Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Neither phone wins outright. The OnePlus 13R has the larger stated battery, a higher listed wired charging figure, and the Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 platform. The Samsung Galaxy S24 FE has an IP68 water-resistance rating with a stated freshwater test condition and Samsung’s Galaxy AI tool set. Which one fits depends on which of those you value. Spec sheets do not show which phone feels better day to day, and this article did not verify current street prices for either model, so the price difference is explained as a method you can apply at checkout rather than as a fixed dollar gap.

Side-by-side specifications

The figures below come from the manufacturers’ own published pages and launch material. Where a manufacturer did not publish a value in the pages reviewed for this article, the cell says so.

Feature OnePlus 13R Galaxy S24 FE
Processor Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 (OnePlus) Exynos 2400e (Samsung)
RAM 12 GB LPDDR5X on the North American configuration (OnePlus) 8 GB, inferred from the 8/128 GB and 8/256 GB MSRP configurations (Samsung price sheet)
Storage UFS 4.0 (OnePlus) 128 GB or 256 GB configurations (Samsung price sheet)
Battery, typical capacity 6,000 mAh (OnePlus) 4,700 mAh (Samsung)
Battery, rated capacity 5,860 mAh (OnePlus) 4,700 mAh (Samsung)
Wired charging 55 W SUPERVOOC listed; up to 80 W with specified OnePlus SUPERVOOC adapters (OnePlus) Wattage not stated in the Samsung pages reviewed
Display 1.5K, up to 120 Hz, ProXDR (OnePlus) Dynamic AMOLED 2X; 1,900 nits peak brightness on the US page (Samsung)
Front and rear glass Gorilla Glass 7i, front and rear (OnePlus) Gorilla Glass Victus+, front and back (Samsung)
Water and dust rating IP65 (OnePlus) IP68 (Samsung)
Main camera 50 MP Sony LYT-700 with OIS (OnePlus) Sensor specification not stated in the Samsung pages reviewed
Telephoto 50 MP, 2x optical zoom (OnePlus) Samsung describes optical-quality zoom; focal length and sensor not stated
Ultrawide 8 MP, 112-degree field of view (OnePlus) Not stated in the Samsung pages reviewed
Software OxygenOS 15 (OnePlus) Galaxy AI features on Samsung’s One UI (Samsung)
Announcement or launch Announced January 7, 2025 (OnePlus) US MSRP sheet effective October 2024 (Samsung)

Primary references: the OnePlus 13R US product page, the Samsung Galaxy S24 FE US product page, the OnePlus North America launch release, and the Samsung HHP MSRP Price List, effective October 2024.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Performance and memory

The 13R uses Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 with 12 GB of LPDDR5X RAM on the North American configuration. The S24 FE uses Samsung’s Exynos 2400e. Chip names and memory sizes do not predict benchmark results, and this article does not include a matched benchmark run. If sustained gaming or heavy multitasking matters to you, look for independent tests of the exact model and regional variant you plan to buy. Regional RAM configurations can differ from the North American figure given here.

#1 Best Overall
OnePlus 13R Dual SIM 256GB ROM + 12GB RAM (GSM ONLY | NO CDMA) Factory Unlocked 5G Smartphone (Nebula Noir) - International Version
  • For USA Buyers: This Smartphone is not compatible/will not work with any CDMA Networks including: VERIZON, SPRINT, US CELLULAR. Please check with your network provider for 3G or 4G/LTE compatibility check before you purchase.
  • Dual-SIM, Network Compatibility, SIM CARD 1 & 2 : [2G : GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 and/or 3G : WCDMA 850(B5) / 900(B8) / 1700|2100(B4) / 1900(B2) / 2100(B1) and/or 4G : LTE 600(B71) / 2100(B66) / 3500(B48) / 2500(B41) / 2300(B40) / 1900(B39) / 2600(B38) / 1500(B32) / 2300(B30) / 700(B28) / 850(B26) / 1900(B25) / 800(B20) / 850(B19) / 850(B18) / 700(B17) / 700(B13) / 700(B12) / 900(B8) / 2600(B7) / 850(B5) / 1700|2100(B4) / 1800(B3) / 1900(B2) / 2100(B1) and/or 5G : 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/25/26/28/30/38/40/41/48/66/71/77/78 SA/NSA]
  • 6.78 inches, LTPO 4.1 AMOLED, 1264 x 2780 pixels, Corning Gorilla Glass 7i
  • 256GB ROM Storage, 12GB RAM
  • Android 15, Qualcomm SM8650-AB Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 (4 nm), Octa-core (1x3.3 GHz Cortex-X4 & 3x3.2 GHz Cortex-A720 & 2x3.0 GHz Cortex-A720 & 2x2.3 GHz Cortex-A520)

Battery and charging

Battery capacity

OnePlus lists the 13R at 6,000 mAh typical and 5,860 mAh rated, using a single-cell design. It notes that usage habits, device aging, and other factors affect the experience. Samsung lists the S24 FE at 4,700 mAh typical, with a rated capacity of 4,700 mAh, and states that actual battery life varies with network, usage, and other factors.

The 1,300 mAh gap in typical capacity is a real difference in stored energy on paper. It is not a measurement of how many hours either phone lasts. No matched independent battery test is included here.

