Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Choose an ultraportable by checking work compatibility first, then matching its performance, screen and keyboard to your routine. Compare battery life only when the test conditions are clear, and weigh the complete travel kit—not just the laptop. A light laptop is not automatically an all-day laptop, and battery capacity alone cannot tell you how long it will run.
1. Confirm that it can do your work
Start with the operating system and applications your work requires. Check any employer or school requirements, specialist software, external displays, storage devices and other peripherals you rely on. A machine that cannot run a required tool is a poor travel choice, however light or long-lasting it may be.
Next, consider the workload. Web apps, documents and video calls have different demands from sustained processing or graphics-heavy work. Choose a configuration for the tasks you actually perform, and check memory and storage on the exact model and regional configuration—not just the product-family name. Specifications can differ within a family, and you should verify upgradeability for the specific model before assuming memory or storage can be expanded later.
2. Choose a screen and keyboard for the places you work
Think about your usual work sessions: an aircraft tray, train seat, café table or hotel desk. A smaller screen can make a laptop easier to carry and use in tight spaces, while a larger display may be more comfortable for extended work. If you often connect to an external display, check that the laptop has the ports or compatible setup you need.
#1 Best Overall
- 【4GB RAM + 628GB Storage (128GB SSD + 500GB External)】Equipped with 4GB of high-bandwidth RAM for smooth multitasking across everyday applications and browser tabs. The built-in 128GB SSD delivers faster performance and improved power efficiency on the go. Expand your storage with a 500GB portable external drive.
- 【Quad-Core Intel Processor N150】Up to 3.6 GHz with Intel Turbo Boost Technology, 6 MB L3 Cache, 4 cores, 4 threads. Save time and increase productivity with powerful performance and smooth multitasking. Access fast web applications, edit photos and videos, and get the responsiveness you're looking for.
- 【14" HD Display】Enjoy an ultra-wide viewing experience with a virtually bezel-free 14" HD display, ideal for seamless multi-monitor setups. Featuring an HP True Vision 720p HD camera and integrated dual-array digital microphones, it’s ready for online classes, Google Classroom, remote learning, and Zoom meetings.
- 【Windows 11 Pro Operating System】Windows 11 Pro delivers a powerful, streamlined user experience that helps you stay focused and get more done – wherever your office might be. Safeguard data and access anywhere with hardware-based isolation, encryption, and malware protection built in. For Home, Student, Professionals, Small Business, School Education, and Commercial Enterprise.
- 【Authorized MarxsolAccessory with Office 2024】Bundle includes 6-in-1 USB-C Docking Station Hub (with USB 3.0, 4K-HDMI, USB-C Connection, SD/TF Card Reader), 500GB external drive, USB extension cord, HDMI cable, mouse pad, and wireless mouse. Free Lifetime Microsoft Office 2024 installed. For Home, Student, Professionals, Small Business, School Education, and Commercial Enterprise.
Consider keyboard comfort as well as screen size. If possible, try the keyboard and display before buying; if you cannot, examine the exact model’s layout and dimensions. Also verify the keyboard layout for your region and whether your typical work setup depends on a hub or adapter.
3. Read battery claims as test results, not promises
Battery runtime depends on workload and configuration. A manufacturer’s “up to” figure describes its test, not a guaranteed number of hours for your mix of calls, browsing, brightness and applications. For a useful comparison, look for independent tests that disclose the workload, screen brightness, network state and laptop configuration. Without comparable test conditions, a numerical ranking can mislead.
For example, Apple lists the 13-inch MacBook Air M4 (2025) at up to 18 hours of video streaming and up to 15 hours of wireless web. Apple says those figures come from tests conducted in January 2025 with pre-production systems configured with 16 GB of memory and a 256 GB SSD; the company notes that battery life varies by use and configuration.
Rank #2
- 【4GB RAM + 628GB Storage (128GB SSD + 500GB External)】Equipped with 4GB of high-bandwidth RAM for smooth multitasking across everyday applications and browser tabs. The built-in 128GB SSD delivers faster performance and improved power efficiency on the go. Expand your storage with a 500GB portable external drive.
