Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

There is no single update lifetime for every Xiaomi or OPPO phone. Xiaomi says its phones typically get at least two years of security updates from a model’s first shipment, with some receiving three years or longer; its general system-update cycle is around two to three years. OPPO commitments vary by model and series: older policies set different upgrade counts by tier, while selected newer flagships have longer promises. Check the exact model and sales region, and compare Android upgrades separately from security patches.

Why there is no single answer for either brand

A brand-wide answer can be a useful starting point, but it cannot tell you precisely when a particular phone will stop receiving support. Xiaomi’s published guidance gives general expectations and points to an end-of-support list. OPPO has announced different commitments for different product tiers and selected flagship models at different times. The model, its market, and the applicable policy all matter.

There are also two different things people mean by “updates.” A phone can stop receiving new Android versions while continuing to receive security patches, or it can reach the end of both kinds of support. A promise of several Android upgrades is not automatically a promise of the same number of years of security updates. Compare the two commitments separately before deciding how long a phone is likely to remain supported.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a rough orientation, Xiaomi’s official global guidance says security updates are typically maintained for at least two years after the model’s first shipment, and its general system-update cycle is around two to three years. OPPO’s 2021 policy announcement described tiered commitments for devices released from 2019 onward; later announcements extended support for selected flagships. These are not interchangeable, universal guarantees for every phone sold under either brand.

#1 Best Overall
XIAOMI Poco X8 PRO MAX 5G Ai (Compatible with Tmobile Mint Tello & Global) (512GB + 12GB) 6.83" 50MP Gamers Phone NFC Dual sim Unlocked Model 2602BPC18G Liberado (Black)
  • USA MARKET ONLY WORK ON TMOBILE BOOST MINT TELLO OR ANY UNDER TMOBILE NETWORK PHONE NEEDS A SIM CARD ALREADY ACTIVATED ,OUTSIDE USA WORKS ANY GSM CARRIER SIM GSM FCC ID: 2AFZZPC0AG
  • Dual SIM (nano SIM + nano SIM or nano SIM + eSIM) (NO MICRO SD) 5G: 5G SA: n1/2/3/5/7/8/20/26/28/38/40/41/66*(70M)//77/78/485G NSA: n1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66*(70M)/77/784G LTE TDD: B38/40/41/42/484G LTE FDD: B1/2/3/4/5/7/8/18/19/20/26/28/66*(70M)/713G WCDMA: 1/2/4/5/6/8/192G GSM: 2/3/5/8Supports 4x4 MIMO*5G SA/NSA N66(70M) and 4G B66(70M): UL 1710MHz~1780MHz, DL 2110MHz~2180MHz*5G connectivity may vary based on region availability and local operator support.
  • 6.83" 1.5K 120Hz ultra-bright AMOLED displayResolution: 2772 x 1280Contrast ratio: 8,000,000:1Refresh rate: Up to 120Hz*Refresh rate can be adjusted to up to 120Hz for supported apps.Peak brightness: 3500 nits covering 25% display areaHBM brightness: 2000 nitsTypical brightness: 800 n: 2560Hz*480Hz touch sampling rate is activated under Game Turbo Mode.*2560Hz instant touch sampling rate is activated under Game Turbo Mode.12-bit color depth, 68 billion colorsDCI-P3 wide display 2.0HDR10+TÜV Rheinland Low Blue Light (Hardware Solution) CertifiedTÜV Rheinland Flicker Free CertifiedTÜV Rheinland Circadian Friendly CertifiedDolby VisionCorning Gorilla Glass 7i
  • MediaTek Dimensity 9500s3nm manufacturing process1 x Cortex-X925, up to 3.73GHz3 x Cortex-X4, up to 3.3GHz4 x Cortex-A720, up to 2.4GHzImmortalis-G925 MC11NPU 890 - 8500mAh (typ)100W HyperChargeUSB Type-C charging portUp to 27W reverse chargingSupports PD3.0/PD2.0Smart charging
  • Wi-Fi Protocol: Wi-Fi 7/ Wi-Fi 6/ Wi-Fi 5/ Wi-Fi 4 and 802.11a/b/g*Wi-Fi 7/Wi-Fi 6 capability may vary based on regional availability and local network support. Wi-Fi connectivity (including Wi-Fi frequency bands, Wi-Fi standards and other features as ratified in IEEE Standard 802.11 specifications) may vary based on regional availability and local network support. The function may be added via OTA when and where applicable.WLAN frequency: 2.4G Wi-Fi | 5G Wi-FiSupports Multi-Link Operation, 2x2 MIMO, 8x8 Sounding for MU-MIMO, Wi-Fi Direct, MiracastBluetooth 6.0, Dual-BluetoothSupports SBC / AAC / LDAC / LHDC 5.0 / LC3 / ASHA / AuracastNFC

