Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

A leak reported on October 7, 2025 described a 16-core Intel Panther Lake mobile design. Intel’s later product records now list several 16-core Panther Lake processors in the Core Ultra Series 3 family, so the original rumor is best understood as an early glimpse of a broader, now-documented lineup.

What the 2025 leak claimed

PC Gamer reported on October 7, 2025 that high-end Panther Lake mobile chips could use four performance cores, eight efficient cores and four low-power efficient cores. That combination totals 16 CPU cores. The report also mentioned the then-rumored name Core Ultra 9 X388H and described the model range as leak information, not confirmed retail specifications.

The leaked core mix should not be treated as a specification for every Panther Lake processor. Intel’s current product records are the appropriate source for model names and published specifications.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What Panther Lake is now

Panther Lake is Intel’s codename associated with the Core Ultra Series 3 mobile processor family. Intel describes Series 3 as built on its Intel 18A process. Intel’s ARK Panther Lake family page lists 17 products, including multiple mobile processors with 16 total cores and launch dates in the first quarter of 2026.

#1 Best Overall
ASRock Industrial NUCS BOX-325 Slim Barebone AI Mini PC, Intel Core Ultra Processors Series 3 (Panther Lake-H) with NPU 5, Supports DDR5-7200, USB4/Thunderbolt 4, Dual 2.5GbE, Wi-Fi 7
  • System Compatibility: Ultra-slim fanned barebone (117.5x110x38mm), requires DDR5 SO-DIMM, M.2 SSDs, and OS. Verify chassis support for 1.9L mini-PC form factor.
  • Dedicated Support: Contact us via Amazon for any product questions or assistance.
  • Intel Core Ultra 5 325 (Panther Lake-H): 4 P-cores + 4 LPE-cores with integrated NPU for AI acceleration – delivers power-efficient performance for edge computing, industrial automation, and professional workloads.
  • Dual DDR5 Memory (6400MHz): Two 262-pin SO-DIMM slots support up to 128GB dual-channel DDR5 at 6400MHz (Ultra 5 325), providing ample bandwidth for demanding applications.
  • Dual M.2 Storage with Gen5 Support: One M.2 Key M (2280) supports PCIe Gen5x4 and one M.2 Key M (2242) supports PCIe Gen4x4. Intel VMD RAID 0/1 supported for identical interface (PCIe).

Intel’s listed 16-core Panther Lake processors

Processor Total cores Maximum turbo Intel Smart Cache Listed graphics
Intel Core Ultra X9 388H 16 Up to 5.10 GHz 18 MB Intel Arc B390
Intel Core Ultra X9 378H 16 Up to 5.00 GHz 18 MB Intel Arc B390
Intel Core Ultra X7 368H 16 Up to 5.00 GHz 18 MB Intel Arc B390
Intel Core Ultra 9 386H 16 Not stated in the cited listing Not stated in the cited listing Intel Graphics
Intel Core Ultra 7 366H 16 Not stated in the cited listing Not stated in the cited listing Intel Graphics
Intel Core Ultra 7 356H 16 Not stated in the cited listing Not stated in the cited listing Intel Graphics

The figures above are Intel ARK product-listing specifications from 2026, not independent benchmark results. Intel notes that ARK information can change, so buyers should recheck the listing for the exact processor before purchasing.

Why the model number matters

“Panther Lake” does not identify one performance level. The X9 388H is listed with a higher maximum turbo frequency than the X9 378H and X7 368H, while those three models carry Arc B390 graphics. The 386H, 366H and 356H are also listed with 16 cores, but Intel identifies their graphics as Intel Graphics rather than Arc B390.

Rank #2
ASRock Industrial NUC BOX-358H Barebone AI Mini PC, Intel Core Ultra Series 3 (Panther Lake-H) Processors with NPU 5, Supports DDR5-7200, USB4/Thunderbolt 4, Dual 2.5GbE, Wi-Fi 7
  • System Compatibility Note: As a barebone (without CPU, RAM, storage, and OS), you will need to supply your own DDR5 SO‑DIMM modules, M.2/SATA SSDs, and operating system to complete the system. The included Wi‑Fi 6E + BT module is pre‑installed.
  • Dedicated Support: For technical queries or warranty assistance, please contact our team directly through Amazon.
  • Powerful Meteor Lake-H Performance: Powered by the Intel Core Ultra 7 155H processor (6P+8E cores) with integrated Intel Arc graphics, delivering a high-efficiency foundation for industrial IoT, edge computing, and professional workloads.
  • Fast DDR5 Memory & Storage: Two 262-pin SO‑DIMM slots support dual‑channel DDR5 memory up to 96GB (5600MHz). Also includes two M.2 Key M slots (both PCIe Gen4x4) and one SATA3 port, with Intel VMD RAID 0/1 support for flexible storage configurations.
  • Dual 2.5 Gigabit LAN & vPro Support: Equipped with two Intel 2.5 Gigabit LAN controllers (I226LM & I226V) and Intel vPro technology, providing reliable, high‑speed wired networking, remote manageability, and failover capabilities for enterprise deployments.

