iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Choose the Nintendo Switch Online version if you already subscribe to Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack and want convenient access to the Nintendo 64 original. Choose Ocarina of Time 3D if you have a compatible Nintendo 3DS and prefer its documented graphical overhaul, touch-screen inventory, gyro aiming, and optional glasses-free 3D. If you are deciding whether to buy either version now, consider the separate Nintendo Switch 2 edition scheduled for November 5, 2026; it was still upcoming as of October 13, 2026.
The right answer depends first on access, then on hardware features. These are not two releases of the same product on different screens: Switch Online provides the Nintendo 64 release through a membership library, while Ocarina of Time 3D is a separate 3DS edition made for Nintendo’s handheld hardware. A third, newly announced Switch 2 edition may change the calculation for anyone willing to wait.
At a glance: two different versions, with different access requirements
The Switch Online option is the Nintendo 64 game in Nintendo Classics, not the 3DS remake. Nintendo’s June 2025 service news listed Ocarina of Time in that collection. Playing Nintendo 64 Classics requires Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack, and access to classic games depends on an active membership.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsOcarina of Time 3D is a distinct edition for the Nintendo 3DS family, released June 30, 2011. It requires compatible 3DS-family hardware and a copy of the game. The main choice is therefore not simply which screen to use: it is whether you want membership-based access to the N64 release or the 3DS edition’s platform-specific presentation and controls.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| Decision point | Nintendo Switch Online | Nintendo 3DS |
|---|---|---|
| Game version | Nintendo 64 version in Nintendo Classics (Nintendo, June 2025 service news) | Distinct 3DS edition, released June 30, 2011 (Nintendo product information) |
| What you need | Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack, with an active membership for classic-game access (Nintendo support) | A compatible Nintendo 3DS-family system and a copy of the game (Nintendo product information) |
| Documented platform-specific features | Specific emulator settings, controller latency, and display performance are not stated in the cited Nintendo information. | Graphical overhaul, touch inventory, gyro aiming, and glasses-free 3D on selected systems (Nintendo product information) |
| Offline access | Classic games can be played offline for up to seven consecutive days before the system needs to reconnect and verify an active membership (Nintendo support). | Not stated in the cited Nintendo product information. |
| Digital purchase availability | Access is through the classic-game membership benefit, not a standalone purchase of the 3DS edition. | Nintendo ended 3DS eShop software sales on March 27, 2023; a current digital purchase is not available through that eShop (Nintendo support). |
What you are actually choosing
It helps to name the products precisely. Nintendo Switch Online gives eligible members access to a Nintendo 64 title inside the Nintendo Classics collection. It is a service benefit, and the game remains tied to the requirements of that service. The presence of Ocarina of Time in Nintendo’s June 2025 Nintendo Classics announcement does not turn it into a separate Switch purchase.
Ocarina of Time 3D is not simply the N64 game displayed on a smaller screen. It is a dedicated 3DS release with Nintendo-documented changes to the presentation and the way several actions are performed. It launched on June 30, 2011, is identified as a one-player Nintendo 3DS game, and needs both compatible hardware and a copy.
That distinction prevents a common buying mistake. Someone looking for the 3DS interface should not assume that opening the Nintendo 64 collection on Switch will reproduce it. Conversely, someone who only wants the original N64 release should not treat the 3DS cartridge as the only way to play that version. The editions overlap in their underlying adventure, but their access models and platform features differ.
Choose Switch Online if you already have Expansion Pack
If you already pay for Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack, the N64 version is the straightforward choice for playing Ocarina of Time without acquiring a 3DS copy. It is included in the Nintendo Classics library, so check the current membership status and launch the Nintendo 64 collection on your system to access it.
This is a subscription benefit rather than ownership of a standalone Switch edition. Nintendo says classic games require an active membership. You can play them offline for up to seven consecutive days; after that, connect the system so it can verify that the membership is still active. That limit matters if you expect to be away from an internet connection for longer.
For an Expansion Pack subscriber, the practical cost question is whether the existing membership already fits your budget and whether you want to keep it active. No separate price for Ocarina of Time itself is established here because the game is accessed through the membership benefit. If you cancel or allow the membership to lapse, classic-game access is not documented as continuing independently.