Android-version upgrades and security patches are different

Major Android upgrades

A major Android upgrade moves a phone to a newer Android release. Manufacturers may deliver it with their own interface and features, so the update can carry a manufacturer interface version as well as an Android version. The useful question is how many major Android releases the exact model is promised, not simply how long the maker says it will be “updated.”

Security patches

Security patches address vulnerabilities and are separate from major operating-system upgrades. A commitment such as “five years of security patches” does not, by itself, say how many Android-version upgrades the phone will receive. Likewise, an Android-upgrade count does not establish how long patches will continue afterward. OPPO’s policy announcements state these measures separately, which is why they should be recorded separately when comparing phones. OPPO’s ColorOS 12 policy announcement is one example of that distinction.

The distinction matters in practice: a phone may still be usable after its last major Android upgrade, but security support is a separate consideration when deciding whether to keep relying on it. Do not infer a patch end date from the last Android version, or infer an Android-upgrade count from the number of patch years.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Xiaomi: the general support guidance

Security support: typically at least two years

Xiaomi’s global support FAQ says the company typically maintains security updates for at least two years after the first shipment of a device model. It also says some models may receive three years or longer. The clock described in that guidance starts with first shipment, not necessarily the date a particular customer buys the phone. Consequently, a handset bought well after launch may have less time remaining than the general figure suggests.

This is a typical baseline, not a guarantee that every model receives the same duration or patch schedule. Xiaomi maintains an end-of-support list, so check the phone’s exact model there as well as its support information. The policy and list are available through Xiaomi’s security-update FAQ.

System updates: around two to three years, not a universal Android count

Xiaomi’s separate system-update FAQ describes the update cycle for its smartphones as generally around two to three years. It does not give one universal number of Android-version upgrades for all Xiaomi models. It also says that once a system version reaches optimal stability, no further system updates are planned for that version. This guidance is about the general update cycle; it should not be converted into a model-specific Android-upgrade promise.

Rank #2
XIAOMI Redmi Note 15 Pro 5G Ai (Compatible with Tmobile Mint Tello & Global) (256GB + 8GB) NFC 6.83" 120Hz 200MP Pro AI Camera Model 25080RABDG Unlocked Dual Sim Liberado (Black)
  • USA MARKET ONLY WORK ON TMOBILE MINT TELLO OR ANY UNDER TMOBILE NETWORK PHONE NEEDS A SIM CARD ALREADY ACTIVATED ,OUTSIDE USA WORKS ANY GSM CARRIER SIM GSM FCC ID: 2AFZZRA29G
  • Dual SIM (nano SIM + nano SIM or nano SIM + eSIM) NO MICRO SD SLOT. 5G: n1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/26/28/38/40/41/48/66/77/78 - 4G: LTE FDD: 1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B13/B17/B18/B19/B20/B26/B28/B32/B66 4G: LTE TDD: B38/B40/B41/B42/B48 - 3G: WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B6/B8/B19 - 2G: GSM: B2/B3/B5/B8
  • 6.83" AMOLED displayResolution: 1.5K (2772 x 1280)Refresh rate: Up to 120HzTouch sampling rate: Up to 480HzInstantaneous touch sampling rate: 2560Hz*Activated in Game Turbo modeBrightness: 3200 nits peak brightnessBrightness: HBM 1800 nitsColor depth: 12bitContrast ratio: 8000000:1DCI- P3 wide color gamut447PPICorning Gorilla Glass Victus 2Sunlight displayHDR10+ | Dolby Vision16,000-step automatic brightness adjustment3840Hz PWM dimming|TÜV Rheinland Low Blue Light (Hardware Solution) Certified | TÜV Rheinland Circadian Friendly Certified | TÜV Rheinland Flicker Free Certified
  • MediaTek Dimensity 7400-Ultra4nm manufacturing process technologyCPU: Octa-core processor, up to 2.6GHzGPU: Mali-G615
  • 200MP main cameraOptical Image Stabilization (OIS)0.56μm, 16in1, 2.24μmf/1.77P lens1/1.4" sensor size8MP ultra-wide cameraf/2.2Rear camera video recording4K at 30 fps1080p at 30/60 fps720p at 30 fps / Front Camera 20MP front camera1/4" sensor sizef/2.24P lensFront camera video recording1080p at 30/60 fps720p at 30 fps

