Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

There is no single all-in price for an online store. In the US-dollar prices published by the platforms as of October 7, 2026, Shopify and BigCommerce start at $39 per month when billed monthly or $29 per month when billed annually, while WooCommerce lists a $0 platform fee but requires you to choose and pay for hosting. Squarespace charges a 2% online-store transaction fee on its listed Basic plan and 0% on Core, Plus and Advanced; payment processing is separate. To compare real costs, add the subscription or hosting, payment processing, platform transaction fees and any paid tools your store needs.

What counts as the cost of an e-commerce platform?

A plan price is only one part of the bill. Separate the costs into these lines before comparing platforms:

  • Platform subscription: the recurring plan charge, if there is one. Monthly and annual billing can have different prices.
  • Hosting: included with Shopify; chosen separately for WooCommerce. The listed plan prices for BigCommerce and Squarespace are subscription prices, but the cited pricing details do not establish a comparable separate hosting charge for those services.
  • Payment processing: the processor’s charge for accepting card or other payments. It is distinct from a platform transaction fee.
  • Platform transaction fee: an additional charge that may apply depending on the platform, plan or payment method.
  • Store-specific extras: paid extensions, add-ons, implementation and ongoing maintenance. Their cost depends on the store and is not captured by a plan sticker price.

The figures below are vendor-published US-dollar prices and rates found on official pages on October 7, 2026. They are not independently audited all-in totals. Prices, payment eligibility and fees can vary by country, account and configuration; check the relevant local pricing page before choosing.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How the listed prices and fees compare

Platform and plan Subscription price and billing Hosting Platform transaction fee Payment processing Thresholds or upgrade rules Variable costs to account for
Shopify Basic $39/month billed monthly; $29/month billed yearly Included 2% third-party transaction fee, according to Shopify’s pricing page Separate from the platform fee; the cited pricing details do not establish a single rate applicable to every merchant Not stated in the cited pricing details Payment processing and any store-specific add-ons
Shopify Grow $105/month billed monthly; $79/month billed yearly Included 1% third-party transaction fee, according to Shopify’s pricing page Separate; rate depends on the merchant’s circumstances Not stated in the cited pricing details Payment processing and any store-specific add-ons
Shopify Advanced $399/month billed monthly; $299/month billed yearly Included 0.6% third-party transaction fee, according to Shopify’s pricing page Separate; rate depends on the merchant’s circumstances Not stated in the cited pricing details Payment processing and any store-specific add-ons
WooCommerce $0 platform fee Merchant chooses a host; hosting price is not stated by WooCommerce in the cited comparison No additional WooCommerce fee for a third-party payment solution, according to its pricing comparison WooPayments estimate: approximately 2.50–2.90% plus $0.30 per transaction Not stated in the cited pricing details Hosting, paid extensions, implementation, maintenance and any third-party provider charges
BigCommerce Core $39/month billed monthly; $29/month billed annually Not stated in the cited pricing details Open-payment-provider fees are listed by plan; check the current plan page for the applicable fee Card processing begins at 2.89% plus $0.29 per transaction, according to BigCommerce Plan thresholds use trailing-12-month GMV and can trigger automatic upgrades Payment-provider choice and store-specific add-ons
BigCommerce Growth $105/month billed monthly; $79/month billed annually Not stated in the cited pricing details Open-payment-provider fees are listed by plan; check the current plan page for the applicable fee Card processing begins at 2.89% plus $0.29 per transaction, according to BigCommerce Plan thresholds use trailing-12-month GMV and can trigger automatic upgrades Payment-provider choice and store-specific add-ons
BigCommerce Scale $399/month billed monthly; $299/month billed annually Not stated in the cited pricing details Open-payment-provider fees are listed by plan; check the current plan page for the applicable fee Card processing begins at 2.89% plus $0.29 per transaction, according to BigCommerce Plan thresholds use trailing-12-month GMV and can trigger automatic upgrades Payment-provider choice and store-specific add-ons
BigCommerce Performance Custom priced; the page lists a starting price of $1,499/month billed annually Not stated in the cited pricing details Open-payment-provider fees are listed by plan; check the current plan page for the applicable fee Card processing begins at 2.89% plus $0.29 per transaction; a particular negotiated rate is not universal BigCommerce describes thresholds based on trailing-12-month GMV and automatic upgrades Provider choice and custom-plan terms
Squarespace Basic Price depends on country, billing cadence and applicable plan schedule; see Squarespace’s current pricing page Not stated in the cited pricing details 2% online-store sales transaction fee on the listed new-plan comparison Separate; rate depends on country and applicable plan schedule New plans are rolling out in waves; accounts may be on a legacy schedule Processing charges, digital-product fee schedule if relevant, and store-specific add-ons
Squarespace Core, Plus and Advanced Prices depend on country, billing cadence and applicable plan schedule; see Squarespace’s current pricing page Not stated in the cited pricing details 0% online-store sales transaction fee on the listed new-plan comparison Separate; rate depends on country and applicable plan schedule New plans are rolling out in waves; accounts may be on a legacy schedule Processing charges, digital-product fee schedule if relevant, and store-specific add-ons