Wired charging

OnePlus lists 55 W SUPERVOOC charging and says up to 80 W is possible with specified OnePlus SUPERVOOC adapters. It advertises 1 to 50 percent in 23 minutes under Smart Rapid Charging Mode. These are manufacturer claims under stated conditions. Check which adapter is included in the regional package you are buying, because the higher figure depends on that accessory. Samsung’s wattage was not stated in the pages reviewed, so no charging-speed comparison is possible from these sources.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Cameras

The 13R has a 50 MP Sony LYT-700 main camera with optical image stabilization, a 50 MP telephoto with 2x optical zoom, and an 8 MP ultrawide with a 112-degree field of view. Samsung promotes the S24 FE’s ProVisual Engine, optical-quality zoom, Super HDR, Night Portrait mode, and AI editing tools, but the Samsung pages reviewed did not give a comparable sensor and lens table. This article does not include a controlled photo comparison, so it does not rank image quality.

If you rely on a dedicated 2x optical zoom and a wide ultrawide lens, the 13R’s listed hardware gives you a concrete set of numbers to check. If AI-assisted editing is the priority, the software section below matters more than the camera hardware.

Display

OnePlus describes the 13R display as 1.5K with up to 120 Hz refresh and ProXDR. Samsung describes the S24 FE’s Dynamic AMOLED 2X panel and states 1,900 nits peak brightness on its US page. Manufacturer labels and peak brightness numbers are marketing measurements and are not directly comparable, so neither figure tells you how a screen looks in your own lighting. Screen sizes are not compared here.

Durability and water resistance

OnePlus 13R: IP65

OnePlus specifies IP65 protection. Its product page describes protection against low-pressure water jets from all directions. Immersion damage is not covered by warranty, and the SIM tray must be fully sealed. Gorilla Glass 7i covers the front and rear, but glass coatings do not make the phone drop-proof.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Galaxy S24 FE: IP68

Samsung specifies IP68 and identifies Gorilla Glass Victus+ on the front and back. The IP68 rating is tied to a laboratory condition: submersion in up to 1.5 metres of freshwater for up to 30 minutes. Samsung says beach and pool use is not advised and that resistance may diminish with wear.

The two ratings test different things. IP65 covers low-pressure jets. IP68 covers submersion under a stated freshwater condition. Neither rating means the phone is drop-proof or protected from every liquid, and a lab rating does not guarantee performance after years of use.

Software and AI features

Galaxy AI on the S24 FE

Samsung lists Photo Assist, Sketch to Image, Circle to Search, Live Translate, Interpreter, Browsing Assist, and other Galaxy AI features. Its page says availability may vary by country, carrier, model, and One UI version. Some tools need a Samsung account, a network connection, or downloaded language packs. The page also said Galaxy AI features would be free until the end of 2025 on supported devices. That date has passed, so confirm current terms with Samsung before you buy.

Rank #3
Sale
OnePlus 12, 512GB + 16GB RAM, Flowy Emerald - Unlocked (Renewed)
  • Massive Storage Capacity: Experience exceptional performance with 16GB of RAM for seamless multitasking and 512GB of internal storage, providing ample space for all your apps, photos, videos, and files without worrying about running out of room
  • Ultra-Fast Wireless Charging: Stay powered throughout your day with the robust 5400 mAh battery that supports impressive 50W wireless charging technology, allowing you to quickly recharge your device without the hassle of cables
  • Professional Photography System: Capture stunning images with the advanced Hasselblad camera system, engineered to deliver exceptional color accuracy, superior low-light performance, and professional-grade photography capabilities right from your smartphone
  • Cutting-Edge Performance: Powered by the latest mobile processor technology, this smartphone delivers lightning-fast speeds, smooth gaming experiences, and efficient power management for demanding applications and everyday tasks
  • Global Connectivity Freedom: Enjoy the flexibility of dual-SIM functionality in this fully unlocked Android smartphone, allowing you to use two phone numbers simultaneously and switch between carriers without restrictions, perfect for international travel or separating work and personal lines

OxygenOS 15 on the 13R

OnePlus promotes OxygenOS 15, Intelligent Search, Gemini, Circle to Search, and AI photo tools. Its product-page notes list feature, market, and language limits. At launch, Intelligent Search was English-only and limited to the first 1,000 files or notes and the first 30,000 characters per item. Feature availability changes over time, so check the current OnePlus US page for your region.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Update support

The sources reviewed do not establish a comparable software-update duration for the two phones. If you plan to keep the phone for five or six years, check each manufacturer’s current update policy directly rather than relying on a year count from a spec sheet or forum post.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Price difference

Samsung’s MSRP sheet, effective October 2024, lists the unlocked Galaxy S24 FE 8/128 GB at $649.99 and the 8/256 GB at $709.99. These are US launch-era reference prices, not current street prices. This article did not verify a current OnePlus 13R price or current S24 FE street prices, so no current dollar gap is stated.

The gap you see will depend on the retailer, country, storage size, carrier arrangement, and promotions. To compare them fairly:

  1. Choose the exact variant. Match the market, RAM and storage, and whether the phone is unlocked or carrier-locked.
  2. Check both phones at the same retailer, or at the same seller, on the same day. Write down the date.
  3. Keep trade-in credits, bundled offers, and carrier installment deals separate from the base price.
  4. For the OnePlus, confirm whether the regional package includes the adapter that supports its listed charging speed.
  5. Confirm that the Galaxy AI and OxygenOS features you care about are available in your country and language before paying a premium for them.

Which one to buy

  • Choose the OnePlus 13R if a larger stated battery, a listed 55 W wired charging speed, and the Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 platform matter more to you than an IP68 rating.
  • Choose the Galaxy S24 FE if you want Samsung’s Galaxy AI tools, an IP68 rating with a stated freshwater test condition, or you already use Samsung accessories and services.
  • Do not decide on camera quality or real battery life from these specs alone. Look for independent tests of the exact model before you rely on either claim.

A buyer asked this exact question in a public buyer-advice thread, which also raised reliability and five-to-six-year ownership. Those concerns are worth weighing, but the manufacturer pages above do not settle them.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.