Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Call of Duty: Black Ops III is the best-documented choice if you want to play an entire Call of Duty story cooperatively: Activision describes its campaign as playable solo or in four-player co-op on PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC. Call of Duty: Black Ops 7 is the newer option, with an official campaign page that presents an “innovative Co-Op Campaign” for players who want to squad up or play alone.

Do not confuse a full co-op campaign with Special Ops. Modern Warfare (2019) and Modern Warfare 3 (2011) offer substantial cooperative missions, but those are separate operations rather than complete co-op versions of their main cinematic stories. Older-generation editions of Black Ops III also matter: the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 releases do not include a co-op or single-player campaign mode.

Which Call of Duty games have a full co-op campaign?

A full co-op campaign means the main story is designed to be completed cooperatively from its campaign missions, rather than offering a handful of optional multiplayer scenarios after the story. On the evidence available, two games meet that description most clearly:

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Game Full story campaign playable cooperatively? Maximum campaign party size documented Platform or edition notes Best for
Call of Duty: Black Ops III Yes. Activision says the campaign can be played solo or in four-player co-op. Four players PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC are identified in Activision’s 2015 launch announcement. PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 versions do not include a co-op or single-player campaign mode. The clearest four-player campaign choice, especially when buying a used copy.
Call of Duty: Black Ops 7 Yes. Its official campaign page calls it an “innovative Co-Op Campaign” and says players can squad up or go solo. Not stated in the cited official campaign description. Confirm the exact platform edition and current retail availability before buying. Players who want the newer, squad-oriented campaign option.
Modern Warfare (2019) Special Ops No. It is a separate set of four-player co-op operations that continue after the campaign. Four-player operations Do not describe Special Ops as the full main campaign. Shorter objective-based cooperative missions after finishing or sampling the story.
Modern Warfare 3 (2011) Special Ops No. It has 16 objective-based Special Ops missions and Survival Mode, not a complete co-op campaign. Not stated for the entire mode in the cited material. Its mission count does not change the distinction between Special Ops and a co-op story campaign. Arcade-style missions and survival challenges.
Call of Duty: World at War Historical candidate, but not included in the definitive ranking here. Not verified in an authoritative source used for this guide. Campaign implementation and current platform availability require separate verification. Only consider it after confirming the specific release and features.

What “full co-op campaign” should mean before you buy

Call of Duty has used “co-op” for several different formats. A buyer looking for a shared story should check all of the following rather than relying on a store thumbnail or a user review:

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
  • The main campaign is cooperative: the normal story missions, not an unrelated challenge mode, can be started and completed with other players.
  • The feature covers the campaign rather than a few chapters: a game should not be called a full co-op campaign if co-op begins only after the story or appears in a separate menu.
  • The advertised player count applies to the campaign: a four-player Special Ops mode does not prove that four people can play the main story.
  • The exact edition supports it: console generations can differ, as Black Ops III demonstrates.
  • Your intended connection method is available: official material cited here verifies campaign co-op for Black Ops III and Black Ops 7, but it does not establish whether every platform edition supports local split-screen, online play, or both.

This definition keeps the recommendation useful for families and groups who want to progress through the narrative together, instead of receiving a list of every Call of Duty title with any cooperative activity.

1. Call of Duty: Black Ops III — the safest documented four-player choice

What is officially confirmed

Activision’s 2015 launch announcement describes Black Ops III as having “an all-new campaign that can be played solo or in four-player co-op.” That wording directly answers the most important question: the campaign itself, not merely a side mode, is built for cooperative play. Four players is the clearest campaign party size documented for any recommendation in this guide.

The same announcement identifies PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC as the platforms for the supported campaign experience. If your group wants a known four-person story session, those are the editions to investigate first.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The critical old-generation warning

Do not assume every disc or download carrying the Black Ops III name contains the same features. Activision separately states that the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 versions “do not include a co-op or single-player campaign game mode.” Those releases are therefore unsuitable for this purpose, even if a listing uses the same game title and shows campaign artwork.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

When buying used, inspect the platform label before paying. A listing that says only “Black Ops III” is incomplete; you need the console generation or PC edition. For a group, verify every player is purchasing a compatible edition rather than mixing a supported newer-generation copy with an old-generation release that lacks the campaign entirely.

