Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Yes—based on the current prerelease information, Ruffed Up is advertised for 2–4-player co-op online and locally, and its Steam metadata lists full controller support, including USB DualSense controllers. Steam Deck compatibility is less certain: no official Verified or Playable badge was located for Ruffed Up. You can still use a Deck for local multiplayer with Bluetooth or USB controllers, or use Remote Play Together, but the game’s own Deck certification remains unconfirmed until Valve rates a later build.

Ruffed Up compatibility at a glance

Question What the current evidence says What you should assume
Online co-op The Steam Community description advertises 2–4 players online. Online play is a planned feature of the prerelease game; the exact invitation, matchmaking and cross-play details are not stated.
Local co-op The same description advertises 2–4 players locally. Couch co-op is planned, but you will need compatible input devices for the players you want to add.
Controller support SteamDB lists “Full Controller Support.” A gamepad should be the intended input method rather than an afterthought.
DualSense SteamDB lists “DualSense Controllers (USB Only)” for the full game and the demo. Use a wired USB connection for a DualSense; do not assume wireless DualSense support from this label.
Steam Deck badge No Ruffed Up Verified or Playable rating was found in the available records. Deck status is unconfirmed, not a confirmed failure and not a certification.
Release state The full game is still marked prerelease/coming soon, and the available controller records include a demo. Features and compatibility can change before launch.

The co-op and controller statements come from the Steam Community game description and SteamDB metadata reviewed on October 18, 2026. The Deck conclusion is deliberately narrower because a certification badge was not present in those records.

What kind of co-op does Ruffed Up support?

Online co-op for two to four players

Ruffed Up is described as a 2–4-player physics game. Its Steam Community listing says players can “team up with 2–4 players online or locally to keep your human safe.” That establishes the advertised party size and the existence of online co-op. It does not document whether online sessions use lobby codes, friends invites, public matchmaking, or another method, so do not treat any particular connection flow as confirmed.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The description also frames the game around shared progress through hazards: players must cross treacherous terrain, dodge dangers and get everyone home safely. That wording indicates a cooperative objective rather than a competitive multiplayer mode. It does not, however, establish whether every stage requires all players to finish, whether players can respawn, or how a disconnected player is handled.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Local co-op on one setup

The same listing explicitly includes local co-op. In practical terms, that means a group can play together without each person needing a separate copy running on a separate computer, provided the game’s final build keeps the advertised local mode. The listing does not specify whether local players share one screen, how many devices can be mixed, or whether keyboard input can be combined with controllers.

For a couch session, plan around one controller per participating player unless the game’s final instructions say otherwise. Ruffed Up’s advertised range is two to four players, so a four-person session may require several additional Bluetooth or USB gamepads. The game metadata confirms controller support but does not publish a complete device matrix for every manufacturer.

What is not established about online play

  • There is no documented confirmation of cross-play between Steam, Steam Deck and other platforms.
  • The available description does not state whether online co-op requires every participant to own the game.
  • No public details are supplied about host migration, drop-in play, voice chat or reconnect behavior.
  • The 2–4 figure is an advertised player range, not a guarantee that every mode or level uses all four slots.

These omissions matter when planning a purchase with friends. The safest conclusion is that online and local co-op are announced features, while the surrounding session-management details remain subject to the final release.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Does Ruffed Up work with controllers?

Full controller support is listed

SteamDB lists “Full Controller Support” for Ruffed Up. That label is stronger than a game merely accepting occasional gamepad input: it signals that controller use is intended to cover normal play. It still does not identify every supported model, guarantee that all menus are navigable without a mouse, or promise identical button prompts across devices.

The demo carries the same controller categories in its metadata. That is useful for trying the input scheme before launch, but a demo’s behavior is not proof that the final game will retain every setting. The full title remains prerelease, so treat the metadata as the current plan rather than a permanent compatibility contract.

DualSense support is identified as USB-only

SteamDB specifically lists “DualSense Controllers (USB Only)” for both the full-game metadata and the demo. If you use a PlayStation 5 DualSense, connect it to the computer or Deck with a USB cable for the configuration represented by that label. The wording does not establish Bluetooth support for DualSense, so wireless pairing should be considered unconfirmed rather than assumed.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

“USB only” also does not tell you whether adaptive triggers, haptic feedback, the touchpad or the controller’s microphone receive game-specific features. Those are separate capabilities from basic button and stick input. For a reliable session, use a data-capable USB cable and verify that Steam detects the pad before launching the game.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Using several controllers

Because local co-op is advertised for up to four players, a group should connect the intended controllers before entering a local session. Steam may show several devices, but the game decides how players are assigned. If a pad is detected by the operating system but does not appear in the game, disconnect unused devices, reconnect the active pads and restart the title so it can enumerate them again.

Is Ruffed Up Steam Deck Verified?

No official rating has been confirmed

No Ruffed Up Steam Deck Verified or Playable badge was found in the available records. That means the correct description today is Steam Deck status unconfirmed. It would be inaccurate to call the game Verified, and it would also be too strong to call it Unsupported solely because a badge is missing.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Valve’s Deck system uses three principal outcomes: Verified indicates that the tested experience meets Valve’s requirements; Playable means the game works with some adjustments or caveats; Unsupported means Valve’s checks found that it does not function acceptably on Deck. A title without a displayed result is simply unrated or unreviewed in the records you are viewing.

