iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
In the India listing snapshot reviewed, the Xiaomi Redmi 17 5G was ₹5,000 cheaper than the realme 16T 5G: ₹23,999 versus ₹28,999. The Redmi offers a larger screen, microSD expansion, wired reverse charging and a longer manufacturer-stated update period. The realme counters with a faster maximum refresh rate and a higher-resolution selfie camera. These are specification and listing comparisons, not hands-on test results; check current prices and the exact memory variants before buying.
Price difference in India
91mobiles displayed the realme 16T 5G at ₹28,999 and the Redmi 17 5G at ₹23,999 on Amazon India, a ₹5,000 gap in that listing snapshot (91mobiles comparison). Those figures are not guaranteed current prices, and the listing does not establish that the phones are the same RAM and storage tier or that any bank or exchange offers are equivalent. Compare the exact configuration and final checkout price.
Specs at a glance
| Specification | realme 16T 5G | Xiaomi Redmi 17 5G |
|---|---|---|
| India listing price snapshot | ₹28,999 (91mobiles listing) | ₹23,999 (91mobiles listing) |
| Chipset | MediaTek Dimensity 6300 | Snapdragon 4 Gen 5 |
| Display | 6.81-inch HD+ LCD, 1570 × 720, up to 144Hz | 6.9-inch HD+ LCD, 1600 × 720, up to 120Hz |
| Rear cameras | 50MP main + 2MP monochrome | 50MP main, dual-camera system |
| Front camera | 16MP | 8MP |
| Typical battery capacity | 8,000mAh | 7,900mAh |
| Wired charging | 45W SUPERVOOC | 45W charging; 22.5W wired reverse charging |
| Water and dust rating | IP66/68/69/69K advertised by realme | IP64 |
| Expansion | Storage card supported; maximum not stated on the specification page | microSD up to 2TB (Xiaomi FAQ) |
| Software support | realme UI 7; 3 OS-update years and 4 security-update years reported by 91mobiles | HyperOS 3 based on Android 16; Xiaomi states 4 OS-update years and 6 security-update years |
Specifications are from the realme India specification page, Xiaomi India product page, Xiaomi India FAQ and the 91mobiles comparison. No matched independent performance, camera or battery-life test was available for this comparison.
Which phone has the better display?
The Redmi 17 5G has the larger panel at 6.9 inches, compared with 6.81 inches on the realme 16T. Both are HD+ LCDs. The realme has the higher stated maximum refresh rate—144Hz versus 120Hz—which can make supported motion appear smoother. A refresh-rate ceiling alone does not establish how consistently a phone runs at that rate, and the resolution figures differ slightly: 1600 × 720 for Redmi and 1570 × 720 for realme.
#1 Best Overall
- 6.78 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 6.78 inches
- 256GB Storage, 8GB RAM
- Android 16, Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Max (4 nm), Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Max (4 nm)
- Rear: 200 MP, f/1.9, 23mm (wide), 1/1.56", 0.5µm, dual-pixel PDAF, OIS, 8 MP, 112˚, (ultrawide), 1/4.0", 1.12µm, Front: 50 MP, f/2.4, 23mm (wide), 1/2.88", 0.61µm
How do the cameras compare?
Both phones list a 50MP main rear camera. realme also specifies a 2MP monochrome rear camera and a 16MP front camera; Xiaomi specifies an 8MP front camera. The realme therefore has the higher-resolution selfie-camera hardware on paper, but megapixel counts and camera count do not show which phone takes better photos. No matched photo test is available here.
Which has the bigger battery, and how do they charge?
realme lists an 8,000mAh typical-capacity battery, while Xiaomi lists 7,900mAh typical. Both specify 45W wired charging; Redmi also supports 22.5W wired reverse charging. Xiaomi says this feature can share battery power with compatible devices (Xiaomi India FAQ). The capacity difference does not prove longer real-world runtime: usage, network conditions, screen settings and testing methods matter, and these phones have not been compared in a matched battery test.