Sources: Shopify pricing and Shopify hosting; WooCommerce pricing comparison; BigCommerce pricing; Squarespace pricing and Squarespace commerce transaction fees. These pages were accessed October 7, 2026.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Lenovo 15.6 FHD Laptop 2026 Edition, Intel N150 CPU, 8GB RAM, 128GB Storage
  • ⚡ POWERFUL PERFORMANCE FOR EVERYDAY TASKS: Intel N150 quad-core processor (up to 3.6GHz turbo) with 8GB LPDDR5-4800 RAM delivers smooth multitasking for web browsing, document editing, video streaming, and light productivity. 128GB UFS 2.2 storage provides fast boot times and quick app launches for your essential programs and files.
  • 🖥️ IMMERSIVE 15.6" FHD DISPLAY: Crystal-clear 1920x1080 Full HD resolution with 88% screen-to-body ratio maximizes your viewing area. Anti-glare coating reduces eye strain during extended use, while Dolby Audio-enhanced stereo speakers deliver rich, clear sound for entertainment and video calls.
  • 🎒 ULTRA-PORTABLE & DURABLE DESIGN: Weighing just 3.42 lbs (1.55 kg) with a slim 0.70" profile, this laptop easily fits in any bag for on-the-go productivity. MIL-STD-810H military-grade tested for durability. HD 720p camera with privacy shutter protects your privacy when not in use.
  • 🌐 SEAMLESS CONNECTIVITY: Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) and Bluetooth 5.2 ensure fast, reliable wireless connections. Versatile ports include 2x USB-A, 1x USB-C (with Power Delivery and DisplayPort), HDMI 1.4, SD card reader, and headphone jack - connect all your devices and peripherals with ease.
  • 💻 READY TO USE OUT OF THE BOX: Pre-installed Windows 11 Home and Microsoft 365 Personal get you started right away with the latest features and productivity tools. ENERGY STAR 9.0 certified and TÜV Rheinland Low Blue Light certified for reduced eye strain during extended computing sessions.

Shopify: subscription plus processing and possible third-party fees

Shopify’s listed US-dollar plans are Basic, Grow and Advanced. Annual billing lowers the monthly-equivalent price shown on the pricing page compared with paying month to month. Hosting is included, so Shopify says merchants do not need to buy separate hosting.

The listed third-party transaction fees are 2% on Basic, 1% on Grow and 0.6% on Advanced. These are separate from payment-card processing. Because processing rates depend on location and payment arrangements, do not treat the plan prices as the whole cost or assume one processing rate applies to every store.

