Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The Samsung Galaxy A56 5G is the stronger choice if a clearly stated long-term software commitment is your priority: Samsung promises up to six generations of OS upgrades and six years of security updates. Xiaomi’s Kenya listing gives the Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G a larger, higher-resolution display, a much larger stated battery and faster charging on paper. The price comparison is less decisive: one comparison page displayed the two at nearly identical rupee prices, but that snapshot is not a current or universal offer.
At a glance: which phone fits which buyer?
- Choose the Galaxy A56 5G if: Samsung’s published software-support duration matters most, or you want its 6.7-inch FHD+ display, 5,000mAh typical battery and IP67 rating.
- Consider the Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G if: the version sold in your market matches Xiaomi Kenya’s listing and you prioritize its 6.83-inch 1.5K display, 8,340mAh typical battery and 67W charging specification.
- Decide by local price and exact model: prices, bands, NFC, and box contents can vary by market. Verify the configuration and carrier compatibility before buying.
These are specification-based distinctions, not a verdict from hands-on testing. No directly comparable independent battery, camera, performance or display test is established here.
Samsung Galaxy A56 vs Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G specs
| Specification | Samsung Galaxy A56 5G | Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.7-inch Super AMOLED; 1080 × 2340; up to 120Hz; Samsung states up to 1,200 nits. | 6.83-inch AMOLED; 2772 × 1280 (1.5K); up to 120Hz; 12-bit color; Gorilla Glass Victus 2. Xiaomi Kenya listing. |
| Processor | Octa-core Exynos 1580; Samsung lists peak CPU speeds of 2.9, 2.6 and 1.9GHz. | Snapdragon 6s Gen 4, up to 2.4GHz. Xiaomi Kenya listing. |
| Rear cameras | 50MP main, 12MP ultra-wide and 5MP macro. | 50MP OIS main and 8MP ultra-wide. Xiaomi Kenya listing. |
| Front camera | 12MP, as listed on the comparison page. | 16MP. Xiaomi Kenya listing. |
| Battery and charging | 5,000mAh typical; 45W wired charging. | 8,340mAh typical silicon-carbon battery; 67W HyperCharge. Xiaomi Kenya listing. |
| Water and dust resistance | IP67. Samsung describes lab submersion up to 1m in freshwater for up to 30 minutes and notes resistance can diminish. | IP66/IP68/IP69/IP69K on Xiaomi Kenya’s listing, with test-condition and wear caveats; Xiaomi advises against beach or pool use. |
| Software | Up to six generations of OS upgrades and six years of security updates, according to Samsung. | HyperOS 3 is listed by Xiaomi Kenya; that specification page does not state a support duration. |
| Regional connectivity | Complete band and SIM details depend on local SKU and carrier; a full regional band table is not established here. | Dual SIM and bands are listed for Kenya, with Xiaomi warning that bands vary by region and carrier. NFC availability varies; Xiaomi’s Mexico listing says NFC is unavailable on that listing. |
Sources: Samsung UK Galaxy A56 5G product information, Samsung’s announcement, Xiaomi Kenya specifications and Xiaomi Mexico specifications.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
How do their displays compare?
The Redmi has the larger and higher-resolution panel in the listed specifications: 6.83 inches at 2772 × 1280, versus Samsung’s 6.7 inches at 1080 × 2340. Both are listed at up to 120Hz. Samsung specifies Super AMOLED and states up to 1,200 nits; Xiaomi’s Kenya page lists AMOLED, 12-bit color and Gorilla Glass Victus 2.
#1 Best Overall
- 25W Samsung Super Fast Charger Included, 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED, 120Hz, HDR10+, 1080x2340px, Fingerprint (under display, optical), IP67 dust and water resistance
- 256GB, 8GB, No SD Card Slot, Exynos 1580 (4nm), Octa-core, Xclipse 540 GPU, Android 15, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 7
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 + 12MP, f/2.2 + 5MP, f/2.4, Front Camera: 12MP, f/2.2, 5000mAh Battery, Bluetooth 5.3
Those figures describe different attributes and do not establish which screen looks better in everyday use. In particular, do not treat Samsung’s brightness figure as a direct win without comparable measurement conditions. If screen quality is decisive, compare the exact regional models in person or consult testing that measures them under the same conditions.
Battery capacity and charging: what the numbers do—and don’t—say
Xiaomi Kenya lists an 8,340mAh typical silicon-carbon battery and 67W HyperCharge for the Redmi. Samsung lists a 5,000mAh typical battery and 45W wired charging for the A56. On stated capacity and charging wattage, the Redmi’s numbers are higher.
Capacity and wattage do not tell you how many hours either phone will last or how quickly it will charge in practice. Those outcomes depend on usage, settings, charging conditions and other factors; no comparable test result is established here. Samsung UK advertises up to 29 hours of video viewing for the A56 under the manufacturer’s conditions, which is not a direct comparison with the Redmi.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsCamera hardware and performance
The A56 lists a triple rear setup: 50MP main, 12MP ultra-wide and 5MP macro. Xiaomi Kenya lists a 50MP OIS main camera and an 8MP ultra-wide camera for the Redmi. The cited comparison page gives Samsung’s front camera as 12MP, while Xiaomi Kenya lists 16MP.