For enterprise devices, Xiaomi also has an Android Enterprise Recommended listing. That listing contains device- and program-specific information, including patch timeliness, duration, and a major Android update for enrolled devices. Those details apply to the listed devices and program context; they should not be treated as a blanket policy for every Xiaomi phone. See the Xiaomi Android Enterprise Recommended listing if that is relevant to the device being evaluated.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

OPPO: commitments differ by series and announcement

The series-based policy announced in 2021

OPPO’s 2021 global ColorOS 12 announcement described a policy for OPPO devices released from 2019 onward. The commitments depended on the series and, for A models, the device’s memory tier. The table summarizes what that announcement stated; it is a historical, series-level policy statement, not a current model-by-model lookup for every country.

OPPO category in the 2021 announcement Major Android updates stated Security patches stated
Find X 3 major Android updates 4 years of regular security patches
Reno, F and K series 2 major Android updates 3 years
Some A-series models 2 major Android updates 3 years for the specified Reno/F/K/A lines
Low-memory A-series models 1 major Android update 3 years for the specified Reno/F/K/A lines

The categories and patch periods above follow OPPO’s 2021 ColorOS 12 announcement. The announcement does not turn every phone in a named series into an identical case: check the model’s own support information, particularly if it was released in a different market or under a later policy.

Selected global flagships announced from 2023

In 2022, OPPO announced that selected flagship models starting in 2023 would receive four major Android upgrades and five years of security patches. The qualification “selected” is important: the longer commitment does not apply to every OPPO phone or automatically to every device that might be called a flagship. Verify that the exact model and market are covered. The commitment is described in OPPO’s announcement about its longer update policy.

Find X8 Series: six years of security updates

OPPO’s 2024 global Find X8 Series launch announcement states six years of security updates for that series. In the cited commitment, OPPO does not state an Android-version upgrade count alongside those six years. Do not assume that the patch duration supplies the missing upgrade count; check the exact model’s other support information. The statement appears in OPPO’s Find X8 and Find X8 Pro global launch announcement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Compare a specific phone without mixing up the promises

When weighing two models, make a small support record for each rather than comparing a single “years of updates” figure. Use the same market and the same definition of support on both sides. If the manufacturer does not state a value for a particular model, mark it as unconfirmed rather than filling it in from a series average.

