Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The Synology RackStation RS1219+ is an older-generation, eight-bay 2U NAS that can still suit a business needing rackmount file storage or backup, especially if a used unit is attractively priced and in good condition. Its strengths are four built-in 1GbE ports, optional 10GbE, Btrfs support, and expansion to twelve drives with an RX418. Its limits are an older Atom processor and DDR3 memory, plus the need to verify current drive, software, and accessory support before committing to it.

This is a specification-based review: Synology’s published performance figures are manufacturer-reported, not independent benchmark results.

What the RS1219+ is—and who it suits

The RS1219+ is a 2U rackmount network-attached storage system with eight internal SATA bays. Synology positions it for business file storage and backup. It is most compelling today as a used or refurbished system when its price, condition, warranty, and included rack hardware make sense for the intended workload.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

It is less attractive if the buyer needs a long, clearly documented software-support runway, modern platform features, or high network throughput without buying and configuring additional hardware. Synology names the newer RS1221+ generation as its successor.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

RS1219+ specifications at a glance

Specification RS1219+
Form factor and bays 2U rackmount; eight internal 3.5-inch or 2.5-inch SATA drives, according to Synology’s datasheet.
Expansion Up to twelve total drives with one RX418 expansion unit, per Synology’s datasheet.
Processor Intel Atom C2538 quad-core, per Synology’s datasheet.
Memory 2 GB DDR3, expandable to a maximum of 16 GB, per Synology’s datasheet.
Built-in networking Four RJ-45 1GbE ports with failover and link aggregation, per Synology’s datasheet.
Expansion slot PCIe Gen2 x8 slot operating at an x4 link; supports a compatible optional 10GbE card, per Synology’s datasheet.
USB and eSATA Two USB ports and one eSATA expansion connection, per Synology’s datasheet.
File systems and RAID Btrfs and ext4; SHR, Basic, JBOD, RAID 0, 1, 5, 6, and 10, per Synology’s datasheet.
Maximum single volume 108 TB in Synology’s current RS1219+ product specification (accessed 2026); usable capacity varies with drive sizes, RAID, and metadata.

These are manufacturer specifications, not independent measurements. The model-series path in the datasheet identifies the 2019 product generation; Synology does not state the datasheet’s publication date.

Performance: understand the 10GbE claim

Synology’s datasheet reports sequential throughput of over 1,310 MB/s reading and 470 MB/s writing in a 10GbE network environment. Those are manufacturer-published figures, not results from an independent review. Synology’s product specification page notes that performance testing used a 10GbE NIC and that results vary with configuration, testing method, and other environmental variables.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

The RS1219+ has four built-in 1GbE ports, not built-in 10GbE. Reaching the quoted 10GbE environment requires a compatible card in the PCIe slot as well as suitable switches, cabling, client hardware, storage configuration, and workload. Link aggregation across 1GbE ports can help serve multiple clients or support failover, but it does not turn a single client connection into a 10GbE link.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Storage, snapshots, and backup

Synology documents Btrfs and ext4 support and lists SHR, Basic, JBOD, and RAID 0, 1, 5, 6, and 10. With Btrfs, the datasheet describes snapshots, file and folder restoration, quotas, checksums, and self-healing on supported RAID volumes. It also documents a capacity of 65,000 system-wide snapshots and 1,024 snapshots per shared folder.

Rank #3
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Snapshots can help recover files from accidental changes or deletion, and RAID can keep a volume available after certain drive failures. Neither protects data from every threat: device loss, theft, fire, malware, or a damaging administrative mistake can also affect the NAS. Synology describes backup destinations including local folders, external devices, another Synology NAS, rsync, and public cloud services. Keep an independent backup appropriate to the value of the data.

Drive, memory, cache, and expansion compatibility

Hard drives

Synology lists Plus Series 3.5-inch SATA HDDs among accessories and maintains a model-specific drive compatibility list. Check the exact drive model and firmware there before purchase. Synology warns that unlisted drives may receive limited support and that hardware or firmware changes can affect compatibility; entries can change over time.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

RX418 expansion

One RX418 is Synology’s documented route from eight internal bays to twelve total drives. Account for the expansion unit and its connection in the system’s total cost and rack-space plan; it is not an extra set of bays inside the RS1219+ chassis.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

M.2 cache

The M2D18 adapter can add cache, but Synology specifies M.2 SATA SSDs only for the RS1219+. NVMe/AHCI PCIe M.2 drives are not supported in this combination, so a generic NVMe stick is not an appropriate substitute.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Memory

Synology specifies DDR3L non-ECC SODIMM kits and a 16 GB maximum. Its memory guidance warns that using non-Synology memory may limit complete product warranty or technical support. Confirm the exact kit and implications with Synology before upgrading.

10GbE and rack hardware

A compatible 10GbE card can use the PCIe slot; check Synology’s current accessory compatibility information for the exact card. Synology says the RS1219+ and RX418 are each 12 inches deep and can fit in a 2-post rack. For four-post installation, a rail-kit option is available separately. Used listings may not include rails, so check what is in the box rather than assuming rack hardware is included.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

RS1219+ vs. RS1221+: the generation gap

Synology’s RS1221+ announcement identifies the RS1219+ as its predecessor. The generation differences documented by Synology are meaningful, but they do not by themselves establish a real-world speed advantage for every workload.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Area RS1219+ RS1221+ generation
Memory generation DDR3; RS1219+ maximum is 16 GB, per its datasheet. DDR4 ECC, as described in Synology’s announcement.
PCIe generation PCIe Gen2 slot (x8 physical, x4 link), per the RS1219+ datasheet. PCIe 3.0, per Synology’s announcement.
Current offer price, condition, and warranty Not established by Synology’s cited RS1219+ specifications; check the actual used or refurbished offer. Not established by Synology’s cited RS1221+ announcement; check the actual offer.
Software support end date Not stated in the cited Synology material. Not stated in the cited Synology material.

Choose between generations based on the software and packages the NAS must run during its expected service life, required memory and network options, installation needs, and the actual price and warranty available. The cited sources do not establish a definitive DSM or package end-of-support date for the RS1219+, so do not infer one from its age alone.

What to check before buying a used RS1219+

  • Ask for the unit’s operating status, history, and a current drive-health report; the chassis age alone does not establish the condition of either the NAS or its disks.
  • Verify exactly what is included: drive trays, power cables, any expansion unit, memory upgrades, 10GbE card, and rack rails. Rails are a separate option for four-post installations.
  • Price the complete setup, including compatible drives and any RX418, M2D18, memory, network card, or rack hardware needed for your plan.
  • Check the exact drive, memory, and accessory models against Synology’s current compatibility information, and confirm the software and packages you depend on are supported.
  • Compare the offer with a newer-generation alternative on total cost, warranty, and expected service life—not just the NAS chassis price.

Current market prices, Amazon stock, and the condition of any particular listing are not established here; verify them directly with the seller before purchase.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.