 【Flexible Memory Management】 Supports 4KB, 32KB, and 64KB erase units; 16MB storage capacity with 256 blocks; optimized for wear leveling and efficient data handling in microcontroller-based projects
  • 【Easy Integration with Common Development Platforms】 SOIC-8 package; compatible with for for Arduino , for for Raspberry Pi, STM32, and other popular microcontrollers; simple hardware setup with standard SPI communication protocols

What is the difference between ASIL-D ready and ASIL-D certified?

“ASIL-D ready” generally signals that a component has features or supporting documentation intended to help a customer integrate it into a system targeting ASIL D. On its product page, Infineon uses “ASIL-B compliant and ASIL-D ready.” That wording alone is not the same as a statement that a certification body has certified the product to ASIL D.

“ASIL-D certified” is a specific certification claim. For SEMPER, Infineon’s 8 May 2025 announcement identifies SGS-TÜV as the certifying organization and ISO 26262:2018 as the standard. For GD25/55, GigaDevice’s automotive page states that the family is certified to ISO 26262:2018 ASIL D. In either case, ask the supplier for the certificate and its scope, then check whether it covers the exact ordering code and intended use.

Certification does not transfer the ECU’s safety responsibility to the flash supplier. The system developer must show how component faults are detected or controlled and how the component’s assumptions fit the item-level safety concept.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How do SEMPER and GD25/55 compare?

The following figures are manufacturer-published family or product-material claims, not independent test results. Capabilities, operating conditions and safety evidence can vary by ordering code; verify them in the specific datasheet and safety package.

Rank #2
AM29F800BT-90EC - Memory 48 TSOP 29F800 (3 Piece Lot)
  • Thin Small Outline Package
  • Memory Flash IC
  • (3 Piece Lot)
  • New, never used parts. Packaged in ESD safe packaging. Quality inspected by industry professionals.
  • Perfect for breadboard, DIY, maker, repair, prototype.
Attribute Infineon SEMPER GigaDevice GD25/55 automotive SPI NOR
Safety and automotive claims Infineon product page: AEC-Q100 automotive qualified, ASIL-B compliant and ASIL-D ready. Infineon announcement dated 8 May 2025: SGS-TÜV certified the SEMPER family to ASIL D under ISO 26262:2018. GigaDevice automotive page: AEC-Q100 Grade 1 qualified and ISO 26262:2018 ASIL D certified. Confirm certificate scope and the exact ordering code with GigaDevice.
Density and voltage Infineon product materials list 256 Mb–4 Gb options in 1.8 V or 3.0 V families. GigaDevice lists 2 Mb–2 Gb and 1.65–3.6 V for the stated family.
Interfaces and read performance Quad SPI, JEDEC xSPI Octal and HYPERBUS variants; up to 400 MB/s read bandwidth in stated configurations. Standard, Dual, Quad and Octal SPI; up to 400 MB/s in the stated family materials.
Endurance and retention Infineon materials cite Endurance Flex configurations of up to 1+ million program/erase cycles and 25 years of retention. GigaDevice cites 100,000 program/erase cycles and 20-year retention for its stated family.
Safety mechanisms and documentation Infineon lists ECC, SafeBoot, data-integrity checks, interface CRC, sector protection and diagnostic features. Its materials identify FMEDA, safety manual, safety case, DFA and pin-FMEA documentation. Specific mechanisms and evidence-package availability are not stated in the cited GigaDevice family information; request the applicable safety documentation from the supplier.
Temperature and lifecycle Infineon lists automotive grades from -40°C to +125°C and promotes a 10+ year availability program. GigaDevice states an operating range of -40°C to +125°C. A comparable lifecycle commitment is not stated in the cited family information.

Do not compare maximum endurance or retention figures without the datasheet conditions: Infineon’s endurance figure is tied to Endurance Flex configurations, and the relevant partitioning, temperature and use conditions must be checked for both families. Likewise, peak interface bandwidth is not a promise of application-level throughput.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What should you verify before choosing a part for an ADAS or safety-critical ECU?

Start with the ECU safety concept, not the flash brand. NOR flash may hold safety-critical code, data or graphics needed at power-up or during operation. The selected device’s role and failure behavior must fit the item-level analysis and the system’s required failure metrics.

  1. Define the safety need. Document the ECU safety goal, item-level ASIL and required failure metrics. Decide what the flash stores and what system behavior follows if reads, writes, boot or data integrity fail.
  2. Choose exact device candidates. Match density, supply voltage, interface, package and temperature grade to the design. Confirm that the precise ordering codes—not merely the family name—are covered by the supplier’s qualification and safety evidence.
  3. Request the evidence package. Ask for the device datasheet, certificate and its scope, FMEDA, safety manual, safety case and relevant qualification reports. Request DFA and pin-FMEA information where available. If a document is unavailable for the selected part, do not assume a related family document covers it.
  4. Map mechanisms into the ECU. Review ECC and CRC behavior, boot diagnostics, and how the design uses any watchdog or system-monitor functions. Specify how faults are detected, reported and handled, including the resulting safe state or recovery behavior.
  5. Check lifetime limits under intended use. Confirm endurance and retention conditions against the design’s temperature profile, write frequency and memory partitioning. Use the part datasheet rather than a family headline maximum for the safety and service-life analysis.
  6. Confirm supply controls. Validate traceability, the supplier’s PCN policy and long-term supply arrangements through an authorized channel before freezing the design.

Which applications may use automotive NOR flash?

Vendor materials identify ADAS and autonomous-driving domain controllers, instrument clusters, motor control, battery-management systems, gateways and communications systems among potential applications. Industrial systems are also listed for SEMPER. These are application examples, not evidence that a particular flash device is suitable for every ECU in those categories; suitability follows from the exact device’s qualification and its integration into the system safety case.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 2
AM29F800BT-90EC - Memory 48 TSOP 29F800 (3 Piece Lot)
AM29F800BT-90EC - Memory 48 TSOP 29F800 (3 Piece Lot)
Thin Small Outline Package; Memory Flash IC; (3 Piece Lot); Perfect for breadboard, DIY, maker, repair, prototype.
$26.50

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.