What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

A personalized cancer treatment from Moderna and Merck has reached a significant milestone, but it is not an approved or generally available vaccine. On August 19, 2026, the companies announced that their Phase 3 trial in certain patients with high-risk melanoma met its recurrence-free survival and distant metastasis-free survival endpoints when the treatment was added to KEYTRUDA. The announcement did not include the size of the Phase 3 benefit, mature overall-survival results, or a regulatory decision.

What is Moderna and Merck’s cancer vaccine?

Intismeran autogene—also called intismeran, V940 or mRNA-4157—is an investigational, personalized mRNA-based neoantigen therapy jointly developed by Moderna and Merck. It is made using the mutation pattern identified in an individual patient’s tumor sample, with the aim of training the immune system to recognize and attack cancer cells. In the melanoma trial, it was given with pembrolizumab, Merck’s anti-PD-1 medicine sold as KEYTRUDA.

Despite the shorthand “cancer vaccine,” this is not a preventive shot for healthy people. The Phase 3 program described by the companies is adjuvant treatment: it is given after surgery to people whose melanoma has been removed, to try to reduce the risk of the cancer returning or spreading.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What did the Phase 3 melanoma trial find?

In their August 19, 2026 announcement, Merck and Moderna said the Phase 3 INTerpath-001 study met its primary endpoint, recurrence-free survival, and a key secondary endpoint, distant metastasis-free survival. They reported statistically significant and clinically meaningful improvements for intismeran plus KEYTRUDA compared with KEYTRUDA alone at a prespecified interim analysis.

The trial enrolled patients with completely resected stage IIB, IIC, III or IV cutaneous melanoma who had not received prior systemic therapy. The reported result therefore applies to this specific post-surgery melanoma setting; it does not establish that intismeran works for other cancers or for melanoma that has not been surgically removed.

What the announcement does—and does not—tell us

  • Reported: The companies said the combination improved recurrence-free and distant metastasis-free survival versus KEYTRUDA alone.
  • Not reported in the topline announcement: Phase 3 hazard ratios, absolute recurrence-free or distant metastasis-free survival rates, and detailed adverse-event tables.
  • Still being evaluated: Overall survival, among other key secondary endpoints. The companies said the results would be presented at an upcoming international medical meeting and shared with regulators.

The companies described the safety profile as consistent with earlier combination studies and said they observed no new safety signals. That summary is not a complete accounting of Phase 3 adverse events. The announcement is a company-released topline result, not a regulatory decision or a full peer-reviewed report.

How does the Phase 3 result compare with earlier evidence?

The earlier figures often cited for intismeran come from KEYNOTE-942, a Phase 2b study—not from the Phase 3 INTerpath-001 announcement. Keeping those results separate matters: a Phase 2b estimate cannot fill in effect sizes the companies have not yet disclosed for Phase 3.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Evidence Population and comparison Reported result
Phase 2b KEYNOTE-942 follow-up announced by Merck and Moderna in June 2024 157 patients with resected high-risk stage III or IV melanoma; intismeran plus KEYTRUDA compared with KEYTRUDA alone At approximately 34.9 months’ median follow-up, the companies reported a 49% reduction in the risk of recurrence or death and a 62% reduction in the risk of distant metastasis or death. Reported 2.5-year recurrence-free survival was 74.8% with the combination and 55.6% with KEYTRUDA alone.
Phase 2b update in Moderna’s 2025 Form 10-K, filed in 2026 The same Phase 2b combination program; the filing described approximately five years’ planned median follow-up Moderna reported that the combination continued to show a 49% reduction in the risk of recurrence or death versus KEYTRUDA alone.
Phase 3 INTerpath-001 topline announcement, August 2026 Completely resected stage IIB–IV cutaneous melanoma; intismeran plus KEYTRUDA compared with KEYTRUDA alone The companies said the recurrence-free and distant metastasis-free survival endpoints were met. Numerical effect sizes and absolute rates were not stated in the announcement.

The relative-risk reductions and survival percentages in the first two rows are Phase 2b findings reported by the companies. They should not be presented as the Phase 3 result. The Phase 3 announcement also did not provide mature overall-survival results.

Is Moderna’s cancer vaccine available yet?

The August 2026 announcement describes intismeran as investigational and says the data will be shared with regulatory authorities. It does not say that a marketing application has been accepted or that a regulator has approved the treatment. The sources cited here therefore do not establish general availability or access outside a clinical trial. Patients should ask their oncology team about appropriate treatment and check current regulator and clinical-trial records for any later status changes.

Which cancers could intismeran treat?

Moderna’s pipeline listing dated May 28, 2026 shows the treatment being studied in several cancers at different development stages. A pipeline stage means a program is under study; it is not evidence that the therapy is effective or approved for that cancer.

Cancer setting listed Development stage on May 28, 2026
Adjuvant melanoma Phase 3
Non-small cell lung cancer (several settings) Phase 3
Renal cell carcinoma Phase 2
Muscle-invasive and non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer Phase 2
Metastatic melanoma Phase 2
First-line metastatic squamous non-small cell lung cancer Phase 2
Early and advanced solid tumors Phase 1

The positive Phase 3 announcement concerns adjuvant treatment for high-risk cutaneous melanoma after surgery. It should not be generalized to lung, bladder, kidney or other cancers simply because those programs also appear in the pipeline.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What should readers watch for next?

The next useful evidence will be the full INTerpath-001 results, including numerical recurrence-free and distant metastasis-free survival outcomes, detailed safety data and longer-term overall-survival results. Those details will help clinicians and regulators assess the magnitude and durability of benefit, alongside the risks, for the particular patients studied.

Professor Georgina Long, the trial’s principal investigator and medical director of Melanoma Institute Australia, called it the first Phase 3 study to show that intismeran with pembrolizumab could reduce recurrence or death in patients with completely resected stage IIB–IV melanoma compared with KEYTRUDA alone. Her statement was included in the companies’ announcement and refers to its topline finding.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.