Why it fits a group campaign night

Black Ops III is the strongest recommendation when your priority is a complete story that four people can approach as a team. The official statement establishes the campaign’s solo-or-four-player structure, so you do not have to reinterpret a mission-based side mode as a story campaign. It is also the easiest title in this list to screen for compatibility because the supported platforms and the excluded PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 versions are explicitly identified.

The available official information does not establish campaign length, mission count, local split-screen behavior, online requirements, or whether all editions expose identical progression and replay systems. Treat those as purchase checks rather than assumed features. If local couch co-op is essential, confirm it for your exact platform through the current game documentation or the platform store listing before buying.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

2. Call of Duty: Black Ops 7 — the current squad-based option

What the official campaign page says

The official Black Ops 7 campaign page calls the mode an “innovative Co-Op Campaign” and says players can “squad up or go solo.” That makes Black Ops 7 the current-generation choice for someone who wants a newer Call of Duty designed around cooperative campaign play rather than an older release.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

The wording confirms cooperative access to the campaign, but the cited description does not state a maximum party size. Do not advertise it as a four-player campaign unless the edition you are considering gives that number explicitly. The same caution applies to local split-screen and online support: those details are not established by the campaign description cited here.

How to evaluate the edition

  1. Identify the platform and edition you intend to purchase.
  2. Open the current store or publisher listing for that exact edition and look for campaign co-op, player-count and connection details.
  3. Check whether your friends are on compatible platforms and editions if you plan to play online.
  4. Confirm current retail availability and any account, network or installation requirements before scheduling a group session.

Because Black Ops 7 is the newer option, availability and edition details can change by region and storefront. The official campaign page establishes the mode’s existence, but it is not a substitute for checking the product listing you will actually buy.

Who should choose it

Choose Black Ops 7 when a contemporary squad campaign matters more than having a historically documented four-player limit. It is the natural starting point for players who want the latest cooperative story structure and are willing to verify platform-specific details. Choose Black Ops III instead when a confirmed four-person campaign and clearly documented platform support are the deciding factors.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Black Ops III or Black Ops 7: a practical decision table

Decision question Black Ops III Black Ops 7
Is the main story itself cooperative? Yes, according to Activision’s launch announcement. Yes, according to the official campaign page.
What campaign party size is documented? Four players. Not stated in the cited campaign description.
Which platforms are explicitly identified? PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC. PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 lack the campaign mode. Not stated in the cited material; verify the exact edition.
Is local split-screen confirmed here? Not stated in the cited material. Not stated in the cited material.
Is online campaign co-op confirmed for every edition here? The campaign is described as four-player co-op, but connection method by edition is not detailed in the cited material. The campaign is described as co-op, but connection method and edition behavior are not detailed in the cited material.
Best buying reason Documented four-player campaign and clear supported-generation guidance. Newer squad-oriented campaign.

Local split-screen and online play: what you must verify

Many readers specifically ask for “split-screen campaign co-op,” but the official statements available for these recommendations do not specify local-screen arrangements. “Four-player co-op” establishes the number of campaign participants in Black Ops III; it does not, by itself, say that four people can sit at one television. Likewise, “squad up” in Black Ops 7 confirms cooperative intent without defining whether the session is local, online, or dependent on the platform.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Before purchasing, answer these questions for your exact edition:

  • Can multiple players use one console, or does each participant need a separate system?
  • Is a platform subscription or online account required for network play?
  • Does every participant need the same edition and installed content?
  • Is campaign co-op available from the first mission, or only after an introductory section?
  • Can players join an existing campaign session, and does the host control story progress?

If a retailer page does not answer these questions, consult the current publisher or platform documentation. Do not infer local support from a box that merely says “co-op.”