What this option does not establish
The available Nintendo information identifies the game as the N64 release in Nintendo Classics, but it does not establish emulator settings, controller latency, or display performance. Those details can affect how a particular player experiences a game, but there is not enough evidence here to claim that this version feels smoother, responds faster, or looks better than the 3DS edition.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →The same caution applies to display-specific claims. The documented service information confirms the collection and its access requirement, not a particular television mode, handheld presentation, controller configuration, or save behavior. If one of those details is decisive for you, verify the current Nintendo software information for your own system instead of treating an assumption as a feature guarantee.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Membership, offline play, and travel planning
The Expansion Pack requirement is easy to overlook because the base Nintendo Switch Online name appears in the service branding. Nintendo 64 Nintendo Classics access is an Expansion Pack benefit, so a base membership alone is not the documented route to this game. Before troubleshooting a missing title, check the tier of the account that is signed in.
Active membership also governs continued access. Nintendo’s support guidance allows classic games to run offline for up to seven consecutive days before the console must reconnect and verify the membership. This is useful for short trips, but it is not a permanent offline license. A traveler planning more than a week without a connection should arrange a verification before departure and understand that the seven-day window still applies.
This requirement creates a clear difference from a cartridge-based 3DS copy. The 3DS information cited here does not specify a periodic online check for playing the physical game. It also does not establish modern digital availability, so do not infer that either system offers the same type of offline access or purchase rights.
Choose Ocarina of Time 3D for its 3DS-specific features
Nintendo describes Ocarina of Time 3D as a graphical overhaul of the Nintendo 64 game. The publisher’s description says, “The graphical upgrades and three-dimensional depth breathe new life into the expansive world of Hyrule.” The edition also uses the 3DS hardware in specific ways: inventory items can be managed on the touch screen, aiming can use the system’s gyroscope, and selected 3DS models can display glasses-free 3D.
Those features make the 3DS version the natural fit if you want the presentation and controls Nintendo documents for this edition, or if you already own a compatible system and a copy. Touch inventory means equipment and items can be handled through the lower display rather than relying only on the traditional control layout. Gyro aiming uses motion input for supported aiming actions. These are edition-specific capabilities, not features established for the Nintendo 64 software in Nintendo Classics.
The graphical overhaul is likewise a reason to select this release only if that kind of presentation is what you want. It should not be turned into an unsupported universal verdict that it is objectively better in every respect. A reader who values the original N64 release, has no 3DS hardware, or already has Expansion Pack may rationally choose Switch Online even while acknowledging the 3DS changes.
Which 3DS models show the depth effect?
The 3D effect is not available on every 3DS-family system. Nintendo says the game can display glasses-free 3D on selected systems, while Nintendo 2DS and New Nintendo 2DS XL display the visuals in 2D. If glasses-free depth is important to you, check your exact system model before choosing the game for that reason.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Owning a 3DS-family system therefore is not enough to promise the same presentation. A 2DS owner can still consider the 3DS edition for its graphical overhaul, touch inventory, or gyro aiming, but should not expect stereoscopic depth. The model distinction is especially important when buying a used console and cartridge as a bundle, because a seller’s use of “3DS” does not by itself identify whether the hardware supports glasses-free 3D.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Finding a copy now
Nintendo ended software sales through the Nintendo 3DS eShop on March 27, 2023. Do not count on buying a new digital copy from that storefront. A physical cartridge is the relevant format to look for, but current stock, condition, region, and price depend on the seller and are not established here.
When evaluating a listing, confirm that the title is specifically Ocarina of Time 3D, not a different Zelda game or an accessory-only listing. Check whether the cartridge is included, whether the seller describes its condition, and whether the region is compatible with your hardware and expectations. The eShop closure tells you why physical availability matters; it does not prove that a particular retailer has inventory or that a given asking price is reasonable.
There is also no verified current price to use as a universal comparison with a membership. Used-game prices can differ by condition, region, completeness, and seller policy. Treat any total as a transaction-specific figure and account for the 3DS system requirement if you do not already own compatible hardware. A cartridge is not a substitute for the console needed to run it.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Should you wait for the Nintendo Switch 2 edition?
As of October 13, 2026, Nintendo lists a standalone physical Nintendo Switch 2 edition with a November 5, 2026 release date. It is a third option, separate from both the N64 game in Nintendo Classics and the 3DS release. Nintendo advertises overhauled visuals, voiced cutscenes, expanded dialogue, orchestral music, and modernized controls.
Those announcements make the Switch 2 edition relevant to a reader who is not committed to either existing platform. They also make it important not to describe the upcoming game as an update to the Switch Online N64 software or as a replacement name for Ocarina of Time 3D. It is a separate product with its own hardware and purchase considerations.
