Recommended Free Tools
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Neither phone wins on paper across the board. The OPPO Find X9 Ultra lists more rear camera modules, higher-resolution sensors and a 100W wired charging figure. The iPhone 18 Pro Max brings Apple’s ecosystem, a documented US starting price of $1,299 and a battery-life claim that is measured differently from OPPO’s. The price difference cannot be calculated, because the two phones have been priced in different countries, in different currencies and at different times. The right choice depends on which ecosystem you already use, what you photograph, and whether the phone is sold with warranty support where you live.
Release dates and where you can buy each phone
Apple announced the iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max on September 9, 2026. Preorders opened September 12, and the phones became available on September 18, 2026. In the US, the iPhone 18 Pro Max starts at $1,299 and comes in 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TB storage options. Apple’s Greg Joswiak described the Pro line as having “huge leaps forward” in camera, performance, battery and intelligence. That is Apple’s own marketing language, not an independent evaluation.
The Find X9 Ultra has a longer timeline in the sources used here. PhoneArena’s comparison database lists its announcement as April 21, 2026. TechRadar reported UK retail availability from May 8, 2026, with the UK offer at 12GB RAM and 512GB storage. TechRadar also said the phone was not available in the US when its review was published. Availability in the US, and in other markets, can change, so confirm with an authorized seller before you assume you can buy it.
Specifications side by side
The table below sets out the manufacturer figures and the independent review figures where they are available. The right-hand column explains what each row does and does not tell you.
#1 Best Overall
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
| Area | Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max | OPPO Find X9 Ultra | What the difference means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.9-inch OLED, per Apple | About 6.8-inch OLED; the TechRadar review gives 6.82 inches, 144Hz refresh and 3120×1440 resolution | Diagonal size alone says little. Resolution, refresh rate and brightness matter more for daily viewing. |
| Main camera | 48MP Fusion Main with variable aperture, per Apple | 200MP wide camera at f/1.5, per OPPO | Apple highlights variable aperture; OPPO highlights sensor resolution and lens reach. Neither number alone shows image quality. |
| Other rear cameras | Apple’s announcement material does not list additional lens specifications in the sources used here | 50MP ultra-wide, 200MP telephoto and 50MP ultra-telephoto, per OPPO | OPPO offers more distinct focal lengths, which matters if you shoot a lot of telephoto or ultra-wide images. |
| Video | Apple emphasizes Pro camera and video capabilities; check Apple’s official technical page for current capture formats | Rear 8K at 30fps, 4K up to 120fps, and Dolby Vision 4K capture up to 120fps, per OPPO | Compare the formats you actually use, along with stabilization, storage needs and your editing app’s support. |
| Processor | Apple A20 Pro | Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 | Chip names do not establish a speed winner. Use independent benchmarks for performance claims. |
| Battery | Up to 45 hours of video playback on Pro Max for eSIM-only models, per Apple | 7,050mAh typical (6,890mAh rated), per OPPO | A playback estimate and a battery capacity figure are different measures. Neither establishes real-world endurance. |
| Charging | Charging wattage not stated in the sources used here | Up to 100W SUPERVOOC wired and 50W AIRVOOC wireless, per OPPO | OPPO’s charging figures are specific, but the Apple comparison is incomplete. |
| Water and dust rating | IP68 under IEC 60529, maximum depth 6m for up to 30 minutes, per Apple Support | IP68/IP69, per OPPO specification and TechRadar review | These ratings are tested under specific conditions. They are not a promise of damage-proof use. |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread and C2 cellular modem; US mmWave support, per Apple’s announcement | Cellular band support differs by version, per OPPO | Confirm the exact model and region against your carrier’s bands and services before buying. |
Camera: more lenses versus a variable-aperture main camera
The Find X9 Ultra has the longer list of rear cameras. OPPO’s specification sheet includes a 200MP wide lens, a 50MP ultra-wide, a 200MP telephoto and a 50MP ultra-telephoto. The iPhone 18 Pro Max’s main camera is a 48MP Fusion Main with variable aperture. Apple’s figures do not put a number on the lens count in the same way.
What the OPPO camera list suggests
A camera with several focal lengths can cover a wider range of framing without cropping. A dedicated telephoto lens is useful for distant subjects, such as sports, wildlife and events. High sensor resolution gives you room to crop or print large. Those are real advantages in principle, but high megapixel counts do not automatically produce better photos. Dynamic range, low-light behavior, autofocus on moving subjects and color processing all affect the final image.
Rank #2
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
What the iPhone camera list suggests
Variable aperture lets the camera change how much light the main lens lets in, which can affect depth of field and low-light capture. Apple has not published a comparison of this against OPPO’s lenses in the sources used here, so any claim that it produces better or worse results is unsupported.
