Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Best Egg can be a reasonable choice when your written, personalized offer has a competitive APR after the origination fee and the fixed payment fits your budget. The advertised 6.99% starting APR is not a decision by itself. Before accepting, compare the amount deposited, total repayment, term, state eligibility, funding timing, and whether you are considering an unsecured loan or a separate secured homeowner product.

Quick verdict: when Best Egg makes sense

Best Egg offers fixed-rate personal loans that can be used for purposes such as debt consolidation, home-related projects, or other large expenses. The central question is not whether the lender advertises a low minimum APR; it is whether the specific offer you receive is less expensive and more manageable than your alternatives.

An offer is worth serious consideration when all of the following are true:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • The personalized APR, including the origination fee, is lower than the effective cost of the debts or expenses you are replacing.
  • The net amount deposited is enough for your purpose after any fee is deducted.
  • The monthly payment fits your budget without requiring new borrowing.
  • The term does not extend repayment so long that total interest becomes unnecessarily high.
  • You qualify in your state and understand whether the loan is unsecured or secured by specified home fixtures.
  • You have compared at least one or two other written offers, as the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) recommends.

It is a poor fit if the payment only works by stretching the loan over a much longer period, if the origination fee consumes money you need immediately, or if the consolidation plan leaves the spending that created the debt unchanged.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Best Egg loan terms at a glance

Feature Unsecured personal loan Secured homeowner loan
Advertised APR 6.99%–35.99%, including interest and an origination fee 5.99%–29.99%; borrower-specific terms apply
Origination fee 0.99%–9.99%; for terms of four years or longer, the disclosure says at least 4.99% Not stated in the supplied product information; read the secured offer and agreement
Loan amount $2,000–$50,000, with higher state minimums in Massachusetts, Ohio, and Georgia Not stated in the supplied product information
Typical term 36–60 months 36–84 months
Collateral None for the unsecured product Eligible home fixtures, such as cabinets or vanities, may secure the loan
Prepayment Best Egg says unsecured loans can be prepaid without a penalty Check the secured agreement
Stated lending banks Cross River Bank or Column N.A. make the loans, according to Best Egg

These are advertised ranges and general product descriptions, not a promise that you will qualify for a particular rate, amount, term, or funding date. Your signed offer and loan agreement control.

How the APR and origination fee affect your cost

Best Egg’s unsecured APR range is 6.99% to 35.99%. The lender says that range includes both interest and the origination fee. The fee itself can be 0.99% to 9.99% of the principal, and the disclosure says an unsecured loan with a term of four years or longer has an origination fee of at least 4.99%.

An origination fee is often withheld from the proceeds rather than added as a separate bill. That creates two different numbers you must track: the principal on which interest is calculated and the cash that reaches your bank account. For example, Best Egg’s Help Center illustrates a $10,000 loan with a 4.99% fee. If the fee is deducted, the deposit is $9,501, but the borrower still owes the full $10,000 principal. If you need $10,000 in cash, you may have to request more than $10,000, subject to the lender’s approval and maximums.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Do not compare a headline APR with a credit-card rate or another loan unless you know how each figure treats fees. Ask for these figures in writing:

  • Requested and approved principal.
  • Origination-fee percentage and dollar amount.
  • Net proceeds deposited.
  • Periodic payment and number of payments.
  • Total of all scheduled payments.
  • Any other charges, such as late fees, described in the agreement.

A low monthly payment can simply reflect a longer term. The longer you carry the balance, the more interest you may pay even when the rate is lower, so evaluate total repayment as well as the payment that appears in your monthly budget.

Loan amounts, terms, and state availability

Best Egg advertises unsecured loans from $2,000 to $50,000. Minimums are higher in some states: $6,500 in Massachusetts, $5,001 in Ohio, and $3,001 in Georgia. The lender lists Iowa, Nebraska, Vermont, West Virginia, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories as unavailable for this product.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Typical unsecured repayment periods are 36 to 60 months. Choosing 36 months generally produces a higher required payment than choosing 60 months, but it can reduce the number of months interest accrues. The available term, payment, and total repayment in your offer matter more than the advertised range.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Best Egg says unsecured loans may be prepaid without a penalty. Confirm that provision in your final agreement, especially if your offer differs from the standard disclosure. A penalty-free prepayment does not guarantee that making extra payments will be practical; check how the servicer applies additional money and whether your budget can support it.