Rank #2
- The included 25W Fast Charger is a generic accessory and is not a Samsung-branded charger, 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED, 120Hz, HDR10+, 1080x2340px, Fingerprint (under display, optical), IP67 dust and water resistance
- 256GB, 12GB, No SD Card Slot, Exynos 1580 (4nm), Octa-core, Xclipse 540 GPU, Android 15, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 7
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 + 12MP, f/2.2 + 5MP, f/2.4, Front Camera: 12MP, f/2.2, 5000mAh Battery, Bluetooth 5.3
- 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/17/20/25/26/28/38/40/41/66, 5G: N1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66/77/78 - Dual SIM
- International Model – Global Connectivity – Plug & Play with an active SIM on AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile, and most U.S. carriers. New activations are supported on T-Mobile and Its MVNO's in the U.S., as some carriers may not recognize International IMEI's as Compatible. (No U.S. manufacturer warranty; Seller Return policy applies.)
The Redmi’s main-camera listing explicitly includes optical image stabilization (OIS); the specifications cited here do not establish a matching stabilization detail for Samsung. Megapixel counts alone cannot predict image quality, and the listings do not provide a controlled comparison of photos or video. Look for comparable camera samples if low-light, portrait or video performance will drive your decision.
Samsung lists the Exynos 1580 with peak CPU speeds of 2.9, 2.6 and 1.9GHz; Xiaomi lists the Snapdragon 6s Gen 4 up to 2.4GHz. Clock speeds across different processor families are not a reliable way to rank performance. No equivalent independent benchmark was verified for this comparison, so a faster-phone claim is not supported by these figures alone.
Software support: Samsung has the clearer stated commitment
Samsung says the Galaxy A56 5G receives up to six generations of OS upgrades and six years of security updates. That is a defined support-duration commitment in Samsung’s announcement and product information.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Xiaomi Kenya lists HyperOS 3, but its cited specification page does not state a comparable support period. That omission does not prove Xiaomi offers no updates; it means the duration cannot be compared from that page. Check Xiaomi’s current local support policy for the exact model before treating update longevity as settled.
Rank #3
- AWESOMELY LIGHT: The sleeker, lighter design of Galaxy A56 5G makes it easier and more comfortable to hold as you browse, snap and share as compared to Galaxy A54 5G.
- AWESOME MADE EASY: The Awesome Intelligence of Galaxy A56 is like having a suite of superpowers. You can find answers quicker using Circle to Search with Google.7 Plus, get the photos and videos you want with tools like Best Face and Auto Trim .
- AWESOMELY VIVID DETAIL: The ultra-clear 6.7” display of Galaxy A56 5G helps you enjoy the latest shows, your favorite pics or fun social videos in awesome detail.2
- DELIGHT IN THE DETAILS: Galaxy A56 5G comes equipped with a triple-lens camera. A 50MP main camera gets great details, even at a distance. The 12MP wide camera allows you to get stunning clarity in your broader shots.
- LASTS LONG. CHARGES FAST: The 5,000mAh battery in Galaxy A56 5G lets you do what you want without worrying about running out of power. And the 45W Super Fast Charging 2.0 recharges your phone faster so you can get back to doing awesome things faster.3
Durability, regional versions and what comes in the box
Neither phone should be described as waterproof. Samsung’s IP67 description refers to lab submersion in freshwater up to 1m for up to 30 minutes, and Samsung cautions that resistance can diminish. Xiaomi lists multiple IP ratings on its Kenya page, but also attaches test-condition and wear caveats and advises against beach or pool use. Ratings apply under defined test conditions, not every real-world exposure.
Regional details can change the buying decision. Xiaomi’s Kenya specifications list dual SIM and bands but warn that bands vary by region and carrier. Its Kenya page says NFC availability may vary, while the Mexico listing says NFC is unavailable on that version. Xiaomi Kenya lists a charger adapter, cable, SIM tool, case, quick-start guide and warranty card in the box, but says packaging may differ by region. Samsung box contents were not established by the cited Samsung sources.
- Confirm the exact model number and supported bands with your carrier, especially if buying an imported phone.
- Check NFC on the local product page if you use contactless payments or accessories.
- Verify whether a charger and case are actually included with the local retail package rather than assuming the regional listing applies.
Price difference: the listed ₹1 gap is only a snapshot
The 91mobiles comparison page displayed ₹36,999 for the Galaxy A56 5G and ₹36,998 for the Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G, an observed difference of ₹1 in favor of the Redmi. The page showed Amazon attribution; the figures were accessed in 2026 and are not verified live checkout prices, guaranteed stock, or a like-for-like offer. The title does not specify a country, and this snapshot should not be generalized to other markets or dates.
For a useful price comparison, check current local offers for the same RAM and storage configuration. Compare seller, warranty, taxes, availability and promotions as well as the headline price. Source: 91mobiles comparison page.
Quick Recap
Which one should you buy?
- Favor the Galaxy A56 5G if the published six-generation OS-upgrade and six-year security-update commitment is more important to you than the Redmi’s higher listed battery capacity and display resolution.
- Favor the Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G if your local version matches Xiaomi Kenya’s larger, higher-resolution display and battery specifications, and the exact SKU works with your carrier and required NFC features.
- Compare local checkout prices before choosing if cost is the deciding factor. The cited ₹1 difference is only a page snapshot, not evidence that the phones are currently priced nearly equally where you live.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

