Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The Motorola Razr 70 Ultra (sold in the US as the Razr Ultra 2026) is the strongest premium pick in Stuff’s 2026 guide, the Samsung Galaxy Z Flip8 is the best fit for Samsung users, and the Motorola Razr 70 (US: Razr 2026) is the lower-cost current-generation option. These are editorial recommendations, not results from hands-on testing for this article. Choose by how useful the cover screen is to you, how much you want to spend, and which phone ecosystem you prefer—not by screen size alone.

What is the best flip phone in 2026?

For the best combination of cover-screen usefulness, cameras and battery capacity among the models in this guide, Stuff recommends the Motorola Razr 70 Ultra. In the United States, Motorola calls it the Razr Ultra 2026. Its launch MSRP was $1,499.99; that is a launch price, not a live offer. Stuff’s comparison lists a 4-inch cover display, a 7-inch 165Hz inner AMOLED display, Snapdragon 8 Elite, a 5000mAh battery, and 50MP rear cameras. Those specifications and the assessment are Stuff’s, not independent measurements for this article. Read Stuff’s 2026 flip-phone guide.

The Ultra is not automatically the right choice for everyone: its high launch price and relatively modest year-on-year changes are drawbacks noted by Stuff. For Samsung owners or anyone who prefers Samsung’s ecosystem, the Galaxy Z Flip8 is the more natural choice. For a current-generation model at a lower launch price, consider the base Razr 70.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Best flip phones in 2026 at a glance

Phone Best for Published cover display US launch MSRP Key trade-off
Motorola Razr 70 Ultra (US: Razr Ultra 2026) Premium pick; camera and battery emphasis 4 inches (Stuff, 2026) $1,499.99 (Motorola US launch MSRP, 2026) Highest launch price in this lineup; Stuff notes modest year-on-year change.
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip8 Samsung ecosystem and FlexWindow features 4.1 inches (Stuff, 2026) Not stated in the cited sources Stuff says the hardware changes over its predecessor are small.
Motorola Razr 70 (US: Razr 2026) Lower-cost current-generation option 3.6 inches (Stuff, 2026) $799.99 (Motorola US launch MSRP, 2026) A discounted previous-generation phone could be better value if it is still available.
Motorola Razr 70 Plus (US: Razr+) Middle tier between base and Ultra Not stated in the cited sources $1,099.99 (Motorola US launch MSRP, 2026) Compare the exact regional model and current local price before choosing.

Motorola’s listed US MSRPs are launch figures announced in 2026, not current deal prices. Motorola said unlocked US sales of its lineup began May 21, 2026. Check current retailer listings, stock, model variants and carrier offers before buying. Motorola’s US Razr 2026 announcement.

Which flip phone should you buy?

Motorola Razr 70 Ultra: the premium pick

Choose the Ultra if you want the strongest premium case in Stuff’s comparison and are willing to pay for it. Stuff highlights its outer-screen utility, camera and battery, and lists 5000mAh capacity and 68W wired charging. Those are guide-reported specifications and judgments; battery life in everyday use is not established by those figures alone.

Motorola’s US product page describes a 7.0-inch Extreme AMOLED HDR10+ main display and external Live Notifications. These are manufacturer specifications and feature descriptions, not proof of better performance than a competitor. Motorola Razr Ultra product details.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip8: the Samsung ecosystem choice

Consider the Flip8 if you already use Samsung phones, watches or services, or if its cover-screen features appeal to you. Samsung describes an expanded FlexWindow that supports more apps, FlexCam, an Armor Aluminum frame and Gorilla Glass Victus 2 on the cover screen. Its product page calls the cover-screen experience “Flex on your cover screen”—Samsung marketing language, rather than an independent evaluation. Samsung Galaxy Z Flip8 product page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Stuff says Samsung has improved outer-screen usability and retains a strong ecosystem position, while describing the hardware changes over the prior generation as small. Its 4.1-inch published cover-screen size is slightly larger than the Ultra’s listed 4-inch screen, but the diagonal alone does not tell you which screen is more useful for your apps or routines. Stuff’s 2026 comparison.

Rank #2
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip 3 5G, US Version, 128GB, Phantom Black - Unlocked (Renewed)
  • Item Package Dimension- 8.7401574714L X 4.330708657W X 2.4015748007H Inches
  • Item Package Weight - 0.74736706818 Pounds
  • Item Package Quantity - 1
  • Product Type - Cellular Phone

Motorola Razr 70: the lower-cost current-generation choice

The base Razr 70 is Stuff’s affordable pick among the 2026 releases. Motorola calls it the Razr 2026 in the US, where it launched at $799.99. Motorola lists a 6.9-inch Extreme AMOLED main screen, and describes Flex View camera use. These are product-page specifications and features, not independent performance findings. Motorola Razr product details.

TechRadar describes the Razr 70 as the cheapest latest-generation flip foldable at its review time, but says a discounted previous-generation model could be better value if it remains in stock. That depends on current prices and availability; compare the specific older and newer models rather than assuming the launch MSRP is the price you will pay. TechRadar’s Razr 2026 review.

Motorola Razr 70 Plus: a middle tier to compare locally

The Razr 70 Plus, called Razr+ in US manufacturer materials, launched at a US MSRP of $1,099.99. It gives buyers a price point between the base model and Ultra, but the cited comparison does not establish its cover-display size or a current regional price. Check the exact model sold in your market and compare its live price and features with the local Galaxy Z Flip8. Motorola’s 2026 US lineup announcement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why switch from a regular smartphone to a flip phone?