Who may qualify and why your offer can differ

Best Egg says its offer depends on credit score, income, debt obligations, requested amount, credit history, and other factors. The displayed minimum APR is conditional, so it should not be treated as a representative rate or an expected approval outcome.

Before applying, gather information that will affect the underwriting decision:

  • Reliable gross income and employment or other income documentation.
  • Monthly debt payments, including cards, auto loans, housing, and support obligations.
  • Requested amount based on the actual payoff or project cost, not an arbitrary round number.
  • Current credit reports so you can correct errors before a full application.
  • Your state of residence and a checking account that can receive proceeds and automatic payments if required.

A prequalification or rate-check process may use a soft credit inquiry, while submitting a full application can involve a hard inquiry. Read the on-screen disclosure before proceeding so you know which type will be used and when.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Application and funding: what to expect

  1. Estimate the amount you truly need. For debt consolidation, obtain current payoff amounts and include any fee that will be withheld from proceeds.
  2. Check state eligibility and product type. Verify that your state is served and decide whether an unsecured loan is appropriate before looking at the secured homeowner option.
  3. Review the personalized offer. Record the APR, fee, principal, net proceeds, payment, term, total repayment, and any conditions.
  4. Verify documentation. The lender may request identity, income, bank-account, or debt information. Delays can occur if verification is incomplete or information does not match.
  5. Read and sign the agreement. Confirm the payment date, late-payment provisions, prepayment language, dispute terms, and any collateral description.
  6. Plan for disbursement and first payment. Best Egg says about half of customers get funds the next day and that deposits may arrive within one to three business days after verification. This is a company claim, not a guarantee; do not schedule a payoff or purchase until the money has actually posted.

If a creditor is being paid directly, confirm whether Best Egg sends the payment or deposits funds to you. Keep statements showing that old balances were paid and continue making their required payments until each creditor confirms the account is satisfied.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Unsecured versus secured homeowner borrowing

Unsecured personal loan

The standard personal loan does not pledge an asset as collateral. That means the agreement is based on your promise to repay and your creditworthiness rather than a specific property interest. Failure to pay can still lead to collection activity, credit damage, and potential legal action under the agreement; “unsecured” does not mean consequence-free.

Secured homeowner loan

Best Egg separately advertises a secured product with APRs of 5.99% to 29.99% and terms of 36 to 84 months. Its page says eligible home fixtures, such as cabinets or vanities, may serve as collateral. The lender also reports that its homeowner discount averages a 20% APR reduction compared with its unsecured loan.

That average is a lender-reported comparison, not a guaranteed discount for an individual borrower. The collateral arrangement is not the same as pledging the house itself, but default rights depend on the final agreement and the identified fixtures. Read exactly what property is covered, how it is valued, what happens after a default, and whether removal or sale of the fixtures is restricted. Never assume that a secured loan has the same protections, fees, or prepayment terms as the unsecured product.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Debt consolidation: when the math works

A Best Egg loan may simplify several credit-card bills into one fixed installment and could reduce the interest rate. It only improves your finances if the complete cost is lower and you stop the balances from rebuilding.

Use this comparison process:

  1. List each debt’s current balance, annual percentage rate, minimum payment, and payoff date if you continued normally.
  2. Add the balances you intend to replace. Do not borrow extra for unrelated spending unless you have separately tested that cost.
  3. Subtract the origination fee from the approved principal to determine the cash available for payoffs.
  4. Compare the new payment and total repayment with the old schedule. Include interest that would accrue during the new term.
  5. Build a monthly spending plan that leaves room for the new payment and prevents new card balances.
  6. Ask each existing creditor whether it can lower the rate, waive a fee, or offer a hardship payment plan before taking a new loan.

The CFPB cautions that a consolidation loan does not cure overspending. If spending remains above income, the new installment can coexist with newly charged card balances, leaving you with more total debt.

