Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Choose Make if you want a managed, visual workflow builder and its credit-based pricing fits your expected use. Choose n8n if billing by full workflow execution, code-oriented flexibility, or the option to self-host matters—and your team can handle the technical work. Neither is automatically cheaper: Make generally counts module actions, while n8n counts complete workflow runs. Price a representative automation in both before committing.

The prices below are vendor-published figures checked on October 7, 2026. They use different currencies, billing terms, usage units, allowances, and features, so they are a snapshot rather than a like-for-like cost comparison.

How n8n and Make charge for use

n8n counts complete workflow executions

n8n says its pricing is “based on monthly workflow executions, regardless of complexity.” That is n8n’s description of its billing unit, not an independent cost comparison. A workflow execution is a complete run; its number of steps does not change that unit.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Make counts credits for module actions

Make says each module action—such as adding a spreadsheet row or fetching email data—counts as a credit. Most actions use one credit, but some features consume more. A scenario can use from two credits to thousands in a run, depending on its complexity. Make identifies routers and listed error-handler modules as exceptions that do not consume credits.

Make credits expire at the end of the subscription term. If you run out, scenarios stop until you add credits, although webhooks may queue within the stated storage limits. Check Make’s current terms for the limits that apply to your account.

Why the usage units are not interchangeable

Ten thousand Make credits are not equivalent to 10,000 n8n executions. Estimate a typical scenario’s Make module actions—including any data or AI behavior that affects credit use—then multiply by expected monthly runs. For n8n, estimate complete monthly workflow runs. Use the same automations and workload assumptions for both estimates.

Verified 2026 pricing snapshot

These figures were listed on the vendors’ pricing pages on October 7, 2026. Prices may change; confirm the live plan selector, billing cadence, and feature matrix before purchasing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Service and plan Listed price Listed usage Important qualification
n8n Starter €20/month 2,500 executions/month Billed annually; unlimited steps per execution
n8n Pro €50/month 10,000 executions/month Billed annually; unlimited steps per execution
n8n Business €667/month 40,000 executions/month Billed annually; currently self-hosted only
n8n Enterprise Custom price Not stated on the pricing page Hosted and self-hosted deployment options are described
Make Free $0/month Up to 1,000 credits/month Pricing page also lists a 15-minute minimum interval between runs
Make Core $12/month 10,000 credits/month Price shown at the 10,000-credit selection; confirm billing cadence
Make Pro $21/month 10,000 credits/month Price shown at the 10,000-credit selection; confirm billing cadence
Make Teams $38/month 10,000 credits/month Price shown at the 10,000-credit selection; confirm billing cadence
Make Enterprise Custom price Not stated on the pricing page Confirm terms with Make

Sources: n8n pricing and Make pricing. Make’s displayed prices depend on the selected credit allowance and billing cadence. The listed prices are vendor figures, not an independent assessment of total cost.

Which builder suits your team?

Choose based on the workload, not the headline plan price

For a workflow with many actions per run, n8n’s execution unit may be easier to forecast. With Make, a short scenario and a many-step scenario can use very different credits even if each runs the same number of times. These are differences in billing mechanics, not proof that one service will always cost less. Include expected volume, bundles of data, and features that affect credit consumption in your estimate.

Match the builder to your technical comfort

Make describes its builder as visual and drag-and-drop. In its own comparison, Make characterizes itself as more accessible and n8n as requiring deeper technical knowledge; that is the vendor’s positioning, not a result from independent usability testing. n8n’s pricing page lists code steps and custom API requests, which may suit teams that want to work closer to APIs or add code to workflows.

Check the specific integrations and operations

Make advertises 3,000+ standard apps. n8n says its plans include every integration and offers nodes and custom requests. Those catalog claims do not establish that a particular app action, authentication method, or limit will meet your needs. Verify the exact operations your workflows require in each product.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Decide who will host and maintain the system

Make’s pricing page lists AWS hosting in the EU or North America. n8n says its hosted plans store data in the EU on servers in Frankfurt, Germany. For self-hosted n8n, you choose the host and take responsibility for deployment and maintenance. Confirm the relevant region, contract, and security controls for your plan and jurisdiction; a vendor’s general hosting description alone may not answer every compliance requirement.

Compare governance and support at the tier you need

Compare collaboration, roles, SSO, environments, execution history, support commitments, and enterprise terms at the specific tiers under consideration. n8n’s pricing page lists Business as self-hosted only and says Enterprise support includes an SLA. Make lists enterprise support and security features, while its Enterprise pricing is custom. Check the current feature matrix and contract rather than assuming similarly named tiers include equivalent controls.

Review licensing for client-facing or embedded workflows

n8n’s free Community Edition is governed by its Sustainable Use License. According to n8n’s license guidance, an organization may build and run client workflows on its own instance under conditions, including that clients cannot access the editor or change workflow logic. Hosting n8n as a service, white-labeling it, or allowing outside users to build or configure workflows requires a commercial license. Review the license for your exact deployment and ask n8n about edge cases.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

A practical decision guide

  • Lean toward Make if your team wants a managed visual builder, does not want to run workflow infrastructure, and its projected module actions fit the selected credit tier.
  • Lean toward n8n Cloud if execution-based billing, its code and integration options, and the hosted plan’s features fit your use case.
  • Consider n8n Community Edition if your team can self-host and maintain it and your use complies with the Sustainable Use License. Include server, monitoring, backup, updates, and staff time in the total-cost estimate; self-hosted software is not cost-free to operate.
  • Pause for a workload and requirements check if you expect high volume, large bundles, AI actions, strict data-location needs, client-facing automation, or formal governance requirements. Confirm limits and contractual terms with both vendors.

How to compare the two for your own workflows

  1. Choose representative automations. Include a typical workflow and any unusually complex or high-volume workflow that could drive usage.
  2. Estimate monthly runs. Use the same expected run volume for each product.
  3. Count Make credits. Add the module actions and account for features or data behavior that may consume more than one credit. Check which listed modules are exceptions.
  4. Count n8n executions. Estimate complete workflow runs; do not treat individual steps as separate executions.
  5. Match the estimates to live plans. Check the selected allowance, billing cadence, plan limits, and required features on each vendor’s current pricing page.
  6. Add operational and contractual costs. For self-hosted n8n, account for infrastructure and maintenance. For either product, verify region, security controls, support, and licensing against your actual requirements.

Sources and limits of the comparison

The pricing and product details here come from the vendors’ own pages. Make’s comparison of n8n is useful for understanding Make’s positioning, but it is not independent proof of relative ease, cost, or quality. No independent head-to-head cost, reliability, or outcome study, and no hands-on test, is established here. The best fit depends on your required apps and actions, workload, region, technical capacity, governance, and license needs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.