What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

ABF is an insulating film used to build fine-circuit layers in some advanced semiconductor package substrates—not the substrate itself, and not a material confirmed to be inside every AI accelerator. Ajinomoto has announced a new production site planned to begin operating in 2032, while a September 2026 trade report describes near-term supply constraints; the company has not publicly quantified a current shortfall or the new site’s eventual output.

What is an ABF substrate?

ABF, or Ajinomoto Build-up Film, is a specialized insulating material used in multilayer package substrates. The film separates successive layers of fine copper circuitry as those layers are built up around a semiconductor package. It is one material within the substrate, not another name for the whole substrate or for the chip.

In a package, the substrate helps connect the chip’s very small terminals to the larger terminals used to connect the package to a printed circuit board. Ajinomoto says ABF’s surface can be laser processed and directly copper plated, enabling the formation of fine circuits. The company says a major semiconductor maker first adopted ABF in 1999 and describes it as a standard material for high-performance CPU substrates.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That history does not establish that every AI accelerator uses ABF. The available public material supports its use in high-performance CPU and advanced-package contexts, but not a universal claim about all accelerators.

#1 Best Overall
MACHINIST Dual CPU Motherboard X99-D8-MAX Intel LGA 2011-3, E-ATX Server
  • Intel dual CPU sockets: This C612 server chip motherboard is designed with dual CPU sockets, which can support Intel Core i7 5th/6th generation processors and Xeon E5 V3/V4 series processors on LGA 2011-3 socket. (Note: If only one CPU is installed, please install it in the right slot, and the graphics card needs to be installed in the bottom two slots.)
  • DDR4 4-channel memory slot: The memory slot of the LGA 2011-3 motherboard is designed with four channels, which can install 8 memory. It supports effective frequencies of 2133/2400MHz, and the maximum capacity is 256GB. (Non-ECC memory is not compatible when using E5 V4 series processors)
  • PCIe 3.0 protocol standard: Equipped with 4 PCIe 3.0 X16 graphics card slots (with steel case). The transfer rate can reach 15.754 GB/s using one graphics card, and the performance can be improved by at least 50% by using two graphics cards. Equipped with dual M.2 hard disk slots, it can achieve fast reading even if multiple programs are running
  • Stable power supply: use 24+8+8pin standard power supply interface (need to use a dedicated power supply for dual server motherboards), 12 (CPU) + 4 (memory) + 1 (C612 chip) phase power supply. Precise modularization provides good heat dissipation and makes the program run more stably
  • Strong expandability: The X99 motherboard is equipped with multiple expansion interfaces to ensure that the motherboard has more room for improvement. These include 4*USB 3.0 ports, 4*USB 2.0 ports, 10*SATA 3.0 ports, 4*3pin sys fan, 2*4pin CPU fan. Besides, dual network ports allow your computer to do more things

Why does AI increase demand for ABF?

AI-related demand can raise pressure on ABF through both the number of chips being packaged and the amount of material needed per package. Ajinomoto identifies high-performance computing, AI applications, multi-chip packages, and 3D IC packages as growth areas. It also says larger, more complex IC packages require more ABF per IC.

This makes package complexity an important part of the supply picture. If a package grows in footprint or uses more build-up layers, the material and manufacturing requirements can change even without a proportional increase in chip count. At the same time, chip volume alone does not reveal how much ABF is needed: that depends on package designs and the output that suppliers can manufacture and qualify.

Rank #2
IMBXHZQ Compatible for W790 AI TOP Wi-Fi 7 Workstation Server Desktop Motherboard Intel Xeon
  • Rigorously Tested for Perfect Performance Every product is 100% tested before shipping to ensure stable operation and flawless performance, so you can start using it immediately without any concerns.

Why are ABF substrates reported to be in short supply?

A September 10, 2026 Tom’s Hardware feature reports that ABF film capacity was fully loaded in the second quarter of 2026. It also describes constraints involving glass cloth and other materials, substrate equipment, large-format factories, manufacturing yield, and customer-qualified output. These are claims attributed to that secondary report, rather than utilization or shortage figures confirmed in Ajinomoto’s public factory announcement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The distinction between nominal capacity and usable supply matters. A substrate maker needs the relevant inputs and equipment, must produce acceptable yields, and must supply output that customers have qualified. A constraint at any of those stages can limit the amount available to customers; a reported full-load condition alone does not quantify the market-wide gap.

Rank #3
ASUS Pro WS TRX50-SAGE WiFi A AMD TRX50 TR5 CEB Workstation Motherboard, CPU & Memory overclocking Ready, Robust 20 Power-Stage Design, PCIe 5.0 x 16, M.2, USB4, 10 Gb & 2.5 Gb LAN, Multi-GPU Support
  • AMD socket sTR5 supports up to 96-core CPUs: Ready for AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9000 & 7000 WX-Series Processors and AMD Ryzen Threadripper 9000 & 7000 Series Processors.
  • Ready for Advanced AI PC: Designed for the future of AI computing, with the power and connectivity needed for demanding AI applications
  • CPU and memory overclocking: Support for up to 1TB ECC R-DIMM DDR5 memory modules (1DPC)
  • Robust Power & Thermal Design: 20 power stages with two 8-pin power connectors for the CPU, massive VRM cooling, chipset and M.2 heatsinks, and M.2 thermal pad.
  • Ultrafast Connectivity: Three PCIe 5.0 x16 slots, one PCIe 4.0 x16 slot, two USB4 (40Gbps) ports, 10 Gb & 2.5 Gb LAN ports, four M.2 slots, front USB 20Gbps Type-C ports, and SlimSAS NVMe support.

