The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Motorola publishes a full specification sheet for the moto g86 power 5G, but not for the moto g max, at least in the official material available to us. That imbalance decides the comparison. The G86 Power’s specs can be stated with confidence. The G Max’s cannot yet, because the third-party comparisons that list its hardware contradict each other on the chipset, battery and main camera. The price difference is also not a fixed number: the prices we found come from different sellers, dates and configurations, so they cannot be subtracted to produce a like-for-like gap.
This article separates what Motorola has confirmed from what remains unresolved, shows where the price figures come from, and gives a method for finishing the comparison for your own market.
What Motorola confirms for the moto g86 power 5G
Motorola’s official support specifications page for the moto g86 power 5G and its 2025 global product announcement agree on most of the core hardware. The table below lists each value with its source. Where the two sources differ in wording, both are shown.
| Spec | Stated value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.67-inch AMOLED, 2712 × 1220 resolution, adaptive refresh up to 120 Hz | Motorola support specifications page |
| Display (announcement wording) | 6.7-inch Super HD pOLED | Motorola global blog announcement, 2025 |
| Processor | MediaTek Dimensity 7300 | Motorola global blog announcement, 2025 |
| Memory and storage | Up to 12GB RAM and up to 512GB storage; the range available in your market may be smaller | Motorola global blog announcement, 2025 |
| Battery | 6720 mAh | Motorola global blog announcement, 2025 |
| Charging | 30W TurboPower | Motorola global blog announcement, 2025 |
| Battery life | Up to 53 hours of power under the conditions Motorola footnotes | Motorola global blog announcement, 2025 |
| Rear cameras | 50MP Sony LYTIA 600 main camera, 8MP ultrawide | Motorola global blog announcement, 2025 |
| Front camera | 32MP | Motorola global blog announcement, 2025 |
| Durability | IP68 and IP69 ratings; MIL-STD-810H | Motorola support specifications page and global blog announcement |
| Connectivity | Sub-6 5G bands, Bluetooth 5.4, NFC, dual SIM | Motorola support specifications page |
Two notes on these values. The support page’s 6.67-inch figure and the announcement’s 6.7-inch figure describe the same screen at different rounding. The 53-hour battery figure is a manufacturer claim built on conditions Motorola states in its footnotes. It is not an independent endurance test, and this comparison has not tested it.
#1 Best Overall
- For USA Buyers: This Smartphone is not compatible/will not work with any CDMA Networks including: VERIZON, SPRINT, US CELLULAR. Please check with your network provider for 3G, 4G/LTE, 5G compatibility check before you purchase. OUTSIDE THE USA WORKS ANY CARRIER WORLDWIDE
- 256GB Storage, 8GB RAM, microSDXC (dedicated slot), SIM Configuration: 1 physical Nano-SIM + 1 eSIM. This phone does NOT support two physical SIM cards. eSIM activation depends on carrier compatibility and availability.
- 6.67 inches, P-OLED, 1B colors, 1220 x 2712 pixels
- Android 15, Mediatek Dimensity 7300 (4 nm), Octa-core (4x2.5 GHz Cortex-A78 & 4x2.0 GHz Cortex-A55)
- Rear: 50 MP, f/1.9, 25mm (wide), 1/1.95", 0.8µm, dual pixel PDAF, OIS, 8 MP, f/2.2, 12mm, 118˚ (ultrawide), 1.12µm, AF, Front: 32 MP, f/2.2, (wide), 0.7µm
Why the moto g max cannot be compared spec for spec yet
Motorola India’s Moto G family comparison page lists a model called “moto g max” with 4GB/128GB and 6GB/128GB configurations. It does not provide a complete specification sheet for that model in the material reviewed. Two third-party comparison articles fill that gap, and they disagree on the core hardware:
| Spec | 91mobiles | Gadgets360 | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chipset | Snapdragon 6s Gen 4 | MediaTek Dimensity 6400 | Conflicting; not confirmed by Motorola |
| Battery | 7000 mAh | 5200 mAh | Conflicting; not confirmed by Motorola |
| Main camera | 50MP | 200MP | Conflicting; not confirmed by Motorola |
Third-party pages also describe a 6.72-inch LCD display, and one lists IP69 durability. Motorola’s official documentation for these features was not located, so neither should be treated as confirmed. Until Motorola publishes a specification sheet for the moto g max, a spec-by-spec winner cannot be named.
