iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Ultra, a warehouse robotics company that builds, installs and leases packing robots, has announced $62 million in total financing: a $50 million Series A led by Framework Ventures, with Y Combinator participating, and an earlier $12 million seed round led by Y Combinator and Next View. At the same time, it is deepening its partnership with Physical Intelligence, which supplies the AI software meant to help Ultra’s robots learn and improve at customer sites. The financing and partnership details come from Fortune’s October 9, 2026 report. The commercial terms of the partnership have not been published.
How the $62 million breaks down
Ultra’s financing consists of two rounds, as Fortune reported on October 9, 2026. A Dealroom summary published the same day corroborates the $50 million Series A and the robots-as-a-service model.
| Round | Amount | Lead investor(s) | Other participants |
|---|---|---|---|
| Series A | $50 million | Framework Ventures | Y Combinator |
| Seed | $12 million | Y Combinator and Next View | Not stated in the reporting |
| Total announced | $62 million | Sum of the two rounds | Not applicable |
What Ultra sells: robots as a service
Ultra builds packing robots that prepare goods for shipment at warehouses, including sites run by third-party logistics providers. Fortune describes the machines as deployed at sites across the United States. Ultra’s Y Combinator company profile describes a broader focus on practical, general-purpose robots for repetitive industrial tasks, and says they automate e-commerce order packaging and returns in fulfillment centers. Those descriptions are the company’s own, not independent evaluations.
Recommended Free Tools
How customers pay
Customers do not buy the robots outright. According to Fortune, they pay two kinds of fees:
#1 Best Overall
- An upfront integration fee for Ultra to install the robots.
- An ongoing monthly fee for hardware and software support.
CEO and co-founder Jon Miller Schwartz described the structure in these words, as quoted by Fortune: “Instead, clients pay an up-front integration fee for Ultra to install the robots, and then an ongoing monthly fee for ongoing hardware and software support.”
The appeal is lower initial capital outlay for the customer, though it is not free. Fortune does not state fee levels, contract length or the exact scope of the monthly charge. Schwartz said demand had allowed Ultra to raise prices, but the article does not quantify the increase.
Rank #2
The Physical Intelligence partnership
Fortune describes the arrangement as “body and brains.” Ultra builds and installs the robot systems. Physical Intelligence supplies the AI that is intended to help those systems learn and improve in customer settings. Fortune also reports that Physical Intelligence gains data from real-world use, which can help train its models.
The division of work is clear from the reporting. The commercial side is not. Fortune puts Physical Intelligence’s valuation at $5.6 billion, but the article does not establish when that valuation was set, and it does not connect the valuation to this deal.
The traction claim
According to Ultra, its devices have packed more than 500,000 orders for shipping. This is a company-reported operating figure, as Fortune presents it. No independent audit, customer-verified study or third-party performance measurement was identified in the coverage.
What the public reporting does not answer
Schwartz did not disclose revenue in the Fortune interview. Beyond that, the available coverage does not give:
- The value, duration, exclusivity or revenue split of the Physical Intelligence arrangement.
- Data rights, customer consent arrangements or how training data is governed.
- Which customers and sites the expanded partnership covers.
- How many robots are deployed, and how many orders each site or period handles.
- Uptime, error rates, throughput or customer payback, measured independently.
- Gross margin, customer retention or detailed pricing.
How to compare this model with other warehouse automation
Fortune names Exotec and Amazon among warehouse robotics participants, but the article does not offer a like-for-like comparison with Ultra. Operators weighing any vendor, Ultra included, can use the questions below to request comparable evidence.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
| Axis | What to check |
|---|---|
| Task coverage | Does the system handle packing only, or also picking, returns, storage and retrieval, or material movement? |
| Deployment burden | How long installation takes, what workflow changes it requires, and how much staff training is needed. |
| Commercial structure | Purchase versus lease, the size of integration fees, and what the recurring charge covers. |
| Operational evidence | Uptime, throughput, order accuracy, maintenance load and customer-reported payback, with the source of each number. |
| Adaptability | How changes in packaging, product range or workstation layout affect performance. |
| Software and data | Who is responsible for the AI, how model updates are delivered, and who can use operational data. |
Vendor-specific answers to these questions are what would turn a funding announcement into a usable comparison.
Best Value
The Bottom Line
Bottom line: The funding and the division of labour between Ultra and Physical Intelligence are clearly reported. Whether the robots-as-a-service model performs well and pays back for customers is not yet something the public coverage can establish.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