If those announced changes appeal to you and you do not need to play immediately, waiting lets you consider that edition after its scheduled release. If you want the N64 version through a membership you already have, or specifically want the 3DS hardware features, the existing options answer different preferences. The scheduled date is not proof of present availability: verify the release status and retailer inventory before trying to buy the Switch 2 edition.
Readers making a decision on October 13 face a timing issue rather than a confirmed side-by-side test. The listed November 5 date falls after that date, and the announced features describe Nintendo’s plans, not hands-on performance findings. If you wait, reassess the actual release, product format, and stock once the date arrives.
How the access and feature trade-offs compare
| If your priority is… | Better fit based on documented information | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Playing the N64 release through a service you already maintain | Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack | Ocarina of Time is listed in Nintendo Classics, provided the membership is active. |
| A dedicated 3DS presentation | Ocarina of Time 3D | Nintendo identifies a graphical overhaul and 3DS-specific display features. |
| Touch-screen inventory management | Ocarina of Time 3D | The 3DS edition documents touch inventory support. |
| Motion-based aiming | Ocarina of Time 3D | Nintendo documents gyro aiming for the handheld edition. |
| Glasses-free 3D | Ocarina of Time 3D on a supported 3DS model | Nintendo 2DS and New Nintendo 2DS XL display the game in 2D. |
| Playing without buying a cartridge | Nintendo Switch Online route | Access comes through Expansion Pack, although it remains membership-dependent. |
| The announced visual, audio, dialogue, and control changes | Wait for Switch 2 | Nintendo lists a standalone physical edition for November 5, 2026. |
This table is a preference guide, not a performance ranking. The cited Nintendo material does not establish controller latency, emulator configuration, display quality in every setup, or a universal judgment about which release feels superior. Choose the feature or access model that matches your circumstances.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
A practical decision path
- Check whether you have Expansion Pack. If you do and want access to the N64 version, open the Nintendo 64 collection in Nintendo Classics. If you do not, factor in that the N64 Classics benefit requires Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack and an active membership.
- Decide whether you want the 3DS edition’s features. If touch inventory, gyro aiming, or the graphical overhaul is what you are seeking, confirm you have a compatible 3DS-family system and can obtain a copy. For glasses-free 3D, confirm that your specific system supports it.
- Plan around offline use. For Switch Online, remember the seven-consecutive-day offline limit before a membership verification is required. Do not assume that a long period without a connection will work indefinitely.
- If buying a cartridge, assess the actual listing. The discontinued 3DS eShop does not indicate whether physical copies are in stock. Check the game’s exact title, cartridge condition, region, seller terms, and price before purchase.
- If considering Switch 2, check timing and stock. Nintendo’s listed November 5, 2026 date is later than October 13, 2026. Check whether the edition has since launched and whether a seller actually has it available.
- Do not combine editions in your expectations. Nintendo Classics access does not establish the 3DS remake’s touch or 3D features, and a 3DS cartridge does not provide the announced Switch 2 presentation. Treat each as its own version.
Recommendation by player
- Already have Expansion Pack and want the N64 game: use Nintendo Classics. It is the simplest route when your membership is active, and you do not need to search for a 3DS cartridge.
- Have a compatible 3DS and want a physical handheld copy: choose Ocarina of Time 3D, subject to finding a listing whose condition, region, and price work for you.
- Want touch inventory, gyro aiming, or the graphical overhaul: choose the 3DS edition because those are the platform-specific features Nintendo documents.
- Want glasses-free depth: choose Ocarina of Time 3D only with a system that supports the effect; Nintendo 2DS and New Nintendo 2DS XL show the game in 2D.
- Travel offline for more than a week: account for Nintendo’s seven-consecutive-day verification window before relying on Switch Online access.
- Want to assess the announced Switch 2 changes: wait until after the scheduled November 5, 2026 date, then verify release and stock rather than assuming it is already available.
- Do not own either platform: compare the hardware you would need as well as the game access. Switch Online requires an active Expansion Pack membership; the 3DS route requires a compatible 3DS-family system and a copy.
These recommendations follow the documented access conditions and feature differences; they are not based on hands-on testing.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Frequently asked questions
Do I need Expansion Pack to play Ocarina of Time on Switch?
