Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Apple may unveil a new smart-home hub, a refreshed Apple TV 4K and a new HomePod mini on October 13, 2026, according to MacRumors. The hub is widely reported to be called HomePad and to run an operating system called homeOS, but Apple has confirmed neither the product nor the software name. Treat the date, names and specifications below as rumors until Apple makes an announcement.

What is Apple homeOS?

homeOS is the reported name for software designed for Apple’s rumored smart-home hub, commonly called HomePad in reporting. In a 9to5Mac report, Mark Gurman described the idea as an operating system built around a more capable Siri: “The new operating system is basically, what would an OS look like if Siri AI had an OS? If Siri AI was not just an app on the phone, if it wasn’t just an interface on the phone. What if it was an operating system?” Apple has not confirmed the homeOS name or announced a product that runs it.

The reported interface would combine familiar elements from Apple’s other platforms: iPhone-style widgets, iPad-like app designs and Apple Watch-style icons. The hub’s default view is said to show photos or a clock, with a swipe opening an app launcher. Touch controls and a Home Screen would work alongside Siri rather than leaving voice as the only way to interact.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which apps and controls are reported?

9to5Mac reports that the built-in apps may include Music, Podcasts, Photos, Weather, FaceTime, Notes, Calendar, Messages and Reminders. The same report says homeOS is not expected to have an App Store, although third-party widgets from an iPhone may be supported. Those are reported plans, not confirmed features or a final software list.

#1 Best Overall

When is Apple’s HomePad coming?

MacRumors reports that Apple plans to unveil the smart-home hub on Tuesday, October 13, 2026, alongside a new Apple TV 4K and HomePod mini. As of October 2, Apple has not confirmed that event date or announced these products in the official material cited here. An unveiling date would not, by itself, establish when a product ships or where it will be available.

What the rumored HomePad may include

MacRumors reports a square display measuring 6 to 7 inches, an A18-or-newer chip, FaceTime capability, and speaker and microphone hardware. The hub is reportedly being developed in tabletop and wall-mounted versions. Apple has not confirmed the display size, chip, form factors or any other specifications, and no price, display resolution or release-country list is established in the cited reporting.

Is Apple launching a HomePod with a screen?

The rumored HomePad is described as a screen-equipped smart-home hub with a speaker, microphones and FaceTime capability. That makes it different from a speaker-only HomePod mini, but it does not establish that Apple will call the hub a HomePod or make it part of the HomePod product line. “HomePad” is a commonly reported name, not an Apple-confirmed product name.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Amazon Echo Dot (newest model) - Vibrant sounding speaker, Designed for Alexa+, Great for bedrooms, dining rooms and offices, Charcoal
  • Your favorite music and content – Play music, audiobooks, and podcasts from Amazon Music, Apple Music, Spotify and others or via Bluetooth throughout your home.
  • Alexa is happy to help – Ask Alexa for weather updates and to set hands-free timers, get answers to your questions and even hear jokes. Need a few extra minutes in the morning? Just tap your Echo Dot to snooze your alarm.
  • Keep your home comfortable – Control compatible smart home devices with your voice and routines triggered by built-in motion or indoor temperature sensors. Create routines to automatically turn on lights when you walk into a room, or start a fan if the inside temperature goes above your comfort zone.
  • Do more with device pairing – Fill your home with music using compatible Echo devices in different rooms, or create a home theatre system with Fire TV.
  • Say goodbye to drop-offs and buffering - With eero Built-in, Echo Dot doubles as a mesh wifi extender, adding up to 1,000 sq. ft. of wifi coverage to your existing eero network.

A full-size HomePod is not expected in the October lineup. 9to5Mac quotes Gurman as saying, “Apple aims to eventually update its larger HomePod speaker as well.” The report does not establish when that update might happen.

What will homeOS and Siri AI do?

