Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteiTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The Galaxy M56 offers a larger display, Samsung-listed 45 W charging and a longer announced software-support commitment. The Galaxy A54 has a documented IP67 rating. Which is the better buy depends on current local prices, availability and what matters most to you: the sources here establish India launch prices, not today’s price difference.
Galaxy A54 vs Galaxy M56: key specifications
| Specification | Galaxy A54 5G | Galaxy M56 5G |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.4-inch Super AMOLED, 120 Hz, per Samsung’s launch announcement | 17.11 cm full rectangle; 1080 × 2340 Super AMOLED Plus; up to 120 Hz, per Samsung’s product page |
| Rear cameras | 50 MP OIS main, 12 MP ultra-wide and 5 MP third camera, per Samsung’s launch announcement | 50 MP + 8 MP + 2 MP, with OIS, per Samsung’s product page |
| Front camera | Not stated in the Samsung launch details cited here | 12 MP, per Samsung’s product page |
| Battery and charging | 5,000 mAh; charging wattage not stated in the cited launch announcement | 5,000 mAh and 45 W charging, per Samsung’s launch announcement |
| Protection | IP67 rating; Gorilla Glass 5 front and back, per Samsung’s launch announcement | Gorilla Glass Victus+ front and back, per Samsung’s launch announcement; an IP rating is not stated there |
| Software commitment at launch | Four Android OS upgrades, per Samsung’s launch announcement | Six generations of Android upgrades and six years of security updates, per Samsung’s launch announcement |
| India launch price | ₹38,999 for 8 GB + 128 GB; ₹40,999 for 8 GB + 256 GB | ₹24,999 for 8 GB + 128 GB; ₹27,999 for 8 GB + 256 GB, including a stated ₹3,000 instant bank discount |
Sources: Samsung India’s Galaxy A54 launch announcement, Samsung India’s Galaxy M56 launch announcement and Samsung’s Galaxy M56 product specifications. These are manufacturer specifications and launch terms, not independent test results.
Which phone has the better display?
The M56 is the larger-screen choice: Samsung lists its display at 17.11 cm, with FHD+ 1080 × 2340 resolution and up to 120 Hz. Samsung described the A54 as having a 6.4-inch Super AMOLED display with a 120 Hz refresh rate. The panel descriptions differ—Super AMOLED Plus for the M56 and Super AMOLED for the A54—while both have a 120 Hz headline refresh rate. Those figures alone do not establish which screen looks better in use.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Do the camera specifications make one a better camera phone?
Both have a 50 MP main rear camera with OIS stated for the main camera setup, but their other listed rear-camera resolutions differ: the A54 announcement names a 12 MP ultra-wide and a 5 MP third camera; Samsung lists the M56 with 8 MP and 2 MP additional rear cameras. Samsung lists a 12 MP front camera for the M56; the cited A54 launch details do not state a front-camera resolution.
#1 Best Overall
- Equipped with a 6.4″ Super AMOLED display that supports a smooth 120 Hz refresh rate and offers up to 1,000 nits of peak brightness, the Galaxy A54 5G delivers vibrant visuals, rich contrast, and excellent readability even in bright outdoor conditions.
Megapixel counts and lens counts do not show how well cameras perform in different lighting or whether a secondary lens is useful. The cited sources do not provide comparative photo tests, so camera preference should be based on comparable sample photos rather than these specifications alone.
Battery, charging and durability
Samsung lists a 5,000 mAh battery for each phone. Its M56 launch announcement states 45 W charging; the cited A54 launch announcement does not give a charging wattage, so it does not support a full charging-speed comparison. Battery capacity and charging specifications do not establish real-world endurance.
Rank #2
- GSM Unlocked: GSM unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Cricket, Metro, etc.)
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a charger and charging cable that may be generic.
- Display: 6.4" Screen, 104.9 cm2 (~80.2% screen-to-body ratio) 1080 x 2408 pixels, 20:9 ratio (~400 ppi density)
- Accelerometer, Light Sensor, Proximity Sensor
- Octa-core (2x2.6 GHz Cortex-A78 & 6x2.0 GHz Cortex-A55) Mali-G68 MC4 | 5,000mAh battery
The A54 has the clearest documented water- and dust-resistance claim in these sources: Samsung announced an IP67 rating and Gorilla Glass 5 on the front and back. Samsung says the M56 has Gorilla Glass Victus+ on both sides, but the cited M56 launch source does not establish an IP rating. Do not assume the phones have equivalent water resistance.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Which has the longer software-support promise?
At launch, Samsung announced six generations of Android upgrades and six years of security updates for the M56; its A54 announcement stated four Android OS upgrades. That makes the M56’s announced commitment longer, but a launch promise is not a record of updates already delivered or a guarantee of how much support remains now. Update delivery and support timing can depend on model and region; check the applicable schedule before buying.
Rank #3
- 25W Samsung Super Fast Charger Included, 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED, 120Hz, HDR10+, 1080x2340px, Fingerprint (under display, optical), IP67 dust and water resistance
- 256GB, 8GB, No SD Card Slot, Exynos 1580 (4nm), Octa-core, Xclipse 540 GPU, Android 15, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 7
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 + 12MP, f/2.2 + 5MP, f/2.4, Front Camera: 12MP, f/2.2, 5000mAh Battery, Bluetooth 5.3
India launch prices are not today’s price difference
Samsung announced the M56 in India on 17 April 2025 at ₹24,999 for 8 GB + 128 GB and ₹27,999 for 8 GB + 256 GB, with the listed prices including a ₹3,000 instant bank discount. Samsung announced the A54 in India on 16 March 2023 at ₹38,999 for 8 GB + 128 GB and ₹40,999 for 8 GB + 256 GB; its announcement listed launch offers separately. These are historical launch figures from different years, not current selling prices. The M56 prices also include a stated bank discount, so the figures do not by themselves make a like-for-like comparison of ordinary transaction prices.
For a purchase decision, compare the same storage tier in your country and check the current seller price, stock, condition, warranty and offer terms. The current price gap cannot be determined from these launch announcements.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
- LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
- MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
- NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
- BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.
Rank #4
- Connectivity technology : Wireless
- Display.size : 6.4 inches
- Memory storage capacity : 128.0 GB
- Operating system : Android
- Transportation restrictions : {modes:["GROUND"],restricted destinations:["APO FPO","POBOX"],eval attrs:{{4AEA6u6jgYPen4a+nN6ahI6RaGF6bWF0U3ltYm9sVGFibGWFIQGIIV7esLvdskg/51wo9cKPXLNxXabdskg/6KPXCj1wpLNxXaXdskhAAAAAAAAAALNxNKNxXw==}}}
Which should you choose?
- Consider the Galaxy M56 if a larger screen, Samsung’s stated 45 W charging or its longer announced software-support commitment is more important to you.
- Consider the Galaxy A54 if a documented IP67 rating is a priority.
- For camera quality or battery life, these specifications do not settle the comparison; look for independent tests of the exact models.
- For value, base the decision on current, like-for-like prices and availability in your market, not the launch prices above.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →