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Games that are cooperative but not full co-op campaigns

Modern Warfare (2019) Special Ops

The official description presents Special Ops as four-player co-op operations that pick up where the campaign concludes. That is a substantial cooperative mode, but it is not the main cinematic campaign rewritten for four players. Put it on a list of co-op missions, not on a list of games with complete co-op campaigns.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

This distinction matters when your group wants to experience the story together. Finishing Special Ops does not mean four players have completed every campaign chapter, and buying the game for its operations should not be treated as equivalent to buying Black Ops III or Black Ops 7 for campaign co-op.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Modern Warfare 3 (2011) Special Ops and Survival

Modern Warfare 3 advertises 16 objective-based Special Ops missions and Survival Mode. Those figures describe the scope of its side content, not a cooperative version of the main story. The missions can be a good fit for players who prefer discrete objectives or survival challenges, but they answer a different question from “Can we play the whole campaign together?”

Call of Duty: World at War

World at War is often mentioned in community discussions as a campaign-co-op title. However, the authoritative material available for this guide does not verify its exact campaign implementation or current platform availability. It is therefore left out of the definitive ranking. If you are considering a particular release, confirm the feature from the publisher or platform documentation for that release rather than relying on a general franchise list.

Buying checklist for a co-op group

  1. Define the experience. Decide whether you need the entire narrative, a set of repeatable missions, or survival challenges. Only the first requirement calls for a full co-op campaign.
  2. Pick the supported edition. For Black Ops III, target PlayStation 4, Xbox One or PC. Exclude PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 because those versions do not include a co-op or single-player campaign mode.
  3. Count your players. If four people must play the story together, Black Ops III has the explicit four-player documentation. Black Ops 7’s cited page does not provide a maximum.
  4. Check connection type. Verify local split-screen, online play and any account or subscription requirements for your platform; the cited campaign descriptions do not settle those questions.
  5. Check storefront availability. Confirm that the edition is currently sold in your region and that every player can obtain a compatible copy.
  6. Test before scheduling everyone. Install updates, launch the campaign menu and confirm that the cooperative option appears on the exact hardware and edition you bought.

Common purchase mistakes and how to avoid them

Buying the wrong console generation

The most serious mistake is purchasing a Black Ops III PlayStation 3 or Xbox 360 copy. Those editions lack both co-op and single-player campaign modes, so no setting or update can turn them into the supported campaign release. Check the platform label in the listing, on the case and on the installed product page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Assuming every “co-op” label means campaign co-op

Special Ops and Survival can be prominently advertised while remaining separate from the story. Read the mode name and description. If it says “operations,” “objective-based missions” or “Survival,” you are looking at side content, not proof that the main campaign is playable cooperatively.

Assuming four-player support means four local players

A four-player campaign statement does not specify whether players connect locally, online or through a combination that varies by platform. Confirm the connection method for your setup before buying extra controllers or inviting a group.

Assuming a historical recommendation still matches a current release

Older games can have multiple console generations, discontinued storefront listings or edition-specific differences. World at War is a good example of why a remembered feature should be checked against the exact release. Keep the title, platform and feature tied together when you evaluate a listing.

A simple decision guide

  • You need four people in the main story and want the clearest official confirmation: choose Black Ops III on PlayStation 4, Xbox One or PC, not PlayStation 3 or Xbox 360.
  • You want the newer cooperative campaign: investigate Black Ops 7 and verify its platform, edition, player count and connection method before purchase.
  • You want standalone missions rather than a complete story: consider Special Ops in Modern Warfare (2019) or the objective-based and Survival content in Modern Warfare 3 (2011), while labeling them correctly.
  • You are considering World at War because of a community recommendation: treat it as unverified until the specific release’s official documentation confirms the campaign feature.

Bottom line for choosing a Call of Duty co-op campaign

Black Ops III is the strongest all-purpose recommendation because Activision explicitly documents a full campaign playable solo or with four players and identifies the supported newer-generation platforms. Its PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 editions are disqualified for this use. Black Ops 7 is the newer alternative: its official campaign page confirms a dedicated co-op campaign, but you should verify the exact edition, maximum party size and connection options before buying. Special Ops titles belong in a separate category of cooperative missions, not in a list of complete co-op campaigns.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.