Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

For most buyers, the Samsung Galaxy A17 5G is the stronger all-around choice if you value a sharper AMOLED screen, more rear-camera options, and longer reported software support. The Moto G Power (2026) may suit you better if you prioritize a 120Hz display or its reported larger battery capacity—but capacity alone does not show which phone lasts longer in everyday use.

This comparison is U.S.-oriented and focuses on the Moto G Power (2026). “Moto G Power” can refer to different model years, and the Moto G (2026) is a distinct phone. Confirm the exact model before comparing listings or specifications.

At a glance: Galaxy A17 5G vs. Moto G Power (2026)

Feature Samsung Galaxy A17 5G Moto G Power (2026)
Display 6.7-inch FHD+ Super AMOLED, 90Hz, as reported by Android Central. 120Hz. Screen details vary across the available comparisons: Android Central’s head-to-head is about the distinct Moto G (2026) and reports a 6.7-inch HD+ IPS LCD. PhoneArena lists the Moto G Power (2026) at 6.8 inches and 2388×1080; Android Central’s separate Power comparison reports a 6.8-inch FHD+ panel. Verify the exact product variant. Android Central; PhoneArena; Android Central.
Rear cameras Reported 50MP main camera with OIS, 5MP ultrawide, and 2MP macro. The 2026 Moto G comparison reports a 50MP main camera without OIS and no ultrawide, but covers Moto G (2026), not necessarily Moto G Power (2026). A directly comparable, confirmed Moto G Power (2026) camera specification is not stated in the cited reporting.
Front camera 16MP, as reported by Android Central. 32MP is reported for Moto G (2026), not confirmed here for Moto G Power (2026). Android Central.
Software support Android Central reports six Android OS generations and six years of security updates. A confirmed support duration for Moto G Power (2026) is not stated in the cited reporting. Android Central reports two OS generations for Moto G (2026), a distinct model. Android Central.
Battery and charging Reported 5,000mAh battery and 25W charging. 5,200mAh and 30W are reported in Android Central’s comparison of Moto G (2026); these figures are not confirmed here for Moto G Power (2026). Neither figure establishes real-world battery life. Android Central.
U.S. price context Android Central reported a $199 U.S. launch price and a temporary $170 retail price when its article was published. A current Moto G Power (2026) price is not established in the cited reporting. Android Central reported $199 launch pricing for Moto G (2026), not Moto G Power (2026). These are historical figures, not live offers. Android Central.
Water protection IP54, as reported by Android Central. A confirmed IP rating for Moto G Power (2026) is not stated in the cited reporting. Android Central describes water-repellent design for Moto G (2026), which is a separate model. Android Central.

The available sources do not align on every Moto G Power (2026) specification. In particular, do not transfer details from Moto G (2026) or Moto G Power (2025) to the 2026 Power. Treat unconfirmed specifications as unknown rather than assuming the two models share them.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which phone has the better display?

The Galaxy A17 5G has the clearer documented advantage in display type and resolution: Android Central reports a 6.7-inch FHD+ Super AMOLED panel. OLED pixels can produce deeper blacks than an LCD, and the A17’s stated FHD+ resolution favors fine detail over the HD+ LCD described for the distinct Moto G (2026).

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Samsung Galaxy A17 5G Smart Phone 128GB, US 1 Yr Manufacturer Warranty Blue
  • YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
  • LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
  • MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
  • NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
  • BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.

The Moto G Power (2026) is associated with a 120Hz refresh rate in the cited comparisons, versus 90Hz for the A17. A higher refresh rate can make scrolling and supported animations look smoother, but it does not by itself mean the screen is sharper. The Power’s reported size and resolution differ between sources, so check the precise U.S. model listing before buying.

How do the cameras compare?

Based on Android Central’s reported A17 specifications and its comparison with Moto G (2026), Samsung offers more rear-camera flexibility: a main camera with optical image stabilization (OIS), an ultrawide camera, and a macro camera. OIS helps counter small camera movements; it is a feature, not proof that the A17 takes better photos in every situation.

Rank #2
Sale
Samsung Galaxy A17 5G Smart Phone 128GB US 1 Yr Manufacturer Warranty Black
  • YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
  • LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
  • MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
  • NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
  • BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.

The comparison reports a 50MP main camera without OIS and no ultrawide for Moto G (2026), plus a 32MP selfie camera. Those Moto G specifications should not be presented as confirmed Moto G Power (2026) specifications. The sources do not provide a controlled photo-quality test between the A17 and the Power, so megapixel counts cannot settle which produces better images.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which phone has longer software support?

