iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
HP announced the OmniBook 5 14 AI PC on October 1, 2026, with a U.S. starting price of $699.99 and expected October availability through HP.com and Best Buy. That is $100.99 more than Apple’s $599 MacBook Neo starting price. The comparison is useful for price, screen size and announced features—but launch specifications and battery figures do not establish which laptop performs better in everyday use.
Price and availability
HP says the OmniBook 5 14 will start at $699.99 in the U.S. and is expected to be available in October 2026 on HP.com and Best Buy. This is announced availability, not confirmation that a product listing or a particular configuration is live.
Apple announced MacBook Neo at $599 in the U.S., making the OmniBook’s announced starting price $100.99 higher. The two starting prices alone do not show what configurations are included in each price or which offers will be available once sales begin.
What HP says the OmniBook 5 includes
Four finishes and an aluminum chassis
HP names the four finishes Smoke Silver, Starlit Blue, Peony Pink and Soft Honeydew. The company describes the laptop as having an aluminum chassis and a tone-on-tone keyboard.
#1 Best Overall
- [Powerful Performance with Intel Core 5 120U] Powerhouse Intel Core 5 120U 10-Core (Base Frequency 2.4 GHz, Up to 5.0 GHz with Intel Turbo Boost Technology, 12 MB Intel Smart cache, 10 cores (2P + 8E), 12 threads)
- [Customization] Seal is opened for Hardware/Software upgrade only to enhance performance. Upgraded to 8GB DDR5 SDRAM 5200 MHz, 512GB PCI-E NVMe Solid State Drive, No Built-in Optical Drive
- [Display and Graphics] Brilliant 14" Touchscreen LED-backlit WUXGA (1920 x 1200) IPS 300 nits, micro-edge, 62.5% sRGB, 60Hz, Thin Bezel LCD Display powered by Intel Graphics, 5MP + IR Camera with Privacy Shutter and integrated digital microphone
- [Connectivity] Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211 (2x2) and Bluetooth 5.3, 2 x USB-C 3.2 Gen 2 (Power Delivery and DisplayPort 1.4 and Power-off Charging and 10Gbps), 1 x USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps), 1 x USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps), 1 x HDMI v2.1, 1 x Headphone/Microphone Combo Jack, 1 x USB-C Power Jack
- [Rock eDigital Feature] Windows 11 Home; Backlit Keyboard; Dual speakers; HP Audio BoostSpeakers; 68Whr 4-cell lithium-ion battery; 12.32 x 8.66 x 0.73 inches, 3.58 lbs; Glacier Silver; 45 AC Adapter, free Rock eDigital 32GB USB Drive
Wildcat Lake processors and configuration caveats
Tom’s Hardware reports launch processor options of Intel Core 5 320 and Core 7 350, integrated Intel Graphics, 8GB or 16GB of LPDDR5-6400 memory, and 256GB or 512GB PCIe Gen 4 SSDs. HP says Core 7 models are planned for mid-October. Tom’s Hardware also reports that 12GB memory and 1TB storage options are planned for November 2026.
These are reported options and plans, not confirmation of every processor, memory, storage and display combination as a purchasable SKU. Check the current official product listing before choosing a configuration.
Rank #2
- 【 Intel Core 7 150U Processor】It is a high-end notebook CPU based on the Raptor Lake-U Refresh (RPL-U) series (Alder Lake architecture), which was introduced in January 2024. The CPU offers 2 performance cores (P-cores, Golden Cove architecture) and 8 efficiency cores (E-cores, Gracemont architecture). The P-cores support hyperthreading (therefore 12 threads together) and clock from 1.8 to 5.4 GHz. The E-cores clock from 1.2 - 4 GHz and should offer comparable performance to old Skylake cores.
- 【14.0 " (1920x1200) touch Display】Intuitive touchscreen technology lets you control your PC right from the screen. Transform your content with 1920 x 1200 resolution and 178-degree wide-viewing angles. Make taking notes, sketching, and editing easier by rotating the screen to tablet or tent mode. Multitouch-enabled, IPS (in-plane switching), edge-to-edge glass.
- 【Other features】Intel Graphics,Microsoft Copilot,Tuned stereo speakers,HP Audio Boost,HP 5MP IR Camera with HDR Switch, Backlit Keyboard, Windows 11 Home OS.
Weight, charging and ports
HP lists the weight as 1.16kg (about 2.56 pounds) and calls out two full-function USB-C ports and a compact 65W USB Mini GaN charger. Tom’s Hardware reports a 60Wh battery, 65W USB-C GaN charger and 1080p IR camera. Availability of a specific accessory or configuration should be confirmed on the listing.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDisplay: launch panel versus the later OLED option
HP’s launch 2K OLED version is rated for up to 300 nits. HP says a 2.5K OLED touch display rated for up to 620 nits and 100% DCI-P3 coverage is planned for March 2027; it is not a launch-day feature according to HP’s announcement. Tom’s Hardware reports the launch resolution as 1920 × 1200 and the later option as 2560 × 1600.