Rank #2
HP 255 G10 Business Laptop, AMD Quad-core CPU, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, W11 Pro
  • - 15.6" Full HD IPS Narrow Bezel, Anti-glare Display - 1920 x 1080 resolution delivers incredible detail, wide-viewing angles, and lifelike color reproduction. AMD FreeSync Technology syncs your display and refresh rate so you get fluid, artifact-free visual performance at virtually any framerate. Keeps up with hybrid work styles with a thin and light design and 85% screen-to-body-ratio.
  • - Connect and collaborate on your terms - When it comes to staying connected with friends or collaborating with others, this 15.6-inch HP business laptop understands the assignment. Wide dynamic range HD camera ensures you always look your best during virtual conferences, in both bright and low-light conditions. Effectively collaborate with the integrated camera and AI-based noise reduction with dual-array mics.
  • - Complete Port Selection & Faster Connectivity - Stay connected with a variety of ports, including 1x USB Type-C (5Gbps signaling rate), 2x USB Type-A (5Gbps signaling rate), 1x Headphone/microphone combo, 1x HDMI 1.4b. Enjoy a smoother online experience with Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.3 technology, providing faster data transfer speeds and more stable connections than previous generations.
  • - AMD Ryzen 3 7330U Processor - This efficient 4-core, 8-thread, 8 MB L3 cache, and up to 4.3 GHz max boost clock processor is suitable for your everyday business tasks. Multitask, analyze data, focus on 1080p video chatting, and edit photos or videos smoothly with responsive performance and vibrant visuals.
  • - Weighs 3.4 lbs. & Measures 0.73" thin - A stable design that fits perfectly in your lap and desk, so you're never tethered to one place. 3-cell, 41 Wh Li-ion polymer battery.

WooCommerce: no platform fee, but hosting and operations remain

WooCommerce lists a $0 platform fee and lets the merchant choose a host. That makes the platform-fee line zero in its comparison, not the cost of operating a store. Hosting, paid extensions, implementation and maintenance are separate choices whose prices vary by store.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

WooCommerce estimates WooPayments card processing at approximately 2.50–2.90% plus $0.30 per transaction. Its comparison says it does not add a WooCommerce fee when a merchant uses a third-party payment solution; the third-party provider may still charge its own processing fees.

Rank #3
HP OmniBook 3 17.3 inch Laptop PC, FHD Display, AMD Ryzen 3 30, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, AMD Radeon 610M Graphics, Windows 11 Home, Mica Silver, 17-dp0199nr
  • FULL HD IPS DISPLAY - Enjoy vibrant, crystal-clear images with 178-degree wide-viewing angles
  • AMD RYZEN 3 30 PROCESSOR - Everyday performance you can count on; Multitask, stream, game casually, and edit photos smoothly with responsive power and vibrant HDR visuals
  • ENJOY UP TO 14 HOURS AND 15 MINUTES OF BATTERY LIFE - HP Fast Charge restores battery from 0 to 50% in approximately 45 minutes
  • AMD RADEON 610M GRAPHICS - Experience smooth entertainment; Built for streaming and multitasking, enjoy realistic visuals and efficient performance for work and play
  • STORAGE AND MEMORY - 512 GB PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD offers fast speed and efficient storage; and 8 GB LPDDR5 RAM memory boosts performance with higher bandwidth

BigCommerce: compare provider fees and GMV rules, not just the plan

BigCommerce lists Core, Growth and Scale at the same monthly and annual price points as Shopify’s corresponding tiers in the cited US-dollar schedule. Performance is custom priced, with the page listing a starting price of $1,499 per month when billed annually.

BigCommerce also lists open-payment-provider fees by plan and describes plan thresholds based on trailing-12-month gross merchandise value (GMV), with automatic upgrades. Check the current page for the provider fee and threshold that apply to a specific plan. Its stated card-processing rate begins at 2.89% plus $0.29 per transaction. The page’s Braintree option has qualification and approval steps, so a negotiated processor rate should not be assumed to be available to every merchant.