Siri is expected to be the main way to control the rumored hub, with touch, widgets and apps providing other ways to use it. Apple has officially announced Siri AI, but has not said that homeOS or the rumored HomePad will use it. The distinction matters: Apple’s Siri announcement describes capabilities for its platforms generally, not confirmed features or performance for an unannounced home hub.

In its June 8, 2026 WWDC announcement, Apple described Siri AI as a new version of Siri that can use personal context across messages, emails and photos, perform actions across apps, and answer questions using web knowledge. Apple’s Craig Federighi, senior vice president of Software Engineering, said: “We’re delivering the next generation of Apple Intelligence across our platforms; introducing Siri AI, a profoundly more intelligent, knowledgeable, and capable Siri; expanding child safety features with intuitive new tools for families; and making our software platforms faster, more reliable, and more delightful than ever before.” Apple says Siri AI availability varies by language and region and that features are subject to change.

Rank #3
Amazon Echo Dot (newest model) - Vibrant sounding speaker, Designed for Alexa+, Great for bedrooms, dining rooms and offices, Deep Sea Blue
  • Your favorite music and content – Play music, audiobooks, and podcasts from Amazon Music, Apple Music, Spotify and others or via Bluetooth throughout your home.
  • Alexa is happy to help – Ask Alexa for weather updates and to set hands-free timers, get answers to your questions and even hear jokes. Need a few extra minutes in the morning? Just tap your Echo Dot to snooze your alarm.
  • Keep your home comfortable – Control compatible smart home devices with your voice and routines triggered by built-in motion or indoor temperature sensors. Create routines to automatically turn on lights when you walk into a room, or start a fan if the inside temperature goes above your comfort zone.
  • Do more with device pairing – Fill your home with music using compatible Echo devices in different rooms, or create a home theatre system with Fire TV.
  • Say goodbye to drop-offs and buffering - With eero Built-in, Echo Dot doubles as a mesh wifi extender, adding up to 1,000 sq. ft. of wifi coverage to your existing eero network.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How do the rumored hub, Apple TV 4K and HomePod mini differ?

MacRumors reports all three products as part of the expected October announcement. The distinctions below are based on reported roles and specifications, not Apple-confirmed product details.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Reported product Screen and placement Reported chip and connectivity Reported role and Siri Accessory compatibility Status
HomePad-style smart-home hub A 6-to-7-inch square display; tabletop and wall-mounted versions are reported. A18 or newer chip reported; connectivity details not stated in MacRumors’ report. Reported speaker, microphones and FaceTime capability; Siri-first smart-home interface expected. A specific streaming role is not stated. HomeKit or Matter support is not stated in the cited reporting. Rumored; neither product name nor specifications are confirmed by Apple.
Apple TV 4K No display on the device is reported; it is the TV-connected product in the lineup. A19 or A19 Pro chip, more memory for Apple Intelligence, N1 chip and Wi-Fi 7 are reported. Streaming-device role; an updated Siri Remote is reported. Specific Siri AI functions are not confirmed. HomeKit or Matter support for the rumored model is not stated in the cited reporting. A refreshed model is rumored, not confirmed by Apple.
HomePod mini 2 Speaker-only experience; a screen is not reported. A newer chip, N1 Wi-Fi 7 and second-generation Ultra Wideband are reported. Speaker role; Siri AI support and improved sound are reported. HomeKit or Matter support for the rumored model is not stated in the cited reporting. A new model is rumored, not confirmed by Apple.

Should I buy an Apple TV 4K now or wait?

The reported October 13 announcement makes waiting a reasonable option if your purchase can wait and you want to compare Apple’s confirmed next model with the current Apple TV 4K. But the reported chip, memory, Wi-Fi and Siri Remote changes are not confirmed, and the cited reporting supplies no price or shipping date. If you need a streaming device now, make the decision using the current model’s actual price and features rather than treating rumored specifications as a promise. If you wait, compare Apple’s eventual announcement and availability details before deciding.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.