A clamshell foldable gives you a large screen when opened and a smaller folded footprint when closed. The outer display can handle glances, shortcuts and some interactions without opening the phone; how much it can do depends on the model and software. Stuff also notes that the partly folded phone can work as a stand for hands-free calls or selfies. If you frequently use a phone one-handed, want it to take up less space in a pocket, or like setting it down for video calls, that format may suit you. Stuff’s guide to flip phones.

Rank #3
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip 5 5G, US Version, 512GB, Graphite - Unlocked (Renewed)
  • The Galaxy Z Flip5 features a 6.7″ Dynamic AMOLED 2X main screen with an adaptive 1–120 Hz refresh rate, delivering fluid, fast visuals for everything from games to video while folding into a compact form for portability.

The trade-off is that a flip phone still unfolds to a regular smartphone-sized screen, rather than becoming a compact feature phone. Its usefulness depends on whether you will take advantage of the outer screen and folding positions; the format alone does not guarantee less screen time or longer battery life.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to compare clamshell foldables before buying

Cover-screen apps and interaction

Look beyond diagonal measurements. Check which apps and actions you can actually use on the closed phone, how notifications are handled, and whether the controls you care about work without unfolding it. The 2026 Stuff comparison lists cover screens of 4 inches for Razr 70 Ultra, 4.1 inches for Galaxy Z Flip8 and 3.6 inches for Razr 70, but says the newest Samsung narrows the usability gap. Screen size is not a substitute for testing the interactions you need.

Inner screen and camera use

The main display matters for reading, video and everyday apps. Motorola lists a 6.9-inch inner display for the base Razr and a 7.0-inch HDR10+ display for the Ultra; Stuff lists a 7-inch 165Hz display for the Ultra. Treat these as manufacturer or guide specifications, not a direct comparison of brightness, image quality or real-world smoothness. For selfies and group shots, consider whether you will use the rear cameras with the cover screen as a preview, or prop the phone partly open.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Battery, charging and price

The Ultra’s listed 5000mAh battery and 68W wired charging are useful specifications to compare, but capacity and charging rate do not establish how long a phone lasts between charges under your usage. Compare current prices rather than relying on launch MSRP, especially when an earlier generation is discounted. A price difference is only worthwhile if the features and support of the exact model meet your needs.

Rank #4
Tracfone, TCL FLIP 3, SIM Card Included Flip Phone (Locked to Carrier)
  • Carrier: This phone is locked to Tracfone, which means this device can only be used on the Tracfone wireless network. A Tracfone plan is required to activate this device. Activating is easy, upon receipt go to Tracfone Website and select “Activate” and follow the prompts.
  • 📱 Classic Flip Design & Dual Displays: Features a pocket-friendly flip design with a large internal display for easy reading and navigation, plus a convenient external preview screen to check time, incoming caller ID, and notifications at a glance without opening the phone. Sim Card Included - Separate Purchase Not Necessary
  • 📶 Reliable 4G LTE Connectivity & VoLTE: Powered by 4G LTE network speeds for crystal-clear HD voice calls, reliable text messaging, and dependable nationwide coverage across America's top networks.
  • ⌨️ Tactile Keypad & Loud Speakerphone: Designed with large, easy-to-press buttons for comfortable dialing, intuitive menu navigation, and a powerful speakerphone for hands-free conversations.
  • 🔋 All-Day Battery: Stay connected with a long-lasting battery designed for extended talk and standby time. Wi-Fi Note: Wi-Fi is locked until device is activated. Note: Network-locked to TracFone for 365 days from activation.To find the no-contract Tracfone plan for you, visit the Tracfone Store Link located below the product title

Software, support and durability

Choose the ecosystem whose apps, services and accessories you already use. Samsung describes the Flip8’s frame and cover glass materials and an eighth-generation hinge refinement; those product descriptions do not establish better real-world reliability. The sources cited here do not provide independently verified, comparable failure, repair or long-term durability rates for these current models. Check the warranty, repair options and software-support commitment for the exact model and region before purchase.

US availability and what to verify

Motorola’s US 2026 announcement named Amazon.com, Best Buy and Motorola.com as preorder retailers. It listed Boost Mobile, Spectrum Mobile, Verizon, Visible, Xfinity Mobile, Consumer Cellular, Google Fi Wireless and Cox Mobile for the base Razr, and also named AT&T for the Plus model. These are launch availability details, not confirmation of current stock, offers or ongoing carrier arrangements. The announcement does not establish the same channels for the Ultra. Verify availability and terms with the retailer or carrier.

Motorola’s US names differ from its international Razr 70 naming: the Razr 70 is the Razr 2026, Razr 70 Plus is Razr+, and Razr 70 Ultra is Razr Ultra 2026 in US materials. Confirm the model number and regional variant before ordering accessories or comparing specifications. Motorola also said all three devices “earned the EUs top Class A Energy Efficiency rating.” This is Motorola’s statement about an EU energy-efficiency rating; it is not a durability or battery-life rating.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 2
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip 3 5G, US Version, 128GB, Phantom Black - Unlocked (Renewed)
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip 3 5G, US Version, 128GB, Phantom Black - Unlocked (Renewed)
Item Package Dimension- 8.7401574714L X 4.330708657W X 2.4015748007H Inches; Item Package Weight - 0.74736706818 Pounds
$236.89

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.