Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

GV (Google Ventures) led a $16 million Series A investment in dope.security, announced March 22, 2023. Existing investors Boldstart Ventures and Preface also participated. The round brought the company’s reported total funding to $20 million.

Who led dope.security’s $16 million funding round?

GV led the Series A, with Boldstart Ventures and Preface participating as existing investors. GV described the investment as support for bringing secure web gateway (SWG) security up to date for cloud-based work and remote or hybrid users. The announcement is available from GV; TechCrunch and SecurityWeek also reported the round and participants.

What is dope.security’s Fly-Direct secure web gateway?

Dope.security’s Fly-Direct Secure Web Gateway, branded dope.SWG, applies web-security controls directly on an organization’s endpoints, such as employees’ devices. A traditional SWG commonly sends traffic through a cloud or data-center gateway for inspection. Fly-Direct is designed to remove that intermediary stopover.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The described controls include anti-malware, cloud-application controls, URL categorization, user-based policies and endpoint SSL inspection. The company says decrypted data stays on the device and that avoiding an external gateway can improve reliability by removing an intermediary dependency. Its deployment claims should be distinguished from independent validation: the cited coverage does not provide third-party benchmark testing.

#1 Best Overall

How does an endpoint-based SWG differ from a cloud gateway?

Consideration Endpoint-based approach Cloud or data-center gateway
Where inspection runs On organizational endpoints, according to dope.security’s product description. At an intermediary cloud or data-center gateway.
Decrypted traffic Dope.security says decrypted data remains on the device; this is a company claim. Traffic is routed to the gateway for inspection; the cited materials do not specify how a particular provider handles decrypted data.
Performance and reliability Dope.security claims performance improvement of up to 4X and improved reliability by removing an external dependency. No independent benchmark is provided in the cited coverage. The cited materials do not provide comparable latency or reliability measurements.
Controls and policy Described features include anti-malware, cloud-application controls, URL categorization and user-based policies. Coverage depends on the specific gateway; the cited sources do not establish a like-for-like feature comparison.
Deployment and cost Independent deployment-effort and pricing comparisons are not stated in the cited sources. Independent deployment-effort and pricing comparisons are not stated in the cited sources.

These are architectural differences, not proof that one model is universally faster, safer or cheaper. An organization assessing an SWG should also check identity integrations, policy coverage, deployment effort, privacy handling, performance evidence and total cost for its own environment. The cited materials mention Office 365 and Google SSO compatibility for dope.security, but do not provide independent pricing or a benchmark comparison.

How much has dope.security raised in total?

After the Series A, TechCrunch and SecurityWeek reported dope.security’s total funding at $20 million. That is the reported total following the March 2023 round, not a claim about subsequent fundraising.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What was the investment intended to fund?

The investment was intended to accelerate adoption, hiring, business development and product expansion. TechCrunch reported that planned product work included a Dope API and an additional zero-trust layer. The sources describe company plans at the time of the 2023 announcement; they do not establish the later availability or completion of those features.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.