Other consolidation routes to compare

Option Potential advantage Important risk or limitation
Personal installment loan One fixed payment and a defined payoff date; may offer a lower rate than existing revolving debt Origination fee and longer term can increase total cost; approval and rate depend on your profile
Balance transfer Temporary promotional rate may reduce interest during the offer period Transfer fee may apply; the rate can rise later, and new purchases may accrue interest under different rules
Home-equity borrowing May provide a lower rate than unsecured credit Your home can be at risk if you do not make payments; closing costs and a longer term can change the economics
Creditor hardship arrangement May reduce payments or rates without opening a new loan Eligibility varies and concessions may affect account terms or credit reporting
Nonprofit credit counseling Can provide budgeting help and, where appropriate, a debt-management plan Not a loan or instant debt cancellation; verify fees and the counselor’s nonprofit status

The CFPB recommends shopping among multiple lenders and reviewing the household budget and the cause of the debt before consolidating. A free nonprofit counseling session can help you test whether the payment is sustainable.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

What a lower payment can hide

Suppose two offers refinance the same balance. The offer with the smaller monthly payment may use a 60-month term instead of 36 months. You gain monthly breathing room but make payments for two additional years and may pay more interest overall. A fee deducted from proceeds can also leave part of the old balance unpaid, forcing you to keep a card open or borrow elsewhere.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Evaluate each offer on three timelines:

  • Today: How much cash will actually arrive, and is it enough to complete the payoff?
  • Each month: Can the payment fit after housing, utilities, food, transportation, and existing obligations?
  • Until payoff: What is the total of scheduled payments, and how quickly can you become debt-free without relying on optimistic income assumptions?
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Credit-score and cash-flow considerations

A loan application can create a hard inquiry, and opening a new account changes your credit mix, average account age, and reported balances. Paying off revolving balances may reduce utilization, but no lender can guarantee a credit-score improvement. Scores also depend on payment history, reported balances, account age, and information supplied by other creditors.

Set up a payment calendar before accepting the loan. If automatic debit is offered, maintain a buffer in the account and know how to change the payment date. Keep enough cash for essentials rather than using every dollar to make an aggressive extra payment. A missed installment can damage credit and trigger collection costs even if the original consolidation plan looked favorable.

Common mistakes and how to avoid them

Choosing from the advertised minimum APR

Fix: Use the APR and total repayment in your personalized written offer. Treat the 6.99% figure as the bottom of an advertised range, not as a quote for you.

Ignoring the fee deducted from proceeds

Fix: Compare net proceeds with the exact payoff amount. The $10,000 example with a 4.99% fee leaves $9,501 deposited while the full $10,000 remains owed.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Extending the term solely to lower the payment

Fix: Calculate total scheduled payments and choose the shortest term that leaves a realistic emergency cushion.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Assuming next-day funding

Fix: Complete verification early, ask about conditions, and wait for the deposit before stopping payments to existing creditors.

Mixing secured and unsecured terms

Fix: Keep separate worksheets for the standard personal loan and the homeowner product. Identify the collateral and default provisions in the secured agreement.

Consolidating without changing spending

Fix: Freeze or reduce use of paid-off cards, create a written spending plan, and seek counseling if the budget still runs short.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A practical decision checklist

Use this checklist after receiving an offer:

  • Is my state eligible, and does the amount meet its minimum?
  • What principal will appear on the agreement?
  • What percentage and dollar amount is the origination fee?
  • How much will be deposited after the fee?
  • What is the exact APR, monthly payment, number of payments, and total repayment?
  • Is the loan unsecured, or are specified fixtures collateral?
  • Can I prepay without a penalty, and how are extra payments applied?
  • When will verification be complete, and what funding timing is actually stated?
  • What happens if I miss a payment or need a due-date change?
  • Have I compared this written offer with another lender, a balance-transfer calculation, creditor assistance, or nonprofit counseling?

Bottom line

Best Egg is potentially useful for a borrower who receives a competitive personalized offer, needs a fixed installment, and can keep spending within income. The lender’s advertised 6.99%–35.99% unsecured APR range, 0.99%–9.99% origination fee, $2,000–$50,000 amount range, and 36–60 month terms describe the product broadly; they do not tell you what you will pay.

Make the decision from the signed offer: net proceeds, APR after fees, monthly payment, total repayment, term, state eligibility, funding conditions, and collateral. For consolidation, pair the loan with a budget and a plan for the accounts that created the debt. If those numbers do not improve your position without putting essential expenses at risk, declining the loan is the better outcome.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.