Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Neither history magazines nor history websites pay more as a category. The fee depends on the publication, assignment and contract: the American Historical Association’s Perspectives on History lists $100 honoraria for several article types; History News Network pays $375 for accepted pitches; and Historic UK says its featured guest articles are unpaid. Those are different payment arrangements—not comparable per-word rates.

Do history magazines or websites pay more?

There is no reliable blanket answer. A publication’s format does not determine whether it pays: a website can compensate writers, while another online history publication may not. A magazine may publish online and in print under different terms. The examples below show why writers should compare the actual assignment and contract rather than “magazine” against “website.”

What these history markets disclose

Market Format and work Disclosed compensation Important conditions
Perspectives on History / American Historical Association The AHA calls this its newsmagazine. Accepted articles appear online, with selected work also in print. $100 honoraria are listed for Features (1,600 words), Viewpoints (1,600), Perspectives on Culture (1,750), Career Paths (1,750), Everything Has a History (650, image required), and On Contract (800). The guidelines separately state that print-published articles receive $100, excluding In Memoriam essays and letters. The terms do not establish that payments are additive. AHA submission guidelines. Work must be original and not submitted elsewhere. The editorial board reviews submissions; writers verify facts and secure image rights. The AHA uses Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, and typically asks writers to return edits within 24–48 hours. An honorarium is not a per-word rate or a guarantee of acceptance.
History News Network (HNN) Since December 2023, its editorial model centers on a weekly email newsletter. It seeks accessible essays connecting past and present, explaining historical methods or historiography, or reconsidering influential works. $375 for accepted pitches. The guidelines describe compensation per accepted pitch, not a per-word rate. HNN submission guidelines. HNN accepts pitches and completed work but strongly prefers pitches. It generally expects 1,000–1,500 words and asks for an argument, reader relevance, author fit and links to nonacademic writing. It says it aims to respond within 2–3 weeks. The guidelines do not specify payment timing or assignment volume.
Historic UK History Magazine Website guest articles on British history, including destinations and local history. Unpaid: Historic UK says it does not pay for featured articles. Contributor guidance. Articles should be 800–1,200 words and include 2–4 illustrations, maps or photos with publication permissions. Work must be unique to Historic UK. Contributors may include a 50-word bio and relevant link; the site says it aims to reply within 10 days. Exposure or promotion is not cash compensation or a guaranteed result.
Alabama Heritage A quarterly nonprofit history magazine for general readers, published by the University of Alabama and Alabama Department of Archives and History, according to Worldwide Freelance. Topics include local, state and regional history and related arts and culture. Worldwide Freelance lists it as a paying market but does not state a current exact fee in the inspected record. Worldwide Freelance market listing. The listing was last modified June 1, 2025, and warns that its broad rate categories are approximate and usually indicate a publication’s upper end. Verify current terms with the publisher before pitching.
Obscure Histories A publication emphasizing histories of marginalized peoples internationally. Its guidelines say authors are compensated at market freelance rates by word count, or can receive an in-kind donation receipt; no numeric rate is stated. Submission guidelines. The page says submissions are currently paused, so this is not an active pitching lead. Do not treat standing compensation language as an open assignment.

How to compare an offer with another market

Identify the payment unit

A flat honorarium, payment for an accepted pitch, per-word fee and unpaid publication are different things. The AHA and HNN examples do not provide a comparable per-word price. Before accepting an assignment, ask what triggers payment, when it is paid, and whether revisions, reporting and image work are included.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Estimate the work behind the fee

Count the hours needed for research, archival work, interviews, drafting, revisions and image permissions. Divide the stated fee by your realistic total hours to estimate gross hourly earnings. The published terms above do not provide enough information to calculate an apples-to-apples effective hourly rate.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Read the rights and exclusivity terms

The AHA requires original work not submitted elsewhere and says accepted pieces become AHA property under its copyright policy. Historic UK requires unique work. Before committing, check the current agreement for reuse, syndication and licensing rights, not just whether the piece appears online or in print.

Value noncash benefits separately

A byline, portfolio clip, audience exposure or relevant bio link may be valuable to a particular writer, but none is guaranteed cash. Historic UK explicitly offers promotional opportunities while stating that it does not pay for featured articles. Decide whether those benefits justify the time without counting them as a fee.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Where to find more history-writing leads

Directories can help identify potential markets, but a listing is not a current contract offer. Worldwide Freelance’s Alabama Heritage record does not disclose an exact fee and carries an explicit warning that rate categories are approximate. The National Union of Journalists’ Rate for the Job database contains rates reported by members and others, not a controlled survey; check the year attached to each entry before using it to set a budget.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The examples here are named markets, not a representative survey of the industry. The outlet guidelines are the strongest evidence for their own terms, but compensation and submission status can change. Confirm current guidelines and the specific offer before budgeting.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Rank #3
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.