Android Central reports that Samsung promises the Galaxy A17 5G six Android OS generations and six years of security updates. That stated duration gives buyers a stronger support case on paper, particularly if they plan to keep a budget phone for several years.

Rank #3
Sale
Samsung Galaxy A17 5G, 128GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed)
  • Charger NOT Included, 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display, 90Hz refresh rate, 1080 x 2340 resolution, slim 7.5mm body, Gorilla Glass Victus front protection
  • 128GB storage, 4GB RAM, microSD support up to 2TB, Exynos 1330 octa-core processor, 5000mAh battery, USB-C, Bluetooth 5.3, NFC, and side fingerprint sensor
  • Rear Camera: 50MP wide with OIS + 5MP ultrawide + 2MP macro, LED flash, HDR, panorama; Front Camera: 13MP; FHD 1080p video recording
  • 5G Bands: n2/n5/n25/n30/n41/n66/n71/n77/n78; 4G LTE Bands: 1/2/3/4/5/7/12/13/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/48/66/71; eSIM + Nano-SIM
  • US Model – Global Connectivity – Compatible with Most GSM Carriers like T-Mobile, AT&T, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Straight Talk. Please contact seller if you are unsure about carrier compatibility, as some MVNOs will not allow Carrier Unlocked devices. 5G bands are Specific to Americas, 4G LTE will work Globally.

The same outlet reports two OS generations for Moto G (2026), not Moto G Power (2026). A separate report says Moto G Power (2025) received two OS upgrades and three years of security updates, but that is a different year and model. The cited reporting does not establish the Power (2026)’s exact policy; check Motorola’s support terms for the specific device before treating a duration as confirmed.

Does the Moto G Power (2026) last longer on a charge?

The available reporting does not establish a real-world battery-life winner between the Galaxy A17 5G and Moto G Power (2026). The 5,200mAh figure often encountered in the comparison belongs to Android Central’s Moto G (2026) coverage, and a battery’s capacity alone cannot predict screen-on time or days between charges. The A17 is reported at 5,000mAh and 25W charging, but those specifications are not a comparative endurance test either.

For the Moto G Power (2025) specifically, Motorola’s product page lists a 5,000mAh battery and says it provides “over a day’s battery life.” That is the manufacturer’s claim for the 2025 phone, not an independent test and not evidence about the 2026 Power. Motorola’s Moto G Power (2025) page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What do the prices and model years mean for value?

Android Central reported a $199 U.S. launch price for the A17 and a temporary $170 retail price at the time of publication. It also reported $199 launch pricing for Moto G (2026); that is not a Moto G Power (2026) price. The sources do not establish a current checkout price for the Power (2026), so compare live listings for the exact phone, storage, carrier status, and seller rather than relying on those dated figures.

Best Value
Samsung Galaxy A17 5G Smart Phone 128GB, US 1 Yr Manufacturer Warranty Gray
  • YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
  • LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
  • MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
  • NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
  • BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.

The Moto G Power (2025) launched at a U.S. MSRP of $299.99, according to Motorola News. That launch MSRP is neither the current price nor a price for the 2026 model. Motorola’s 2025 launch announcement.

What should you know about the Moto G Power (2025)?

If you are considering a discounted prior-year Power, evaluate it as its own phone. Motorola’s U.S. product page documents the 2025 model with 128GB of storage, microSD expansion up to 1TB, and maximum 30W charging. Motorola says maximum charging speed requires a TurboPower 30W charger or higher, sold separately. Those details apply to Moto G Power (2025), not automatically to the 2026 model.

Android Central separately reports IP68/IP69 and MIL-STD-810H for Moto G Power (2025). Do not use those durability claims to describe the 2026 Power. Check the exact model’s manufacturer specifications and the terms of any water- or dust-resistance rating before relying on them.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Who should buy each phone?

Choose the Samsung Galaxy A17 5G if

  • You want the reported FHD+ Super AMOLED display rather than prioritizing a 120Hz refresh rate.
  • You value the A17’s reported OIS-equipped main camera and ultrawide option.
  • The longer software-support duration reported for Samsung is important to your planned ownership period.

Consider the Moto G Power (2026) if

  • A 120Hz display is a priority and you have verified that the exact Power variant you are buying has the screen specifications you expect.
  • You have confirmed the Power’s battery capacity, charging details, support policy, and current price from an exact-model listing or manufacturer source.

Before checkout, check the full model name and year on the listing and box. A Moto G (2026), Moto G Power (2026), and Moto G Power (2025) are not interchangeable names, and their reported specifications should not be blended.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.