Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

USDA Section 502 Guaranteed loans may offer eligible borrowers 100% financing for a primary home in an eligible rural area. FHA-insured purchase loans allow down payments as low as 3.5% and are available for 1–4 unit properties. The right fit depends on income and address eligibility, property rules, loan costs, and how much cash you can bring to closing—not on a universal claim that one program is cheaper.

USDA home loans vs. FHA loans: the key differences

This is a first-pass comparison of two U.S. government-backed mortgage programs, not a complete underwriting guide. USDA’s Section 502 Guaranteed program is administered by Rural Development through approved lenders. FHA-insured mortgages are made by FHA-approved lenders under HUD rules.

Comparison USDA Section 502 Guaranteed FHA-insured purchase loan
Location The home must be in an eligible rural area. Check the address, but treat online results as preliminary. USDA program details; USDA eligibility portal. HUD describes FHA purchase loans for 1–4 unit properties; the USDA rural-location requirement does not apply simply because a loan is FHA-insured. Confirm FHA eligibility and the applicable county loan limit. HUD FHA Loans.
Income Household income generally cannot exceed 115% of area median household income for the cited program; limits vary with household and location. USDA program details. The cited HUD borrower page does not state a comparable area-median income ceiling. FHA borrowers remain subject to underwriting and loan-limit rules. HUD FHA Loans.
Down payment USDA says eligible borrowers may receive 100% financing. This does not mean there will be no cash due at closing. USDA program details. HUD says a down payment can be as low as 3.5% of the purchase price; approval and lender terms still apply. HUD FHA Loans.
Occupancy and property Must be a primary residence. Eligible residential forms include detached and attached homes, condos, planned unit developments (PUDs), modular homes, and manufactured homes; income-producing property is not eligible. USDA program details. HUD describes purchase loans for 1–4 unit properties. Consult the current HUD Handbook 4000.1 and lender appraisal and underwriting requirements for specific property rules. HUD Handbook 4000.1.
Mortgage insurance or fees The program has guarantee and annual fee provisions. Current Single Family Housing Guaranteed fee amounts are not stated in the cited program details; verify the current schedule and your lender estimate. USDA program details; USDA fee resources. Most FHA single-family programs charge upfront mortgage insurance premium (MIP); annual MIP is paid monthly. Rates and duration depend on mortgage term, base loan amount, and loan-to-value ratio. HUD mortgage insurance premiums; HUD Handbook 4000.1.
Application route Apply through a USDA-approved lender. USDA program details. Use an FHA-approved lender. HUD also provides a route to housing counselors. HUD FHA Loans.

USDA vs FHA: which is better?

Neither is automatically better or less expensive. USDA can suit a buyer who meets its household-income rules and is purchasing a primary home at an eligible address, especially if avoiding a down payment is important. FHA may be worth considering when the property is not in an eligible USDA area or the buyer does not meet USDA’s income limit, provided the borrower and property qualify under FHA rules.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Compare written Loan Estimates from lenders that can originate the relevant programs. Use the same purchase price, down payment assumption, loan term, rate-lock period, property taxes, homeowners insurance, and estimated closing date. Compare cash to close, monthly payment including applicable mortgage insurance or guarantee fees, and total payments over the time you expect to keep the loan. Treat any refinance assumption separately. Rates and costs depend on the borrower, lender, property, loan size, and timing.

Can I get a USDA loan if I make too much?

The cited USDA Section 502 Guaranteed program sets a household-income ceiling of 115% of area median household income. The applicable limit depends on the household and location, so a salary figure alone does not establish eligibility. USDA’s official portal can screen likely income eligibility, and an approved lender can evaluate the complete application. If household income is above the applicable ceiling, this USDA program may not be available; FHA does not use the same area-median income ceiling on the cited HUD borrower page, but FHA underwriting and loan limits still apply.

Does my house qualify for a USDA loan?

The home must be in an eligible rural area and be intended as your primary residence. USDA lists detached and attached homes, planned unit developments, condominiums, modular homes, and manufactured homes among eligible property categories. The home cannot be income-producing. USDA also says there is no set acreage limit, though acreage should be typical for the area; eligible funds may cover a site with a new or existing dwelling, and certain purchase-related repairs or rehabilitation may be eligible. These are program-level descriptions, not a guarantee that a specific transaction will qualify.

