Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

No—not literally. VMware is still shipping products, but its assumed position as the default enterprise hypervisor is being challenged. Broadcom’s subscription licensing, changed product packaging and support uncertainty have pushed many organizations to reassess renewals, compare alternatives and plan workload-by-workload rather than accept VMware as an automatic choice.

What “the end of the VMware era” actually means

The strongest evidence points to a market reset, not a shutdown. Gartner wrote on 14 September 2026 that “The server virtualization market faces the most significant disruption in over a decade” and says infrastructure leaders should reevaluate vendors and technologies for current and future virtual workloads. Its public analysis covers Broadcom (VMware), Canonical, Citrix, H3C, HPE, IDT System, Microsoft, Nutanix, Oracle, Platform9, Proxmox, Red Hat, Sangfor, Scale Computing, SUSE, Vates and VergeIO. Inclusion in that list does not mean the products are interchangeable or equal in capability. Gartner’s public abstract also does not provide a neutral, global VMware market-share figure or a measured portfolio-wide migration rate.

In practical terms, VMware’s default status is under pressure while its products and technical relevance remain active. The effect on any customer depends on its edition, entitlement, renewal date, cluster size, storage and networking design, integrations and required support level.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

VMware licensing changes that matter now

vSphere 9 uses subscription licensing

Broadcom’s guidance for VMware Cloud Foundation (VCF) 9 and VMware vSphere Foundation (VVF) 9 describes a subscription model administered through VCF Operations and the VMware Cloud Foundation Business Services console. Subscription license files replace 25-character license keys, and customers need an eligible subscription. License allocation and management are centralized rather than handled as a collection of old-style keys. These rules describe version 9; they do not mean every legacy installation changed on the same date or that renewal prices are identical for every customer. Check the Broadcom v9 licensing guidance against your contract and target version.

Older editions do not automatically map to version 9

Broadcom’s July 2026 compatibility guidance says Essentials Plus is a discontinued perpetual model and cannot license vSphere 9. It also states that vSphere Standard and Enterprise Plus are supported only up to 8 Update 3, while version 9 capabilities are delivered through VVF 9 and VCF 9. The exact upgrade route depends on the entitlement you hold, so treat this as a version-and-license check rather than a blanket instruction to upgrade. Review the edition compatibility guidance before budgeting or scheduling work.

Discontinued SKUs do not mean every VMware service disappeared

Broadcom’s updated end-of-availability page explains changes to perpetual licensing and certain SaaS offerings, including cases where customers may still acquire a solution even though its standalone SKU is no longer available. That supports describing a changed portfolio and sales model—not claiming that all VMware services ended. Broadcom’s end-of-availability clarification is the relevant reference for a specific product.

VMware is still shipping products

The enterprise licensing debate can obscure a separate fact: VMware continues to release desktop virtualization software. In its May 2026 announcement, Broadcom described Workstation and Fusion 26H1 as free for commercial, educational and personal use. The release makes Workstation Pro a 64-bit application for Windows, adds lifecycle timestamps and organizational features, and supports remote management of ARM-based ESXi servers. Listed guest support includes Ubuntu 26.04 LTS, Fedora 43 and 44, SUSE Linux Enterprise 16, openSUSE 16.0 and FreeBSD 15.0. Those are vendor-stated desktop-product updates; they do not demonstrate that enterprise server renewals are inexpensive or unchanged. Read the Workstation and Fusion 26H1 announcement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why customers are reassessing VMware

Pricing and contract predictability

Broadcom’s move toward subscriptions makes renewal timing, entitlement scope and future price exposure central planning questions. A team that previously treated a perpetual license as a sunk cost must now model recurring charges and the products bundled into its target foundation edition.

Customer survey signals, with important limits

IT Pro reported CloudBolt’s 2026 survey as finding that 86% of respondents were actively reducing their VMware footprint and 88% were concerned about future price increases. The article presents the change as measured workload by workload, but the available report excerpt does not provide enough sample-size and methodology detail to generalize either percentage to all VMware customers. Mark Zembal, CloudBolt’s CMO, described the earlier reaction this way: “Two years ago, the market was dominated by knee-jerk speculation and worst-case projections.” Treat the figures as attributed survey signals, not a census of the market. See IT Pro’s report on the CloudBolt research.

Competitive pressure from vendors and customers

Nutanix’s 2025 annual report says the company believes its opportunity to gain share increased after Broadcom acquired VMware. It attributes that opportunity to changes in VMware’s portfolio, pricing and partner programs and says many customers explored alternatives. This is Nutanix’s competitive assessment, not an independent measurement of migrations. Read Nutanix’s 2025 annual report.

VMware alternatives worth evaluating

Proxmox VE

Proxmox’s official release announcements list Proxmox VE 9.2 in May 2026, official Arm64 support in August and expanded 24/7 enterprise support plus a North American subsidiary in September. Those milestones show continued product and support investment. They do not establish VMware feature parity, migration simplicity or suitability for a particular regulated or highly integrated environment. Check Proxmox’s official release list.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Nutanix

Nutanix is a significant option in the reassessment conversation, particularly for organizations already using its platform or evaluating an integrated hyperconverged stack. Public material supplied for this article establishes Nutanix’s stated opportunity to gain VMware share, but not a neutral feature-by-feature comparison, universal pricing advantage or equivalent support terms.