Why the missing badge is unsurprising here

Ruffed Up is still listed as prerelease/coming soon. Valve’s compatibility review can occur as a game approaches release or after meaningful updates, so a missing badge at this stage does not predict the final result. The current evidence covers a demo and prerelease metadata, not a final retail build. Patches can change graphics settings, input handling, performance and launcher behavior before launch.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Do not convert the game’s general controller support into a Deck guarantee. A controller can work on a Windows PC while a Deck build still has issues such as unreadable text, a launcher that needs touch input, or a control that is awkward in handheld mode. None of those specific problems has been reported here; they are the reasons certification and ordinary controller metadata should be treated as different checks.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to prepare local co-op on Steam Deck

Valve’s Steamworks FAQ confirms that local co-op on Steam Deck can use controllers connected through Bluetooth or directly through USB. Valve also identifies Remote Play Together as an option when the other players are on separate Decks or PCs. Use the following setup approach while remembering that Ruffed Up’s own Deck rating is still pending.

Option 1: USB controllers

  1. Connect each additional gamepad to the Deck through a compatible USB connection or hub.
  2. Wait for SteamOS to recognize the devices before starting the game.
  3. Launch Ruffed Up and open its local multiplayer option.
  4. Add players one at a time, checking which on-screen prompt responds to each controller.
  5. If a controller is missing, quit the game, reconnect the device and relaunch so the game can scan the inputs again.

USB is the clearest choice for a DualSense because the metadata explicitly identifies USB rather than wireless operation. A powered hub can be useful when several wired pads are required, but the available information does not specify a particular hub, power limit or maximum number of USB devices.

Option 2: Bluetooth controllers

  1. Open the Deck’s Bluetooth controls and put each controller into its pairing mode.
  2. Pair the controllers one at a time and confirm that SteamOS reports each one as connected.
  3. Start Ruffed Up after the desired pads are connected.
  4. Enter local co-op and have each participant press the game’s join button when prompted.
  5. Keep unused Bluetooth devices disconnected if player assignment becomes confusing.

Valve confirms Bluetooth as a supported way to connect local-co-op controllers on Deck. Ruffed Up’s metadata specifically calls out USB for DualSense, so use wired mode for that model if wireless pairing is unreliable.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Option 3: Remote Play Together

Valve also describes Remote Play Together, in which other participants play from their own Decks or PCs while the host runs the game. This can avoid collecting several controllers around one Deck. The available Ruffed Up information does not say whether every participant needs a copy, what input devices are accepted remotely, or how many remote guests the final build allows, so verify those details in Steam’s invite interface and the game’s current documentation.

How to check compatibility before buying

  1. Read the current store metadata. Look for the 2–4-player online/local description and the “Full Controller Support” label. Store data can change as the game approaches release.
  2. Check the Deck badge on the day you install. A later Verified or Playable result would be more meaningful than today’s unreviewed status.
  3. Try the demo, if it is still available. The demo carries the same controller categories, allowing you to test your preferred pad and the game’s menu navigation.
  4. Test the exact multiplayer arrangement. For couch play, connect the number and type of controllers your group will use; for remote play, test the invitation path with one friend before organizing four players.
  5. Record the build you tested. Since the game is prerelease, note whether you tested the demo or a later build and recheck after substantial updates.

Troubleshooting common setup problems

Symptom Likely check Action
A DualSense is not detected wirelessly The metadata specifies USB for DualSense. Connect the controller with USB and restart the game if necessary.
Only one local player can join Extra controllers may not have been connected before launch, or the game may require a specific join prompt. Connect the remaining pads, verify SteamOS sees them, then relaunch and add players individually.
A Bluetooth pad repeatedly disconnects Pairing or battery state may be unstable. Reconnect it, remove unused wireless devices and use USB as a fallback.
The Deck launches the game but controls are awkward No official Deck rating is currently confirmed. Try a supported external controller and check for a newer game build or later Valve rating.
Remote Play Together does not behave as expected The game’s final remote-session rules are not documented in the available listing. Test with one guest first and consult the current Steam invite and in-game prompts.

Which setup makes sense for your group?

Your situation Most practical starting point Important qualification
Two to four people in the same room with a PC Use local co-op with USB or Bluetooth controllers. The game advertises local play, but exact controller combinations are not documented.
Two to four people sharing one Steam Deck Connect extra controllers through Bluetooth or USB. Ruffed Up itself has no confirmed Deck badge yet.
A DualSense user on PC or Deck Use a USB connection. SteamDB labels DualSense support as USB-only.
Friends playing from separate homes Use the advertised online mode or test Remote Play Together. Cross-play, ownership rules and matchmaking details are not stated.
You want the lowest compatibility risk Wait for a final release and an official Deck rating, then test the demo or current build. Prerelease metadata can change.

Bottom line

Ruffed Up is currently advertised as a 2–4-player co-op game with both online and local play. SteamDB lists full controller support and identifies DualSense controllers when connected by USB. Steam Deck can provide the local-multiplayer hardware path—Bluetooth controllers, USB controllers or Remote Play Together—but Ruffed Up does not yet have a confirmed Verified or Playable badge in the available records. Treat it as a promising but still unconfirmed Deck experience until the final build receives an official rating.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.