Recommended Free Tools
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Start with the company’s latest audited results, but read the reporting basis before interpreting the headline: India Cements’ latest located results are standalone, audited figures for the year ended 31 March 2026. They report a ₹65.32 crore net profit, after the FY2024-25 annual report recorded a ₹667.56 crore loss after tax. That is a significant change in reported performance, not proof by itself of a lasting recovery or of the consolidated group’s financial position. A useful assessment also checks operating drivers, cash flow, debt, exceptional items, ownership and the risks identified by the company.
What do the latest results establish?
The starting point is the National Stock Exchange integrated filing for Q4 and the year ended 31 March 2026. It identifies the results as standalone and audited, approved by the board on 25 April 2026. The filing reports FY2025-26 revenue from operations of ₹4,484.69 crore, finance costs of ₹99.33 crore, profit before tax of ₹67.57 crore and net profit of ₹65.32 crore.
These figures answer whether the latest located standalone annual results were profitable: yes. They do not establish that profitability will persist, explain the full group’s performance, or show whether reported profit converted into cash. Keep those questions open until you examine the annual report, cash-flow statement and subsequent filings.
| Period and basis | Reported result | How to use it |
|---|---|---|
| FY2025-26, standalone audited; year ended 31 March 2026, NSE filing approved 25 April 2026 | Revenue from operations ₹4,484.69 crore; finance costs ₹99.33 crore; profit before tax ₹67.57 crore; net profit ₹65.32 crore | Latest located audited annual result; standalone, not a consolidated group measure. NSE filing |
| Q4 FY2025-26, standalone audited; quarter ended 31 March 2026 | Revenue from operations ₹1,228.65 crore; finance costs ₹23.37 crore; net profit ₹54.75 crore; exceptional items negative ₹20.49 crore | Quarterly figures are not annual figures; consider the exceptional item when assessing this quarter. NSE filing |
| FY2024-25, as stated in the company’s annual report | Loss after tax ₹667.56 crore; FY2023-24 comparison: loss after tax ₹202.52 crore | Historical annual-report figures. Do not assume they are directly comparable with the FY2025-26 standalone result without confirming the reporting basis in the statements. FY2024-25 annual report |
How should you compare profit across periods?
Keep annual and quarterly results in separate comparisons, and match standalone results with standalone results and consolidated results with consolidated results. A mismatch can make a change in group scope look like a change in business performance. In each filing, verify the period covered, units, audit status and whether the statement is standalone or consolidated before copying a number into your comparison.
#1 Best Overall
- Corporate Finance 13th Edition by Stephen A. Ross Franco Modigliani Professor of Financial Economics Professor (Author), Randolph W Westerfield Robert R. Dockson Deans Chair in Bus. Admin. (Author), Jeffrey Jaffe , Bradford D Jordan Professor
For a multi-year view, build a series from the financial statements rather than comparing one new result with one prior-year headline. Track revenue, operating profit or margin, profit after tax, finance costs and operating cash flow. Read the notes alongside the totals: exceptional income or expenses, asset disposals, provisions and other non-recurring items can materially affect reported profit. The FY2024-25 annual report discusses exceptional items including asset-disposal gains or losses, subsidiary-related items, interest-rate realignment and provisions; separate these from recurring operating results when the notes allow it.
Which cement operating drivers should you check?
Revenue and net profit alone do not explain why a cement company’s results changed. Read the management discussion and results notes for volume, utilization, realizations and the main operating costs; compare the same indicators across periods when they are disclosed. A change in profit may reflect selling prices or volumes, cost pressure, financing, exceptional items, or several factors at once.
Rank #2
- Volume and utilization: Check production and sales volumes and, where reported, capacity utilization. The FY2024-25 management discussion says production and sales volumes were lower year over year.
- Realizations and competition: Look for commentary on selling realizations and pricing conditions. The same discussion says realizations remained under pressure and identifies lower demand and competitive pressure as market risks.
- Energy, fuel and freight: Review power and fuel costs and freight costs in the statements or notes, then look for comparable per-tonne measures if the company discloses them. The FY2025-26 results identify power and fuel as material cost lines; the annual report discusses energy costs and cost initiatives. Do not infer cost per tonne if it is not reported.
- Levies and raw materials: The FY2024-25 discussion cites higher levies on mining and power. Also check disclosures on raw-material availability and mining regulation, because changes can affect supply and cost.
Company explanations are useful leads, not independent proof of causation. Test them against the next periods’ volumes, realizations, costs and cash generation rather than treating management’s account of one year as a forecast.
How do you assess debt, interest and liquidity?
Use the balance sheet and financial-risk notes to distinguish borrowings from net debt. Net debt generally reflects borrowings less cash and cash equivalents, but verify the company’s calculation and included balances in the relevant note. Also inspect the cash-flow statement, maturity schedule and interest expense: a debt reduction is more informative when considered alongside cash available, repayment dates and the cost of financing.