Rank #2
Sale
Calculated Industries 8510 Home ProjectCalc Do-It-Yourselfers Feet-Inch-Fraction Project Calculator | Dedicated Keys for Estimating Material Quantities and Costs for Home Handymen and DIYs , White Small
  • ENTER DIMENSIONS JUST LIKE YOU SAY THEM: Input measurements directly in feet, inches, building fractions, decimals, yards and meters, including square areas and cubic volumes; one key instantly converts your measurements into all standard Imperial or metric math dimensions that work best for you and the project you are working on
  • DEDICATED BUILDING FUNCTION KEYS: Make determining your project needs easy; just input project measurements, select material type like wallpaper, paint or tile; then calculate the quantity needed and total costs to avoid surprises at the homecenter checkout
  • ACCURATE MATERIAL ESTIMATION: Helps you estimate material quantities and costs for your projects, ensuring you never buy too much or too little material; simplifies your home improvement and decorating jobs and cuts down on the number of trips to the hardware store
  • PRECISE PAINT CALCULATIONS: Calculate exactly how much paint you need to ensure you finish the job without finding yourself with a half-painted room at night with a wet paint roller, and avoid storing or disposing of excess paint
  • 11 BUILT-IN TILE SIZES: Make it easy to estimate the quantity needed to complete your project; simply calculate your square footage, then determine the tile required based on tile size and compare tile usage and costs by size; comes complete with hard cover, easy-to-follow user's guide, long-life battery and 1-year warranty
  1. Open the USDA eligibility portal and screen the household and property address.
  2. Ask a USDA-approved lender to review the complete application and the property. A portal map result is not a final agency determination: USDA states, “Final determination of property eligibility must be made by Rural Development upon receipt of a complete application.”

USDA’s program page says there is no set credit score requirement, but borrowers must demonstrate the ability and willingness to manage debt. Lenders still underwrite repayment ability. The program also lists qualifying citizenship or immigration statuses, so confirm those requirements with the lender.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much do I need down for an FHA loan?

HUD says the FHA down payment can be as low as 3.5% of the purchase price. That is a minimum investment rule, not a promise of loan approval or the full amount needed to close. Closing costs, prepaid expenses, lender requirements, and the transaction affect cash to close. HUD’s borrower page describes FHA purchase loans for 1–4 unit properties; the current Handbook 4000.1 governs detailed FHA requirements and was updated August 12, 2026. Ask a lender to assess your specific borrower and property situation.

Rank #3
Calculated Industries 3400 Pocket Real Estate Master Financial Calculator
  • Loan Amortization and Remaining Balances
  • Instant Principal, Interest, Interest Only and Total Payments
  • Future Values
  • Date math function

Do USDA loans have mortgage insurance?

USDA Guaranteed loans have program guarantee and annual fee provisions, while FHA generally charges upfront MIP for most single-family programs and monthly annual MIP. The current USDA Single Family Guaranteed fee amounts and the current FHA MIP percentage are not stated in the cited pages here, so do not rely on an undated generic figure. Request a current, borrower-specific estimate and verify the applicable official fee schedule or HUD premium table.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to compare the actual cost

A no-down-payment option can reduce the cash needed for the purchase, but it does not erase closing costs, prepaid costs, lender charges, taxes, homeowners insurance, or program fees. Likewise, FHA’s minimum down payment does not describe the whole closing bill. For a useful comparison:

  • Ask lenders to price each program for which you appear eligible, using identical assumptions and a common estimated closing date.
  • Compare cash to close and monthly payment, including applicable mortgage insurance or guarantee fees.
  • Review total payments over the time you expect to keep the loan, rather than assuming the lower initial payment means lower overall cost.
  • Check that fee and premium figures are current; USDA’s FY 2026 fee notice states rates became effective July 8, 2026, but the cited results do not provide the Single Family Guaranteed fee amounts. USDA fee resources.

For independent help, HUD points consumers to housing counselors through its FHA Loans page.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Calculated Industries 3405 Real Estate Master IIIx Residential Real Estate Finance Calculator | Clearly-Labeled Function Keys | Simplest Operation | Solves Payments, Amortizations, ARMs, Combos, More
  • DEDICATED FUNCTION KEYS for Quick Financial Solutions: Clearly labeled function keys enable you to quickly and confidently provide financial answers and options for your clients, whether in the office, in the car or at an open house. Compare loan options and provide payment solutions to give your client choices
  • INSTANT FINANCIAL PROBLEM SOLVING: Solve the financial questions your clients have whether they are buyers, investors or renters; increase your perceived professionalism and close more home sales by quickly answering real estate finance problems including remaining balances
  • RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE FINANCE TERMS: Keys labeled in residential real estate finance terms like Loan AMT, Int, Term, PMT; Calculator is super easy to use to determine a mortgage loan that works for your client
  • VERSATILE LOAN CALCULATION OPTIONS: Calculate 80:10:10 or 80:15:5 combo loans at the press of a button; check to see if ARMs or bi-weekly loans, quarterly payments or if interest-only payments are the answer; giving your client more choices
  • COMES COMPLETE: Comes with a protective slide cover, quick reference guide, pocket user's guide, two long-life batteries, and 1-year warranty

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.