Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

For private personal files, Tresorit is the stronger fit on the vendors’ published security descriptions: Tresorit says all its personal plans use end-to-end encryption and a zero-knowledge design. Dropbox is the more flexible general-purpose choice if its storage, sharing, recovery history, or team features fit better—but its current US plan table lists end-to-end encryption only on higher-tier offerings, not Basic or Plus. The right choice depends on the plan and the work, not a universal winner.

Dropbox vs Tresorit at a glance

What matters Dropbox Tresorit
Published personal-plan security model The current US plan table lists end-to-end encryption for higher-tier offerings, not Basic or Plus; it also lists 256-bit AES and SSL/TLS encryption among core features. Check the selected plan’s current feature list. Dropbox plans Tresorit says all personal plans use end-to-end encryption and a zero-knowledge system, with files and relevant metadata encrypted on the user’s device. Tresorit personal plans Tresorit security
Free plan Basic: 2 GB. Dropbox plans Basic: 3 GB, uploads up to 500 MB, sync across two devices, and up to 10 encrypted links per month. Tresorit Basic
Paid personal storage Plus: 2,000 GB. The same US plan table also lists team plans Standard starting at 3,000 GB and Advanced starting at 15,000 GB. Dropbox plans Lite: 50 GB; Essential: 1 TB; Pro: 4 TB. Tresorit personal plans
Recovery and versions Plan-page recovery-history periods: 30 days for Plus, 180 days for Standard, and one year for Advanced. Dropbox plans Saved file versions: 5 for Lite, 10 for Essential, and 25 for Pro. These counts are not the same measure as a recovery period. Tresorit personal plans
Sharing Dropbox says links can be shared with people who do not have an account. Dropbox sharing Encrypted links can include controls such as passwords, expiration, and download limits; controls vary by plan. Tresorit personal plans Tresorit encrypted links
Personal platform list The retrieved plan page emphasizes access across devices but does not provide a directly comparable operating-system matrix. Dropbox plans Windows, Mac, Linux, Android, iOS, and web access are listed. Tresorit personal plans

Plan figures above are a snapshot of vendor pages accessed October 7, 2026. Dropbox prices shown on its US page are monthly: Plus is $9.99/month, Standard is $15 per user/month, and Advanced is $24 per user/month. Tresorit’s captured personal-plan page text did not state numerical prices, so these figures do not establish a price winner. Prices and offerings can vary by country and billing cadence. Tresorit personal plans Dropbox plans

Which service is more private?

Tresorit: end-to-end encryption across personal plans, according to the company

Tresorit describes its personal storage as end-to-end encrypted and zero-knowledge: encryption is applied on the user’s device, and the company says it does not have users’ keys. Its security page describes public-key cryptography and RSA-4096-based key sharing. Tresorit summarizes its position this way: “Tresorit never has your keys, so only you – and the people you choose – can access them.” Those are the vendor’s descriptions of its own system, not independent verification of the implementation. Tresorit personal plans Tresorit security Tresorit encryption details Tresorit statement

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Dropbox: check whether the selected plan includes end-to-end encryption

Dropbox’s US plan table lists 256-bit AES and SSL/TLS encryption among core features, while marking end-to-end encryption for higher-tier offerings rather than Basic or Plus. That is a difference in the documented service model and plan availability, not a reason to describe Dropbox as unencrypted. Check the current feature list and settings for the exact plan you intend to use; feature allocation can change. Dropbox plans

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Seagate 2TB Portable Hard Drive | USB 3.0 (STGX2000400)
  • Easily store and access 2TB to content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive
  • Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop
  • To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
  • This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
  • The available storage capacity may vary.

No independent cryptographic audit or comparative security test is established by the published plan and product descriptions cited here. If your decision depends on how a provider handles encryption keys, treat vendor statements as claims about its design rather than as a substitute for independent validation.

How do storage limits and uploads compare?

The free tiers differ by 1 GB: Dropbox Basic lists 2 GB, while Tresorit Basic lists 3 GB. Tresorit’s free plan also has practical constraints beyond quota: a 500 MB maximum upload, sync across two devices, and up to 10 encrypted links per month. Tresorit Basic Dropbox plans

Rank #2
Seagate Portable 5TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PS4, & Xbox - 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX5000400), Black
  • Easily store and access 5TB of content on the go with the Seagate portable drive, a USB external hard Drive
  • Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop
  • To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition software required
  • This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
  • The available storage capacity may vary.