Rank #2
- 6.78 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 6.78 inches
- 256GB Storage, 8GB RAM
- Android 16, Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Max (4 nm), Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Max (4 nm)
- Rear: 200 MP, f/1.9, 23mm (wide), 1/1.56", 0.5µm, dual-pixel PDAF, OIS, 8 MP, 112˚, (ultrawide), 1/4.0", 1.12µm, Front: 50 MP, f/2.4, 23mm (wide), 1/2.88", 0.61µm
Storage, durability and software support
Storage options
realme lists 6GB+128GB, 8GB+128GB and 8GB+256GB configurations, UFS 2.2 storage and storage-card support. Xiaomi lists 6GB/128GB and 8GB/128GB configurations, and its FAQ specifies microSD support up to 2TB. realme does not state a maximum card capacity on the specification page. Its page also notes that usable internal storage is lower than the advertised capacity because software occupies some space.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteDurability ratings
realme advertises IP66/68/69/69K ratings and MIL-STD 810H shock-resistance testing; Xiaomi lists IP64 for the Redmi. These are manufacturer claims and ratings, not a guarantee against every spill, immersion, impact or failure. realme warns that water resistance may decline over time and that liquid damage is not covered. Treat either phone carefully around water.
Rank #3
- 6.79 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1440 x 3136 pixels
- 512GB Storage, 16GB RAM
- Android 16, Qualcomm SM8850-AC Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 (3 nm), Octa-core (2x4.6 GHz Oryon V3 Phoenix L + 6x3.62 GHz Oryon V3 Phoenix M)
- Rear: 50 MP, f/1.8, 22mm (wide), 1/1.56", 1.0µm, multi-directional PDAF, OIS, 200 MP, f/2.6, 65mm, (periscope telephoto), 1/1.56", 0.5µm, multi-directional PDAF, OIS, 3x optical zoom, 50 MP, f/2.0, 16mm, 116˚ (ultrawide), 1/2.88", 0.64µm, Front: 32 MP, f/2.4, 24mm (wide), 1/3.1", 0.7µm
- 161.8 x 76.9 x 8.2 mm (6.37 x 3.03 x 0.32 in)
Update commitments
Xiaomi states four years of OS updates and six years of security updates for the Redmi 17 5G. The three OS-update years and four security-update years listed for realme come from 91mobiles, not the realme specification page reviewed, so they should be treated as a comparison-listing claim rather than an independently confirmed manufacturer commitment.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Which should you choose?
Choose the Redmi 17 5G if
- Its current price is lower for the memory configuration you want.
- You prefer a larger display, microSD expansion up to Xiaomi’s stated 2TB limit, or wired reverse charging.
- Xiaomi’s stated four-year OS and six-year security update periods are important to you.
Choose the realme 16T 5G if
- You value the higher maximum refresh rate of 144Hz.
- You want the higher-resolution listed front camera.
- You prefer one of its listed memory configurations, including 8GB+256GB.
On the available specifications, Redmi has more documented extras and the lower observed listing price; realme is the more relevant fit for buyers prioritizing refresh rate or selfie-camera resolution. Recheck the price and matching configuration before deciding, since the ₹5,000 difference is only a listing snapshot.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 6.8 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1280 x 2800 pixels
- 256GB Storage, 8GB RAM
- Android 16, Qualcomm SM7750-AB Snapdragon 7 Gen 4 (4 nm), Octa-core (1x2.8 GHz Cortex-720 & 4x2.4 GHz Cortex-720 & 3x1.8 GHz Cortex-520)
- Rear: 200 MP, f/1.9, 23mm (wide), 1/1.56", 0.5µm, dual-pixel PDAF, OIS, 50 MP, f/2.8, (periscope telephoto), 1/2.76", 0.64µm, PDAF, OIS, 3.5x optical zoom, 8 MP, 116˚, (ultrawide), 1/4.0", 1.12µm, AF, Front: 50 MP, f/2.4, 23mm (wide), 1/2.88", 0.61µm
Rank #4
- 6.57 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1080 x 2372 pixels
- 256GB Storage, 8GB RAM, microSDXC (uses shared SIM slot)
- Android 16, Realme UI 7.0, Mediatek Dimensity 6400 Turbo (6 nm), Octa-core (2x2.5 GHz Cortex-A76 & 6x2.0 GHz Cortex-A55)
- Rear: 50 MP, f/1.8, 26mm (wide), 1/2.93", 0.60µm, PDAF, Auxiliary lens, Front: 50 MP, f/2.4, 23mm (wide)
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

