Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The Samsung Galaxy F16 5G is the lower-priced launch option with a higher-resolution sAMOLED screen; the newer Galaxy M17e 5G trades resolution and rear-camera modules for a 120 Hz display and a larger battery. In India, matching 4GB/128GB and 6GB/128GB versions of the M17e launched ₹2,500 above the F16, though the F16’s 4GB price included bank cashback. Those are historical launch prices—not current offers.

At a glance: Galaxy F16 5G vs Galaxy M17e 5G

Specification Galaxy F16 5G Galaxy M17e 5G
India announcement 13 March 2025 18 March 2026; sales began 20 March 2026
Launch configurations 4GB/128GB, 6GB/128GB, 8GB/128GB 4GB/128GB, 6GB/128GB
Display 6.7-inch FHD+ sAMOLED; 90 Hz listed by Gadgets 360 6.7-inch HD+ IPS LCD; 120 Hz listed by Samsung and Gadgets 360
Processor MediaTek Dimensity 6300 MediaTek Dimensity 6300
Rear cameras 50MP triple-camera setup 50MP main camera plus depth camera
Front camera 13MP 8MP
Battery 5,000mAh; 25W charging 6,000mAh; charging details not stated in Samsung’s announcement
Software at launch Android 15 / One UI 7, according to Gadgets 360 Android 16 / One UI 8
Update promise Six Android OS generations and six years of security updates, per Samsung Six Android OS generations and six years of security updates, per Samsung

Sources: Samsung’s F16 announcement, Samsung’s M17e announcement, and Gadgets 360’s specifications comparison. The refresh rate and F16 launch software version are attributed to the independent comparison; Samsung’s M17e announcement does not state charging details.

India launch prices and the ₹2,500 difference

Matching configuration F16 5G launch price M17e 5G launch price Launch difference
4GB/128GB ₹11,499, including ₹1,000 bank cashback ₹13,999 ₹2,500
6GB/128GB ₹12,999 ₹15,499 ₹2,500

These are the manufacturers’ India launch prices, not a live price check. Samsung also listed an 8GB/128GB F16 at ₹14,499; the M17e announcement listed 4GB/128GB and 6GB/128GB configurations. The F16’s 4GB price includes the stated cashback, so eligibility and terms matter when comparing it with the M17e’s launch price.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Current retailer listings can differ from launch pricing and may refer to different variants or offers. For example, 91mobiles showed a ₹12,499 Flipkart listing for the F16 and a ₹19,999 Amazon listing for the M17e when that comparison page was accessed; those snapshots should not be treated as current or like-for-like prices. Check the live listing for the same RAM and storage, seller, warranty, stock, and offer terms before deciding. See 91mobiles’ comparison for its retailer-context snapshot.

#1 Best Overall
Samsung Galaxy A16 5G 128GB Cell Phone, Unlocked Android Smartphone, Large AMOLED Display, Durable Design, Super Fast Charging, Expandable Storage, US Version, 2025, Blue Black (Renewed)
  • Charger NOT Included, 6.7" Super AMOLED FHD+, 90Hz Refresh Rate, 385 ppi, 800 nits (HBM), 1080x2340px, 5000mAh Battery
  • 128GB, 4GB RAM, microSDXC, Exynos 1330 (5nm), Octa-Core, Mali-G68 MP2 or Mali-G57 MC2 GPU
  • Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 (wide) + 5MP, f/2.2 (ultrawide) + 2MP, f/2.4 (macro), LED flash, panorama, HDR; Front Camera: 13MP, f/2.0, Android 14, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 6.1
  • 3G: HSDPA 850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100; 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/12/13/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/48/66/71, 5G: 2/5/25/41/66/71/77/78 SA/NSA/Sub6/mmWave - Nano-SIM + eSIM
  • US Model – Global Connectivity – Compatible with Most GSM Carriers like T-Mobile, AT&T, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Straight Talk.

Which screen is better for you?

Choose the F16 for resolution and panel type

The F16 has a 6.7-inch FHD+ sAMOLED display. Its higher listed resolution and AMOLED panel are the stronger fit if sharpness, contrast, and screen technology matter more to you than refresh rate.

