What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Google said on October 15, 2026, that more than 400 publications worldwide now participate in its News AI pilot program. The commercial licensing partnership pays participating publishers for the delivery and use of enhanced content while Google tests article overviews and customizable audio briefings inside Google News.

What Google’s News AI pilot is

The News AI pilot is a publisher licensing arrangement, not a new phone, subscription or standalone consumer app. Google says it pays participating news organizations for rights to deliver and use enhanced content in the development of new AI features.

The reader-facing experiments are designed to work on participating publishers’ pages in Google News. They include in-depth article overviews and customizable audio briefings. Google says both experiences provide clear attribution and direct links to the original publisher articles, so readers can identify and visit the source.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How the program grew

Date Milestone
December 10, 2025 Google introduced the pilot as a global commercial partnership and named an initial group that included Der Spiegel, El País, Folha de S.Paulo, Infobae, Kompas, The Guardian, The Times of India, The Washington Examiner and The Washington Post.
June 18, 2026 A Google Public Policy update said more than 200 publications worldwide were participating and described payments for enhanced-content rights and specialized delivery methods.
October 15, 2026 Google announced that participation had exceeded 400 publications worldwide.

The increase from more than 200 participants in June to more than 400 in October indicates a rapid expansion during 2026, although Google has not published a complete, continuously updated roster.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
UJS Rocco OBD2 Scanner Bluetooth for iPhone & Android, No Subscription(Red)
  • AI-Powered Car Health Reports in Minutes: Get beyond confusing codes. Our Rocco OBD2 scanner connects to your phone and uses AI intelligence to analyze live data and freeze frame information, generating easy-to-understand health reports and actionable repair advice—no mechanic knowledge needed
  • Truly Wireless & Ultra-Compact Design: Weighing only 0.98 ounces, this mini scanner plugs seamlessly into your OBD2 port and stays there. No cables, no batteries, no clutter. Leave it in your car for 24/7 monitoring and connect via Bluetooth 5.4 whenever you need a diagnosis
  • Visualize Your Car's Performance in Real-Time: See your engine's heartbeat with stunning real-time data graphs and charts on your phone screen. Monitor RPM, coolant temperature, and oxygen sensor voltage visually to pinpoint intermittent issues that simple code readers miss
  • One-Tap Full Vehicle Scan & Code Clearance: Stop the guesswork. The app's "Full Vehicle Scan" feature quickly checks all systems and gives a simple Pass/Fail result. Read and clear check engine lights instantly after repairs, turning off the warning lamp and getting you back on the road
  • Universal Compatibility with Free Lifetime App Updates: Works with all OBD2 protocol vehicles from 1996 and newer (cars, trucks, SUVs). The free app supports iOS & Android and receives lifetime updates with new features and expanded fault code libraries (65,000+ codes), ensuring it never becomes obsolete

Which publishers are participating?

Google’s October announcement highlighted a mix of major international outlets and local or regional U.S. publishers. Newly named participants included Axios, CNN, The Financial Times, Forbes, Post and Courier, The Texas Tribune, Oil City News and Shaw Media. These names supplement the publishers identified at the December 2025 launch rather than representing an exhaustive list.

The range matters because the pilot is not limited to national newspapers. Its publicly named participants span international organizations, large U.S. outlets and smaller regional publishers, suggesting that Google is testing delivery formats across different newsroom sizes and audiences.

What readers may see in Google News

In-depth article overviews

On participating publishers’ Google News pages, Google is experimenting with expanded AI-generated overviews intended to help readers understand an article’s main points. Attribution and a link to the publisher’s article are part of Google’s stated design, allowing readers to move from the overview to the source.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Sale
UJS Rocco Pro OBD2 Scanner Bluetooth, ABS/SRS/Transmission, No Subscription
  • Full System Diagnostics & No Subscription Fees: Rocco Pro saves you both expensive repair bills and unnecessary subscription costs. We come with a 100% free APP and full-system diagnostics that support 10 standard OBD protocols, covering deep systems including Engine (ECM), ABS, Airbag (SRS), and Transmission (TCM). Backed by IATF16949, the highest quality standard in the automotive parts industry, we provide reliable, dealership-level diagnostic capabilities without the hefty price tag or hidden fees
  • AI-Powered Repair & Smart Assistant: Stop guessing what your check engine light means. Our cutting-edge AI diagnostic feature goes beyond reading and clearing DTC codes by providing customized repair guidance. Engage with the interactive AI Q&A to analyze faults, understand severity levels, and generate detailed, shareable diagnostic reports. Like having a master mechanic right in your pocket
  • Ultimate Used Car Inspector & Live Data: Buying a used vehicle? Protect your investment with our specialized hidden fault detection to uncover masked issues before purchasing. Rocco Pro features one-touch AutoVIN for quick vehicle identification, battery voltage testing, and live data graphing. The companion app securely stores up to 8 vehicle profiles locally, perfect for multi-car households
  • Advanced Protocols: The Rocco Pro scan tool supports 1996 and newer OBDII/EOBD compliant cars in the US. Effortlessly perform routine maintenance with more than 20 OBD2 modes, including I/M readiness for smog checks, EVAP system tests (Mode 8), and O2 sensor monitoring
  • Free Lifetime Updates & Customer Care: Your one time purchase includes our continued updates and services for a lifetime! We will continue to support newer models as time goes on. Have a problem? Our responsive customer service team is always ready to assist! Select now and get the valuable lifetime warranty, protecting your investment for years to come

