Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At 100,000 emails a month, the published prices range from about $10 for Amazon SES’s base sending charge to $90 for Resend or Mailgun’s Scale plans. At 500,000 and 1 million, SES’s send-only estimates are about $50 and $100; Resend’s modeled totals are about $450 and $900, while Mailgun’s are about $530 and $1,080 if its listed starting overage rate applies. These figures are not equivalent service packages: high-volume prices for some providers are not public fixed quotes, and optional features can change the bill.

Prices below are monthly USD from provider pages accessed October 7, 2026. Verify current terms before choosing; email API pricing and plan details can change.

What are the best Resend alternatives?

The best fit depends on whether you want a low raw sending charge, a managed email platform, or a price that is publicly established at your volume. Amazon SES has the lowest published base sending rate in this comparison, but that rate alone does not buy an identical feature set to a managed plan. Mailgun is a direct alternative with a published 100K Scale plan and a starting overage rate. Postmark’s public page gives a 10K plan and directs high-volume senders to sales or its calculator. The available SendGrid figures are AWS Marketplace packages, not universal direct-purchase quotes.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Consider SES when you can evaluate AWS pricing plans and add-on costs against your requirements, rather than comparing only the send rate.
  • Consider Mailgun if its Scale plan and features match your needs and you are comfortable treating its overage-based high-volume totals as estimates.
  • Consider Postmark if its stream model and transactional-mail focus suit your workload, and you can obtain a high-volume quote.
  • Consider SendGrid if an AWS Marketplace package is a suitable purchase channel; confirm the exact tier, terms, and billing unit before budgeting.

Resend itself remains a useful benchmark: its published Scale plan includes 100,000 emails for $90 per month, with additional emails listed at $0.90 per 1,000. The 500K and 1M amounts below extend that published rate arithmetically; they are not provider-issued plan quotes. Resend pricing

How much does 100,000 emails per month cost?

The table separates fixed published package prices from modeled totals and the base sending charge. All amounts are monthly USD. A dash is avoided where no fixed price is established: “not stated” means the cited page does not provide a comparable fixed quote at that volume.

Provider and pricing basis 100,000 emails/month 500,000 emails/month 1,000,000 emails/month
Resend Scale $90, includes 100K About $450, modeled About $900, modeled
Mailgun Scale $90, includes 100K About $530, modeled from overages “from” $1.10/1K About $1,080, modeled from overages “from” $1.10/1K
Amazon SES à-la-carte outbound sending About $10 base send charge About $50 base send charge About $100 base send charge
Postmark Not stated as a fixed 100K quote; public page lists plans at 10K and directs high-volume senders to sales or calculator Contact sales or use calculator Contact sales or use calculator
SendGrid via AWS Marketplace Essentials: $34.95; Pro: $89.95 No exact tier shown Pro 1.5M package: $799

Resend’s and Mailgun’s 500K and 1M totals are calculations, not quoted plans. The Mailgun estimates assume its stated starting overage rate applies; “from” does not guarantee that rate for every account or configuration. SES figures cover its $0.10-per-1,000 outbound-email charge only. They do not normalize features, attachments, optional dedicated IPs, validations, taxes, or other add-ons. SendGrid figures are packages surfaced on AWS Marketplace, and the listing does not establish a universal direct-purchase price or an exact 500K package.

Sources: Resend, Mailgun, Amazon SES, Postmark, and the AWS Marketplace SendGrid listing. Pricing pages accessed October 7, 2026.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What does it cost to send 500,000 emails a month?

Using the public included-volume and overage terms where available, the modeled cost is about $450 for Resend Scale and about $530 for Mailgun Scale. For each provider, the calculation is the $90 monthly plan price plus 400,000 emails above the included 100,000. Resend lists overages at $0.90 per 1,000, yielding $90 + (400 × $0.90) = $450. Mailgun lists overages “from” $1.10 per 1,000, yielding $90 + (400 × $1.10) = $530 if that starting rate applies.

These are arithmetic extensions of listed terms, not provider quotes. SES’s base sending charge works out to about $50 at its published $0.10 per 1,000 outbound emails; it is not a managed-plan equivalent. Postmark does not publish a fixed 500K price in the surfaced page, and the Marketplace SendGrid listing does not show an exact 500K tier.

How much is 1 million emails per month?

At 1 million, extending the same public terms gives about $900 for Resend Scale ($90 + 900 × $0.90) and about $1,080 for Mailgun Scale if its “from $1.10” overage rate applies ($90 + 900 × $1.10). Neither amount is a guaranteed provider quote. SES’s base outbound sending charge calculates to about $100. Postmark’s high-volume price remains a sales or calculator question. The surfaced SendGrid Marketplace listing shows a Pro 1.5M package for $799, not a 1M package; it is a distinct package tier and purchase channel, so it should not be read as an exact 1M quote.

Is Amazon SES cheaper than Resend?

On the send charge alone, yes: Amazon’s published $0.10 per 1,000 outbound emails calculates to $10, $50, and $100 at 100K, 500K, and 1M respectively, below the corresponding Resend amounts. But those numbers do not establish that SES is cheaper for an equivalent setup. AWS bills separately for attachments and optional capabilities, and AWS announced Essentials, Pro, and Enterprise SES pricing plans on July 21, 2026. Check your account’s region and selected plan before treating the à-la-carte rate as your full monthly cost. Amazon SES pricing · AWS announcement of SES pricing plans, July 21, 2026

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What can make the bill differ from the headline price?

Plan features and add-ons

The public prices do not normalize domains, inbound routing, message retention, analytics, dedicated IPs, support, validations, or other optional services. SES’s base send charge excludes costs that may apply to attachments and optional capabilities. Compare only the features you will actually use, and include their charges in the monthly budget.

Transactional versus broadcast mail

Make sure the quota applies to the kind of sending you intend to do. Postmark offers separate message streams and advises against mixing transactional and marketing mail. Resend distinguishes API transactional email from broadcasts and says broadcasts do not count against transactional limits. Check the relevant product’s current terms rather than assuming one quota covers both types. Postmark pricing · Resend pricing

What counts as a billable email

Confirm whether the provider bills per message, recipient, or another unit for your account and product. The table uses the providers’ stated email volumes as surfaced on their pricing pages; it does not establish identical billing-unit definitions across services.

Purchase channel and quote status

A Marketplace package is not automatically the same as a provider’s direct plan, and an overage calculation is not a negotiated quote. Ask the provider or review the applicable Marketplace terms for the exact tier, overage policy, and included capabilities before committing to a forecast.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.