What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Neuromorphic hardware is no longer limited to lab prototypes, but the options differ sharply: Intel’s Loihi systems and IBM’s NorthPole are research platforms, while Innatera, SynSense, and BrainChip target deployable sensor-edge hardware. The clearest fit for a spiking-neural-network (SNN) project depends on whether you need a large research system, a low-power sensor processor, or a chip or kit you can evaluate.
What makes a chip neuromorphic?
Neuromorphic processors are designed around brain-inspired ways of computing rather than simply running a conventional neural network faster. In an SNN, neurons communicate using discrete spikes. When sensor input is quiet, relatively little activity may need to be processed; when an event occurs, the network can respond without repeatedly moving a full stream of data through a conventional processor.
Intel describes Loihi 2 as using asynchronous, event-based SNNs, integrated memory and computation, and sparse, changing connections. Keeping computation close to memory can reduce data movement, which is central to the promised energy and latency advantages. Those advantages are most relevant to always-on sensing where much of the input is unchanged—not a guarantee that every SNN workload will outperform a conventional AI processor.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Which neuromorphic chips and systems have debuted?
| Platform | What it is | Scale or capabilities stated by its maker | Status and route to evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Intel Loihi 2 / Hala Point | Loihi 2 is an event-driven SNN processor; Hala Point is a large system built from Loihi 2 chips. | Intel’s April 2024 announcement gives Hala Point 1.15 billion neurons, 128 billion synapses, 140,544 neuromorphic cores, and a maximum system power draw of 2,600 watts. | Hala Point was initially deployed at Sandia National Laboratories for research. The announcement does not establish general commercial availability or a public purchase route for Loihi 2. |
| IBM NorthPole | A brain-inspired inference design that co-locates memory and processing; it is related to neuromorphic computing but is not positioned as an SNN product like Loihi. | IBM reported prototype edge-workload comparisons in September 2024; neuron and synapse counts are not stated (IBM, September 2024). | IBM describes it as a prototype. The cited announcement does not establish commercial availability or an evaluation-kit route. |
| Innatera Spiking Neural Processor T1 | An analog-mixed-signal processor purpose-built for SNNs, paired with a RISC-V processor and support for conventional CNN acceleration. | Neuron count, synapse count, and comparable energy-per-inference figures are not stated (Innatera, CES 2024). | Evaluation kits were offered for pre-production trials; this is not the same as confirmation of a generally available production product. |
| Innatera Pulsar | A sensor-edge neuromorphic microcontroller combining an event-driven SNN fabric, RISC-V CPU, CNN accelerator, and FFT blocks. | Innatera claimed up to 100 times lower latency and 500 times lower energy consumption than conventional AI processors in its May 2025 announcement. The announcement’s headline figures are vendor claims, not an apples-to-apples independent comparison. | Innatera announced Pulsar as its first commercially available neuromorphic microcontroller on May 21, 2025. The announcement does not establish retail stock, pricing, or a universal purchase route. |
| SynSense Xylo family | Low-power event-driven SNN processors for sensor streams such as EEG, EMG, audio, and IMU data. | The company describes operation at microwatt-level budgets; specific comparable inference latency and energy figures are not stated (SynSense, Xylo product information). | SynSense offers XyloIMU and Xylo-Audio development kits, supported by its Rockpool software. |
| BrainChip Akida AKD1500 | A fully digital, event-based neuromorphic reference processor intended to analyze essential sensor inputs at the point of acquisition. | Comparable neuron and synapse counts, latency, and energy-per-inference figures are not stated (BrainChip, June 30, 2026). | BrainChip announced commercial availability and initial production shipments of AKD1500 reference chips on June 30, 2026. That establishes shipments, not retail availability of a complete development system. |
What the major announcements mean in practice
Intel: a research-scale SNN system
Intel announced Hala Point on April 17, 2024. Its 1,152 Loihi 2 processors make it a large research system rather than a sensor module or a chip a typical developer can simply plug into a device. Intel says it was initially deployed at Sandia National Laboratories to investigate more efficient and scalable brain-inspired AI.
#1 Best Overall
Intel also reported that Hala Point can run at its full 1.15-billion-neuron capacity 20 times faster than a human brain, or up to 200 times faster at lower capacity. These are Intel’s comparisons, not independent measures of general AI capability. Intel’s reported early deep-network efficiency of up to 15 TOPS/W is likewise a vendor figure; it should not be treated as a directly comparable score against another chip without matching workload, precision, measurement boundary, and test conditions.