Rank #3
XIAOMI 17T PRO Ai 5G (Compatible with Tmobile Mint Tello & Global) (512GB + 12GB) NFC Global ROM Unlocked 50MP Triple Pro Leica Cam eSIM 6.83" 144Mhz Model 2602EPTC0G Liberado (Black)
  • International Model - No Warranty in US. USA ONLY COMPATIBLE WITH TMOBILE / MINT, TELLO GLOBAL VERSION . ****** Does NOT Work With Verizon Sprint Boost Metro Pcs At&t Cricket ***** . Unlocked Worldwide . - FCC ID: 2AFZZPNFAG
  • Dual Nano sim 5G + eSIM (No micro SD support): 5G: Supports NSA + SA5G: 5G SA: 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/25/26/28/38/40/41/48/66/75/77/78 5G NSA: n1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66/75/77/78: 4G: LTE FDD: B1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/17/18/19/20/25/26/28/32/66/71 4G: LTE TDD: B38/39/40/41/42/48: 3G: UMTS: B1/2/4/5/6/8/192G: GSM: B2/3/5/8 Supports 4x4 MIMO
  • Leica Summilux optical lensVARIO-SUMMILUX 1:1.67-3.0/15-115 ASPH.Leica 23mm main camera50MPLight Fusion 9502.4μm 4-in-1 Super Pixelf/1.67OIS23mm equivalent focal lengthLeica 115mm periscope telephoto50MPf/3.0OIS115mm equivalent focal lengthLeica 15mm ultra-wide camera12MPf/2.215mm equivalent focal length120º FOV Rear camera video recording8K (7680 x 4320) video recording at 30fps4K video recording at 120fps p (190+ (1280 x 720) video recording at 30fpsLog video recording up to 4K at 30fps, 60fpsSlow-motion video recording:- 720p at 120fps, 240fps, 480fps, 960fps, 1920fpootSteady
  • 6.83" 144Hz eye-care AMOLED displayCorning Gorilla Glass 7iResolution: 1.5K, 2772 x 1280, 447 PPIRefresh rate: Up to 144Hz refresh rate*Touch sampling rate: Up to 480Hz, 3500Hz instantaneous*Color gamut: 100% DCI-P3Color depth: 12bit, 68 billion colorsBrightness: 600 (typ), 2000 (HBM)Peak brightness: 3500nits (UHBM) @APL25 dimmingOriginal color PRO | Pro HDR | Wet Touch Technology 2.0 | Xiaomi Vision Care*HDR10+, Dolby VisionTÜV Rheinland Low Blue Light (Hardware Solution) CertifiedTÜV Rheinland Flicker Free CertifiedTÜV Rheinland Circadian Friendly CertifiedTÜV Rheinland Intelligent Eye Care Certified
  • MediaTek Dimensity 95003nm processCPU:1 x C1-Ultra, up to 4.21GHz3 x C1-Premium, up to 3.5GHz4 x C1-Pro, up to 2.7GHzGPU: Mali G1-UltraAI: NPU 990
  • Major Android upgrades: Record the promised count, if one is stated for that exact model.
  • Security patches: Record the stated duration and whether the commitment is model-specific or applies only to selected devices.
  • Support clock: Note when the period begins if the manufacturer specifies it. Xiaomi’s general policy refers to first shipment.
  • Model and region: Match the full model name and sales market. Similar names or series membership alone do not establish identical support.
  • Current status: Check whether the model appears on an end-of-support list or in model-specific support information.
  • Evidence date: Note when the policy was announced or checked. A later, specific commitment may differ from an older series-level announcement.

This method prevents two common comparison errors. The first is treating the Android-upgrade count and patch duration as if they measured the same thing. The second is applying a flagship promise, an enterprise listing, or an older series policy to a different phone without confirming that it qualifies.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to check whether your Xiaomi phone has an update available

  1. Open Settings on the phone.
  2. Tap About phone.
  3. Tap Xiaomi HyperOS.
  4. Tap Check for updates and follow the on-screen prompt if an update is offered.

This is Xiaomi’s published check path in its system-update troubleshooting FAQ. Seeing no update at that moment does not by itself prove the phone has reached end of support: an update may not currently be available to that device, or rollout and availability can depend on the model and market. For troubleshooting update availability, Xiaomi also advises checking that the phone was purchased through the official local channel.

Checking for an available update answers a different question from checking the phone’s promised support lifetime. To establish whether support is still expected, identify the exact model and consult its support information and Xiaomi’s end-of-support context. Xiaomi’s system-update FAQ also explains that no further system updates are planned once a system version has reached optimal stability; that statement is not a universal Android-version count for every phone.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to verify an OPPO phone’s commitment

The cited global OPPO announcements set out policy tiers and selected examples; they do not provide a complete current support table for every model in every market. Start with the exact model name and the country or region where it was sold. Then find the model’s own regional support information and record the Android-upgrade count separately from its security-patch period.

If the phone belongs to a series named in an older policy, use that announcement as context, not as proof that every model received the same offer. If it may qualify for an extended flagship policy, verify that the model was among the selected devices. For Find X8 Series, the global launch announcement establishes six years of security updates, but the cited statement does not establish the Android-upgrade count. Where a model-specific count or end date is not stated in the information available to you, treat it as unconfirmed rather than deriving it from the patch period.

What the published figures can—and cannot—tell you

The official statements establish useful expectations, but they do not establish one Android-upgrade count for all Xiaomi phones, one support duration for every OPPO phone, or an exact current end date for every model and country. They also do not mean that every eligible update reaches all users on the same date. A policy duration describes the stated support commitment; it is not a schedule for when a particular update arrives on an individual handset.

For a purchase decision, the safest conclusion is model-specific. Use the brand-level guidance to know what questions to ask, then verify the particular model’s upgrade count, patch period, support-clock start, market, and current status. If one of those details is absent, the absence is meaningful: it is not safe to substitute a number from another model, series, program, or announcement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.