Ajinomoto’s public announcement confirms that it plans to expand capacity in response to expected demand after 2030. It does not state that current ABF capacity is fully utilized, specify the size of a present shortfall, or quantify how much additional output the new site will provide.

How does AI demand affect substrate size and layer count?

The same Tom’s Hardware feature reports the following Ibiden roadmap for substrate dimensions and build-up structures. These figures are attributed to the report because the original Ibiden roadmap is not established here as independently verified.

Rank #4
ASUS Pro WS Z890-ACE SE Z890 LGA 1851 ATX Motherboard, Intel® Core™ Ultra Series 2 Ready, Advanced AI PC-Ready, PCIe® 5.0, DDR5, 10G & 2.5G LAN, 4X M.2, USB 20Gbps, Thunderbolt™ 4, onboard BMC, AI OC
  • Ready for advanced AI PCs: Designed for the future of AI computing, with the power and connectivity needed for demanding AI applications
  • Intel LGA1851 socket: Ready for Intel Core Ultra 9, 7, and 5 desktop processors
  • Robust performance: 16+2+1+2 teamed power stages, ProCool II power connectors, high-quality alloy chokes and durable capacitors
  • Future-proofed connectivity: Thunderbolt 4, 10Gb & 2.5Gb Ethernet, two PCIe 5.0 PCIe slots with full support for next-gen graphics cards, one PCIe 5.0 M.2 and three PCIe 4.0 M.2 slots and a USB 20Gbps front-panel header
  • Exclusive AI and overclocking technologies: AI Overclocking, AI Cooling II, AI Advisor and NPU boost
Roadmap timing Substrate size, as reported Build-up structure, as reported Attribution
2026 90 × 90 mm 10-X-10 Ibiden roadmap, reported by Tom’s Hardware, September 2026
2028 110 × 110 mm 12-X-12 Ibiden roadmap, reported by Tom’s Hardware, September 2026
From 2030 130 × 130 mm or larger 14-X-14 Ibiden roadmap, reported by Tom’s Hardware, September 2026

Larger dimensions and more build-up layers indicate a move toward more demanding package structures; they are not, by themselves, a complete measure of ABF consumption or of how much qualified substrate output will reach customers. The available reporting does not provide a comparable, complete capacity and yield dataset across suppliers.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is the Ajinomoto ABF factory roadmap?

Ajinomoto announced on May 7, 2026 that it had acquired a site in Kani City, Gifu Prefecture, for a third ABF production base. The company’s plan is to start construction in 2028 and begin operation in 2032. It presents the project as a response to demand expected after 2030 and as a way to expand capacity and business continuity. The planned site is separated from the existing Kawasaki and Gunma plants for continuity purposes.

Best Value
ASUS Pro WS W890E-SAGE SE Intel? W890 (LGA 4710-2) EEB Workstation Motherboard, PCIe 5.0 x16, M.2, MCIO, SlimSAS, 2X 10Gb LAN, Server-Grade Remote Management, 16+(2+2)+1+2 Stages, USB4?, USB Type-C
  • Ready for Advanced AI PC: Designed for the future of AI computing, with the power and connectivity needed for demanding AI applications
  • Intel LGA 4710-2 socket: Ready for Intel Xeon? 600 Processors for Workstation
  • CPU and memory overclocking: The performance of ECC R-DIMM DDR5 memory (1DPC) is further enhanced by the exclusive NitroPath DRAM technology
  • Ultrafast connectivity: 7 PCIe 5.0 x16 slots, Dual Intel E610-XAT2 10Gb LAN, 4 M.2, MCIO, 2 SlimSAS, and USB4? and USB 20Gbps Type-C
  • Server-grade IPMI remote management: Hardware and software-level with a dedicated LAN port link to AST2600 BMC controller, plus a real-time monitoring and management software – ASUS Control Center Express

The announcement does not disclose the site’s production capacity, the pace of its commissioning ramp, or a site-level production target. Its 2032 operating plan therefore signals a long-lead capacity addition, but it does not show how much material will be available in any particular year or resolve constraints reported for 2026.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What do Ajinomoto’s shipment figures show?

Ajinomoto’s May 2024 investor presentation gives a company index of ABF shipment volume. The index uses FY2017 as 100; FY2025 is a plan in the presentation, not a confirmed result for that year.

Fiscal year ABF shipment-volume index Status in Ajinomoto’s May 2024 presentation
FY2017 100 Index base
FY2021 190 Index value shown
FY2025 345 Plan, not a realized result established by the presentation

The presentation describes approximately 18% compound annual growth in ABF shipment volume from FY2020 through FY2025. This is Ajinomoto’s company figure and forecast, with the endpoint expressed as a plan; it should not be read as a verified actual growth rate through FY2025.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is confirmed—and what remains uncertain?

  • Confirmed by Ajinomoto: ABF is an insulating film used in package substrates; the company identifies AI and other advanced-package applications as growth areas; and a third site is planned in Kani, with construction in 2028 and operation in 2032.
  • Reported by Tom’s Hardware: ABF film capacity was fully loaded in Q2 2026, alongside constraints across materials, equipment, factories, yield, and qualified output; it also reports Ibiden’s substrate-size and layer-count roadmap.
  • Not specified in the cited public announcements: the Kani site’s eventual output, a quantified current ABF market shortfall, the commissioning ramp, and a complete supplier-by-supplier comparison of capacity, yield, and customer-qualified supply.

Ajinomoto’s 2025 ASV Report calls ABF an essential insulating material for high-performance semiconductors and describes the company’s market position as an “overwhelming share.” That is the company’s characterization, not a quantified market-share figure. The report also says Ajinomoto is developing ABF for photonic-electronic co-package substrates, a development direction rather than a stated production-capacity milestone.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.