Yes. Nintendo 64 Nintendo Classics access is an Expansion Pack benefit, and classic-game access requires an active Nintendo Switch Online membership. A base Nintendo Switch Online subscription alone is not the documented requirement for this Nintendo 64 collection.
Is the Switch Online game the 3DS remake?
No. Nintendo Switch Online provides the Nintendo 64 version in Nintendo Classics. Ocarina of Time 3D is a distinct Nintendo 3DS edition with its own graphical and control features.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Can I still buy Ocarina of Time 3D digitally from Nintendo?
Nintendo ended Nintendo 3DS eShop software sales on March 27, 2023. Do not present the 3DS version as a currently purchasable digital Nintendo download. A physical cartridge is the relevant format to investigate, subject to seller stock, condition, region, and price.
Can I play the Switch Online version without internet?
Nintendo says classic games can be played offline for up to seven consecutive days. After that, the system must reconnect to verify that the active membership remains valid. It is therefore periodic offline access, not an indefinitely verified offline purchase.
Does every 3DS show the game in 3D?
No. Nintendo identifies glasses-free 3D on selected systems and says Nintendo 2DS and New Nintendo 2DS XL display the game in 2D. Check the exact model before paying extra for the 3D feature.
What does the 3DS edition add?
Nintendo describes a graphical overhaul, touch-based inventory management, gyro aiming, and glasses-free 3D on supported systems. Those documented additions are the main reasons to choose the 3DS edition over the N64 release in Nintendo Classics.
Should I wait for the Switch 2 version?
If you can wait and are interested in Nintendo’s announced overhauled visuals, voiced cutscenes, expanded dialogue, orchestral music, and modernized controls, waiting is reasonable. As of October 13, 2026, the standalone physical edition was scheduled for November 5, 2026 and was not yet established as available. Recheck release status and retailer stock after that date.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Which version is cheaper?
No universal price comparison is established. Switch access requires an ongoing Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack membership, while the 3DS route requires compatible hardware and a copy, normally investigated as a physical cartridge after the eShop closure. Actual totals vary with the membership terms, hardware already owned, and seller pricing.
Bottom line
Pick Nintendo Switch Online if you already have Expansion Pack and want convenient access to the Nintendo 64 original, while remembering the active-membership and seven-day offline-verification requirements. Pick Ocarina of Time 3D if its graphical overhaul, touch inventory, gyro aiming, or supported glasses-free 3D matches what you want and you can obtain compatible hardware and a copy. If neither existing option is urgent, keep the separate Switch 2 edition in mind: Nintendo scheduled it for November 5, 2026 with announced visual, audio, dialogue, and control changes, but its availability must be verified after that date.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack to play Ocarina of Time on Switch?
Yes. The Nintendo 64 Nintendo Classics collection is an Expansion Pack benefit, and classic-game access depends on an active Nintendo Switch Online membership.
Recommended Free Tools
Is Ocarina of Time on Nintendo Switch Online the 3DS remake?
No. Nintendo Switch Online provides the Nintendo 64 release. Ocarina of Time 3D is a separate Nintendo 3DS edition.
Can I still buy Ocarina of Time 3D digitally?
Nintendo ended Nintendo 3DS eShop software sales on March 27, 2023. Look for a physical cartridge instead, while checking current stock, condition, region, and price.
Does Ocarina of Time 3D work in glasses-free 3D on every 3DS?
No. Nintendo 2DS and New Nintendo 2DS XL display the game in 2D. Verify that your specific model supports glasses-free 3D.
How long can I play Nintendo Classics offline?
Nintendo says classic games can run offline for up to seven consecutive days before the system must reconnect and verify an active membership.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallWhat features are specific to Ocarina of Time 3D?
Nintendo documents a graphical overhaul, touch-based inventory, gyro aiming, and glasses-free 3D on selected compatible systems.
Should I wait for the Nintendo Switch 2 edition?
If you can wait, consider it. Nintendo scheduled a standalone physical edition for November 5, 2026 and announced overhauled visuals, voiced cutscenes, expanded dialogue, orchestral music, and modernized controls. Confirm release and inventory after that date.
The Bottom Line
Choose Switch Online for convenient access to the Nintendo 64 game if you already have an active Expansion Pack membership. Choose Ocarina of Time 3D for its 3DS-specific graphical overhaul, touch inventory, gyro aiming, and supported glasses-free 3D. If you are not in a hurry, evaluate the separate Switch 2 edition after its scheduled November 5, 2026 release.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

