iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
For most people buying new, choose the Fairphone (Gen. 6+): it has newer core hardware, 12GB of RAM, and is currently listed by Fairphone. Choose the Fairphone 5 if you find one at a meaningful local discount and prefer its larger screen. Fairphone stopped selling the 5 and ended production on 12 January 2026, so remaining availability depends on individual retailers.
“Fairphone 6+” refers here to Fairphone’s official name, The Fairphone (Gen. 6+), an upgraded configuration of the 2025 Fairphone (Gen. 6) launched on 18 August 2026. This comparison is between that model and Fairphone 5—not between the Gen. 6+ and the original Gen. 6 alone.
Fairphone (Gen. 6+) vs. Fairphone 5: key differences
The clearest differences are the newer named processor and higher listed memory in the Gen. 6+, versus the Fairphone 5’s slightly larger display. Their camera specifications differ, but specifications alone cannot establish which takes better photos. The comparison below uses Fairphone’s published specifications and support information; it is not an independent performance or camera test.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware match| Decision point | Fairphone (Gen. 6+) | Fairphone 5 | What it means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Processor | Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4, according to Fairphone’s Gen. 6+ comparison page | Qualcomm QCM6490, according to Fairphone’s Fairphone 5 FAQ | The Gen. 6+ uses a newer named platform; no benchmark comparison is established here. |
| Memory and storage | 12GB RAM and 256GB listed storage, expandable by microSD up to 2TB, per Fairphone’s specifications | Exact RAM and storage configurations are not stated in the cited Fairphone 5 FAQ; check the specific retail or used-device SKU. | The Gen. 6+ has a clear listed memory advantage, but compare the exact Fairphone 5 configuration being offered. |
| Display | 6.31-inch LTPO AMOLED with adaptive 10–120Hz refresh rate, per Fairphone’s specifications | 6.46-inch OLED, per Fairphone’s FAQ | The Fairphone 5 is larger by diagonal; the Gen. 6+ specifies adaptive high refresh. |
| Rear and front cameras | 50MP main and 13MP ultrawide rear cameras; 32MP autofocus front camera, per Fairphone’s specifications | Three 50MP camera modules, including the ultrawide system and sensor module, per Fairphone’s FAQ | The module and pixel specifications differ; they do not establish comparative photo quality. |
| Battery | Removable 4,415mAh battery. Fairphone claims more than 1,000 cycles while retaining 80% of nominal capacity, per its specifications. | Comparable battery-capacity and cycle figures are not stated in the cited Fairphone 5 FAQ. | Both have a repair-focused approach, but the available figures do not support a runtime comparison. |
| Repairability | Fairphone lists 12 user-replaceable parts; the battery is removable, and one Torx T5 tool opens the phone, per its specifications. | Fairphone says repair services and spare parts will continue, according to its discontinuation notice. | Both suit buyers who prioritize repair. Confirm the required part and repair route for the particular fault. |
| Dust and water resistance | IP55, per Fairphone’s specifications | IP55, per Fairphone’s FAQ | The rating does not distinguish them. |
| Software support | Launched with Android 16. Fairphone’s current support page promises six Android upgrades plus one additional year of security updates; the launch story says support through 2033, per Fairphone’s support information and its launch story. | Launched with Android 13. Fairphone says five Android version upgrades and at least eight years of security updates, with a goal of ten years, per its software-support information. | Fairphone states distinct upgrade and security-support commitments; compare those commitments rather than assuming the same timeline or counting upgrades as security years. |
| Availability and listed price | Fairphone’s European comparison page lists €649 for the Gen. 6+ and €599 for the Gen. 6; these are page-specific figures, not universal pricing. | Current Fairphone 5 street price is not stated. Fairphone ended sales and production on 12 January 2026; remaining European reseller stock may exist. | Check local price, stock, seller and warranty before choosing. The €599 figure is for Gen. 6, not Fairphone 5. |
What changed from the original Fairphone (Gen. 6)?
The “plus” is a focused upgrade to the 2025 Gen. 6, not a completely different design. Fairphone says the Gen. 6+ has a Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 processor instead of the Gen. 6’s Gen 3 and 12GB rather than 8GB of RAM. It says the other listed specifications are identical; the European page lists the Gen. 6+ at €649 and Gen. 6 at €599. These are prices shown on Fairphone’s comparison page, not a universal offer.
#1 Best Overall
- [Compatibility] Specifically designed to fit and protect Fairphone 6 (2025) & Fairphone 6 Plus+ (2026) Only.
- [Dual Layer Protection] Certified with ToughRhino Technology, fusing a flexible shock-absorbing TPU inner layer to a heavy-duty PC back shell for reliable drop protection.