IBM: related architecture, different emphasis
NorthPole belongs in a comparison of brain-inspired computing because it places memory and processing together to address the von Neumann bottleneck—the cost of moving data between memory and compute. It should not be presented as an equivalent Loihi-style SNN product. In September 2024, IBM reported experimental results for edge applications in which its prototype had lower latency than the next most energy-efficient GPU and higher energy efficiency than the next-fastest comparison chip. Those are IBM’s claims for its prototype and workloads, not a universal ranking.
Rank #2
Innatera: from pre-production trials to a commercial microcontroller
Innatera unveiled T1 at CES 2024 as an SNN-oriented mixed-signal processor with a RISC-V processor and conventional CNN acceleration. Its evaluation kits were offered for pre-production trials. In May 2025, the company announced Pulsar as its first commercially available neuromorphic microcontroller, adding a sensor-edge product route that combines SNN processing with a CPU, CNN accelerator, and FFT blocks.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsInnatera’s headline comparison for Pulsar—up to 100 times lower latency and 500 times lower energy consumption than conventional AI processors—needs workload context. The announcement does not make those figures a general result for every model or competing processor.
Rank #3
SynSense: development kits for sensor experiments
Xylo is aimed at low-power processing of sensor data rather than large general-purpose AI models. SynSense identifies EEG, EMG, audio, and IMU streams among its target inputs, and offers XyloIMU and Xylo-Audio development kits with the Rockpool software toolchain. That gives developers a more concrete evaluation path than a research installation, although the available information does not supply independently comparable latency or energy-per-inference results.
BrainChip: reference-chip shipments
BrainChip announced commercial availability and initial production shipments of its Akida AKD1500 reference chips on June 30, 2026. The company describes the processor as fully digital and event-based, for analyzing essential sensor inputs where they are acquired. Initial reference-chip shipments are meaningful evidence of commercial progress, but they do not by themselves confirm that any reader can buy a complete kit or that stock is available through ordinary retail channels.
Rank #4
Can you buy a neuromorphic SNN chip or development kit?
There is no single answer across the field. The evidence supports distinct levels of access: research-system deployment, pre-production evaluation, vendor development kits, commercial product announcements, and initial reference-chip shipments. These should not be conflated.
- For hands-on sensor experiments: SynSense lists XyloIMU and Xylo-Audio development kits with Rockpool. Innatera offered T1 evaluation kits for pre-production trials. Confirm current availability and terms with the vendor before planning a project.
- For a commercial sensor-edge microcontroller: Innatera announced Pulsar as commercially available in May 2025. The announcement does not specify universal retail availability, pricing, or access terms.
- For a reference-chip program: BrainChip announced initial production shipments and commercial availability of AKD1500 reference chips in June 2026. Ask BrainChip about access to the chip and any associated evaluation hardware.
- For large-scale SNN research: Hala Point was deployed at Sandia National Laboratories; the available announcement does not establish that a researcher can order the system. Loihi 2 access should be checked through Intel’s current research or developer channels.
- For NorthPole: IBM’s cited material describes a prototype and does not establish a product or kit for purchase.
How to compare claims before choosing a platform
Headline power or speed numbers are not enough to select an SNN platform. Published figures across these products are not independent, apples-to-apples benchmarks. Before comparing them, establish what was measured and whether the hardware and software can run your actual model.
Best Value
- Workload: Match sensor type, input rate, network architecture, and task. A result for one edge workload does not establish performance for another.
- Latency: Check whether the number covers a single inference, end-to-end sensor response, or another interval. Do not compare unlike latency definitions.
- Energy boundary: Find out whether power covers the processor alone or the full board and system, and whether it is measured during active inference or over an always-on duty cycle.
- Model and precision: Confirm the network, numerical precision, and any conversion or quantization used. A TOPS/W figure and a sensor-event workload may describe fundamentally different tests.
- Programming and learning: Verify the available toolchain, supported network operations, and whether your use case needs on-chip learning or only inference. The available product descriptions do not establish a common on-chip-learning feature across these platforms.
- Sensor path: Check whether the platform connects to your sensor directly or requires a separate interface, processor, or development board. Sensor targets listed for Xylo are not proof that every kit includes every interface.
- Access and lifecycle: Distinguish a lab deployment, a pre-production kit, a vendor evaluation program, a commercial announcement, and a product with confirmed supply for your project.
These checks matter because the platforms span different purposes: Hala Point is a research-scale system; NorthPole is a related inference prototype; and Pulsar, Xylo, T1, and Akida are oriented toward edge or sensor applications at different stages of access.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

