What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Way of the Hunter 2 launched on September 29, 2026, for PC, PlayStation 5, and Xbox Series X|S. The full release offers two hunting grounds and features such as two-player co-op, a tracking dog, and habitat management. The available official information explains what the game includes, but does not establish how well it performs or how enjoyable its systems are in practice.
What is Way of the Hunter 2?
Developed by Nine Rocks Games and published by THQ Nordic, Way of the Hunter 2 is a hunting game released after six months in PC Early Access. The publisher’s launch announcement describes a game built around hunting across two environments, with animal tracking and management alongside equipment and co-op features. Those are publisher descriptions rather than independent hands-on findings.
At launch, it is available on PC, PlayStation 5, and Xbox Series X|S. The publisher’s September 29, 2026 announcement is the source for the release date and platform list: THQ Nordic’s launch announcement.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →What does the full release include?
Two hunting grounds
The publisher identifies New Laurentia in North America and Kilimaya Reserve in Africa as the two hunting grounds included in the full release. The official site also describes big and small game, NPC campaigns, and work to improve the environments, including repairing bridges and feeders, removing pollution, and clearing invasive species. See the official Way of the Hunter site for the publisher’s feature descriptions.
#1 Best Overall
- Become the new owner of a hunting lodge nestled among gorgeous habitats and rich animal populations. Explore vast open world environments across the USA and Europe.
- Hunt with a premium selection of firearms and equipment. Enjoy the perfect hunt on your own or with a friend in multiplayer coop.
- This authentic hunting experience lets you explore and hunt in large open-world environments in the USA and Europe.
- Discover true to life animals in beautiful natural habitats and handle various detailed and highly realistic weapons.
- Face the challenges of ethical hunting, supported by a compelling story, or simply enjoy hunting the rich environments freely.
Co-op, tracking, and equipment
Listed features include two-player co-op, a tracking dog, thermal night vision, suppressors, and a shooting stick. The publisher also says the game represents equipment from more than ten real-world partners, including Bergara, Bushnell, Christensen Arms, CVA, DDoptics, Integrix, Leupold, Merkel, MDT, Primos, Stone Glacier, Strasser, and ZEISS. These are in-game equipment associations; they are not a reason to buy physical gear to play.
Herd and habitat management
Animal-group fitness and habitat management are part of the publisher’s description of the game. That suggests the experience involves more than finding and shooting animals, but official feature listings alone cannot show how consequential or satisfying those systems are during play.
Rank #2
- 30 vehicles official manufacturer, in 3 categories, UTV, ATV, Rock Bouncer
- 5 types of racing, off-road sprint, off-road track, mountain climbing, obstacle course, closed circuit
- Official manufacturers, equipment and sponsors
- A comprehensive career mode with team and calendar management
- Online races for up to 8 players
Which edition should you buy?
THQ Nordic lists two editions. Its September 29, 2026 suggested retail prices (SRPs) vary by region and are not guaranteed to match current local store prices.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
| Edition | What it includes | Publisher SRP |
|---|---|---|
| Standard | Base game | €39.99 / $39.99 / £34.99 / AU$54.95 / ¥5,170 |
| Deluxe | Base game and Season One Season Pass | €59.99 / $59.99 / £49.99 / AU$99.95 / ¥7,590 |
The publisher says Season One includes eight DLCs scheduled to release throughout the game’s first year. Choose Deluxe if you want the included pass and its planned content; otherwise, compare the price of Standard with the current local price of the pass and any DLC you expect to want. The announcement does not establish individual DLC prices or their release dates.
Rank #3
- 100+ classic games lovingly presented with best-in-class emulation and modern quality-of-life enhancements – and the ability to play classic games that have not been available for ages
- Discover the brand that launched the modern video game industry and the creative individuals behind it through interviews, archival images, special source material and behind-the-scenes content within an interactive timeline
- Emulation of games created for seven hardware platforms: Arcade, Atari 800, Atari 2600, Atari 5200, Atari 7800, Atari Jaguar, Atari Lynx
- Over 60 minutes of exclusive interviews with key players in the games industry – from early Atari designers and engineers and other luminaries of the gaming world -- as they discuss Atari’s enduring impact on the video entertainment landscape
- A retrospective on gaming history that is a must-own for collectors and fans of video games
Where can you buy it, and is there a loyalty discount?
THQ Nordic’s EU store listed “Way of the Hunter 2 PC” at €39.99 and marked it available and ready for dispatch in 1–3 days when accessed. That is a regional store listing, not confirmation of availability or price elsewhere. Check your local platform or retailer listing before purchasing.
The publisher says owners of the original Way of the Hunter receive a loyalty discount if they own it digitally on the same platform. It does not state the discount amount, so check the relevant platform store to confirm eligibility and price.
Rank #4
- This authentic hunting experience lets you explore and hunt in large open-world environments in the USA and Europe.
- Enjoy the perfect hunt on your own or with a friend in multiplayer coop.
- Face the challenges of ethical hunting, supported by a compelling story, or simply enjoy hunting the rich environments freely.
- Become the new owner of a hunting lodge nestled among gorgeous habitats and rich animal populations.
What should PC and Steam Deck buyers check?
A developer FAQ dated March 24, 2026, during Early Access, said Steam Deck was not officially supported at that time and warned that playing could require workarounds and cause issues. That is dated guidance, not a confirmed post-release support status. Check the current store listing and recent compatibility information before buying specifically for Steam Deck.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →The same FAQ listed these minimum PC requirements during Early Access:
Best Value
- Just For Games video game
- Color: Multicolor
- Dimensions: 13.5 x 17 x 1.5 cm
- Reference: S71010427
- If what you want is quality at the best price do not keep looking!
- Windows 11
- Ryzen 5 3600X or Intel Core i5-9600K
- 16 GB RAM
- GeForce RTX 2060 or Radeon RX 5600 XT
- 30 GB storage
The FAQ also named a higher recommended CPU tier, but the information available here does not specify that CPU model. Because these requirements predate the full release, use the current PC store listing as the buying reference rather than treating the Early Access specifications as final. The FAQ also described development in Unreal Engine 5.7 and support for DLSS 4.5 and FSR 4; these are statements from March 2026, not independent tests of current PC performance.
Does it have microtransactions?
In the March 2026 Early Access FAQ, the developer said there were no plans for microtransactions and described DLC as part of its longer-term approach. The later launch announcement confirms a Season One pass with eight planned DLCs but does not update the microtransaction statement. The dated FAQ is therefore not definitive confirmation of the full-release monetization model; consult current in-game or store information for any newer details.
What this review can—and cannot—establish
The official material establishes the release platforms, edition contents, publisher SRPs, and the features the publisher says are included. It does not establish final-release frame rates, bugs, balance, replay value, or whether the hunting and management systems work well in practice. Those are review judgments that require current hands-on testing or dated independent reviews, not conclusions that can be drawn from a feature list.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