Best Value
Forvencer Server Book, 2 Zipper Pocket, Server Books for Waitress
  • Upgraded Two Zipper Pockets: Forvencer server books feature two secure zipper pockets for better organization of coins, cash, and receipts, ensuring that everything you collect has a safe and secure place
  • Smart Storage & Quick Access: Designed with 8 multi-functional compartments, the right side includes a guest receipt pad, while the left has a money pocket, ticket pocket, and credit card slot. Two small clear pockets store bills, receipts, and other visible items. A stitched pen loop ensures you always have your favorite pen ready
  • High-quality & Easy to Clean: Crafted from high-quality PU leather with heavy-duty stitching, this server book is built to last. It resists tears, scratches, and its waterproof surface makes cleaning easy with just a damp cloth or a non-chlorine sanitizer
  • Perfect Fit for Your Apron: Measuring 5” x 8”, this compact organizer is slightly smaller than other models, making it ideal for bending or sitting while carrying in your server apron. It holds everything a waitress needs—a place for everything
  • What's Included: This server organizer comes with multiple open and zippered pockets to store money, receipts, tips, etc. Clear sleeves are perfect for keeping menus or special lists while serving. Available in a variety of colors, allowing you to express yourself even when in uniform

Other platforms

Gartner’s covered-vendor list demonstrates a broad field that includes Microsoft, Red Hat, Citrix, Oracle, Canonical, HPE, SUSE, Vates, Platform9, Scale Computing, VergeIO and others. A name on the list is a prompt for qualification, not proof that the platform can run your current applications, backup software, storage fabric or disaster-recovery design without changes.

Decision axis VMware today Proxmox VE Nutanix
Licensing basis VCF 9 and VVF 9 use subscriptions managed through VCF Operations and Business Services; legacy entitlements vary. Licensing and support terms for your required edition are not stated in the cited material; verify current terms directly. Licensing metric and renewal terms are not stated in the cited material; obtain a quote for your nodes, storage and required services.
Feature and integration fit Assess the management, networking, storage, security, automation, backup and DR features you already depend on. Product announcements show active development, but parity for your specific features is not established. Its competitive positioning is documented by Nutanix; equivalent capability for your design is not established by the cited material.
Hardware and guest compatibility Confirm the supported vSphere version, server hardware, guest operating systems and attached devices. Confirm CPU architecture, storage controllers, guest operating systems and vendor support matrices. Confirm node models, hypervisor version, guest support and any appliance or cloud constraints.
Migration and rollback Staying avoids conversion work but preserves the current licensing and renewal exposure. Plan conversion tooling, downtime, data movement and a tested rollback; no universal migration time is established. Plan application, storage and network changes and a rollback path; no universal migration time is established.
Support and skills Account for existing staff expertise, partner access and the support tier in your contract. Account for internal Linux and virtualization skills and the support level you purchase. Account for platform-specific administration skills, partner availability and support scope.
Full lifecycle cost Include subscriptions, adjacent VCF/VVF components, hardware, backup, DR, training and migration avoidance. Include subscriptions or support, hardware, operations, backup, DR, training and migration labor. Include platform licensing, appliance or infrastructure costs, support, backup, DR, training and migration labor.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Should your organization migrate from VMware?

Do not decide from a headline, a survey percentage or a single renewal quote. Build a workload-level business case using the following checks:

  • Inventory dependencies: record clusters, versions, CPU architecture, storage, network features, GPUs, backup agents, disaster-recovery tooling, monitoring, automation and vendor-certified applications.
  • Normalize licensing: compare the same number of hosts, cores, virtual machines, storage capacity, management functions and support hours. Separate one-time migration costs from recurring charges.
  • Test hard requirements: validate high availability, live migration, replication, encryption, micro-segmentation, identity integration, APIs, logging and compliance controls in a proof of concept.
  • Model operational capacity: identify the staff who will patch, troubleshoot, secure and recover the replacement platform. A lower license bill can be offset by scarce skills or additional tooling.
  • Measure migration risk: define acceptable downtime, data-copy windows, application-owner sign-off, rollback triggers and a parallel-run period for critical systems.
  • Decide by workload: keep workloads whose dependencies, risk or economics favor VMware; move candidates where an alternative meets requirements with lower long-term exposure.

A controlled path for evaluating alternatives

  1. Confirm your starting point. Export the exact VMware product names, versions, entitlements, renewal dates and support terms from your contract and management consoles.
  2. Classify workloads. Separate ordinary virtual machines from latency-sensitive databases, licensed appliances, GPU workloads, clustered applications and systems with strict recovery objectives.
  3. Shortlist platforms. Include only alternatives that can satisfy the hardware, guest, storage, network, security, automation, backup and DR requirements for each class.
  4. Run a representative pilot. Test provisioning, patching, live migration or its equivalent, failure recovery, monitoring, backup restore, identity integration and performance with production-like data.
  5. Price the complete lifecycle. Obtain written quotes and include support, hardware refresh, training, consulting, backup, DR, management tools, egress and migration labor.
  6. Use a staged cutover. Move low-risk workloads first, keep a tested rollback route, document runbooks and require application-owner acceptance before critical migrations.
  7. Revisit the decision at renewal. Pricing, editions, support policies and product roadmaps can change; record the assumptions behind the business case and refresh them before committing.

The practical verdict

VMware has not vanished, and the evidence does not support a universal exodus. What has ended is the assumption that every organization should renew VMware without rechecking the commercial and technical basis. Version 9’s subscription model, discontinued perpetual paths and a wider field of credible vendors make a documented comparison essential. For some environments, staying with VMware will remain the lowest-risk choice; for others, a phased move to Proxmox, Nutanix or another qualified platform may reduce dependency. The defensible strategy in 2026 is to make that choice per workload, using verified entitlements, tested compatibility and total lifecycle cost.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.