The FY2024-25 annual report’s financial-risk note gives a historical snapshot at 31 March 2025, not the FY2026 debt balance:
| As at | Borrowings, including current maturities | Cash and cash equivalents | Net debt | Net debt-to-equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | ₹1,159.11 crore | ₹73.28 crore | ₹1,085.84 crore | 0.11 |
| 31 March 2024 | not stated in the cited FY2024-25 financial-risk note | not stated in the cited FY2024-25 financial-risk note | ₹2,587.67 crore | 0.48 |
Both years’ net-debt and net-debt-to-equity values above are company-reported figures in the FY2024-25 annual report; the 2024 borrowings and cash values are not stated in the cited note. The report says India Cements pruned borrowings and refinanced high-cost debt after the change in control, reducing finance cost. Treat that as the company’s account, and verify the later-period balance sheet, cash flow and maturity disclosures before concluding how much debt remains or how readily it can be serviced.
Rank #4
The FY2025-26 NSE filing marks the disclosure for default on loans and debt securities as not applicable for the quarter ended 31 March 2026. That filing fact does not establish future repayment capacity, the absence of liquidity pressure, or the size and timing of upcoming maturities.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Why do ownership and control changes matter?
Control can affect financing, operating priorities and the interpretation of management’s expectations. The FY2024-25 annual report says UltraTech completed its acquisition of a 32.72% stake on 24 December 2024 and became promoter. After an open offer completed on 4 February 2025, UltraTech’s reported holding rose to 81.49%. These are historical disclosures; consult later exchange filings before stating current ownership or public-shareholding compliance.
The annual report attributes improved financing terms and expected operating and distribution synergies to the holding company. Treat those synergies as management’s outlook, not as achieved benefits: check later results for evidence in volume, realizations, operating costs and cash flow. The report also said public float was below the then-applicable minimum public shareholding requirement and would need to meet it within twelve months of the open offer; that statement does not establish the present compliance position.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What business and financial risks should you investigate?
The company’s FY2024-25 management discussion and financial-risk note identify areas to monitor. These are company-reported risks and mitigations, not an independent assessment of their likelihood or current severity.
- Demand, prices and competition: Lower demand, competitive pressure and lower realizations can weigh on volume and margins. The annual report says realizations were under pressure in FY2024-25.
- Energy and operating costs: Cement production uses substantial energy. Track fuel and power costs, freight and other operating expenses against realizations and volumes; a rise in revenue alone does not show that margins improved.
- Environmental rules and compliance: The annual report identifies changing emissions and sustainability requirements, including the potential for controls and penalties. It describes pollution-control equipment and monitoring as mitigations; these are company statements, not independent verification of compliance or future costs.
- Fuel and raw-material security: The company highlights access to affordable fuel and quality raw materials, mining regulation, alternate-fuel use and limestone reserves. Consider both availability and the cost of maintaining supply.
- Financial risks: The annual report’s note identifies market, liquidity and credit risk, and discusses borrowings, payables, receivables, investments and cash as relevant financial balances or instruments. It also notes derivative instruments for foreign-currency exposures. Read the note for the company’s actual exposures and policies rather than assuming that use of derivatives removes risk.
- One-off items: Gains, losses and provisions can distort a single period’s earnings. Identify the item, amount and accounting treatment in the notes before using adjusted or recurring-profit descriptions.
A practical sequence for researching the company
- Open the latest exchange filing. Start with the NSE Q4 and FY2025-26 integrated filing. Record the period, standalone basis, audit status, units and approval date before extracting results.
- Read the annual report statements and notes. Use the FY2024-25 annual report to inspect historical performance, cash flow, debt, maturities, exceptional items, ownership context and the company’s discussion of risks. Use later filings to update historical figures where available.
- Build like-for-like comparisons. Make separate annual and quarterly series, and separate standalone and consolidated series. Keep revenue, operating performance, finance costs, net profit and cash generation distinct rather than treating net profit as a substitute for cash flow.
- Test the explanation against operating evidence. Compare volume, utilization, realizations, power and fuel, freight and other disclosed cost indicators across periods. Mark which observations are reported figures and which are management explanations.
- Update debt and risk conclusions. Check the latest balance sheet, cash-flow statement, debt note and maturity profile; then revisit ownership, regulatory and business-risk disclosures in current filings. Do not carry a historical debt figure or compliance statement forward as if it were current.
Keep a simple evidence ledger with the figure or claim, period, reporting basis, source, and whether it is a reported result, management explanation or your own interpretation. That makes it much harder to mix a quarterly result with an annual one, mistake standalone performance for group performance, or turn an expectation into an established outcome.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsQuick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