For Tresorit’s paid personal tiers, Lite includes 50 GB and a 2 GB maximum file size; Essential offers 1 TB and a 10 GB maximum; Pro offers 4 TB and a 10 GB maximum. Lite syncs across two devices, while Essential and Pro list sync across 10 devices. Tresorit personal plans

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Dropbox Plus lists 2,000 GB. Its Standard and Advanced figures are team storage starting at 3,000 GB and 15,000 GB, respectively, rather than individual personal quotas. Do not compare those team allocations with Tresorit’s personal tiers as if they were identical products. Dropbox plans

Rank #3
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PlayStation, & Xbox, 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX1000400) , Black
  • Easily store and access 1TB to content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive.Specific uses: Personal
  • Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop. Reformatting may be required for Mac
  • To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
  • This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
  • The available storage capacity may vary.

What do sharing and recovery look like in practice?

Sharing links

Dropbox says a shared link can be sent to someone without a Dropbox account, which can make access easier for recipients. Tresorit’s encrypted links emphasize controls such as passwords, expiry dates, and download limits, with advanced controls dependent on the selected plan. If you regularly send sensitive files outside your organization, compare the exact controls available on the tier you would buy against how much setup recipients can tolerate. Dropbox sharing Tresorit encrypted links

Restoring deleted files and older versions

The vendors’ published figures describe different things. Dropbox gives recovery-history periods—30 days for Plus, 180 days for Standard, and one year for Advanced—while Tresorit gives a count of saved versions: 5, 10, or 25 across Lite, Essential, and Pro. A longer time window and a larger version count are not directly interchangeable. Before subscribing, check both deleted-file recovery and restoration of a prior version, along with any plan exclusions and operational details in current support documentation. The plan figures do not establish restore speed or success rates. Tresorit personal plans Dropbox plans

Rank #4
Seagate Portable 4TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0, 1-Year Rescue
  • Easily store and access 4TB of content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive.Specific uses: Personal
  • Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop
  • To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
  • This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
  • The available storage capacity may vary.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which one should you choose?

Choose Tresorit if the privacy model is your priority

  • You want the end-to-end, zero-knowledge personal-storage model Tresorit describes for all its personal plans.
  • You need encrypted links with controls such as passwords, expiry, or download limits, and the controls on your intended plan meet your needs.
  • Your storage, device, upload-size, and link limits fit the way you work.

For business use, Tresorit lists additional administration, audit, and data-residency capabilities on applicable business plans; verify the specific plan and requirements rather than assuming personal-plan features include them. Tresorit business capabilities

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose Dropbox if its workflow and plan fit better

  • You want its particular storage allocation, sharing workflow, or recovery-history period.
  • You are comparing team storage and per-user plans, not only personal cloud storage.
  • You have confirmed the exact security features and settings available on your chosen tier instead of assuming Basic or Plus includes end-to-end encryption.

How to make a fair paid-plan comparison

  1. Set the country and billing cadence you will actually use; the quoted Dropbox prices are US monthly values, and Tresorit’s numerical prices were not stated in the captured plan page.
  2. Choose personal or team use and write down the storage needed per person or for the team.
  3. Check maximum upload size, device limits, and link-sharing controls against the files and recipients involved.
  4. Compare deleted-file recovery periods separately from saved-version counts.
  5. Confirm which security features the selected tier supports on the vendors’ current plan pages before purchase.

This comparison is based on vendor-published descriptions, not hands-on testing, speed benchmarks, or an independent cryptographic audit. Tresorit personal plans Dropbox plans

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
Seagate 2TB Portable Hard Drive | USB 3.0 (STGX2000400)
Seagate 2TB Portable Hard Drive | USB 3.0 (STGX2000400)
This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable; The available storage capacity may vary.
$119.99
Bestseller No. 2
Seagate Portable 5TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PS4, & Xbox - 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX5000400), Black
Seagate Portable 5TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PS4, & Xbox - 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX5000400), Black
This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable; The available storage capacity may vary.
$229.99
Bestseller No. 3
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PlayStation, & Xbox, 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX1000400) , Black
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0 for PC, Mac, PlayStation, & Xbox, 1-Year Rescue Service (STGX1000400) , Black
This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable; The available storage capacity may vary.
$119.80
Bestseller No. 4
Seagate Portable 4TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0, 1-Year Rescue
Seagate Portable 4TB External Hard Drive HDD – USB 3.0, 1-Year Rescue
This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable; The available storage capacity may vary.
$208.99

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.