- [Raised Edge Protection] Elevated bezels safeguard your camera and screen from accidental damage.
- [Enhanced Grip] Non-slip textured ridges along both side borders and back panel provide a confident hold, significantly reducing accidental hand slips while texting or snapping photos.
- [Seamless Access] Precise cutouts and responsive buttons ensure easy access and smooth everyday use.
Fairphone’s 18 August 2026 launch story also claims app loading and switching are “faster by up to 24%” and system RAM reservation time is “down by up to 20%” versus Gen. 6. Those are manufacturer claims, not independent test results, and they compare the Gen. 6+ with Gen. 6—not with Fairphone 5.
Which one should you buy?
Choose the Fairphone (Gen. 6+) if you are buying new
- You want the newer named processor platform and 12GB of RAM.
- You want a phone Fairphone currently lists for sale rather than relying on remaining Fairphone 5 stock.
- You want a 6.31-inch display with adaptive 10–120Hz refresh and the listed removable-battery and replacement-part design.
Consider Fairphone 5 if the offer and screen suit you
- You find a genuine local reseller offer at a meaningful discount, with the seller, warranty and condition clear.
- You prefer its 6.46-inch display.
- You already own one or value retaining a model for which Fairphone says repair services, spare parts and software releases will continue.
Do not choose between them on assumed camera quality, real-world speed or battery runtime: the cited specifications and manufacturer statements do not establish a tested winner in those areas. For a second-hand Fairphone 5, check the device’s exact memory and storage configuration, condition, and what the seller’s warranty covers.
Rank #2
- [Compatibility] Specifically designed to fit and protect Fairphone 6 (2025) & Fairphone 6 Plus+ (2026) Only.
- [Dual Layer Protection] Certified with ToughRhino Technology, fusing a flexible shock-absorbing TPU inner layer to a heavy-duty PC back shell for reliable drop protection.
- [Raised Edge Protection] Elevated bezels safeguard your camera and screen from accidental damage.
- [Enhanced Grip] Non-slip textured ridges along both side borders and back panel provide a confident hold, significantly reducing accidental hand slips while texting or snapping photos.
- [Seamless Access] Precise cutouts and responsive buttons ensure easy access and smooth everyday use.
Availability, warranty and ongoing support
Fairphone’s discontinuation notice, updated 18 May 2026, says Fairphone 5 sales stopped and production ended on 12 January 2026. It says troubleshooting assistance, repair services, spare parts and software releases will continue; parts and software updates are planned until at least 2031. The company does not provide a live inventory overview, so any remaining European stock is retailer-dependent.
Fairphone’s Gen. 6+ launch story describes a warranty of up to five years. “Up to” is not unconditional: check the warranty terms that apply in your market and purchase. Fairphone’s Fairphone 5 FAQ describes a five-year commercial warranty requiring registration, so verify whether registration was completed or can still be made for a particular device.
Rank #3
- 【Notice】This Phone Case is only compatible with Fairphone 6 Case,Please check your cell phone model before buying.
- 【Well-designed】Precise cut-outs design allows easy and full access to speakers,charging ports, audio ports and buttons,No Signal Loss
- 【practicality】Although lightweight,Strong enough, including raised edges to prevent screen and Camera scratches,Excellent Shockproof
- 【Modern Device】lightweight, in line with fashion trends. Effectively protect your phone,Flexible Press Button,phone case。
- 【Reminder】if you have any doubts please feel free to contact us by mail,we will provide satisfied solutions to you.
Check accessories and repair parts by exact generation. A removable battery or model-specific module is not evidence that Fairphone 5 and Gen. 6+ accessories fit each other.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
- [Compatiblity]This case is designed for Fairphone 6/6+ , it is not applicable to any other models, please check your phone model before purchase. Includes a phone case and a screen protector.
- [Lightweight & Thin Fit] The case is designed with 1:1 real phone molding, perfectly fit the size of the phone, precise cutouts and openings make it easier to use the touch, buttons, ports, camera and speakers. The case is ultra-light and ultra-thin, so you can use it easily and stress-free.
- [Drop & Shock Resistant] Provides reliable protection that effectively keeps your phone safe from accidental drops, being crushed and everyday bumps. The anti-drop and anti-shock features are fully compliant with safety standards.
- [High Quality Material] The case is made of odorless high quality silicone, 9H high hardness tempered glass screen protector can maximize the protection of your phone screen from all kinds of accidental injuries.
- [After-sales service] If you have any problems with your product, please feel free to contact us, we will give you a satisfactory answer within 24 hours.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