Rank #3
- [Feature]: Slim, sleek, lightweight 2 in 1 design | Powered by 2026 AMD Ryzen AI 5 400 Series processors and a 50 TOPS NPU | Copilot+ PC | Long Battery Life Up to 24 hours and 30 minutes of battery life | HP 5MP IR camera with HDR auto-switch: Enhanced by AI Noise Reduction & Poly Studio Audio Tuning | Wi-Fi 7 (2x2) and Bluetooth 6.0 wireless card | DTS: X Ultra technology | Backlit keyboard.
- [Processor]: AMD Ryzen AI 5 430 processor with AMD Ryzen AI (50 NPU TOPS) (4 Cores, 8 Threads, 2.0 GHz Base, Up to 4.5 GHz, 12MB Cache ). Unlock powerful AI-driven experiences with a Copilot+ PC powered by an AMD Ryzen AI processor designed to enhance creativity, simplify and streamline your day, and give you valuable time back to do more; AMD Radeon 840M Shared Integrated Graphics.
- [Display]: 14" 2K OLED touchscreen - 1920 x 1200 resolution delivers incredible detail, wide-viewing angles, and lifelike color reproduction. And with touch, you can control your PC right from the screen.
- [Memory & Storage]: 16GB LPDDR5x-7467 MT/s Memory, 512GB PCIe Gen4 Solid State Drive (Boot SSD), Original Factory Box will be opened and resealed for Upgrade.
- [Other]: Weight Only 3.09 lbs | 0.57 Inch Thin | Windows 11 Home | Wi-Fi 7 AX211 (2x2) | 3-cell 65 Wh Li-ion polymer battery up to 24.5 hours Battery Life | HP Audio Boost 2.0 | 5MP IR webcam | HDMI 2.1 | Bluetooth 6.0 | 2 x USB-A 3.1, 2 x USB-C 4.
MacBook Neo has a 13-inch display, while the OmniBook 5 is a 14-inch laptop. Screen size and resolution are specification differences, not evidence by themselves of which display looks better. No independent, like-for-like assessment of display quality is established by the launch announcements.
OmniBook 5 versus MacBook Neo: what the announced facts show
| Category | HP OmniBook 5 14 | Apple MacBook Neo |
|---|---|---|
| Announced U.S. starting price | $699.99; HP announcement, October 1, 2026 | $599; Apple announcement, March 4, 2026 |
| Screen size | 14 inches; HP | 13 inches; Apple |
| Operating system | Windows; HP describes it as an AI PC | macOS; Apple product announcement |
| Memory and storage | Tom’s Hardware reports 8GB or 16GB LPDDR5-6400 and 256GB or 512GB SSD options at launch; additional options are reported as planned | Not stated in the cited Apple announcement |
| Ports | HP names two full-function USB-C ports | Not stated in the cited Apple announcement |
| Battery figure and method | Up to 42 hours of local video playback under HP’s stated test conditions; see details below | Up to 16 hours under Apple’s stated methodology; not directly comparable with HP’s test |
The operating-system difference is a practical dividing line: the OmniBook runs Windows, while Neo uses macOS. Which is a better fit depends on the apps, services and devices a buyer needs; the announcements do not establish a performance winner. Apple’s launch statement describes Neo as bringing “the magic of the Mac at a breakthrough price,” but that is Apple’s product positioning, not an independent comparison with HP.
Rank #4
- Power Through Everyday AI Workflows — Powered by the Intel Core Ultra 5 226V processor with Intel AI Boost and 16GB LPDDR5x memory, this laptop delivers fast, responsive performance for multitasking, document creation, online collaboration, and AI-assisted productivity throughout your day.
- Storage That Grows with Your Needs — Available with upgraded PCIe SSD capacities, for business files, creative projects, photos, videos, and everyday productivity, while larger capacity options are available for users who need even more space.
- Immersive Touchscreen Flexibility — The 14-inch 1920×1200 IPS touchscreen delivers crisp visuals, responsive touch control, and more vertical workspace, while the 360° convertible hinge lets you switch easily between laptop, tablet, tent, and presentation modes.
- Built for Modern Hybrid Work — Stay productive anywhere with Wi-Fi 6E, Thunderbolt 4, HDMI 2.1, USB Type-C, and USB Type-A connectivity, making it easy to connect displays, accessories, docks, and other peripherals for work, school, or home office setups.
- Designed for Comfortable Everyday Productivity — A 5MP IR camera with privacy shutter, dual-array microphones, Poly Studio audio, full-size backlit keyboard, HP Imagepad, and fingerprint reader help create a secure, comfortable, and professional experience for meetings, studying, and daily work.
How to interpret HP’s 42-hour battery claim
HP advertises up to 42 hours of local video playback. Its footnote bases the figure on continuous FHD playback at 200 nits under specified test conditions, and HP cautions that actual battery life varies with configuration, use and battery capacity over time.
Apple lists up to 16 hours for MacBook Neo using its own stated methodology. Because the manufacturers’ disclosed methods differ, comparing 42 hours with 16 hours as if they came from the same test would be misleading. Neither announcement establishes how long either laptop will last in a particular person’s mixed, everyday workload.
What the launch announcements cannot settle
The announcements and configuration reporting provide a starting point for comparing price, screen size, operating system and listed features. They do not provide a like-for-like independent test of processor performance, display quality, keyboard feel, thermals or real-world battery endurance for the OmniBook 5. Those questions require hands-on testing of retail configurations; the announced specifications alone cannot answer them.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

