Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Choose based on the plan you need, its renewal price and contractual limits—not on an unsupported claim that one host is faster. ScalaHosting makes renewal prices visible on its shared-hosting page; Hosting.com lists a broader set of included features and phone support, but its shared-hosting terms set specific resource limits. Compare the same hosting type and billing term, then confirm the final checkout price and terms before buying.

How the providers compare at a glance

What to compare ScalaHosting Hosting.com
Shared-plan pricing Its page displays introductory and renewal prices for three shared plans. The page’s selector offers 36-, 12- and 1-month choices; confirm which term and price apply at checkout. Source: ScalaHosting, accessed 2026. The page describes monthly, yearly and four-year billing options, but plan-by-plan prices are not stated in the reviewed page content. Source: Hosting.com, accessed 2026.
Shared-plan allocations Mini lists 10 GB NVMe and one website; Start lists 50 GB and unlimited websites; Advanced lists 100 GB and unlimited websites. Source: ScalaHosting, accessed 2026. Exact per-tier allocations are not stated in the reviewed page content. Source: Hosting.com, accessed 2026.
Listed features ScalaHosting lists free migration, SSL and daily automated backups; some features depend on the plan. Source: ScalaHosting, accessed 2026. Hosting.com says its plans include NVMe storage, LiteSpeed caching, unlimited databases, malware protection and free SSL. It also describes daily off-server backups, with restoration to a point in the previous 30 days. Source: Hosting.com, accessed 2026.
Support channels listed Chat, email and tickets are listed as available 24/7; ScalaHosting says initial ticket response is within 15 minutes. Source: ScalaHosting, accessed 2026. Hosting.com lists 24/7/365 in-house live chat, phone and tickets, as well as its Orbi AI assistant. Source: Hosting.com, accessed 2026.
Migration The company says its team migrates a site and checks it after transfer. Source: ScalaHosting, accessed 2026. The company describes migration of sites, email and domains, with a preview before launch. Source: Hosting.com, accessed 2026.
Terms to check Renewals use the standard price for the selected service; cancellation requests go through the client dashboard. Source: ScalaHosting terms, accessed 2026. Shared hosting has stated inode and concurrent-connection limits, and “unlimited” or “unmetered” use is qualified by the terms. Source: Hosting.com terms, accessed 2026.

Compare shared-plan prices and renewal costs

ScalaHosting’s page snapshot lists the following monthly figures. They are displayed offers, not guaranteed checkout quotes: promotions, billing term and geography can affect the amount payable.

ScalaHosting plan Introductory price shown Renewal price shown Listed storage and sites
Mini $2.95/month $10.95/month 10 GB NVMe; one website
Start $5.95/month $13.95/month 50 GB; unlimited websites
Advanced $9.95/month $17.95/month 100 GB; unlimited websites

Source for all figures in the table: ScalaHosting’s shared-hosting page, accessed 2026. Check the selected term, total upfront charge and renewal amount in checkout. ScalaHosting’s terms say renewal is at the standard price for the selected service and that a renewal invoice is generated seven days before expiry. The same terms explain eligibility and conditions for money-back offers; read them rather than assuming every purchase qualifies. ScalaHosting terms.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Hosting.com’s reviewed page offers monthly, yearly and four-year billing choices, but does not expose readable plan-by-plan prices. That is not enough to determine which provider costs less. Compare matching terms, features and renewal prices directly at checkout; a first-term promotion alone is not a like-for-like comparison.

Match features and limits to your workload

When ScalaHosting’s listed allocations matter

The displayed Mini, Start and Advanced plans differ in storage and site count. Use those allocations to narrow the choice based on how many sites you host and how much space they need. ScalaHosting also describes SPanel and VPS options, so it may be worth comparing those separately if shared hosting is not the right fit. Plan features can vary; verify the selected plan’s backup and other inclusions before relying on them.

What Hosting.com’s “unlimited” wording means in practice

Hosting.com advertises unlimited databases and lists NVMe, LiteSpeed caching, malware protection and free SSL across its plans. Those are provider statements, not independent performance results. Its service terms also qualify shared-hosting use: they state a limit of 600,000 inodes and 35 concurrent HTTP connections, and restrict certain uses such as online file serving and large-scale audio or video distribution. “Unlimited” or “unmetered” therefore does not mean unrestricted capacity. Hosting.com service terms.

For cPanel shared accounts, Hosting.com’s terms subject complimentary backups to a 50 GB aggregate quota and other stated constraints. If you maintain a large media library, serve files for download or depend on backups for recovery, read the terms and confirm that the exact account covers your use case. Hosting.com separately describes daily off-server backups with restoration to a point in the prior 30 days; check how that description applies to the plan and account you intend to buy. Hosting.com plan page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Migration and support: compare the channels you need

Both providers describe migration assistance, but the advertised scope differs. ScalaHosting says its technicians migrate and check the site after transfer. Hosting.com describes moving sites, email and domains and previewing the site before it goes live. Neither description is a guarantee of zero downtime. Before committing, ask what is included for your number of sites, email setup, DNS changes and timing.

If phone access is important, Hosting.com lists phone support alongside chat and tickets. ScalaHosting lists chat, email and tickets, and says initial ticket response is within 15 minutes. These are the providers’ stated channels and response claim, not an independent assessment of service quality. Choose based on the contact options you are likely to use.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which hosting provider should you choose?

  • Consider ScalaHosting if you want listed shared-plan storage and site allocations, a displayed renewal figure to compare before checkout, or its stated chat, email and ticket options. Confirm the applicable billing term, standard renewal price and plan-specific inclusions.
  • Consider Hosting.com if its advertised feature set fits your needs or having phone support listed is important. First check its current plan price and the shared-hosting limits, especially if your site has many files, high connection concurrency, or substantial media and backup needs.
  • Compare both—or look beyond shared hosting if your workload needs predictable capacity, substantial storage, or a hosting type not covered by the shared-plan comparison. The available plan descriptions do not establish a current independent, like-for-like performance winner.

For either provider, compare the exact service, term, renewal price, migration scope and applicable terms before paying. Introductory pricing and advertised features do not by themselves establish the long-term cost or suitability of an account.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.