Choose the M17e for refresh rate

The M17e has a 6.7-inch HD+ IPS LCD panel with a 120 Hz refresh rate listed by Samsung and Gadgets 360. The higher refresh rate is its advantage for smoother scrolling and motion, while the lower listed resolution and LCD panel are trade-offs against the F16. The choice is between different display strengths, not an across-the-board win for one phone.

Rank #2
Sale
Samsung Galaxy A17 5G Smart Phone 128GB, US 1 Yr Manufacturer Warranty Blue
  • YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
  • LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
  • MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
  • NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
  • BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.

Battery, cameras, and performance

Battery capacity

Samsung lists a 6,000mAh battery for the M17e and a 5,000mAh battery with 25W charging for the F16. The M17e therefore has 1,000mAh more rated capacity on paper. Capacity alone does not establish actual runtime, and Samsung’s M17e announcement does not specify charging wattage; independent comparison pages list 25W, but verify the exact local SKU before relying on that figure.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Camera configuration

The F16 has a 50MP triple rear-camera setup and a 13MP front camera. Samsung describes the M17e as having a 50MP main camera plus a depth camera, with an 8MP front camera. The F16 offers more rear camera modules and a higher-resolution selfie camera on the published specifications, but those figures do not establish which phone takes better photos. The available comparisons do not provide controlled camera testing.

Rank #3
Sale
Samsung Galaxy A17 5G Smart Phone 128GB US 1 Yr Manufacturer Warranty Black
  • YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
  • LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
  • MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
  • NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
  • BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.

Shared chipset, unproven real-world parity

Samsung identifies the MediaTek Dimensity 6300 in both phones. A shared chipset family does not prove identical speed, sustained performance, or battery efficiency; those outcomes require device testing that the cited specifications do not provide.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Software support and build details

Samsung promises six generations of Android OS upgrades and six years of security updates for both models. The M17e launched with Android 16 and One UI 8, while Gadgets 360 lists Android 15 and One UI 7 for the F16. Because the M17e starts on a newer Android generation while the stated support duration is the same, it begins from a newer software baseline.

Rank #4
Samsung Galaxy A16 4G LTE (128GB + 4GB) International Model SM-A165F/DS Factory Unlocked, 6.7", Dual SIM, 50MP Triple Camera (Case Bundle), Black
  • Please note, this device does not support E-SIM; This 4G model is compatible with all GSM networks worldwide outside of the U.S. In the US, ONLY compatible with T-Mobile and their MVNO's (Metro and Standup). It will NOT work with other CDMA carriers, and it is also not compatible with their MVNO (Visible, Xfinity Mobile, US Mobile, Cricket Wireless, etc).
  • Compatibility with certain third-party devices and accessibility accessories, including some hearing aids, may vary depending on manufacturer support, Bluetooth protocols, software compatibility, and regional firmware limitations. For additional hearing aid compatibility information, please refer to Samsung’s official support documentation.
  • Camera: 50 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1/2.76", 0.64µm, AF | 50 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1/2.76", 0.64µm, AF | 2 MP, f/2.4, (macro). Battery: 5000 mAh, non-removable | A power adapter is NOT included.

Samsung describes the M17e as 8.2mm thick and says it has a glass-fibre reinforced polymer back, dust and water protection, and access to more than 3,300 service touchpoints. These are Samsung-stated product and service details, not independent durability or service-outcome measurements. Gadgets 360 lists IP54 for the M17e, but Samsung’s launch announcement does not establish an IP rating; do not assume that listing applies to every local SKU without checking its official product specifications. Samsung describes the F16 as 7.9mm slim; the cited launch announcement does not establish an IP rating for it.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to choose between them

  • Pick the F16 if: you prefer an FHD+ sAMOLED screen, want the listed triple rear-camera setup or 13MP front camera, or find it cheaper for the same RAM and storage at a current retailer.
  • Pick the M17e if: you value a 120 Hz refresh rate, want the larger stated battery, or prefer a phone that launched on Android 16 / One UI 8.
  • Compare carefully before buying: match RAM and storage, check the current price and cashback eligibility, confirm seller and warranty, and verify the exact model’s charging and protection specifications.

Samsung named Flipkart and Samsung.com as F16 sales channels, and Amazon as an M17e channel in its India launch materials. Channel availability and prices can change, so use the live listing rather than the launch announcement to confirm stock and terms.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.