Rank #2
- 6.8" HD+ 1604x720, 263ppi, Gorilla Glass 5 LCD, 120Hz refresh rate, 20:9 Aspect Ratio, 5000mAh Battery, Android 15, up to 2 major Android upgrades
- 128GB, 8GB RAM, microSDXC (dedicated slot), Mediatek Dimensity 6300 (6nm), Octa-core (2x2.4 GHz Cortex-A76 & 6x2.0 GHz Cortex-A55), Mali-G57 MC2 GPU
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 (wide) + 8MP, f/2.2 (Ultrawide), Front Camera: 16MP, f/2.4 (wide), Fingerprint side-mounted, 15W Wireless Charging Capable.
- 5G: NR band n2/5/7/12/14/25/26/29/30/41/48/66/70/71/77/78, Global 4G LTE bands - Nano-SIM + eSIM
- Carrier Unlocked US model – Global Connectivity – Plug & Play with an ACTIVE SIM on AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile, and most U.S. carriers. Carrier unlocked device may retain original carrier logo on start up, while being fully unlocked. New Activation compatible with all Major Carriers in the US and Globally. (Not Compatibe with Certain MVNOs like Xfinty and Spectrum).
Price difference: why there is no single number
Several prices appear in coverage of these two phones. They cannot be placed side by side as a like-for-like gap:
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
- moto g max, Motorola India: ₹25,999 displayed against an MRP of ₹42,999, for the 4GB/128GB and 6GB/128GB configurations. The source does not state when the page was captured. Treat ₹25,999 as a sale price at that moment, not a permanent list price.
- moto g max, 91mobiles: ₹27,599 displayed. The seller, date and configuration behind this figure are not stated.
- moto g86 power 5G, 91mobiles: ₹17,835 displayed. Again, the seller, date and configuration are not stated.
- moto g86 power 5G, Motorola India: a current official price could not be verified in the sources reviewed.
Subtracting one marketplace price from another mixes different sellers, capture dates and memory configurations, so the result would not describe a real buying difference. The only defensible comparison is one taken on the same day, from the same retailer or official store, for the same RAM and storage variant.
Rank #3
- Unlocked: Compatible with all major U.S. carriers, including Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile and other major carriers.
- Super-bright 6.8" display + Bass Boost. Enjoy boundless entertainment on a massive, 120Hz display and stereo speakers with 1.7x more powerful bass***.
- Long-lasting battery + TurboPower charging. Go over a day on a single charge with a 5000mAh battery and blazing-fast charging—even charge wirelessly.*
- 50MP** camera system with OIS. Capture sharper low-light photos and smoother videos with an unshakable camera system featuring Optical Image Stabilization.
- Stylish yet durable design. Enjoy the premium look and feel of vegan leather with Corning Gorilla Glass 5 and underwater protection.
Battery and charging
The moto g86 power 5G is the only one of the two with an official battery figure: 6720 mAh with 30W TurboPower charging. The moto g max’s battery capacity is disputed, at 7000 mAh in one third-party source and 5200 mAh in another. If the higher figure is correct, the G Max holds more charge on paper, and if the lower one is correct, the G86 Power does. Charging speed for the G Max is not established in the material reviewed. The battery question therefore cannot be settled yet.
Quick Recap
How to finish the comparison for your market
- Open the Moto G family comparison page on Motorola India and note the exact model name and the RAM and storage variant you are considering.
- Open Motorola’s support specifications page for the moto g86 power 5G and confirm the variant it describes matches the one you plan to buy, because the global announcement’s maximum configuration may not be sold in every market.
- Search for a moto g max specification sheet on Motorola’s official site. If one is not published, treat chipset, battery, camera and durability as unconfirmed.
- Record live prices for both phones on the same day from the same seller, for the same RAM and storage. Note the date next to each price.
- If you are buying the G86 Power, check whether a charger is in the box for your region. The 30W TurboPower rating depends on a compatible charger.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