Rank #4
HP 17 inch Business Laptop Computer • 2026 Edition • Latest AMD Ryzen 5 CPU • 16GB RAM • 512GB SSD • 17.3" FHD Display • Numeric Keypad • Long Battery Life • Windows 11 with Office 365 for The Web
  • All In The Detail: The HP laptop has a beautiful brushed full-size keyboard with 10-key number pad. The 17.3 HP laptop features Wide Vision 720p camera + digital microphones, delivering clear and detailed image for video chats. Work and play non-stop with long battery life and HP Fast Charge. The large laptop hp computer is one place for all...
  • Immersive Full HD Display: Experience high performance with the HP laptops featuring a stunning 17.3 inch FHD anti-glare display with sharp details and vivid color. The large 17 inch HP laptops slim bezel and big screen is perfect for multitasking, work, and entertainment. Its slim, sleek, durable design in new vibrant silver finish makes this eye-catching, thin lightweight HP 17.3 laptop easily portable..
  • Windows 11 & Office 365 for Web: Preloaded with Windows 11 for a secure and easy-to-manage work experience. Built-in AI Copilot helps you quickly organize tasks, summarize information, and create content. With Office 365 for Web, you can create, edit, and share documents, presentations, and spreadsheets anytime, anywhere.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Squarespace: confirm whether the account uses new or legacy fees

On Squarespace’s listed new-plan comparison, online-store sales incur a 2% transaction fee on Basic and 0% on Core, Plus and Advanced. Payment processing is separate, and digital products have a separate fee schedule.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Squarespace says its new plans are rolling out in waves and its help center also gives a schedule for legacy plans. The plan name, fee schedule and processing charges that apply can therefore depend on the account and market. Confirm the actual plan and fee schedule shown for the account rather than applying the new-plan comparison to every merchant.

Best Value
Lenovo V15 Gen 4 Business Laptop, 15.6" FHD Display, Intel Core i5-13420H (Beat i7-1355U), HDMI, RJ45, Webcam, Numeric Keypad, Wi-Fi, Windows 11 Pro, Black (16GB RAM | 512GB SSD)
  • [High Speed RAM And Enormous Space] 4GB high-bandwidth RAM to smoothly run multiple applications and browser tabs all at once; 128GB PCIe NVMe M.2 Solid State Drive allows to fast bootup and data transfer
  • [Processor] Intel Core i5-13420H Processor (8 Cores, 12 Threads, 12MB Intel Smart Cache, Base at 1.5 GHz, Up to 4.6 GHz Max Turbo Frequency), with Intel UHD Graphics
  • [Display] 15.6" FHD (1920 x 1080) Display
  • [Tech Specs] 1 x USB 3.0 Type-A, 1 x USB 2.0 Type-A, 1 x USB Type-C, 1 x HDMI, 1 x RJ45, 1 x headphone/microphone combo, Webcam, Numeric Keypad, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
  • [Operating System] Windows 11 Pro - Organize open apps with pre-configured layouts to optimize productivity, Navigate with more intuitive experience to get things done, Collaborate with teams with more features

How to estimate your own monthly cost

A useful comparison holds the store assumptions constant. Record the following before calculating:

  • Country and currency, since pricing and payment eligibility vary by market.
  • Monthly billing or annual billing, matched across the platforms you compare.
  • Monthly sales volume and number of orders, or the average order value needed to derive the order count.
  • Payment provider and payment method, including whether a quoted processor rate is available to your business.
  • Plan-specific platform transaction fees and any GMV-based threshold or upgrade rule.
  • Hosting, paid extensions, add-ons, implementation and maintenance you actually expect to use.

Then calculate each cost line using that same scenario: recurring platform or hosting charges, processing charges on the relevant transactions, any platform transaction fee, and the selected extras. A precise total cannot be derived from plan prices alone: it changes with sales, order size, provider, country and configuration. Recheck vendor pages before committing because the figures are volatile.

Which cost comparison is useful?

  • For Shopify: compare the plan subscription, payment processing and the listed third-party transaction fee for your plan.
  • For WooCommerce: include the separately selected host and store operations; do not equate the $0 platform fee with a free-to-run store.
  • For BigCommerce: include the applicable open-provider fee and determine whether your trailing-12-month GMV could change the plan.
  • For Squarespace: verify the account’s plan generation and distinguish online-store transaction fees from processing and digital-product charges.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.