Customizable audio briefings

The pilot also includes audio briefings that readers can customize. Google has not publicly specified a universal list of controls, supported languages or availability dates for every publication, so the experience may differ by outlet, market and test stage.

Does Google pay news publishers?

Yes. Google describes the pilot as a paid licensing program: participating publications are compensated for the delivery and use of enhanced content. The announcements do not provide a single compensation rate, a standard contract term or a public schedule of payments. Amounts and rights therefore may be negotiated publisher by publisher.

This arrangement is distinct from Google’s broader statement that it has partnered with more than 3,000 publications, platforms and content providers in over 50 countries in recent years. That larger figure covers multiple partnership activities and should not be treated as the size of the News AI pilot.

Rank #3
Sale
UJS Rocco OBD2 Scanner Bluetooth for iOS & Android, No Subscription(Black)
  • AI-Powered Car Health Reports in Minutes: Get beyond confusing codes. Our Rocco OBD2 scanner connects to your phone and uses AI intelligence to analyze live data and freeze frame information, generating easy-to-understand health reports and actionable repair advice—no mechanic knowledge needed
  • Truly Wireless & Ultra-Compact Design: Weighing only 0.98 ounces, this mini scanner plugs seamlessly into your OBD2 port and stays there. No cables, no batteries, no clutter. Leave it in your car for 24/7 monitoring and connect via Bluetooth 5.4 whenever you need a diagnosis
  • Visualize Your Car's Performance in Real-Time: See your engine's heartbeat with stunning real-time data graphs and charts on your phone screen. Monitor RPM, coolant temperature, and oxygen sensor voltage visually to pinpoint intermittent issues that simple code readers miss
  • One-Tap Full Vehicle Scan & Code Clearance: Stop the guesswork. The app's "Full Vehicle Scan" feature quickly checks all systems and gives a simple Pass/Fail result. Read and clear check engine lights instantly after repairs, turning off the warning lamp and getting you back on the road
  • Universal Compatibility with Free Lifetime App Updates: Works with all OBD2 protocol vehicles from 1996 and newer (cars, trucks, SUVs). The free app supports iOS & Android and receives lifetime updates with new features and expanded fault code libraries (65,000+ codes), ensuring it never becomes obsolete

Can a publication apply?

Google’s cited announcements do not describe a universal self-serve application form, fixed eligibility checklist or guaranteed route into the pilot. Participation appears to be based on direct commercial partnerships. A publisher considering the program should seek current terms from Google or its relevant news-partnership contact rather than assume that listing in another Google publisher initiative creates eligibility.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • No standardized compensation schedule has been published.
  • No complete public participant directory has been provided.
  • No universal technical specification for enhanced content delivery has been announced.
  • Participation does not establish that every pilot feature is available in every country, language or Google News surface.

What the 400-publication milestone means

The milestone measures publisher participation, not the number of readers, articles processed or countries where every feature is available. It shows that Google has expanded the pilot substantially since its late-2025 launch and is working with a broader mix of news organizations.

For readers, the practical effect is that AI summaries and audio formats may appear alongside links to more participating news sources. For publishers, the program offers a potential licensing relationship and a way to test new distribution formats, but the public announcements do not establish revenue levels, traffic outcomes or editorial performance.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What remains unknown

Google has not stated when the pilot will end, whether all participating publishers receive identical features, how overview accuracy is evaluated, or whether the program will become a permanent Google News product. It also has not published universal enrollment terms or a complete list of participating organizations. Those details may vary as the pilot develops.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Google’s News AI pilot a consumer subscription?

No. Google describes it as a commercial licensing partnership with news publishers. The reader-facing elements are experimental Google News features such as article overviews and audio briefings.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Are all 400-plus publications available in every country?

Not necessarily. Google’s announcement gives a worldwide participation total but does not say that every publisher or feature is available in every market, language or Google News surface.

Where can a publisher find the pilot’s payment rates?

Google has not published a universal rate card. Compensation and licensing terms may be handled through individual commercial partnerships.

The Bottom Line

Google’s News AI pilot passed 400 participating publications on October 15, 2026. It is a paid licensing program for enhanced content used in experimental Google News overviews and audio briefings, with attribution and links intended to send readers to publishers’ original articles. The participation count is public; standardized pay, eligibility rules and a complete partner list are not.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.