Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

AMD launched the Opteron 6100 Series in March 2010 as an 8-core and 12-core x86 processor family for two-socket servers and value-oriented four-socket systems. Its published 61xx models ranged from 1.8 GHz to 2.6 GHz and from 65 W to 105 W TDP; they were designed for AMD’s Opteron 6000 platform.

When AMD introduced the Opteron 6100

AMD’s SEC filing says the company launched the Opteron 6000 Series platform and Opteron 6100 Series processors in March 2010. AMD targeted the family at high-volume two-processor (2P) servers and value four-processor (4P) servers. The processors used the company’s Direct Connect Architecture 2.0 platform, which AMD described as providing more direct memory access to improve bandwidth and reduce memory latency. AMD SEC filing.

Opteron 6100 model specifications

AMD’s February 14, 2011 release lists these five 61xx processors. The figures below are AMD’s published specifications, not current system-level power measurements. AMD, February 14, 2011.

Processor Cores Listed frequency TDP AMD’s positioning
Opteron 6132 HE 8 2.2 GHz 65 W Power-efficient option
Opteron 6140 8 2.6 GHz 80 W Not stated in the cited release
Opteron 6166 HE 12 1.8 GHz 65 W Power-efficient option
Opteron 6176 12 2.3 GHz 80 W Not stated in the cited release
Opteron 6180 SE 12 2.5 GHz 105 W High-performance positioning

Across those five models, AMD listed frequencies from 1.8 GHz to 2.6 GHz and TDPs from 65 W to 105 W. TDP is a processor specification; it is not a complete measure of a server’s power draw.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

How AMD positioned HE and SE models

AMD described the HE (high-efficiency) processors as power-efficient options for web serving, virtualization, and cloud computing. It positioned the SE model for high-performance computing (HPC), financial services, databases, and newly virtualized data centers. Those are AMD’s workload recommendations, not independent performance comparisons.

Socket compatibility and server support

AMD said Opteron 6100 processors were socket-compatible with the Opteron 6000 platform. The company also said upcoming 16-core, Bulldozer-based Opterons would be compatible with that platform; this was a forward-looking compatibility statement in AMD’s February 2011 release, not a guarantee that every motherboard or server could accept a later processor without firmware or other requirements. AMD, February 14, 2011.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Support was not limited to one chassis type. AMD named Acer, Dell, and HP as partners launching new or refreshed Opteron 6000-series systems and cited Dell’s PowerEdge C6145 as a 2U server using the platform. Server partners Appro and Supermicro also announced systems: Appro offered two- and four-socket servers, while Supermicro announced G34-socket solutions for 8-core and 12-core processors. AMD, February 14, 2011; Appro announcement; Supermicro announcement.

When checking a specific used server, verify the manufacturer’s support documentation for the exact system and processor. A platform-level socket statement alone does not establish compatibility for every model, configuration, or firmware revision.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Is an Opteron 6100 worth buying today?

The Opteron 6100 is a processor family launched in 2010, so it is best considered for legacy-server maintenance, testing, or a low-cost project with a confirmed compatible system—not as a default choice for a new production server. Whether a particular used system is worthwhile depends on its condition, memory and storage configuration, energy use, support needs, and price. The cited launch information does not establish current used-market pricing, stock, or warranty availability.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.