How to make a fair camera test
No independent head-to-head image result from the sources used here establishes a camera winner. If camera quality decides your purchase, look for reviews that shoot both phones in matched conditions, at the same focal length, with the same subjects and in low light. Then compare the images you care about most: portraits, zoomed-in shots, night scenes and video.
Rank #3
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Battery and charging: why the numbers don’t line up
Apple’s battery figure is a playback estimate. For the Pro Max, Apple says eSIM-only models deliver up to 45 hours of video playback. That is a test-condition figure, not a promise of how long the phone will last during your day. OPPO’s figures are different: a 7,050mAh typical battery capacity, with a 6,890mAh rated figure, and charging of up to 100W wired and 50W wireless.
A larger capacity does not guarantee longer use, because screen size, refresh rate, processor load and network conditions all change how fast the battery drains. A higher charging wattage shortens the time you need to recharge, but it does not change how long a full charge lasts. The Apple and OPPO figures therefore measure different things, and neither proves which phone lasts longer in daily use. Independent endurance tests run under the same conditions are the only fair way to compare them.
Rank #4
- BIGGER, YET SLIMMER THAN EVER: Who would’ve guessed that wider could also be lighter? The design of Galaxy Z Fold7 is refined to feel like a traditional smartphone with its expanded cover display.
- BEST CAMERA ON A FOLD YET: You asked for more – now you can have the most. Galaxy Z Fold7 now boasts an ultra-premium 200MP camera with Pro-Visual Engine so you can effortlessly take incredibly detailed pics.
- SCREENSHARE FOR STREAMLINED ASSISTANCE: Intrigued by something you see? Go Live with Google Gemini, then screenshare or point your camera at it for additional info or assistance on the fly.¹
- DO AND VIEW MORE, ALL AT ONCE: With an 8” screen that allows you to view up to three windows at once, Galaxy Z Fold7 is the ultimate device for seeing and doing more.²
- ALL THE POWER AND SPEED YOU NEED Smoothly run your day with the power and speed of Galaxy Z Fold7. With its customized Snapdragon 8 Elite processor for Galaxy, you can stream your favorite shows, edit photos, scroll social feeds and more with ease.³
Price difference: why no single number can be calculated
The prices documented in the sources used for this comparison come from three different markets and are not one like-for-like comparison.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute| Market | Phone and storage | Price documented | Source and date | Comparable with the iPhone price? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | iPhone 18 Pro Max, from 256GB (storage options listed as 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TB) | $1,299 starting price | Apple, September 2026 | Baseline for the iPhone only |
| United States | Find X9 Ultra | No price available to report | TechRadar review, 2026: the phone was not available in the US when the review was published | Not stated |
| United Kingdom | Find X9 Ultra, 12GB RAM and 512GB storage | £1,449 | TechRadar, 2026 | Different currency, tax context and storage match |
| Spain | Find X9 Ultra, launch price | €1,699 | Cinco Días launch report, April 21, 2026 | Different currency and tax context. Introductory promotions in that report ended April 29, 2026 and should not be treated as current prices. |
Subtracting one figure from another, or converting the pounds and euros to dollars at an assumed exchange rate, would produce a number that looks like a price gap but is not one. Taxes, retailer policies, warranty terms and storage tiers all differ. To compare the two phones yourself, choose one country, check the current price of each model from authorized sellers on the same day, and match storage as closely as you can. Only then does a price difference mean something.
Best Value
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Which phone suits which buyer
These are inferences from manufacturer specifications and the information above, not hands-on test results.
- Choose the iPhone 18 Pro Max if you already use iOS, Apple devices or Apple services, want a phone that fits into that setup, or prefer Apple’s variable-aperture main camera and its stated battery-playback estimate.
- Choose the OPPO Find X9 Ultra if you want Android and ColorOS, value a camera system with several distinct lenses including dedicated telephoto reach, want high-resolution sensors, and prefer the fast wired charging figure OPPO publishes, and if the phone is sold with warranty support where you live.
- Be cautious about either choice if you need the phone in a country where the model is not officially sold, because import status affects warranty, service and network compatibility.
Checks to make before you buy either phone
- Confirm the exact model, storage size and region against the seller’s listing. OPPO model variants and their cellular bands differ by version.
- Check that the phone supports your carrier’s bands and services, including mmWave on the iPhone if you need it in the US.
- Compare the price in one market, on the same day, with the same storage and warranty terms.
- Check local warranty and service coverage, including whether an authorized repair network exists near you.
- Confirm which software features are available in your country, especially AI features, since these can vary by region.
- If camera or battery performance matters most, read independent reviews that test both phones under matched conditions before deciding.
Apple’s battery and charging claims, OPPO’s camera and charging specifications, and the price figures above all reflect the sources and dates given in the article. Check the live price, warranty and availability before purchase.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