- 【Quad-Core Intel Processor N150】Up to 3.6 GHz with Intel Turbo Boost Technology, 6 MB L3 Cache, 4 cores, 4 threads. Save time and increase productivity with powerful performance and smooth multitasking. Access fast web applications, edit photos and videos, and get the responsiveness you're looking for.
- 【14" HD Display】Enjoy an ultra-wide viewing experience with a virtually bezel-free 14" HD display, ideal for seamless multi-monitor setups. Featuring an HP True Vision 720p HD camera and integrated dual-array digital microphones, it’s ready for online classes, Google Classroom, remote learning, and Zoom meetings.
- 【Windows 11 Pro Operating System】Windows 11 Pro delivers a powerful, streamlined user experience that helps you stay focused and get more done – wherever your office might be. Safeguard data and access anywhere with hardware-based isolation, encryption, and malware protection built in. For Home, Student, Professionals, Small Business, School Education, and Commercial Enterprise.
- 【Authorized MarxsolAccessory with Office 2024】Bundle includes 6-in-1 USB-C Docking Station Hub (with USB 3.0, 4K-HDMI, USB-C Connection, SD/TF Card Reader), 500GB external drive, USB extension cord, HDMI cable, mouse pad, and wireless mouse. Free Lifetime Microsoft Office 2024 installed. For Home, Student, Professionals, Small Business, School Education, and Commercial Enterprise.
ASUS lists the Zenbook S 14 UX5406 with a 72 Wh or 77 Wh battery, depending on configuration, but the cited specifications do not provide a comparable runtime figure. Its product page describes the 77 Wh battery as “all-day,” which is a vendor description rather than an independently measured number. Wh is a capacity specification; it does not establish how long one laptop will last relative to another.
These are manufacturer claims, not a controlled comparison between the two laptops. Do not treat different vendors’ figures as if they came from the same test.
4. Compare the complete travel kit
Manufacturer-listed laptop weight is only one part of what you carry. Add the charger, cable, sleeve and any hub or adapter you need. Ask whether the laptop will be used mostly on the move or at a desk, and whether you need to connect presentation equipment, external storage or other peripherals. A hub is useful only if your actual devices or setup require connections the laptop lacks.
Rank #3
- 【16GB RAM + 1TB Storage ((512GB NVME SSD + 500GB Ext)】Reams of high-bandwidth 16GB DDR4 RAM to smoothly run your games and video-editing applications, as well as numerous programs and browser tabs all at once. Get up to 15x faster performance than a traditional hard drive with 512GB M.2 NVMe Solid State Drive storage. Enjoy additional portable storage with 500GB external drive.
- 【6-Core 13th Intel Core i3-1315U】Up to 4.5GHz Max Boost Clock, 10 MB L3 Cache, 6 cores, 8 threads. With the latest platform technologies for everyday applications, easy connectivity and performance optimization, the Intel Core i3-1315U processor enables productivity and play with 6 cores and 8 threads.
- 【14" FHD Display】Vivobook 14 delivers beautifully clear visuals with its three-sided slim-bezel NanoEdge display. The integrated privacy shield slides over the webcam for instant privacy. Online Class, Google Classroom, Remote Learning, Zoom Ready
- 【Windows 11 Pro】Windows 11 Pro delivers a powerful, streamlined user experience that helps you stay focused and get more done – wherever your office might be. Safeguard data and access anywhere with hardware-based isolation, encryption, and malware protection built in. For Home, Student, Professionals, Small Business, School Education, and Commercial Enterprise.
- 【Authorized MarxsolAccessory with Lifetime Office 2024】Bundle includes 6-in-1 USB-C Docking Station Hub (with USB 3.0, 4K-HDMI, USB C Connection, SD/TF Card Reader), HDMI cable, USB Cable, Mouse Pad, Wireless Mouse, and 500GB External Drive for your daily work and life. Free Microsoft Office Professional 2024 Plus with lifetime license (including Word, Excel, OneNote, Outlook, PowerPoint, Access).
