Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

PTCL Group’s consolidated revenue rose 12% and operating profit increased 216% in FY2025, but the Group still reported a net loss of PKR 9.7 billion. The key is to separate the consolidated Group’s result from standalone PTCL’s: the latter reported PKR 120.1 billion in revenue and PKR 1.4 billion in net profit. They are different reporting scopes, and their disclosed pressures were different too.

PTCL Group’s FY2025 results at a glance

FY2025 covers the year ended December 31, 2025. PTCL’s FY2025 Directors’ Report, filed with the Pakistan Stock Exchange (PSX) on April 7, 2026, reports growth in both consolidated Group revenue and operating profit. The Group nevertheless ended the year with a net loss.

Reporting scope and measure FY2025 result Year-over-year change
PTCL Group consolidated revenue Not stated in the cited FY2025 summary Up 12% [PTCL FY2025 Directors’ Report]
PTCL Group consolidated operating profit Not stated in the cited FY2025 summary Up 216% [PTCL FY2025 Directors’ Report]
PTCL Group consolidated net result Loss of PKR 9.7 billion Not stated [PTCL results release, February 24, 2026]
Standalone PTCL revenue PKR 120.1 billion Up 12% [PTCL FY2025 Directors’ Report]
Standalone PTCL operating profit PKR 18.2 billion Up 49% [PTCL FY2025 Directors’ Report]
Standalone PTCL net result Profit of PKR 1.4 billion Not stated [PTCL FY2025 Directors’ Report]

“Not stated” means the cited summary does not provide that value or comparison; it is not zero. Group consolidated figures include the reporting group, while standalone figures refer to PTCL itself. The two sets should not be combined or treated as interchangeable.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why higher operating profit did not prevent a Group net loss

Revenue, operating profit and net profit measure different things. Revenue is income from business activity; operating profit reflects the result at the operating-profit line; net profit or loss is the bottom-line result after other relevant charges and items. Growth in the first two does not guarantee a positive net result.

The Group loss: accelerated Ubank ECL provisioning

PTCL said the Group’s PKR 9.7 billion net loss was primarily attributable to accelerated expected credit loss (ECL) provisioning at Ubank following revisions to Prudential Regulations. ECL provisions recognize expected losses on credit exposures. This is the issuer’s stated explanation for the consolidated Group outcome. [PTCL results release, February 24, 2026]

Standalone PTCL: a separate pension liability and a profit

Separately, standalone PTCL recognized an additional one-off pension liability of PKR 6.9 billion pursuant to a Supreme Court decision. Despite that disclosed item, PTCL reported standalone net profit of PKR 1.4 billion for FY2025. The pension liability is a standalone PTCL disclosure; it should not be presented as the stated cause of the Group’s net loss. [PTCL FY2025 Directors’ Report]

Which business areas reported growth?

In its FY2025 release, PTCL reported growth across several business lines. These are issuer-reported revenue-growth figures, not evidence that every business area grew by the same amount or contributed equally to Group profit.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Business area Reported FY2025 revenue growth
Flash Fiber 50%
Business Solutions 16%
Carrier and Wholesale 28%
Ufone 14%

Source for all four growth rates: PTCL results release, February 24, 2026.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Did Telenor Pakistan contribute to FY2025 revenue?

PTCL completed its acquisition of Telenor Pakistan and Orion Towers on December 31, 2025. However, PTCL said Telenor Pakistan’s operating results would enter consolidation from January 1, 2026. The transaction was completed on the final day of FY2025, but Telenor’s operating results were not included as a driver of PTCL Group’s FY2025 revenue growth. [PTCL results release, February 24, 2026; PTCL/Ufone acquisition announcement, December 31, 2025]

PTCL said Telenor Pakistan would operate as a wholly owned subsidiary and initially remain a separate legal entity during the transition. The close date and the date operational results begin consolidating are therefore distinct.

How to read the headline growth

  • Group growth is not the same as Group profitability: consolidated revenue and operating profit rose, while the consolidated bottom line remained a loss.
  • Standalone PTCL had a different outcome: it reported higher revenue and operating profit, and a net profit after recognizing a one-off pension liability.
  • The disclosed loss factors belong to different scopes: PTCL attributed the Group loss primarily to Ubank ECL provisioning, while the pension liability was reported for standalone PTCL.
  • The acquisition timing matters: Telenor Pakistan’s FY2025 operating results were not consolidated; PTCL stated that consolidation began January 1, 2026.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.