iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Reese’s Peanut Butter Pumpkins now carry front-of-package wording that reads “Carving not on actual product,” replacing the earlier “Decorating Suggestion.” The change followed a 2024 consumer lawsuit over pictured carving on several Reese’s holiday shapes, but Hershey has not said the suit prompted it. A September 2026 dismissal ended the amended case on standing grounds without deciding whether the packaging is misleading.
What the wrapper says now
USA TODAY reporting, carried by AOL on October 6, 2026, describes the current front-of-package wording as “Carving not on actual product,” printed under an illustration of a pumpkin candy with jack-o’-lantern features. The earlier wording was “Decorating Suggestion.” The same report says Hershey had not explained the revised wording or said whether it was connected to the lawsuit. Read the USA TODAY report via AOL.
| Element | Earlier wrapper | Current wrapper (reported October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Front-of-package wording | “Decorating Suggestion” | “Carving not on actual product” |
| Illustration | Not stated in the reporting | Pumpkin candy with jack-o’-lantern features |
| Stated reason for the change | Not stated | Not explained by Hershey, according to USA TODAY reporting |
Read literally, the new wording tells buyers that the carved face shown in the illustration is not part of the candy itself.
What the 2024 lawsuit alleged
The federal complaint, dated May 17, 2024, names The Hershey Company and accuses it of deceptive marketing across several Reese’s holiday shapes. Plaintiffs said the packaging showed carved or other decorative details that were missing from the candies they received. These are allegations. No court has found the packaging deceptive. Read the complaint.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
The shapes named
- Pumpkins
- Ghosts
- Bats
- Footballs
- Winter shapes, including snowmen, stockings and bells
The plaintiff’s account
The complaint recounts plaintiff Nathan Vidal’s expectation that a Reese’s Peanut Butter Pumpkin would have the pictured carved mouth and eyes. It quotes him as believing the candy contained a “cool-looking carving of a pumpkin’s mouth and eyes.” These are his stated expectations as recorded in the filing.
The relief sought
The complaint sought at least $5 million. Plaintiffs tied that figure to Reese’s Peanut Butter product sales in Florida since 2021. It is a demand made in the filing, not an amount a court has awarded.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What the court record showed before the dismissal
A September 19, 2025 order from the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida (case 24-cv-60831) records that motions to dismiss and for class certification were still pending. It summarizes Hershey’s arguments: that plaintiffs had not alleged economic injury, and that the full packaging, including both carved and uncarved images, would not deceive a reasonable consumer. The order also says Hershey described its product as “delicious Reese’s candy.” That phrase is the company’s argument as the court summarized it, not the judge’s conclusion. Read the September 2025 order.
Recommended Free Tools
The September 2026 dismissal: what it decided and what it did not
NBC Los Angeles reported on October 7, 2026 that U.S. District Judge Melissa Damian dismissed the amended complaint on September 16, 2026, for failure to establish concrete economic injury, which is the standing question. According to that report, the judge described the alleged harm as “their subjective disappointment.” The dismissal was without prejudice, and plaintiffs’ counsel was reported to be considering an appeal. These details come from the news report rather than the order text. Read the NBC Los Angeles report.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Here is what the dismissal does not settle:
- It does not decide whether the wrapper, the shapes or the pumpkin illustrations are misleading.
- It is not a ruling that Hershey’s packaging is lawful on the merits.
- Because it was without prejudice, it does not permanently bar the claims, and the reported appeal could revive the dispute.
Why the timing does not establish a cause
The new wording was reported in early October 2026, several weeks after the reported September dismissal, and the lawsuit has been pending since 2024. That overlap is why readers ask whether the suit drove the change. But no reporting located for this article shows that Hershey linked the two, and the company has not offered a reason. The sequence is documented; the motive is not.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
How to check the wording on a package
- Look at the front of the package for the phrase “Carving not on actual product” beside the pumpkin illustration.
- If the package reads “Decorating Suggestion,” it carries the wording reported as the earlier version.
- Remember that the carved features in the illustration are artwork. The reported wording says the carving is not on the actual candy.
- Check the season printed on the package or listing before assuming the wording matches the 2026 Halloween reporting, because older packs may carry different text.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