As official examples, Apple lists the 13-inch MacBook Air M4 (2025) at 1.24 kg (2.7 lb), with a 13.6-inch display. ASUS lists the Zenbook S 14 UX5406 at 1.20 kg (2.65 lb); its product page describes it as 1.1 cm thin. Those figures describe the laptops, not comparable packed kits, and small differences in listed weight should not decide a purchase by themselves.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →5. Check ports, charging and what comes in the box
Match built-in ports to the devices you use. The MacBook Air M4 has two Thunderbolt 4 USB-C ports and MagSafe 3, according to Apple’s specifications. ASUS lists USB-C ports with Power Delivery for the Zenbook S 14 UX5406. Port names alone do not answer every compatibility question, so check the exact configuration for display support and the connections your peripherals require.
If you plan to carry a spare charger, confirm USB-C Power Delivery compatibility and the wattage and output profiles required by your exact laptop. ASUS lists 65 W or 68 W USB-C adapter options for the UX5406 and warns that charger inclusion can vary by country, region and model. Apple lists adapter configurations and fast-charge support on its specifications page. Check the package contents for the regional SKU you are buying; do not assume an adapter is included or that any USB-C charger will work.
Rank #4
- 15.6” NANOEDGE DISPLAY — Super slim bezel design with a smooth 60Hz refresh rate, vibrant 45% NTSC color gamut and 250-nit sustained brightness
- AMD Ryzen 5 7520U PROCESSOR — Designed for thin laptops, this processor gives you fast performance for browsing and light gaming with longer battery life with integrated AMD Radeon Graphics
- 8GB MEMORY + 512GB STORAGE — Faster memory that smoothly runs multiple applications at once with supersized storage for files, documents and more
- WI-FI 5 AND BLUETOOTH 5.1 — Seamlessly and quickly connect your devices
- SOUND BY SONICMASTER — Crisp, multi-dimensional sound with built-in speakers and an array microphone
6. Compare the exact configurations before buying
These manufacturer-published examples illustrate why a family name is not enough. The listed specifications may vary by configuration or region; verify the SKU and package details offered where you plan to buy.
| Specification | MacBook Air 13-inch M4 (2025) | ASUS Zenbook S 14 UX5406 |
|---|---|---|
| Listed laptop weight | 1.24 kg (2.7 lb) | 1.20 kg (2.65 lb) |
| Battery | 53.8 Wh | 72 Wh or 77 Wh, depending on configuration |
| Published runtime information | Up to 18 hours video streaming and up to 15 hours wireless web in Apple’s January 2025 tests of pre-production systems configured with 16 GB memory and 256 GB SSD | No comparable runtime figure stated in the cited ASUS specifications |
| Display | 13.6 inches | not stated in the cited specification listing |
| Memory and storage detail | 16 GB unified memory and 256 GB SSD base; configurable to 24 GB or 32 GB memory | not stated in the cited specification listing |
| Ports and charging notes | Two Thunderbolt 4 USB-C ports and MagSafe 3; adapter configurations and fast-charge support listed by Apple | USB-C with Power Delivery; 65 W or 68 W adapter options listed, with regional package contents varying |
Apple’s figures come from its MacBook Air specifications. ASUS’s battery, weight and adapter details come from its UX5406 specification listing; the “all-day” wording appears on the ASUS product page. The table is not a performance or battery-life ranking: different vendors’ claims are not a controlled head-to-head test.
Quick Recap
7. Use this final purchase checklist
- Confirm required applications, operating system and peripherals.
- Choose a screen size and keyboard suitable for your usual work sessions.
- Compare laptop weight plus charger, cable, sleeve and any required hub.
- Read battery results with their workload, configuration and test conditions attached; keep capacity separate from runtime.
- Check memory and storage on the exact SKU, and verify upgradeability from a model-specific source.
- Confirm ports, charging protocol and wattage, adapter inclusion, keyboard layout, warranty and regional configuration.
- Check current price and availability with the retailer or manufacturer before purchasing; they can change and are not established by the specifications above.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