That distinction makes the complete SKU more useful than the codename or a headline core count. A laptop listing should be checked for the exact processor number, graphics configuration and other system specifications.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What 16 cores does—and does not—tell you

A core count describes the processor’s available CPU resources, not a laptop’s guaranteed speed. Maximum turbo frequency is a peak specification, not an operating speed maintained in every workload. Real performance depends on the finished laptop’s cooling system, sustained power limits, firmware, memory, battery mode and software.

Rank #3
LG gram Max 17 Laptop, Intel Core Ultra 7 355 (Panther Lake)
  • 【Redefining Ultra-Portability: 17 Inches That Feel Like Nothing】At just 0.57 inches thin and weighing only 3.39 pounds, this laptop is perfectly use for professionals who refuse to choose between a massive screen and true mobility. Slip it into any bag and experience the freedom of a full-size workspace—whether you're navigating airports, hopping between coffee shops, or presenting at client sites.
  • 【Breaking Battery Limits: 26.5 Hours of Non-Stop Productivity】Work without boundaries thanks to an extraordinary 26.5-hour battery life on a single charge. Powered by a high-capacity 77Wh battery with AI-driven power management, this machine is capable for powering through cross-continental flights, full workdays, and marathon creative sessions without hunting for an outlet. Focus on what matters, not on your battery gauge.
  • 【Breathtaking Visuals on a 17" WQXGA IPS Touchscreen】Immerse yourself in an expansive 2560x1600 IPS display with 99% DCI-P3 color accuracy and 350 nits of brightness. The 16:10 aspect ratio adds precious vertical space for documents, timelines, and spreadsheets, while the responsive touchscreen lets you navigate, scroll, and control content intuitively. This stunning display will not cause the eye strain or color distortion found on lesser screens.
  • 【Military-Grade Durability That Defies Its Feather-Light Design】Despite its incredibly slim profile, this laptop is built to survive the real world. Having passed seven rigorous military-grade durability tests, the Aerominum magnesium alloy chassis confidently withstands the bumps, drops, and jostles of daily commuting and frequent travel. Premium craftsmanship meets battlefield-grade resilience—so you can work anywhere without worry.
  • 【Pro-Grade Performance: 32GB RAM & Intel Core Ultra 7】Crush demanding workflows with the latest Intel Core Ultra 7 processor (Series 3), featuring an NPU capable of up to 50 TOPS for AI-accelerated tasks. Massive 32GB LPDDR5X RAM lets you keep dozens of browser tabs and heavy applications open simultaneously, while instant access to your entire project library.

The cited material does not establish independent benchmark results for any retail Panther Lake laptop. It therefore cannot support claims that a particular 16-core model is faster than another processor or that every Panther Lake notebook will deliver the same performance.

How to evaluate a Panther Lake laptop

  1. Confirm the exact SKU. Check whether the listing names an X9 388H, X9 378H, X7 368H, 386H, 366H or 356H rather than only saying “Panther Lake.”
  2. Check the graphics label. Arc B390 and Intel Graphics are different listed configurations.
  3. Compare the whole system. Review cooling design, configured power limits, RAM, storage, display, battery capacity and weight.
  4. Look for independent testing. Use reviews that measure sustained workloads, battery life, thermals and noise on the specific laptop model.
  5. Verify availability and price. Intel’s processor listing does not establish a retailer’s live inventory, price or warranty terms.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Is Panther Lake a desktop upgrade?

No. The Panther Lake parts discussed here are mobile processors intended to be integrated into laptops. They are not presented as user-replaceable desktop CPUs. Shopping should focus on complete laptops with a confirmed Core Ultra Series 3 processor, not on a standalone desktop upgrade path.

Rank #4
LG gram Max 17 Laptop, Windows 11 Pro, Intel Core Ultra 7 355 (Panther Lake), Dual AI, 26.5-Hour Battery, 3.39 lbs, 2560x1600 IPS Touchscreen, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Wi-Fi 7, Thunderbolt4, Backlit, w/kit
  • 【Breathtaking Visuals on a 17" WQXGA IPS Touchscreen】Immerse yourself in an expansive 2560x1600 IPS display with 99% DCI-P3 color accuracy and 350 nits of brightness. The 16:10 aspect ratio adds precious vertical space for documents, timelines, and spreadsheets, while the responsive touchscreen lets you navigate, scroll, and control content intuitively. This stunning display will not cause the eye strain or color distortion found on lesser screens.

The bottom line on the “new leak”

The October 2025 leak was an early report about a proposed 16-core Panther Lake design. Intel’s 2026 ARK records now list six 16-core mobile SKUs, including the Core Ultra X9 388H at up to 5.10 GHz with 18 MB cache and Arc B390 graphics. Those official entries confirm the core-count story, but only independent testing of specific laptops can show how the chips perform in practice.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.